We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Funky Dodo Backpackers

Save
Share
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (3)
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good34%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Multilingual Staff
Pets Allowed
Laundry Service
2 Star accommodation
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveller rating
79
48
10
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
79
48
10
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchenfantastic hostelhostel offersbus stopfriendly and helpful hostsstaff ownersshared kitchendecent kitchenstayed for one nightdorm roomno hot watercommon roomplace to stayfriendly localsperfect locationwealth of knowledgethe beach is nice
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 140 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An interesting place, my wife and I stayed for 3 nights and each night we had a different room, all different but in a good way. We enjoyed our stay and the owner provided a lot of practical information about Hopkins and the general area....More

Thank Ctravel27
Response from Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo BackpackersResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you from all of us at the Funky Dodo! Glad to have met you, hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at the Funky DoDo 4 years ago (whilst it was under construction with previous management) I was really excited to be going back and this time taking some friends with me! However, I was really disappointed by the new management. We arrived at...More

Thank Cristal B
Response from Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Our cancellation policy is clearly posted on all websites and at the reception desk. I did attempt to explain the policy to you and your group: any cancellations require a two-week (before check-in date) notice; with less notice, a one-night...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The owners are excellent, very friendly and service-minded. The location is great as well! The facilities are very basic, but so is this whole village. At first I was in a 4-bed dorm but I didn’t like it at all. It was extremely small (two...More

Thank Evelina G
Response from Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review from all of us at the Funky Dodo! Glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Hopkins. We are indeed in the process of completely remodeling the dormitory--it should be complete by end of July '18. Much more...More

Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

There are some good things about this place: clean bathrooms/toilets, some nice communal areas, a decent kitchen, good location. However the actual room is the bare minimum in a tin roofed shack. The mattresses were old and lumpy, the fan so noisy that we couldn’t...More

Thank Charlottejohn1
Response from Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo BackpackersResponded 1 July 2018

Thank you for your review. We provide basic accommodation at a basic price; it will get hot in the tropics in the summer. In the evening, it does cool off, and most are able to sleep comfortably. I'm sorry you did not find our new...More

Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Funky Dodo is a great choice for backpackers on budget and not just for them. Very cheap but at the same time cozy, clean, relaxed. Full-equipped kitchen, hammocks, beach just few meters behind the back gate and very friendly and always helping owners Anna and...More

Thank Marybee_DD
Response from Roy N, Owner at The Funky Dodo BackpackersResponded 27 May 2018

Thank you so much from the entire Funky Dodo team! So happy that your stopped by, and glad you enjoyed Hopkins. Hurry back, and safe travels!

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Budget Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Charming Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Quirky Hotels Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Quaint Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#1 Budget Hotel in Hopkins
#7 Charming Hotel in Hopkins
#1 Quirky Hotels Hotel in Hopkins
#6 Quaint Hotel in Hopkins
#3 Family Hotel in Hopkins
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (3)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tcspo
27 December 2017|
Answer
Response from Roy N | Property representative |
Hi there! You can email us at info@funkydodo.bz You can also find and message us on Facebook @funkydodo Our phone is (501) 676.DODO
1
Vote
stormyblueeyez
22 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Roy N | Property representative |
Meals range from less than BZ$10 to over BZ$100, depending on what you want. A good Belizean meal (stew chicken, rice and beans) is usually BZ$10-15. Drinks- soft drinks and beer are about BZ$4. Wine is expensive. Mixed... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Save some cash, stay in the Dormitory"
Read review
"Sharing a private room is a good buy."
Read review
"I chose the shared bunk room."
Read review
"The dorms are HOT but there are enough fans in there to aim at most of the beds."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing