Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort

Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort

Traveller (6657)
Personalized notes & gifts from Roger who serviced our room :)
Room & Suite (1841)
Sheraton Waikiki
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#5 of 12 resorts in Honolulu
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Sheraton Waikiki offers a prime location on the shores of Waikiki Beach with spectacular views of Diamond Head crater. After exploring Hawaii's top attractions, guests can unwind in beautifully-designed outdoor pools, and a modern fitness center, or dine in one of the resort's unique restaurants with globally-inspired cuisine. The resort also features 16 contemporary meeting rooms with state-of-the-art audiovisual technology, making it an ideal destination for event-planning purposes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Game room
Babysitting
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Waterslide
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids pool
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Luxury
Languages Spoken
Chinese, Filipino, Japanese, Korean
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Honolulu Intl Airport
11.7 km
See all flights
Molokai Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles8,142 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in a prime spot, the Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort garners acclaim for its unbeatable location with easy beach access and proximity to local hotspots. While the striking views and a tidy setting win over guests, the rooms’ size and storage limitations occasionally disappoint. Service at the hotel paints a varied picture; staff are often described as friendly, yet some visitors recount experiences of slow service. Amidst the praise for the vibrant atmosphere, the value proposition is questioned due to steep costs and extra charges.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Mixed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Mixed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
8,142Reviews255Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,538
  • 2,694
  • 1,070
  • 433
  • 409
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Carlos L. wrote a review Jan 2020
Palm Desert, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here based on TA reviews who stated "have stayed at all SPG properties and this is the best." Well it was a pleasant stay but was 3 star stay (we walked over to westin to have a drink and the luxury collection which is more our style and prob will stay there next time)

Arrival/check in: Check-in was smooth and they had dedicated Elite line but no one at that line but was ok as we didnt wait too long.

Room: We were upgraded to room 3107 which has a nice partial ocean view. We were grateful for upgrade as sold out during post Xmas week. The room was recently upgraded room however the restroom is tiny with space for one person and the restroom is divided from bedroom with weird wood paneling that doesnt block out light entirely. Weird design.

Resort fee: expensive and doesnt add value for elite members but I wont complain like others as resort fees are ubiqtious in Hawaii and I knew full well that every place charges them and still came (its a pro con argument) and if you arent happy with them dont come here as many different resort locations without them (mexico for example). I for one decided to come even knowing xmas season crazy and not best season to come as rainy etc etc so if I have anyone to blame its myself.

Amenities: Infinity pool is amazing albeit small. Its adults only area so that enhances the experience.

Fees: I know Honolulu is expensive and has fees everywhere but the resort fee doesnt cover for anything especially if elite member. you have to pay for lounge chairs which might not be terrible thing as prevents "Seat vultures" who wake up at 6 am and "reserve chairs" for themselvs. I personally didnt mind paying for chairs as my wife and I had languorous breakfast and came out around 11:30 am and viola we had a chair as we paid for it. I personally hate the individuals who "reserve" and then leave for hours. Trust me if you pay for it ever chair was occupied by people as who wants to waste what you paid for.

Lounge: what a lounge! has amazing views and food/snacks and free wine/beer! This is amazing lounge and highlight of staying here.

Verdict: not bad hotel and pool is amazing but probably will stay somewhere else. We came here Xmas week on whim last minute and there wasnt much availability in HNL and this place was going for 400-500 a night but I used points so was free minus resort fees etc and other charges we maid during our stay.
This is a big "resort hotel" with many people; its not bad place to stay but just wasnt our "Style"
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Aloha Ledezmacjl, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed evaluation of your experience here. We always want our guests to enjoy our fantastic location and hospitality, so we are disappointed that your overall visit did not meet your expectations. Although we appreciate knowing that you were able to take advantage of our infinity pool and relax in your recently upgraded guest room, we certainly regret you were not fully impressed. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope you will return and give us another opportunity to confirm why we are consistently a preferred choice for a visit to Waikiki. We wish you all the best with your travels and hope to see you again. Mahalo, Mari K. Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ak112 wrote a review Jan 2020
Port Coquitlam, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me preface my review but saying that I am a first-time Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member and this was our first stay at this resort. We have been to Waikiki several times in the last decade as a couple but this was our first visit to the city in nearly 5 years. Since then, we have 2 young kids aged 6 and 2 years so it was definitely a much difference experience travelling to Waikiki this time around. Our previous visits we usually stayed at smaller boutique hotels that were more central in the heart of the action but a few blocks from the ocean/beach.

I must say and my wife will 100% agree on this, is that the Leahi Club Lounge on the 30th Floor was the highlight of our stay and probably the entire trip! Having daily buffet breakfast included as well as evening alcoholic drinks and hot appetizers/meals in the evening not only saved us a ton of money but gave us a nice, laid back place to hang out almost every day with our kids to unwind. If you are not platinum, you can still add this on to your room for $125 per night plus tax (included for up to 2 adults and 2 children), which is still good value when you consider that the breakfast buffet at Kai Market downstairs charges $30+ per person plus 20% service charge plus tax, etc...

The service was top notch for the most part aside from some very minor things, which are not really worth mentioning. The kids pool and adults infinity pool were both the best in Waikiki to my knowledge. Beach access was slightly limited but very closeby so convenient for young families to go back and forth to the pool, if necessary.

One big tip, if you are a Marriott bonvoy member, make sure to mention this at each place you are making a room charge as you never know, there might be a small 10-15% discount applies but this must be done at the time you settle your bill, not at checkout. For example, food items charged to the room at the pool qualify for the 10% discount.

One minor negative I should mention is that the resort fee among others used to include the kids eat free program when dining at their restaurants in the lobby, but we were told that these have stopped effective January 1st but weren’t given any prior notice until paying for our bill at the restaurant.

We will most definitely be back here when we next visit Waikiki. It’s a no-brainer if traveling to Waikiki with young children!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Aloha Ak112, Thank you for being a Platinum Elite member and for choosing us on your recent trip to Waikiki, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family! Our resort is ideally located for fun-loving family vacations with all the excitement and entertainment the heart of Waikiki provides. We are pleased each of you had a memorable stay and that our accommodations and amenities exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure hosting you and your family, and we look forward to seeing you all again any time your travels bring you to the islands. Mahalo, Mari K. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
MJ219 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our first time staying at a Sheraton and I would highly recommend the Sheraton at Waikiki. Our entire experience was great from beginning to end. We had to cancel our Japan trip about a month ago due to Covid-19. We decided to come to Hawaii instead, this was before the escalation of Covid-19 worldwide. We did see employees cleaning the elevator buttons, and other areas very diligently during our stay.

As a platinum member, we were upgraded to an ocean view room and it was amazing. The view was like a postcard. The rooms seem to have been recently renovated and I love the clean contemporary look. We spent all our sunny days at the adult infinity pool with unparalleled views of the ocean and great people watching. We did pay extra to rent the front row chaise loungers and I would recommend doing the same, especially if your'e only staying here for a short time. We were originally going to stay at the Ritz, but chose the Sheraton because of the close proximity to the ocean and I'm really glad we made the decision.

As other viewers have mentioned, the member lounge is crazy good. The breakfast buffet is well rounded with a ton of selection, the same can be said for the evening drinks/snacks. This lounge alone made our stay so much more convenient and pleasant. Lastly, loved Lawson's. They had all the food items that are in the Tokyo locations which provided great food nostalgia.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Aloha Clara J, Thank you for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite member and for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Waikiki. We are happy to read we made a great first impression and that you had a pleasant experience. We are glad you were able to experience and enjoy the longest oceanfront infinity pool in North America, right here at our resort. It was also a pleasure knowing you loved the perks of our Executive Lounge and the beautiful views of our surroundings from your graciously appointed room. We appreciate your generous feedback, and we look forward to another occasion to provide you with an exceptional visit. Mahalo, Mari K. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davidr wrote a review Jan 2020
Yorba Linda, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all because we organized a meeting for 28 folks and a bunch of rooms, we got some special help with a nice room. Not inexpensive but we didnt pay the really high premium for it.

We were in a suite with very large sitting room and large master bedroom with a large bathroom serving both. The bath room had a rain shower as well as a wand. The bath tub in the same space with the shower also had a wand.

The toilet was private and separate from the bath. The toilet sits very high and includes built in bidet (my first time). a little blower takes too long to dry you.

The bed was sumptuous; firm and soft at the same time. Pillows were understuffed 100% down and very lovely.

The bedroom and sitting room each had a balcony with seating and they faced different directions giving different views and having different wind behavior. We stayed in rm 2636.

Standard morning coffee using coffee bags was good. refridge for use, no honor bar.

We were also blessed with the use of a semi private hall for continental breakfasts and other meals, I think it was called Lahai. It was very, very nice and included a private conference room that seated 16.

We enjoyed a meal at RUMFIRE and indoor and outdoor restaurant serving some standards as well as some fusion dishes. It was very nice. Great tater tots, excellent looking pulled pork nachos with serrano peppers.

There were cookie stores, chocolat stores, 31 flavor Ice Cream store, Ukelele Store featuring martin instruments, lots of fashion and jewelry stores, much more I didnt see.

We were located at restaurant row so we didnt part take of the restaurant dining as much as we could have.

We loved our 3 nights there and tipped heavily but I am sure not enough for the service and attention we received.

The facilities were awesome. It was crowded
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Our room opened directly into the elevator area yet was still very quiet unless partiers got out...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 16 Jan 2020
Aloha Dbr555dr, Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Waikiki for your recent meeting accommodations, and for your kind remarks regarding your time with us. We are pleased to know that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience, and we love knowing you enjoyed the vast array of amenities we offer. It was our pleasure having you and your colleagues as our guests, and we look forward to seeing you all on your next visit to our islands! Mahalo, Mari K. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amles wrote a review Jan 2021
Portland, Oregon
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of Sheraton Waikiki is hard to beat, being one of the few true beach front hotels in the heart of Waikiki. The deluxe ocean view rooms offer a truly incredible, panoramic view of the ocean and Diamond Head. It was unfortunate that the pandemic has resulted in a very noticeable cut in hotel staff, especially in the reception area where a straight forward check in process on a Tuesday (at 5 pm) took an hour, with only one staff behind the desk. Housekeeping was unable to get the room cleaned when we were gone between 9 am and 3 pm on three of the seven days of our stay, despite a phone call to request service each morning. Only 1 restaurant was opened (Rumfire), and while the food, view & service was exceptional, the menu was very limited. We wish Sheraton Waikiki the best as they recover from the the impact of COVID-19 and appreciated so much that they are trying their best to bring normalcy back to life.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shaun Ono, General Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 29 Jan 2021
Aloha Ms. Amlesil Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Waikiki and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. I appreciate your feedback and time to provide us further information on your experiences as we continuously look to improve our level of service. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us during these unusual times. Sincerely, Shaun Ono
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
todd z wrote a review Feb 2020
Beverly, Massachusetts
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great hotel that is nearing the end of a long construction upgrade. We experienced Top notch service with Clean and very nice upgraded rooms. We stayed in two connecting rooms for 9 nights on the 28th floor with a great view from our balcony. The Kai Market restaurant served a great daily buffet for breakfast, with lots of choices. The service was outstanding and the quality was better than expected.
The poolside edge bar offered great bar food and drinks. The adult pool was well maintained with a helpful staff. You can rent poolside chairs which makes sense on weekends because it can get busy. I would suggest that when
Making reservations that you confirm that you have a renovated room that is in a construction free zone.
We had a great vacation at this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 24 Feb 2020
Aloha ziggyh2o, Thank you for making Sheraton Waikiki a part of your vacation. We are glad you loved our modern rooms with breathtaking views and that you were impressed with the service provided by our staff. We are also happy to read that you had a great time at our infinity pool and that your experience at Edge of Waikiki and Kai Market was a pleasant one. We look forward to being your home the next time you and your family are in our area. Mahalo, Mari K. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kidsalot wrote a review Feb 2020
Verona, New Jersey
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an ocean front room on the 30th floor, this room gave you access to the club room, where you can get a continental + breakfast and a select dinner/ beer, wine or soft drinks all buffet style and all you can eat. The view from the club house is also great, glass on two sides and can see diamond head and down the beach the other direction, well worth getting into if you can, this will save you some money on food in the long run. The food was pretty much the same every day except for a couple of dishes they would change out. The lobby when we 1st arrived was confusing, hard to figure where the check in desk was, you have to walk in and after the stores its tucked off to the right. From our room you can see the ocean floor and even some sea turtles from up there, the rooms were comfortable and nice. We had no complaints about any of the food we ate there, as every place there you are going to spend money on food so be prepared to spend when you go. There are 2 pools, an "Adult" pool (16 and older), not big or deep but a place to hang out/ a bar near by. The other pool is a large family pool, this was nice but at the time we were there the hotel was working on the balconies so it was a little annoying, but enjoyed the pool anyway. Overall I would recommend this hotel
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 29 Feb 2020
Aloha Kidsalot, Thank you for recommending Sheraton Waikiki to future guests. We are glad knowing you loved our Club Oceanfront Rooms boasting energizing views of the beautiful Pacific Ocean and with access to the Club Lounge. We are especially happy to read you had a refreshing time at our outdoor pool area. It was our pleasure hosting you both, and we look forward to doing so again on your next visit to Waikiki. Mahalo, Mari K. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laine S wrote a review Jun 2021
Phoenix, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just got home from a nearly 2 week stay at the Sheraton Waikiki. Honestly, the hotel is great and the positives by far outweigh any issues. The hotel's lobby and open spaces are terrific - especially the rocking chairs next to the koi pond. That was my favorite quiet spot in the early morning. The grounds are beautiful too. You're right on the ocean so the views are amazing. Our room was nice and spacious enough for 2 people and the bed was really comfortable and linens were so soft. The hotel location couldn't be better because you're not only right on the beach, but you're also steps away from the Royal Hawaiian Center open air shopping and the main 'strip' with all the shops so it's incredibly convenient. Another very important note is that the Sheraton is off the 'strip' so you don't get the crazy noise from all the people, especially at night. It was seriously like the Vegas strip with competing bands on the sidewalk. Both the Sheraton and Royal Hawaiian are not on the strip, but the Moana Surfrider and Outrigger are, so I'm guessing unless you have a room facing the ocean, it must be really noisy, unless they seriously soundproof their windows. This is a big advantage for the Sheraton.

The one issue to address is the pool. There's a huge pool on one side for families and another infinity pool on the other side for adults. Not sure if it's 100% due to COVID but there simply weren't enough lounge chairs and it got to be a pain. The pools don't open until 8am, but the sun rises around 5:30am so most people are waiting. On the adult side, people stand in line from about 7am just to get a lounge chair. On the family side, people start putting their towels on lounge chairs around 6am, so by the time 8am rolls around, there are hardly any chairs left. On our last day there (two days ago) I was able to snag a nice chair at 6am and saw about 5 other chairs on both sides of me with towels (to save them), but the people didn't show up until around 10am, and even then, some of them went straight to the beach. It's really an issue that the hotel needs to find a solution for. A lot of people were talking about it. Other than this, I would still recommend the Sheraton because it has so much going for it. Had a great stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We were in room 1238 which faced the ocean and Diamondhead. It was great!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 5 Jun 2021
Aloha TravelGRL2019, Mahalo for taking the time to share about your stay at Sheraton Waikiki. We are glad you loved your well-appointed room and enjoyed your time staying with us. However, we are sorry for not meeting your expectations in regard to the pool and regret the inconvenience caused. We appreciate you recommending us, and we look forward to another occasion to provide you with an exceptional visit. Mahalo, Mari K. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
V1635IBmatthewc wrote a review Feb 2020
Adelaide, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki in Hawaii. Was a big mistake booking there as they have full blown renovations on, so on the floors we were on you could only get to them via half the lifts which made it very difficult to get to the floor. We asked to be moved to another room as the floor we were on and above had renovations going on so jack hammering and workman noise all day made it impossible to relax in the $600+ per night room, so they moved us and the friends we were travelling with. Our friends had to move again the next day as they put them in a room with 2 single beds but they had to stay there that night to get away from the noise.

In each room they have a card from the hotel manager that says 'tell us how to improve our service,' so we sent manager Jason a long text about our stay so far and left a voice message but have had no response.

Now we understand that progress needs to be done and rooms updated but it would have been nice if they mentioned it on booking or even at check in at least, then you could make a decision whether to stay or not. We will never again book at the Sheraton Waikiki. General manager Tom should be ashamed of what’s going on and how things are being handled in his hotel.

The staff at breakfast were absolutely fantastic as were the pool staff, but the waitresses at the Edge bar of a night would rather watch the TV behind the bar than serve guests. On more than one occasion we had to go and ask for service. The hotel would have sold more food and beverages if the service was better at the Edge bar in fact we watched people sick of waiting walk off.

Anyway never again at the Sheraton Waikiki. They only get you once!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TeamMarriott, Manager at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 1 Feb 2020
Aloha V1635IBmatthewc, Thank you for your feedback. While we strive to be transparent about our modernization project online and during the booking process, we are genuinely sorry that it may have caused you any inconvenience. We regret that your stay was while our renovations were underway and that you had to endure the dust and noise that these improvements can cause. We are very excited about our ongoing renovation and would love for you to come back and see the final results. Mahalo, Casey O. Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jenjoaz wrote a review Jul 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As a family of 4, we recently stayed 10 nights at the Sheraton Waikiki. It was an okay experience, but we wouldn't stay there again. Overall the hotel is VERY busy. It literally feels like a mid range Vegas hotel and Disneyland got married and had a baby. Long lines everywhere, including for the elevators (however those move pretty quick on the ground floor.) Long coffee shop lines, with much of the food sold out by 9 AM. (Good latte's however.) The staff and service was mixed. Check in process took forever (30-45 min lines every day in mid July) and I would rate that service level a 5/10 there and not super welcoming. The housekeeping staff and guest services were helpful and good. Anytime we needed anything, they usually came very quickly and were nice.

The rooms are very small with a fair amount of wasted space. The four of us shared a double room, which means the double beds are way too small for two grown people, and I cant express enough how uncomfortable the beds are. Our backs and hips were killing us by the end of the stay. Why put double beds in a hotel room when queens are so much better for guests?

Also, the nightstand has a fake non-drawer; why waste that potential drawer space for extra storage in a room with a 10'inch wide closet and only 3 narrow other dresser drawers. The room needs more hooks for towels and more storage space. A dust pan/brush for all the sand that inevitably ends up in suits from a beach day would be a nice touch. Our balcony was covered in it and never cleaned off the entire stay.

The adult pool was nice, and the view was awesome. The drinks were good there, and given that you can walk up to the pool bar there, service was quick there. Rum Fire was a different story with okay good. The location is the best thing about the hotel; everything you would want in Waikiki is right there. Overall it was a mixed stay for us; we had a good time but as I said would not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We chose an ocean view room, and did have a great view!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Aloha carpediam92, Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the frustrations you experienced during our peak season, and mahalo for your patience. We also regret not meeting your expectations with your room. We are always looking for opportunities to improve our guest experience, so we are grateful for your feedback. Mahalo for mentioning how much you enjoyed your time at our pool. We hope to have the opportunity to better your stay, should your travel plans bring you back to Waikiki again in the future. Mahalo, Mari K. Guest Experience Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Shane W asked a question Jun 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Can you park in the parking garage before you check into the hotel.
อกธรณี น.ส. ธิดารัตน์ สุดกระโทก เขตต์ ฐานทัพ แล้ว 1 2 10 โทร. 256017302017
Brenda S asked a question May 2024
1 contribution
What does it cost to rent a cabana?
Brenda S asked a question May 2024
1 contribution
What does it cost to rent a cabana?
Kotinca P wrote a tip Yesterday
22 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Eat 1 mile from the strip. Instead of $30 for eggs and bacon it is $10, and a beautiful walk"
Read full review
JD wrote a tip 12 Jul
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great spot for finding good eats."
Read full review
Marcus O wrote a tip 11 Jul
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t come here unless you are flush with cash and don’t care about crowds"
Read full review
cs9 wrote a tip 10 Jul
17 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure it’s worth it unless traveling alone. "
Read full review
PETER A wrote a tip 8 Jul
6 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Better value elsewhere "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$3,693 - HK$4,606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton waikiki hotel honolulu, sheraton hotel waikiki, sheraton hotel honolulu, sheraton honolulu, honolulu sheraton, sheraton waikiki honolulu
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1,772
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHERATON WAIKIKI BEACH RESORT - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include International Market Place (0.4 km), Breakout Waikiki Escape Rooms (0.1 km), and Waikiki Sunset Cruise with Live DJ (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tempura Kiki, StripSteak by Michael Mina, and Honolulu Cookie Company.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Waikiki Beach Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iolani Palace (4.3 km), Shangri La (4.3 km), and US Army Museum of Hawaii (0.4 km).
All Honolulu HotelsHonolulu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Honolulu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire