We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Alotau 211 Papua New Guinea
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (41)
Pool & Beach (25)
Dining (12)

About

#2 of 4 in Alotau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Accommodation is in 6 beachfront traditional timber and thatch bungalows. These can be configured as double or twin rooms. The accommodation is simple, yet fulfilling to all your comfort needs. Each has its own en suite bathroom with essential toiletries, study desk, minibar with tea and coffee facilities, fan and aircon, Ipod dock and private beachfront balcony with deck chairs and table.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Suites

Location

Contact
Alotau 211 Papua New Guinea
15Reviews8Q+A2Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Greg wrote a review Nov 2021
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea1 contribution
+1
Living in PNG through the pandemic gave us the opportunity to visit somewhere we would likely never have gone to. Service and accomodation was 5 star all the way. Food was first class. Diving was spectacular every day. Arriving early in the morning we were greeted by turtles swimming past the back of the boat. Days spent longing in a hammock, diving, snorkeling or kayaking over the Haus reef, cocktails in the evening ahead of a delicious dinner. What more could you want. While we were there the first turtle nests in the hatchery were hatching. It was wonderful to participate in gathering the data on the hatchlings and then helping to release them into the ocean. Liked it so much we’re going back in a couple of weeks.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Tim wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Avoid this place if you want to deal with honest, trustworthy staff. Had an experience cancelled and general manager has refused to refund my money. Doesn’t reply to emails and does not communicate as to why refund is not given.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Hayley Versace, General Manager at Panasesa Resort
Responded 24 May 2021
Dear Tim, We are very sorry to hear you are having difficulties communicating with us. Please email us on management@conflictislands.com and we will make sure you are fully refunded for you cancelled experience. We have never refused anyone a refund for a service that was not provided for. We look forward to hearing from you so we can arrange your refund. General Management
Read more
Irene (iFotoTravel) Isaacson wrote a review Mar 2020
Buddina, Australia2130 contributions139 helpful votes
+1
This was one of our stops on a cruise of PNG Islands run by P&O. Because of the corona virus outbreak, we ended up having our itinerary changed at short notice, whilst at sea. This meant we had two days at Panasesa Island. What a hardship...NOT! This truly is my idea of a tropical island paradise. It is privately owned by an Australian. The whole island is thus operated by his staff, many of whom are Australians or Kiwis, as well as local PNG staff. It is well run, well-staffed, well kept, clean and nicely landscaped. There is a walking track right around the whole island, most of it covered by shade, or you can go along the coral beach. There are many beach lounges or deck chairs for free use. Natural shade is everywhere so you can get out of the tropical sun. The water is crystal clear and blue aqua in colour - stunning. In many areas the inshore reef is just metres from the water's edge. So snorkeling is an easy proposition for all ages and abilities. There are water craft for hire incl. SUP and canoes. You can do a tour of the Turtle Conservatory and Nursery - well worth doing, and many other activities - check out their website for more details. It really was the God-send to our island cruise trip. The reefs were some of the most beautiful I have seen in years, with hardly any evidence of bleaching, just coral damage and rubble from cyclone or storm activity. No crown of thorn damage either. My husband did go on three dives run by the resort. He remarked the same of the parts of the lagoon reef he saw. He also managed to see some small baby sharks and a few turtles, but did comment that a lot of the big fish were absent (more than likely due to subsistence living practiced by the local villages in the other Conflict Islands. All in all, this was our highlight of the 10-day cruise. Shame it is so remote or we would be back in a flash!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
David R wrote a review Mar 2020
Adelaide, Australia700 contributions266 helpful votes
We visited the island for 2 days as a part of a P&O cruise and we were able to use the resort facilities (but not the rooms). We were welcomed by a group of locals from a nearby island who danced and sang for us and it was great. They also bring in additional staff so that you can use the dive boat, kyacks, glass bottom boats and bars. The island is beautiful and has ongoing work to revegetate the island with tropical plants and also has a turtle sanctuary which you can pay to visit. We went to the south bar both days and you can buy beer and soft drinks and fresh coconuts. The snorkelling on this side of the island is amazing. For the first 100 meters the water is not deep and has some patches of coral and fish which is good to access for kids and people who dont want to venture out too far. Beyond this you get to the reef which is quite shallow and has a lot more coral and small fish. Make sure you swim to the drop off as this is where we saw the most fish - many different species plus large fish and we also saw reef sharks and turtles. One guy saw a larger black tipped shark which was about 1.5 m in length and gave him a shock. We found that we could just float along the drop off for 400 to 600 meters and so we spent about 4 hours each day doing this. It was the best snorkelling I have done. Make sure to take your own gear as its quite expensive to hire.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
WorldTravla7 wrote a review Dec 2019
Cairns, Australia5822 contributions457 helpful votes
+1
Panasesa Island is the largest of the Conflict Islands and the only one opened up to tourism. Unlike other Islands in the Trobriand Islands, Panasesa is not inhabited by families of locals but is privately owned and operated by an Australian millionaire (he also owns the other 20 Islands in the Conflict group) who has turned the island into an impressive cruise port destination. I came with my parents as part of the PNG Island Encounter Cruise and got to spend the best part of a day on this beautiful island. There is a Turtle Rehabilitation Centre which you can visit for a small fee. There are some island bars where you can get food and drinks and live music plays from time to time. There are plenty of tables and sunbeds scattered through the island where you can set up camp and go for swims. As part of the cruise, day tours can be booked. I did the “Reef Snorkel Adventure” which was 45 minutes of snorkelling on a tropical fish laden reef accessed via a pontoon about 10 minutes by speedboat from the island. This was lots of fun and the quality of reef and fish species/diversity was impressive. I’ll be honest though – I did find the other two PNG Islands included as part of the cruise (Kitava and Kiriwina) more rewarding, mostly due to the fact they were inhabited by locals who you could engage with and which made the experience more culturally rich and memorable. But in terms of pristine island beaches, the Conflict Islands win out. The tropical waters are a sight to be seen and even the most water phobic person (i.e. my mother) will find themselves unable to resist jumping in for a swim in the beautiful turquoise water.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Previous
LOCATION
Papua New GuineaPapua RegionAlotau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Panasesa Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Panasesa Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Panasesa Resort?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Panasesa Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Panasesa Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Does Panasesa Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, Panasesa Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Panasesa Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.