The Inn at Lock Seven

The Inn at Lock Seven

24 Chapel St S, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2C6 Canada
Traveller (76)
Room & Suite (31)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 motel in Thorold
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the heart of Thorold in the Niagara peninsula, a warm welcome with the comfort of modern conveniences awaits you at 'The Inn at Lock Seven'. This Inn overlooks the 7th lift lock of the Welland Canal and each guestroom has an outdoor seating area with a view of the locks. Free Wi-Fi access and a mounted flat-screen cable TV are included in every non-smoking guest room at this Inn. Rooms are soundproofed and equipped with a refrigerator, a coffee maker and furnished with a work desk. Some of the regional attractions and activities such as Canadian Horseshoe Falls, St. Catharine's Museum, Fallsview Casino Resort, Shaw Festival, Royal Niagara Golf Club, etc. Are within 15 - 20 minutes drive away from this Inn. The Inn at Lock Seven features a library, gift shop and the front desk offers a fax and copy service. Parking is available on site at no additional cost.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Vending machine
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Express check-in / check-out
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighbourhood
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

24 Chapel St S, Thorold, Ontario L2V 2C6 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 55 out of 100
55
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
Niagara Falls Intl Airport
20.1 km
See all flights
143Reviews4Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 60
  • 23
  • 10
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Renee O wrote a review Jun 2022
Windsor, Canada126 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Older motel, but has character. Loved being able to sit on our small, but private patio and watch ships pass by on the welland canal at lock seven. New toilet, and sink, newly painted room, older tub needed to be resurfaced, in my opinion. Sheets were crisp and white, simple furniture, older style dressers and lamps, which gave the room a bit of historical character (70 ish). Everything was clean. I'd stay here again, price was half of the usual prices in Niagara area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No elevators
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Hello Renee, Thank you for staying with us. Your suggestions are important and will certainly be looked into. We appreciate the kind feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tracy W wrote a review Jul 2023
Petrolia, Canada286 contributions111 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are cozy and we have a big balcony overlooking the canal. Got to watch several ships come in including a cruise ship. The air conditioning in the room is at the front of the door which has a cubby hole area and all the cold air stayed in that area. So I was hot that night. I had to go out and buy a big fan to put in the entrance to draw the cold air into our room, so I was much cooler the second night. They should supply fans for every room to accommodate that problem. I’ve heard others complain about that too. The rooms are very clean. There is no extra blankets supplied you get a sheet and one thin blanket. They had NO ice in their ice machine saying it’s closed for COVID. This is July 2023 COVID is long over. That’s an excuse to be cheap and I was pissed I had to buy really expensive ice at the convenience store when the hotel should be supplying it especially when you spend $180/night. There was no microwave in the room and the fridge is not cold enough to hold beer. The beds were ok. Comfy enough but bounced around if you moved too much so they were not sturdy. The area is safe and beautiful with a few awesome restaurants within walking distance. All in all I still liked it here minus a few things and I would return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Don S wrote a review Oct 2020
Creemore, Canada1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room 11 one night the beginning of Oct '20. Our room was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. We brought our own food during the COVID19 pandemic so we only saw the desk clerk when we checked in and out. This is the 3rd time we have come for a night to watch ships. We saw 10 ships go through lock 7 during the 19 hrs we were there. The motel and area was quite enough to sleep but the ships coming into the lock are noisy so woke us up during the night which is why we were there. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: all rooms on the 3 levels face lock 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 17 Jul 2021
Hello Don, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you soon, thanks!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
planetseb wrote a review Sept 2021
Ottawa, Canada375 contributions96 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
5 stars for a unique location - great access to the Welland Canal bike trail, and right on the canal to view the ships coming through the locks - fascinating! All rooms have balconies for the view . The rooms are well appointed but a bit tired. We had two rooms side by side with an adjoining door which was a nice feature.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Hello Planetseb, Thank you for staying with us. Your kind feedback is much appreciated. See you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Johanna m wrote a review Aug 2021
Stayner, Canada7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely 4 day stay at “The Inn at Lock Seven”. The rooms were extremely clean, the beds are very comfy. Even with its close proximity to the Welland Canal you can hardly hear the ships even at night. The host is friendly but because of Covid we only saw him on check in and out. There are some nice local restaurants and more are close by in St. Catherines, and Niagara Fall is only 10 minutes away. We will most definitely be back again for a few days of ship watching.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Hello Johannam, Thank you for your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you at the Inn. Feel glad, you enjoyed watching the ships. Many thanks for the wonderful feedback and look forward to your next visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noemie R wrote a review Jul 2022
18 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The greatest : the Inn location just above lock 7 of the Welland Canal. One can see the ships from the bed.
The very good : spotless room, great customer service, lovely balcony for viewing the Canal.
Excellent location for visiting all the tourist attractions of the area including Niagara Falls, Niagara on the lake, wineries, etc.
The so, so : the WiFi was barely functional/intermittent in our room. Hope it will work properly for our next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Hello Noemier, Thank you for your stay with us. The categorized feedback is much appreciated. We will certainly look into the wifi connectivity and make it seamless for your next visit. Thanks!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick D wrote a review Nov 2022
Vermont30 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Upfront disclaimer: This review is about my experience with the Inn although I wasn’t able to stay there.
I booked a room at the inn 2-3 weeks before a planned trip. The next day I got a call from the manager— Apparently I indicated that I would arrive at midnight, after their office closed, and they wanted to make arrangements so I could get into my room. I explained that it was a mistake on my part and we both laughed.
But then two days before I was due to travel, a state of emergency due to heavy snow was declared over most of my route. I immediately wrote to the inn, explaining that I had to cancel because of the weather. Again, the manager called and assured me that there would be no charge even though I was past the free cancellation period. He seemed genuinely concerned about my need to cancel and was reassuring about not charging.
Such great customer service is rare! I bet that the inn staff treats guests who are fortunate enough to stay there as well as they treated me by phone. I will definitely stay there when I am able to reschedule my trip!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 18 Nov 2022
Hello Rick, Many thanks for the kind words and sharing your experience with us. It's unfortunate you could not stay with us due to bad weather. We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Please stay safe, thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie F wrote a review Sept 2021
Pakenham, Canada108 contributions23 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Motel is very clean, spacious room, comfy bed and pillow, nice washroom, wonderful view from large windows directly on to Lock 7 to view ships going through the lock. Location is handy to everything. Staff were very polite and helpful. Room was quiet, even the a/c. Only issue I had was some downstairs neighbors. Four people who were chain smokers sat at a picnic table directly below the balcony, so their disgusting smoke wafted up to the balcony. I could not sit out there much due to the stench. Then later at night I stepped outside to have a look at a ship, and the horrible stench of weed came right up to me. That smell actually makes me sick to my stomach. It would be wonderful if the owners made it a totally 'smoke free' property. I can imagine how awful that room would smell when they all left. The housekeeper would be using lots of Febreeze there for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: If you are a non smoker make sure to ask who your neighbors are.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Girish Ramchandani, Guest Services / Front Office at The Inn at Lock Seven
Responded 20 Sept 2022
Hello Jackie, Thank you for your stay with us. Your feedback is very important and much appreciated. We regret any inconvenience caused due to some in-disciplined guests. Although all our rooms are non-smoking, it is very challenging to police every one. We will certainly ensure, you have a great experience on your next visit. Thanks again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen Y wrote a review Aug 2023
Belleville, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Second time staying at this quaint little mote. Friendly fast check in. Rooms are basic but clean and neat. There is a coffee maker & fridge in the room. Beds are comfortable and lots of pillows. The best part is the balcony and
absolutely fantastic views of lock 7. The hotel is off the beaten path but only 15 minutes from Clifton Hills. We took our bikes and the trails are 1 minute from the hotel you can ride right alongside the canal for miles. I would recommend this place for the traveler looking for a peaceful way to end the day
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Keep in mind there are stairs, you can request lower level. I use their website and have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raymundo wrote a review Sept 2023
Cleveland, Ohio3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Such a unique hotel with a great view of Lock 7 and the Welland trail at the end of the street. Our bicycle club booked the entire hotel and there wasn't one complaint from anyone. Everyone was so impressed with the view and the outdoor picnic tables that allowed for great socializing, while watching ships come and go in the Lock.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ejobidon asked a question Aug 2020
2 contributions
Do they allow pets?
Answer from Innatlock7
Thorold, Canada
Unfortunately, pets are not allowed at the property, thank you.
SUNTRAVEL2013 asked a question Jul 2020
Brampton, Canada2 contributions
What are the room rates?
Answer from Innatlock7
Thorold, Canada
Room rates vary and are posted on our website, thank you!
bon212 asked a question Oct 2016
Isle La Motte, Vermont4 contributions2 helpful votes
Who is the current proprieter of The Inn?
Answer from Nicholas M
Jamestown, New York38 contributions38 helpful votes
His first name is Girish. He has a little accent. We were there in September 2016
Gorgeous49 asked a question Sept 2015
Cullar, Spain139 contributions42 helpful votes
Are there coffee/tea making facilities in the bedrooms?
Answer from Innatlock7
Thorold, Canada
Yes. Coffee/tea makers are available in all the rooms at the Inn.
Karen Y wrote a tip Aug 2023
Belleville, Canada7 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Keep in mind there are stairs, you can request lower level. I use their website and have contacted them directly and they respond quickly "
Read full review
M J wrote a tip Sept 2022
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms in this hotel have a view of the lock. It is basic and clean. If you like a hard bed and a warm room, this hotel is for you."
Read full review
Renee O wrote a tip Jun 2022
Windsor, Canada126 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"No elevators "
Read full review
Teresa Bakker wrote a tip Apr 2022
Montreal, Canada3 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Quiet, comfortable with walking trails and amenities nearby."
Read full review
Jackie F wrote a tip Sept 2021
Pakenham, Canada108 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are a non smoker make sure to ask who your neighbors are."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Thorold area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$804 - HK$1,014 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the inn at lock seven hotel thorold, the inn at lock 7
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioThorold
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE INN AT LOCK SEVEN

Frequently Asked Questions about The Inn at Lock Seven
Which popular attractions are close to The Inn at Lock Seven?
Nearby attractions include The Post Office Shannon Passero (0.5 km), Lock 7 Viewing Complex (0.5 km), and DeCou House (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Inn at Lock Seven?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at The Inn at Lock Seven?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Inn at Lock Seven?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Inn at Lock Seven?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Karma Kameleon Gastropub, Donnelly's Pub, and Pho 18.
Is The Inn at Lock Seven located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Thorold.
Are there any historical sites close to The Inn at Lock Seven?
Many travellers enjoy visiting British Methodist Episcopal Church (5.8 km), DeCou House (0.5 km), and Homer Lift Bridge / Welland Canal Bridge #4 / Queenston Street Bridge (4.2 km).
All Thorold HotelsThorold Hotel DealsHotels near The Inn at Lock Seven
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire