We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Il Chiostro di Pienza

Save
Share
Traveller (364)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (17)
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good40%
  • Average18%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“valley view”(5 reviews)
“beautiful hotel”(11 reviews)
“reception staff”(5 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
4 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
89
67
42
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
67
42
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalley viewbeautiful hotelreception staffdeluxe roomcentral locationthird floorlarge bathroomnice roomcomfortable roomsbreakfast is servedspectacular viewsbreakfast was excellentold citycommon areastuscan countrysidestayed for nightsval d orcia
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a beautiful, and very expensive, restaurant in the town of Pienza with a gorgeous panorama. They have home-made gluten free bread and pasta and a separate gluten free menu. The kitchen are very knowledgeable and I ate here confident that the meal would...More

Thank cake_walk_10
Response from Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di PienzaResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review that we will share with the management of the restaurant which is separated management from the hotel. Certainly They will make good use of your advice to improve their service. Best regards,

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There have been improvements to the rooms and bathrooms, providing, at present, a modern bed room and bath room with all the modern comforts one expects for this level hotel. The staff is very helpful, the breakfast, served at summer times in the terrace, is...More

Thank florisimo1
Response from Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di PienzaResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive review about our Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated the works done to improve the comfort and the wellbeing of our guests. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our beautiful...More

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Il Chiostro for 3 nights as part of a cycling tour of Tuscany. Our room was great, we had and easy time storing and having access to our bikes and the staff was lovely. The included breakfast was satisfying, beautifully displayed and...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Response from Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di PienzaResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel our staff and our brekfast on the beautiful terrace. We hope to welcome you again in Pienza. Best regards

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Something seems to have gone badly wrong at this lovely old hotel overlooking the Val D’Orcia. The fabulous view over the valley is still there, but the hotel organisation is now really rather poor. A big problem is that the restaurant part of the building...More

Thank sookeico1
Response from Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di PienzaResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guest, we are sorry to read your review. First of all we told you sorry for the restaurant's problem a lot of time absoluty not a shrug from our staff at the reception. We explained you that the restaurant is from 10 years a...More

Reviewed 18 June 2018

We began our cycling trip to Tuscany at Il Chiostro and couldn't have been more impressed with the hotel and staff. The view from the hotel's garden overlooking the Val d'Orcia is perhaps the most spectacular in all of Tuscany and worth every penny of...More

1  Thank BKbuckeye
Response from Anghel_Hotels, Direttore at Il Chiostro di PienzaResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy that our staff was helpfull with your request and that you enjoyed your stay your stay in our beautiful Hotel. We hope to welcome you again in Pienza again. Best Regards,

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair Access
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Classic Hotel in Pienza
#2 Quiet Hotel in Pienza
#3 Family Hotel in Pienza
#4 Mid-range Hotel in Pienza
#5 Business Hotel in Pienza
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Classic Hotel in Pienza
#2 Quiet Hotel in Pienza
#3 Family Hotel in Pienza
#4 Mid-range Hotel in Pienza
#5 Business Hotel in Pienza
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (364)
Room & Suite (100)
Dining (17)
Pool & Beach (11)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
emanningbx
21 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Louise R | Reviewed this property |
No, but the receptionist showed us where to find free public parking nearby (5 minute walk). We were given temporary passes on arrival which permitted us to drive along the main (pedestrianised) high street and drop off our... More
1
Vote
kamala722
6 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Anghel_Hotels | Property representative |
Yes. But It could be better specify sending us an e-mail at the moment of the reservation.
1
Vote
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Be sure to book a good room with a view across the valley"
Read review
"Suite 101 with great views"
Read review
"Don't select 'economy rooms'. Get a room overlooking the valley."
Read review
"The premium for the view over the Val D'Orcia is worth it, great view and quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing