We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tawali Resort

Alotau Milne Bay Province Milne Bay, Alotau 211 Papua New Guinea
Lowest prices for your stay
View Deal
Free cancellation until 31/01/21
View Deal
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (284)
Room & Suite (27)
Dining (21)


#1 of 2 hotels in Alotau
Welcome to the exotic culture of Papua New Guinea (PNG) and to Tawali Resort. Located on a volcanic bluff overlooking the clear protected waters of Milne Bay, Tawali offers travelers a unique location to dive, relax and enjoy the unspoiled wonders of this magnificent part of the world.Tawali is located in a secluded area of Milne Bay amongst local fishing villages and accessible only by boat. Built on a limestone bluff eighty feet above the water, Tawali offers guests a private retreat in which to enjoy the wonders of PNG. Tawali was constructed by local craftsmen and you will find beautifully carved totems and woodwork in the spacious main lodge and throughout the resort.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Public wifi
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Banquet room
24-hour security
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Breakfast buffet
Water sport equipment rentals
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Bottled water
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino, Japanese


Full view
Alotau Milne Bay Province Milne Bay, Alotau 211 Papua New Guinea
Getting there
Gurney Airport48 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
141Reviews10Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 47
  • 11
  • 5
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Coralmermaid wrote a review Nov 2010
Belize City, Belize6 contributions3 helpful votes
I traveled to Tawali Resort after a wonderful wedding in which I was the maid of honor of Elsie and Kieran. It was quiet and peaceful, which I took full advantage of, but the diving was incredible! Coming from Belize I was pleasantly surprised to see such colors and diversity of fish. The rooms and the view overlooking the sea were so memorable, dont for get to inquire about the tribal dance that can be arranged..You can kayak,swim, and take tours Of skull cave....A real once in a lifetime experience!!I know for sure that I will be back
Read more
Date of stay: November 2010
Kees_Niek wrote a review Aug 2010
Milan, Italy227 contributions60 helpful votes
Just back from Tawali Papua New Guinea. After very bad experience with Airlines PNG (do yourself a favor and book Air Niugini) we finally made it to Tawali. Bad weather but a very warm welcome. The staff at the resort is just GREAT! Let’s start with all the positives. It is a very unique place with a high level of comfort, especially compared to other places in Papua New Guinea. The rooms are clean and spacious and the food is very good. It is really a resort for divers or for people who are just looking for a tranquil place, away from traffic, hectic cities, crowds of people etc.. Our experience: After the warm welcome and the first very nice lunch I was ready for my first dive. Wahoo Point, only 10 minutes out with the speedboat. Visibility was poor due the amount of rain
Read more
Date of stay: August 2010
Response from Tawali R, Guest Relations Manager at Tawali Resort
Responded 20 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such comprehensive feedback. Now, all Resort vessels under go regular and rigorous maintenance to ensure that all our guests can experience everything that Tawali has to offer when they stay with us. We look forward to the prospect of you returning one day.
Read more
ScotlandRobin wrote a review Feb 2010
Scotland6 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a wonderful time here, so much to do. The snorkelling was brilliant and our son enjoyed the diving. Meals were excellent. It was good to go on a walk through the rain forest through local villages and visit a school. We met so many families and really saw the way of life. It is an interesting journey getting here which was all part of an exciting holiday
Read more
Date of stay: January 2010
Response from Tawali R, Guest Relations Manager at Tawali Resort
Responded 20 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that your family enjoyed our "little piece of paradise" We look forward t having you return one day.
Read more
5starwannabe wrote a review Jan 2009
Stuart, Florida16 contributions21 helpful votes
If you want a luxury stop in your adventure holiday you probably can’t do better than Tawali. The American owners and their new managers were excellent to the point of trying too hard. Our room’s deck had a view of the ocean. The bathrooms were large and modern. The room had air conditioning (remarkable for a country dependent on diesel generators), and high-end appointments like Ralph Lauren bedding. The dining/drinking deck is on a spectacular cliff-top overlooking a wide reef-lined bay. The emphasis on diving is a bit much. We took a day off diving to kayak and snorkel and felt like we were the first guests ever to decline a day of diving. A pool would’ve been a nice non-diving option, though the ‘house reef’ beneath the cliff-top deck was a perfect place to poke around.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2008
Response from Tawali R, Guest Relations Manager at Tawali Resort
Responded 20 Jul 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Tawali. Since you have visited the Resort there has been a pool added. We look forward to prospect of having you return.
Read more
SFNYTraveler wrote a review Oct 2008
San Francisco53 contributions54 helpful votes
The resort is an outstanding accomplishment. It is totally remote -- accessible only by a long drive followed by a boat -- and yet it is completely up to western standards in terms of luxury, comfort, and cleanliness. And the diving is spectacular ... among the healthiest reefs I have ever dived (I have dived all over the world). Guests are housed in cabins that are connected by a covered walkway. The rooms are decorated in a sophisticated and attractive manner ... sort of 90% Pottery Barn and 10% ethnic/folk. Each room has its own deck that generally has a beautiful sea view. The main lodge is tastefully decorated and a lovely place to hang out after dives, pre-dinner, or whenever. Meals are served in the main lodge buffet-style; the food is very varied, plentiful, and
Read more
Date of stay: August 2008
Response from Tawali R, Guest Relations Manager at Tawali Resort
Responded 16 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Resort. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you back one day soon
Read more
US$93 - US$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Papua New GuineaPapua RegionAlotau
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing