Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites

Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites

Praia de Waikiki (próximo ao hotel)
Traveller (447)
Room & Suite (235)
Praia de Waikiki (próximo ao hotel)
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.0
#83 of 94 hotels in Honolulu
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites features hotel rooms, studios, and suites - all with kitchen facilities including 4-burner stove mini-refrigerators. Hotel amenities include an outdoor swimming pool with sundeck for added convenience. A daily hospitality fee will be added to the daily room rate. An amenity fee includes: Aloha Snack Pack Daily, self-serve coffee & iced tea service in the lobby from 6:00 a.m. to 8 p.m. daily, 10% discount at the on-site restaurant, Lava Tube Waikiki; In-room safe, WiFi access. Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites is a pet-friendly hotel, accepts pets with no weight limit on the 1st and 2nd floors, 2 pets max per room. There is a fee per night for pets.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Pool
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Paid public parking on-site
Outdoor pool
Sun deck
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

2280 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5501
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Honolulu Intl Airport
Molokai Airport
76.7 km
See all flights
3.0
3.0 of 5 bubbles2,006 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites stands in high regard for its prime location close to Waikiki Beach and local attractions, yet some travelers have been disturbed by street noise. While the staff often receives compliments for their helpfulness, guests have reported inconsistencies in service and communication. The accommodations are regularly criticized for being outdated and unclean, with pest sightings and broken amenities. Opinions on value are divided, as guests appreciate the competitive rates but are frustrated by hidden fees and the dated condition of the hotel. Amenities receive mixed reviews, with the kitchen facilities being convenient for some, but others are disappointed by the lack of supplies and additional charges. The general atmosphere of the hotel is seen as in need of a refresh to match the vibrant surroundings of Waikiki.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Run-down
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Limited

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,006Reviews20Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 420
  • 425
  • 465
  • 296
  • 402
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Josephine C wrote a review Jan 2020
San Jose, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I thought that while the staff was friendly, the hotel itself is in serious need of a remodel. The furnishings, walls, bathrooms are outdated. The bathroom itself is super old - you can tell that the tile walls have been painted over several times. The cabinets look like they're from the 60s or 70s. The window blinds are uneven and allow way too much light in the room. The pillow are uncomfortable and musty smelling. They should be replaced. The kitchen did not have enough utensils (missing knife) so we had to purchase one from a store. The price I paid (about $300+ per night) for the value I received was way too high. I've stayed in other Aqua properties and this one unfortunately did not meet expectations.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OhiaWaikiki, General Manager at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Aloha Josephine C, Please accept my sincerest apologies. While the property is in need of some renovations, we do have all items needed in our housekeeping department. Sometimes our housekeepers may miss an item to replace, however I am not sure if you called down to request anything missing in kitchen. Again, I do apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay. Mahalo, Kathy Gunderson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sharonksobotta wrote a review Aug 2021
Walnut Creek, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you're on a budget and would like a centrally located place walking distance to the beach and still in the hub of the action (steps away from Surf & Turf Tacos and the Market), this is the place for you. While the rooms are dated and the front desk is pretty busy, the staff is kind and helpful. I noticed that guests who rented a car sometimes were frustrated with the parking situation, but I would recommend simply not bringing a car. This place is located directly across the street from a bus stop and also it's quite central making walking a great option. My daughters and I loved that iced tea and filtered water was available in the lobby everyday. Even though this place is a little dated, it is charming. We'll be back.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Edna C wrote a review May 2021
Paso Robles, California
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everyone is so friendly. Maricel, the housekeeper is giving us tips on where to go while she's cleaning and changing the bed sheets. She's so helpful and cheerful. Aside from enjoying the pristine beaches and delicious local food, it's nice to go back to the hotel knowing that you have fresh towels and newly cleaned place and made up bed. Also, Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites is walking distance to Waikiki Beach. The hotel's friendly staff added to our great Hawaiian experience. Mahalo!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: proximity to the beach and friendly staff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ke7jjo wrote a review Jan 2020
Battle Ground, Washington
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Over priced. 28$ per day resort fee and another 28$ parking fee. Rooms outdated (1945), carpets old and sticky, holes in ceiling, corner shower so small we could barely bend over to wash feet. Cable tv had bad cable with fuzzy screen. Tiny pool. Only ice maker in outside rear parking garage and ice bucket holds 10 pcs ice. This is a booking dot NO hotel!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OhiaWaikiki, General Manager at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Aloha ke7jjo, Thank you for Sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Aqua Ohia Waikiki Hotel. Our hospitality fee is to facilitate various amenities with the goal to make stay hassle free and inclusive. Parking in Waikiki is premium and we do charge $28 daily for parking. We recently have upgraded our cable TV to Fiber and are working on replacement of TV's to ensure the HD quality. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the challenges you encountered during your stay. Mahalo, Kathy Gunderson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John Gallagher wrote a review Mar 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
To start this review, we were greeted rudely by the customer service people right at check in. I will give a couple workers who were nice but the rest of the workers who helped us were very rude. They kept passing on helping us and had to wait very long to finally get checked in although there wasn’t much people checking in at all. Right when we got in the room, the bathroom smelled really bad, the shower rod kept falling, paints on the wall were chipping and the pots/utensils in the room were really dirty and disgusting. The workers cleaning the room also didn’t do a very good job cleaning. Speakers included in the room didn’t include an AC adapter, which made it useless. The kitchen light wasn’t working and the sink was very dirty at the time of check in. There were also ants all over the room. The only good thing about this place is the location, Otherwise, i would never come back here and would advise everyone to stay away from staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OhiaWaikiki, General Manager at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 27 Mar 2020
Aloha Raymundojosh, Thank you for Sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Aqua Ohia Waikiki Hotel.Our staff and management is usually more attentive and guest satisfaction is very important to us. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured. If you could contact me directly at katherine.gunderson@aqua-aston.com so I can look further into which room regarding your comments you stated above. Mahalo, Kathy Gunderson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christina S wrote a review Jul 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms don't look like the website pictures. Housekeeping doesn't come daily. If you want your trash taken be sure to pack it up and leave it in the hall. Parking is small and some stalls are used for extra furniture storage... One good thing is when cars are double parked and you need to get out,a parking attendant is very attentive and quick at getting you out. The rooms need A LOT of TLC. The price doesn't match the quality. It's the location you're really paying for, but during this pandemic, with limited things open, it's not worth it. Staff could use a little more aloha too. No eye contact or smiling, no "thank you for your stay." No one wore face masks, it made me question overall hotel cleanliness. Sounded like there was a live-in resident down the hall with a dog that barked at everything and a tenant with a bad mouth, not so good when you've got kids with you... The hallway smelled like smoke every morning. The outdoor private patio was large but dirty, there were new cigarette butts outside every morning. On the plus side, the sofa bed was more comfortable than most sofa beds we've slept on.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pascal P wrote a review May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The pictures of the vrbo listing are the ones from the main suite! The room we were given was NOT at all like the listing photos. The carpet was dirty (cigarette burns onto it, we didn't want to get our shoes off), it seemed to be there since the 70's, stove had rust on it and the "patio with city view" was a patio on the first floor with staircase from neighbours overlooking our "patio". Not AT ALL like advertised.

We also chose that property because of the available kitchen (our daughter has allergies). We were informed when arriving at the hotel that no microwaves, nor pans or pots or kitchen ustensiles were available because, can you believe it or not, they were sent for covid cleaning! After 2 years of covid, all hotels and others do have products to clean because of covid. They told us we'd simply have to ask the front desk to have pan/microwave delivered to our room. Honestly, we saw one of the pan (maybe the only pan??) on the counter behind them and it was everything but clean.

Disapointing to the point that we asked to leave the same night, withouth staying there. The only positive part is that the supervisor was very helpful and comprehensive. That was obvious that he was in a situation out of his control (he's not the one that post the listing on vrbo! ;) ). Also, we were reimbursed for two nights over three quite quickly by the company that rents the property. For that, that's fine.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silofa Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 18 May 2022
Aloha H6690Alpascalp and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the aspects of your stay that were less than exceptional. We hope we were given a chance to show you another room. We appreciate your feedback and will share with our team for future improvement. Mahalo.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Studyhardallday wrote a review Jan 2020
Waianae, Hawaii
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Reasonably priced with kitchenette in a room with a nice sized bed with cable television. Airconditioned and some units have large balconies with decently sized bathrooms. Centrally located to all the main bus routes and all the main attractions. Right down the street is the best beaches which are located in front of the Royal Hawaiian hotels if one walks to the right on the beach down the way from the Royal Hawaiian hotel individuals will find some of the best beaches in Waikiki with some of the best snorkeling one could ever imagine. Also close to many shopping areas. I love the fact that people can save money and rent a hotel with a kitchen and prepare their own meals which save dollars on end. One can google Safeway or Don Quijote closest to Aqua Ohia Waikiki and one can find the address to Safeway or Don Quijote and google maps how to get there on city bus. One could also google the location and find directions to local stores.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Excellent hotel with a pool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OhiaWaikiki, General Manager at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Aloha Studyhardallday, Thank you very much for your 5 star review regarding your recent stay here at the Aqua Ohia Waikiki. We are always excited to hear that our guest enjoyed there stay with us! Our location in the heart of Waikiki is walking distance to all the shopping, restaurants & the beach! It's always great to see our guest taking the city bus to explore Honolulu. We hope to welcome you back to the Aqua Ohia Waikiki in the near future. Mahalo, Kathy Gunderson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DonD_Travels wrote a review Mar 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I are foodies and at times we just want to stay in and cook something light. It was a great option to have a kitchenette in our room that provided all cooking essentials for a budget traveler like us. Not to mention, the location of the hotel is PRIME! It is next to all of the great restaurants you'd want to try and near the best shopping areas. Waikiki Beach is 3 blocks away and the hotel staff were understanding and even more accommodating to any issue that may arrive in order to keep their guest comfortable. It was much of relief speaking to the front desk guy- Jericho when we got in and we loved our balcony view every morning sunrise of Honolulu's beautiful skyline. I would definetely come back to Ohia Waikiki and would recommend anyone to travel here since you will get great value for money the spent -of well under $100 a night! Well worth it !
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Silofa Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 22 Mar 2022
Aloha DonD_Travels, We love foodies here at Ohia Waikiki, sharing with our guests where we love to eat! Our location and kitchenette is a great feature we offer for those that enjoy cooking. We are so happy that our team was able to welcome and assist you during your stay. All our rooms have balconies for those to enjoy Waikiki scenery. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back to Ohia Waikiki, Mahalo!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josephm353 wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is stuck in the 1980s and could really use the help of an interior designer. The king size bed is not that big. The kitchen appliances, doors and other features of the hotel are outdated.
The location of the hotel is excellent. Some of the best restaurants in Waikiki are practically located across the street. Unless you absolutely have to, do not rent a car. The price of a rental car, parking at the hotel, and parking other locations far exceeds to cost of taking a taxi or calling an uber. There is a bus stop less than a block away along with a bike rental stand. The beach is also a short walk away.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from OhiaWaikiki, General Manager at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
Responded 22 Feb 2020
Aloha josephm353, Thank you for Sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Aqua Ohia Waikiki Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location in the heart of Waikiki, walking distance to shopping, restaurants & the beach. Parking is a premium in Waikiki, great to see that you were able to use our Uber's, Taxi & Bus systems to get around. We hope to see you back in the future. Mahalo, Kathy Gunderson General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Sasha L
1 contribution
I think it’s $50-$60 per night.
Answer from Travel’n Matt
Nevada455 contributions43 helpful votes
It was top floor done recall what room. We talked quite a few people while we stayed there, and nobody mentioned anything about cockroaches or things not working. Maybe they had a good week. Or maybe some people are being over dramatic. once again, it is a very old building and a lot of places they’re close to and deal with a lot of water will have a different smell than you’re used to. Just my 2 cents
Answer from Compass793511
1 contribution
They have elevators and a ramp at the front.From my memory no ground floor rooms .The room I had was not large so with 2 double beds would make manoeuvring of a wc difficult.The bathroom set up would also not be wc friendly as the toilet was quite low .As a health professional I suggest you look for a establishment that caters for wheelchairs.Hope this helps.
Answer from Terry k
Colbert, Oklahoma242 contributions15 helpful votes
We also had double beds. I didn't use the pool so I couldn't tell you about it. Sorry about that. I know I wasn't much help. Have A Blessed Day
Jane B wrote a tip 6 Jul
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nightclub on street side gets noisey most nights"
Read full review
Diana F wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking gets a little crazy but the staff will keep your key and move your car. There is a pool. Across is a breakfast spot too. "
Read full review
dako t wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be practical This place is great with a Good Service."
Read full review
MT wrote a tip May 2024
Honolulu, Hawaii3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come and stay at the Ohia!"
Read full review
Wanderer22498025834 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to another hotel."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Honolulu area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,093 - HK$1,616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiOahuHonoluluWaikiki
NUMBER OF ROOMS
251
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

OHIA WAIKIKI STUDIO SUITES HK$1,320 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶8̶5̶9̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites
What are some of the property amenities at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, laundry service, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites?
Yes, paid public parking on-site and valet parking are available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Ohia Waikiki Studio Suites accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Honolulu HotelsHonolulu Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Honolulu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire