We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
947 Viewmont Drive, Scranton, PA 18519
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Expedia
Residence Inn
US$161
View deal
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (69)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 12/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Updated 12/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 9 hotels in Scranton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
206Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 73
  • 31
  • 26
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
jake s wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
+1
Upon checking in to the Residue Inn Scranton, the experience went south from there. While the most of this review will be decidedly terrible there are 4 exceptional employees, kudos to the following employees who continually put up with lack luster working and living environment (Erin, Michael, Diane, Tanya) this review does not depict our experience with you. So....here goes 3 times since August 8th 2021, the fire department has been dispatched to this particular hotel. Faulty wiring? ruptured sprinkler pipes in CLOSED TIL FURHTEER NOTICE POOL AREA. Mind you the pool has been closed for nearly a year for a mysterious part that takes a year to assemble. (an honest quote from hotel GM Patricia B.)Even though the pool is listed on the hotels website as an amenity there is no reduction in room price since they obviously have no intention of an immediate repair. Each weekend even though the hotel inside is a no smoking venue the fowl odor of low grade marijuana can be detected from whatever room particular hotel assistant management can offer their acquaintances as a perk. The dryers are at best 50% operational even though management states that there is only 1 broken out of 4 pictures listed below will reflect otherwise. The parking lot is abysmal and due to recent ice events it has minimal 5" to 7" of hard ice matts that have had no attempts to de-ice because it is still cold outside (once again an actual quote from hotel GM Patricia B.) Most of the hotels first floor is missing roof tiles due to a water leak weeks before which caused subsequent potable water to have large amounts of sand deposited...even though the repair was to be on circulating water lines for heat exchangers not linked to potable lol. The breakfast bar which offers bagels and bananas has the same bagels and I mean the SAME bagels and the SAME bananas until the skin literally rots off the banana or they are too mushy to actually stabilize themselves on the counter. Upon calling the Marriott complaint line the Kelly whose last name was not available said I should just ask for fresh bananas....wow...bright one there folks. The overall with this hotel is the GM Patricia B. is probably showing great profit margin due to near to no money going out for maintenance. GREAT JOB PATRICIA!!! Your hospitality skills are unmatched. Folks I generally haver better things to do with my time but after the resolutions offered for these issues I feel you should be warned before you waste your had earned money on this rat hole of a hotel provided by Marriott.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: choose a room with a viable exit point for fire alarms because they are frequent here!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
saskmmd wrote a review Mar 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We were looking for a hotel in the Scranton Area. Spoke with Michael at the front desk who did every thing in his power to help us with an upgraded room because my daughter who goes to school in Binghampton was going to meet me, my wife, and son, at the hotel for the weekend and a one bedroom suite with one king bed was not going to give us enough space for all of us. Michael was professional and was on duty why we checked in. He did everything he could to help make our stay at the hotel a memorable one. Hotel staff was great throughout the weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
NieSam wrote a review Oct 2021
Maine923 contributions215 helpful votes
Our studio room was clean and had everything we needed. We booked our reservation over the phone on the day we were staying as we had no idea how far we’d be driving. The staff member was great and very helpful. I agree with other reviewers that the parking lot needs repair and that the luggage carts were small. We needed two to get our pet crate and things in. But, it worked and our bed was comfortable; we didn’t notice outside noise. Breakfast was geared towards Covid with packaged foods. I got muffins, OJ's and granola bars. Not high tier but they worked. We’d stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Bourgeois, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 26 Jan 2022
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cousteau wrote a review Jul 2021
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Terrible maintenance. Carpet soaking wet from broken hvac. Front desk and management lied and said it was from cleaning. See the towels placed by maintenance before my arrival to collect water. Mold and mildew covering the closet from water. Absolutely unsafe and not acceptable.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Bourgeois, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Thank you for your comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AlwaysAway99 wrote a review Jul 2021
Frankfurt, Germany10 contributions8 helpful votes
So disappointed in this Marriott property. I feel so sorry for the staff. Believe the bad reviews about this hotel!! Upon checking in, we found poop left in one of the toilets of our two bedroom suite. We The HUGE potholes all over parking lot were the first sign we should have turned around and driven to a different hotel. In addition to the potholes, the dumpsters in the parking lot were overflowing. It looked like several weeks of garbage bags had piled up. This is a tired old hotel that needs a serious renovation. The HVAC grates were all dirty. The carpet baseboard trim was torn and coming away from the wall.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Bourgeois, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeannie C wrote a review Jul 2021
Chatham, Massachusetts6 contributions2 helpful votes
Would like to start off by saying staff here were very good and professional trying to make up for poor corporate policies. But mainly a joke of a hotel, definitely not a Marriott!! Arriving at hotel in pouring rain attempting to negotiate not potholes but crevasses in the long access road and driveway to the residence inn Scranton. We were greeted by more potholes and broken sidewalks in the walkway to the front door!! There was no portico to drive under for protection from the elements and furthermore the hotel did not even have umbrellas to lend to us. The rooms were okay, very large clean studio. The 1 bedroom was small, why bother with the wall separating the bedroom from living area and almost twice as much $. Coffee is NOT provided in rooms “due to Covid” BUT they are happy to provide the bathrooms with shampoo and lotion and soap that I know they refill in the back room. Breakfast non existent basically. Definitely NOT a Marriott breakfast. A couple of Bob Evans sausage egg muffins inedible. The Inn at least made a couple English muffins with microwaved egg sandwiches tightly wrapped in plastic wrap. You could toast the English muffins from the sandwiches alone in toaster, coffee weak and bitter but at least they had it in the breakfast room despite Covid!! Juice machine broken but they had individual cups of juice. There is no excuse for this bad hospitality, not even “Covid.” The only thing I can think of is it somehow is saving them money. Pool “broken down.” We were not apprised of this on check in and we had young kids looking forward to swimming in the pool. Overall the place is a wreck…corporate using every covid excuse to not spend money…will NEVER spend another night here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Watch out for potholes and huge crevasses on approach to hotel. If you have physical disabilities...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Bourgeois, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Thank you for your comments. I have shared your feedback with my team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
alwechs wrote a review Jul 2021
Rensselaer, New York2 contributions5 helpful votes
The usual quality room. Get a room at the front -- the ones at the back are next to a busy truck loading dock that starts at 6 a.m. Parking lot looks like it's been in a war zone. Pool was closed, breakfast meager (as per COVID ... hopefully this will change). Staff were able to move me to a more quiet room, which was appreciated!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Get a room at the front; back side is next to a busy truck loading dock
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
StLawrencelover wrote a review Sep 2020
Potomac, Maryland426 contributions131 helpful votes
What a disappointment! An older, sad hotel in a difficult location. The first room they gave me was smelly and creepy. The access was crummy. I returned to the desk to ask for a new room. My profile says quiet, no elevator nearby. Of course, I was put next to the elevator. Lousy parking lot, filled by mall visitors. I will drive to the next Marriott !!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Bourgeois, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 1 Oct 2020
Thank you for your comments. I have shared them with my team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sniffy Moss wrote a review Jul 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
Front desk staff were unable or unwilling to enforce mask ordinances. A very large group of construction workers (and presumably their families) descended upon this hotel for the holiday weekend - none wore masks inside the hotel hallways or on the hotel grounds. Hotel staff greeted them warmly and said nothing about wearing masks, despite clearly displayed "NO MASK NO SERVICE" signs plastered everywhere. If you're taking COVID seriously, you will not feel safe here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Bourgeois, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thank you for making me aware of your concerns. I will address this with the employees.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SMM wrote a review Jun 2020
Pennsylvania41 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
In a time where all other hotels are going above and beyond to be extra clean in these Covid days we are living, this hotel definitely falls short of any kind of Marriott standards. They really need corporate to go in and check out this hotel. My issues ranged from blood droplets on the comforter, tape on the smoke detecter, dust in the master bathroom, dirty coffee pot, smeg in the trashcan, plastic spoon behind the end table, bottle cap under the couch, to a garbage disposal that didn't work properly and a broken toilet seat in the bathroom. If that wasn't disgusting enough there was a band aid wrapper that was in the hall for the entire 8 days of my stay. Did I mention the 3 gianormous potholes in front of the hotel? You literally had to play frogger to avoid them and risk a flat tire and that was the only way into the hotel. I typed an email to the manager with all of the issues about my room, and it took more than 2 days to get back to me. Her solution was 10,000 Marriott points. COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE!!!! This is definitely the most UNSANITARY hotel that I have ever stayed at. NEVER AGAIN!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from PatriciaB7666, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Responded 15 Jun 2020
Thank You for your feedback. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short with that.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$148 - US$223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn scranton hotel scranton, residence inn dickson city, dickson city residence inn, scranton residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaScranton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
78
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Nearby attractions include Viewmont Mall (0.8 km), Spirited Art (1.1 km), and Selfie Studio Scranton (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Tonalteca - Scranton, PA, Greek American Grill, and Viewmont Diner.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Residence Inn by Marriott Scranton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Steamtown National Historic Site (5.5 km), Historic Scranton Iron Furnaces (5.7 km), and Scranton City Hall (5.0 km).