Napatana Lodge

Napatana Lodge

Charles Abel Highway Alotau, Milne Bay province, Alotau 211 Papua New Guinea
Traveller (46)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 1 hostel in Alotau
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Napatana Lodge is within walking distance of Alotau town. If your plan is to see different areas of our Province, than stay with us for a night or 2. We will help you organise where to go within our beautiful province of Milne Bay. If your stop is Alotau, than stay with us at Napatana Lodge. Our staff will treat you as part of the family and make sure your stay in Alotau is memorable . We have 15 rooms, 5 larger sized bungalows , 5 air conditioned rooms (not large) and 4 smaller bungalows . Room 15 is backpackers accommodation with 6 beds and floor space for 4 more. It has shared toilets and shower. All bungalows and the back packers are fan ventilated. Our restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinners and do catering as well as functions. For an authentic PNG experience stay with us at Napatana Lodge.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Romantic

Location

Charles Abel Highway Alotau, Milne Bay province, Alotau 211 Papua New Guinea
51Reviews0Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 16
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Penny O wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia33 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good security , We stayed in a large bungalow, although there is no air conditioning in this Bungalow , it was comfortable enough to sleep with the ceiling fan. The restaurant served a small menu , excellent quality, chicken stir fry, burgers, and the fish and chips were great. Beautiful garden surrounds, easy walk into town , or take a taxis, 5 Kina oneway.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delsie C, Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Thank you for your comments. We hope you can stay with us again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jordan S wrote a review Dec 2020
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I love how homely this lodge is. I love how friendly the staff are and the food always feels like a home cooked meal. The architecture is traditional, which is perhaps what makes this place unique amongst Alotau. Definitely a lodge worth visiting!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Room Tip: Stay in the bungalows! You won't regret it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delsie Chariton, Other at Napatana Lodge
Responded 24 Jul 2023
Thank you Jordon for your wonderful comment and patronage to Napatana Lodge.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanja K wrote a review Nov 2016
Canton of Bern, Switzerland24 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have spent 5 nights at Napatana while i was working at the Hospital here and i had a great time, The rooms are clean and spacious, have either fan or A/C, hot showers and everything you need for a good tea before bed. The restaurant offers great food at affordable prices and it has a great view over the bay if you want to watch the sunset. Airport Transfers are included. % min walk to the market, supermarket and town center.
Napatana also has wifi, which is hard to come by in Alotau.
Altogether very satisfying, the only thing that would make this place even more perfect would be a bicycle rental to make it possible to explore the region without having to battle the crowds to enter a PMV.
If you can, try to come to Alotau on the first weekend of November and experience the amazing canoe and kundu festival!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: If you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the hotel during the day, you really don't...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from delsie C, Guest Relations Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 23 Nov 2016
Hi Tanja, Thank you for you review of Napatana Lodge and the suggestion which will seriously look into. We enjoyed having you in our lodge and wish you all the best in your journeys. Tinani, and for now we say Aioni
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevthescot wrote a review Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom135 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The main reason this scores average for me was the fact that there was simply not enough staff on site.
Granted the place stemmed deserted with only me and seven friends and possibly another four or so guests were staying, but the kitchen which everyone raves about had only one staff member. As a result I waited 3hours from ordering for food to arrive on the second night, having waited 2hrs the previous evening.

I know it isn’t the fault of the staff who tried their best, but staffing levels need looking at!

I didn’t mind the cockroaches in our room but the bed bug we found crawling up the mosquito net was an unwelcome guest.

Otherwise this place was a welcome break from the very basic stays on the islands of Milne Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The bug spray in your rooms doesn’t work on the cockroaches!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pjwellington wrote a review May 2019
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Flew into Alotau and stayed at Napatana Lodge after doing Kokoda. Exhausted and smelly we were looked after admirably with a decent menu, bar, laundry services and general amenities. Staff were very helpful in providing advice about our time in Milne Bay and recommendations for our overnight trip were excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Bigger bungalows had a sea/bay view from the balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delsie C, Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 23 Jun 2019
Thank you for you review and for visiting a small part of our amazing country. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Aioni
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grooo wrote a review Jul 2016
Uki, Australia172 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a visitor on a cruise liner I did not stay at this hotel so I can not comment on the accommodation other than to say that it looked very pleasant indeed and was in a delightful garden setting.

I was anxious to maximise my experience in Alotau and was looking for something a little more personal than the packages offered by the shipping company.My preference was also to deal with Papua New Guinean people as far as possible. I therefore poured over Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet to find details of a suitable local service provider and found that Napatana Lodge was very highly recommended.

They were easy to contact, replied promptly to emails, offered to meet us at the wharf, give a tour of the immediate area, take us to a local village and provide a buffet lunch of local foods. Everything that we wanted.

The service that we received exceeded all expectations. Before setting out we had coffee in the pleasant upstairs dining area, Tina, an employee of the lodge, took us to her village where we met members of her family who made us feel most welcome and who explained many details of their lifestyle as they walked us through gardens, around a WW!! landing strip and down to the bay, where canoes were drawn up along the shore. Our tour of the surrounding area was comprehensive - we even met the local member of parliament.

Back at the Lodge we dined well on local produce in very pleasant surroundings before being driven back to our ship.

It was a truly wonderful experience and the folk at Napatana are wonderful ambassadors for both their district and their country.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from delsie C, Guest Relations Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 8 Jul 2016
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our Milne Bay hospitality and are delighted that you loved our garden setting . I will pass on your comments to Tina and her family. Thank you once again for your wonderful review. For now we say AIONI!(local word for farewell)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joshua C wrote a review Jun 2016
1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Loved every moment of staying here! I only had a short 2 week stint doing volunteer physio work at the hospital but it was one that was very memorable. Rooms were very clean and all the staff put the time in to say g'day and share some hometown knowledge. Hope to travel that way again in the future :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from delsie C, Guest Relations Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 8 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review our lodge. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope you can visit again in the future. For now it's AIONI!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
att2tude wrote a review Sept 2013
cairns4 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Do not get conned into staying here as we were

The units are small and and squashed into the property , The shower only works part of the time when the city supply is tuned on , The two single beds had foam mattresses. There is no basin in the bathroom and the small sink in the kitchenette had to double up. The token TV did not work and no night staff to report faults to. To go to the beach , one has to cross a marsh and is accompanied by a guard. Mosquitoes were a problem.
A NASTY INTERNAL MEMO TO STAFF IS POSTED IN THE RECEPTION AREA FOR ALL TO SEE AND LEAVES A BAD IMPRESSION FROM THE GET GO.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but there was no management around.
The restaurant food was very good.
The room was clean.

We moved to Driftwood, which is 5 min down the road and much much better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from delsie C, Guest Relations Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 12 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. Please look at our more recent reviews to see the improvements that have taken place at Napatana Lodge.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike wrote a review Aug 2018
Perth, Australia28 contributions18 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I guess it’s a good lodge, but didn’t get an opportunity to experience it. Faced with no power and no backup generator. Asked and advised that they had a generator before booking the day before. Generator was not working! No advise give in adv.. checked out. Really disappointing experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Delsie C, Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 4 Sept 2018
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you were not happy with your stay. It was unfortunate that you arrived on the day that our back-up generator conked out. We hired another the same evening, unfortunately you had moved out before it arrived.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paulina K wrote a review Apr 2017
Switzerland19 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I spent a couple of nights at the Napatana Lodge during my trip to Alotau in March 2017.
The rooms and bungalows (with fans and/or A/C) are clean, spacious, very comfy, nicely arranged, with a fridge and a bathroom with hot shower. What is more, there are some absolutely wonderful, spacy, stylish bungalows facing the sea, a little bit more expensive than the A/C rooms and the bungalows at the rear, but definitely worth the price.
The restaurant is marvellous, with a sea view and great local and international dishes. Very nice red wine in the bar !
I came to Milne Bay with a plan to do a trip off the beaten track : trekking and exploring the wildlife of the mountains around and to visit remote islands. I was on my own and didn’t have any contact in Milne Bay. The staff at the Lodge is very knowledgable about all the interesting places in Milne Bay. Delsy could advice me in details on every part of Milne Bay and what it has to offer and she helped me to organise my whole trip, find local guides and places to stay in remote areas. Although it was not easy (phones often not working in the remote areas...), I could visit every spot I wanted and had a incredible, adventurous trip, exactly as I imagined it. As a female travelling on my own, this was a great help, I was taken care of all the time. I was very touched by the friendliness and hospitality of the whole staff. They were like family to me!!!
It’s a perfect place to stay, if you want to start an adventurous trip, if you want to rest in a comfortable place after a trip, or if you just want to have great food and chill in a beautiful setting.
I look forward to coming back there!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from delsie C, Guest Relations Manager at Napatana Lodge
Responded 19 Apr 2017
Thank you Paulina for a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed a little of our wonderful country. I hope you can visit again one day. For now AIONI!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kevthescot wrote a tip Sept 2023
London, United Kingdom135 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bug spray in your rooms doesn’t work on the cockroaches!"
Read full review
Ellen T wrote a tip Jun 2023
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to ask at the front desk if you want help arranging day trips or nights away! "
Read full review
Jordan S wrote a tip Dec 2020
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the bungalows! You won't regret it."
Read full review
pjwellington wrote a tip May 2019
Melbourne, Australia10 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bigger bungalows had a sea/bay view from the balcony."
Read full review
Matthew S wrote a tip Feb 2019
Geneva, Switzerland22 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The bungalows look perfect. I stayed in the main lodge."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Alotau area.
LOCATION
Papua New GuineaPapua RegionAlotau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NAPATANA LODGE

Frequently Asked Questions about Napatana Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Napatana Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Massim Museum (2.4 km), Alotau's best bar (1.8 km), and Milne Bay Memorial (1.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Napatana Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Napatana Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Napatana Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Napatana Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Napatana Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Masurina Lodge, By the Bay Restaurant, and Daisies.
Does Napatana Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Napatana Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Napatana Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Napatana Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire