We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Zanzibar

Visit hotel website
Traveller (2744)
360
Panoramas (3)
Pool & Beach (552)
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
The Melia Hotel and Resort is Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is the perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Airport Transportation
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lagoon View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
Reviews & more
2,044Reviews
3,467Photos
188Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,516
  • 376
  • 102
  • 30
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My wife and my kids spent four days at Melia Zanzibar at the beginning of 2019. At the end of the stay, we were happy and relaxed. Our stay at the resort will remain one of the best experiences we have had so far as a family. The welcome was smooth and efficient, the rooms are
Read more
Response from stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear OS-B1978, On behalf of Meliá Zanzibar Team we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are extremely happy to know that your stay in our resort is one the best experience and memory that you have had, thanks to the quality of our facilities and our passionate staff. Our entire team would be more than happy to welcome you back in the future for a new Meliá Experience! Kindest Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
We stayed there for 5 nights and we had a stupendous time there/ Everything- from our suite, to the food, the ambience in the halls of the hotel and the service was all so pleasing and fun. The staff was always welcoming, smiling and ready to help. We stayed in one of the garden
Read more
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 3 Dec 2018
Dear yifatlauter, Wow! What a comment! On behalf of the entire Meliá Zanzibar team, thank you so much for your amazing comment! We are so proud that you described us as the best resort ever and be assured that our teams and especially our kitchen staffs will be delighted to know their efforts made your experience such pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you soon again and shall the occasion to make you live the Meliá Experience on the Spice island arises again, please be assured that we will all do our very best to look after all your wishes. Best regards, Arthur Leopold Leleu Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Everything from check in to check out was first class. The bedroom was kept clean with adequate toilettries, fresh towels etc... There was a good choice of restaurents and the food was first class whether it be for breakfast lunch or diner. We opted for an inclusive package
Read more
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Brian, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our Meliá Zanzibar Hotel on your recent holidays. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you felt the soul of Zanzibar with us and that you had a wonderful stay with us. Please be assured that all your commentaries will be shared with all our teams, and we trust that this will help us to keep working with the same passion every day. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic experience. Yours Sincerely, Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
We spend with a family of 5 a week of vacation at the resort and all expectations were exceeded. Rooms are generously and tastefully designed. Landscaping ist beautiful. very clean and taken care of! Attitude of all staff is truly sensationally. It is as if you had 200 hosts who
Read more
Response from Arthur Leopold L, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear joliemontagne, On behalf of the whole Meliá Zanzibar team, thank you very much for taking the time to write and share your opinion on TripAdvisor. It is our pleasure to know that you a very relaxing and luxury stay at our hotel, and that you found our staff were outstanding. We are proud to offer memorable experiences in Zanzibar and to see that we were able to exceed all your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you at Meliá! Kindest Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
We had heard so many good thing, only to experience some of the worst! - our room was left UNTOUCHED for two days with NO CLEANING or evening the routine of bug spraying... - Several of my product went MISSING from our room (kiehls eye cream, kiehls hydration mask, and
Read more
Response from stevanco, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear leenpownall, Firstly allow us to thank you for your trust and for choosing our Meliá Zanzibar Hotel. We deeply regret to read that your perception was not up to your expectations on regards to your stay in Zanzibar. Our entire staff goal is to always give the most exclusive service to all our guests, and we are sorry if you didn't feel this way. Also, we would like to inform you that we were very surprised to read about your experience, as you have been speaking with several heads of departments every day and giving good feedbacks. Plus, at any moment during your stay you informed us about any situation with your room, which reinforces our stupefaction. Please be sure that our intention is to offer an excellent service and that this is our passion, we all remain at your complete disposal and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you at Meliá Zanzibar. Yours Sincerely Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelia Zanzibar
The Standard Room at the Melia Zanzibar
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelia Zanzibar
The Romance Pavillion at the Melia Zanzibar
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorMelia Zanzibar
Villa with Private Pool at the Melia Zanzibar
baño
PreviousNext
123456115
Dear driftys, Our reception is 24h open, you may send an email to our hotel at the following address : gex.melia.zanzibar@ melia. com We remain at your disposal Best Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
Dear lucyn83, There are many options in the resort and our chef would be more than happy to help with any request. We remain at your disposal. Best Regards Stevan Cochennec Guest Experience Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear EBMUSCAT, Thank you for your question! We regret if you feel disappointed about our rooms. Please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department, they will be more than delighted to assist you and offer you the best rates available. Shall you need anything else, please do not hesitate to contact us, Best regards, Arthur Leopold Leleu Guest Experience Manager
0 votes
Dear EBMUSCAT, Thank you for your question ! If you book a garden room, and shall you wish to upgrade upon arrival, our reception team will be delighted to assist you and shall there is availability, we can present you the rooms in order for you to make your decision, based on your wishes. Shall you need further information about the rooms or assistance, please be assured that we remain at your entire disposal, Best regards, Arthur Leopold Leleu Guest Experience Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Jennifer R, Thank you for your question ! Our Gabi Beach is lovely as you can see on the pictures ! February is a good time to come and if you need more information about the activities, please do not hesitate to contact us! Best regards, Arthur Leopold Leleu Guest Experience Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345638
"Ask room with sea view. If you don't hard mattresses, please indicate it before you travel."
"We had a detached bungalow overlooking the sea. Access would be difficult for someone with reduced mobility."
"There are no beachside rooms anyway unless you're staying in a villa."
"Bungalow was fantastic with a great view. "
"The rooms closest to the main reception is nice. The furthest ones can be inconvenient."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$359 - US$1,436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia zanzibar hotel kiwengwazamani zanzibar kempinski kiwengwa
LOCATION
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandKiwengwa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
124
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing