We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

Save
Share
2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Snaptravel
FindHotel
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4705)
360
Panoramas (4)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 13/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Updated 13/04/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#37 of 96 hotels in Honolulu
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, a Waikiki Beach a resort in Honolulu, Hawaii located in the heart of Waikiki near shopping, dining and entertainment. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. We offer a beautiful and amenity-filled oceanfront luxury setting right on Waikiki Beach.
Read more
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Landmark view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
6400Reviews141Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 3,212
  • 1,759
  • 734
  • 356
  • 339
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Wanderer604912 wrote a review 20 Oct
1 contribution
The Moana Surfrider was an amazing place to stay - the location was beautiful, the staff was extremely helpful and overall was just wonderful. We ate at the restaurants and the food & drinks were delicious. The location is the best of all of the hotels we saw. The employees went “above and beyond” to ensure guests had an enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The Moana Surfrider staff takes care of everything! Just enjoy your visit!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
LynnDB wrote a review 16 Oct
Houston, Texas1012 contributions251 helpful votes
My husband, 2 of our adult children (3 rooms) stayed at Moana Surfrider. Because of the pandemic, we were happy to stay in one hotel with a beach and just relax for a week. Everything was good except the gym and the hoops we had to jump through to be able to work out daily. There is one under manned main desk that handles all hotel business. To be able to work out, you have to stand in a long line to put your name on the wait list for a spot in the gym. When a spot becomes available, they will call you. Then you have to wait in another long line to get your gym key. After you workout, you have to again stand in a long line to hand in your gym key. I understand that it is tough getting workers to come back to work instead of making more money staying at home, but it costs a lot to stay at this hotel and guests are not getting a good deal here. The gym is well equipped. I was happy to see 2 Pelotons, but they were dirty, dusty and drenched in sweat because no one comes into the gym to clean. However, they do come in often to scold guests to keep their masks on during their entire workout. If you want a decent hotel on the beach, you'll probably have a nice stay. If you are a fitness buff, find another hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 5 days ago
Aloha LynnDB, Mahalo for taking the time to share your concerns regarding your visit with us. Although we are pleased you and your family were able to all stay with us and were pleased to do so because of COVID concerns, we would like to apologize for any inconvenience or frustration our new gym facility policy may have caused. We appreciate your patience and understanding as we have had to change some of our policies during these challenging times. We want to provide a trustworthy travel experience for each guest with your comfort in mind; so, we are very grateful for your feedback. Our associates are typically very prompt in their housekeeping duties of the gym, but we will continue to work with them to ensure our cleanliness standards are being met. Mahalo once more; we hope to have the chance to welcome you back for a more seamless experience. Mahalo, Kyle A. Resident Manager
Read more
Kirsten306 wrote a review 12 Oct
Saskatoon, Canada21 contributions8 helpful votes
My husband and I ended our babymoon with a 3 night stay at the Moana Surfrider. We were disappointed with our experience. While the lobby and outside of the building are nice, the interior is very run down. The carpet in the hallways is faded and dirty. Our room was not much better - clearly this hotel needs an update. The cleanliness of the hotel was not great. There were visible marks on the walls in the bathroom. We attempted to use the pool but there were no chairs left. In the end we didn't even go in the pool as it was overrun with very loud kids who were splashing and screaming; it was anything but relaxing. We got the feeling that this was a budget hotel for college kids. There were many young adults (early 20's) within the hotel who were not abiding by COVID protocols such as masking or limits on the elevators. It didn't seem that anyone at the hotel cared to enforce the COVID masking rules. I found this to be troubling given that we were travelling from Canada and required a negative COVID test in order to go back home. I would not recommend this hotel unless you are in college and just want to party.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Kirsten306, Mahalo for being our guest. Our utmost priority is to provide a comfortable, clean, and safe environment for our guests, particularly during these current circumstances. Therefore, we take your comments seriously and appreciate the feedback. You have our assurance that we will address this appropriately. We appreciate your patience during these unprecedented times. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with the perfect stay you deserve. Mahalo, Kyle A. Resident Manager
Read more
Ailton007 wrote a review 11 Oct
Seattle, Washington726 contributions204 helpful votes
Used our suite night awards and got a room overlooking Waikiki Beach and Diamond Head which made for a good start. Got breakfast coupons as well but even without all the status benefits, it's just a great hotel to stay in. Professional and friendly staff, love the Banyan tree and history of the place. They do enforce the government Covid restrictions so be prepared to show negative test or proof of vaccination. All restaurants ask for it as well. Great gym too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We opted for valet parking $55 a day vs. 42 self-park across the street, much more convenient
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Ailton007, Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach. Everything we do is designed to provide a revitalizing experience for our guests filled with Hawaiian hospitality; so, we are pleased that we exceeded your expectations with our service, beautiful location, and amenities. We also take our responsibility seriously to provide a welcoming, safe, and comfortable environment for our guests, team members, and community. Now, more than ever, we want to ensure that we exceed expectations in this area, and we appreciate your recognition of our efforts and for sharing this with other travelers. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we hope to see you again whenever your travels bring you this way. Mahalo, Kyle A. Resident Manager
Read more
MV wrote a review 7 Oct
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you want the hotel to provide beach chairs or umbrellas you need to pay $75 per day and they close at 5pm. I would expect more comfort and service to be standard/included with high price Marriott hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
Aloha mvh999, Mahalo for choosing us for your Waikiki Beach visit. Although we are hopeful you enjoyed the rest of our property and various other amenities, we regret any frustration or disappointment caused to you by the charge and availability of our beach chairs and umbrellas. Please note that these are available from 7:00 AM until closing, and you may reserve these up to twenty-four hours in advance. These fees are competitively priced and listed on our website. We apologize if this was not adequately communicated with you, and we will share your comments appropriately. Thank you once more. We hope other aspects of your visit will bring you back to see us again soon. Mahalo, Kyle A. Resident Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$354 - US$712 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moana surfrider, a westin hotel honolulu, moana surfrider, a westin resort and spa, westin moana surfrider, moana surfrider westin resort, westin honolulu, honolulu westin
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
791
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Nearby attractions include Saint Augustine by-the-Sea (0.5 km), Mai Tai Bar at Royal Hawaiian Hotel (0.2 km), and Aloha Pearl Harbor Tours (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, secured parking, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include Island Vintage Shave Ice, Maguro Spot, and Paia Fish Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Experience Nutridge (4.4 km), Iolani Palace (4.7 km), and Shangri La (3.9 km).
Does Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.