We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Punga Grove Motel & Suites

Visit hotel website
Traveller (136)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Punga Grove offers stylish motel accommodation in the heart of Franz Josef Glacier village. Set amongst beautiful native bush with the lush rainforest at your doorstep with a stunning backdrop of high alpine peaks, Punga Grove is your natural West Coast accommodation choice for your stay in Glacier Country in New Zealand.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Room features
Accessible rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Centrally Located
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 150
  • 160
  • 52
  • 17
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We were booked to stay here with a non-refundable booking. Following the gales the road beyond was closed. I rang this hotel the previous evening and he immediately cancelled the booking with no charge. Full marks and thanks. Chris
Read more
Love the place! Close to the town for food etc. Our room has a balcony facing the fern forest and another balcony outside the bedroom. The room is spacious, clean and well appointed. The kitchen was well equipped and bathroom complete with toiletries. Had a great stay and would
Read more
well appointed, roomy suite, in a central location. Beautiful rainforest forest terrace, but was unfortunately spoilt by the couple next door smoking :( onsite laundry and helpful staff. very pleasant and welcome stay after our experience the previous night
Read more
The receptionist was very knowledgeable and friendly and supplied a map with information. The room was excellent with an upstairs bedroom and kitchenette, bathroom and dining area downstairs. There was also an outside seating area which was private. Plenty of tea, coffee and
Read more
We were booked in and paid for two nights here by our tour operator. This was the poorest motel we have stayed in completely tired and very grubby, had hardly any sleep because of the thin walls we had noise from all the other rooms. No A/C very uncomfortable. Left after one
Read more
Response from PungaGrove, General Manager at Punga Grove Motel & Suites
Responded 4 Mar 2018
Dear Nickytaff02, Thank you for taking the time to review our property.If you had found the room as bad as you have written ,I would have expected you to have come to reception and asked for the Manager . You booked through a tour operator who would have given you the details of the property and information well before you checked in.In this you would have noted we do not have air con ,however we do provide fans in the room plus we have insect screens so you can open a window to let air in. We have a manager on site and if you found it noisy from other guests you could have contacted him to sort this issue out. I apologize that we didn't meet your expectations but find it hard to sort out when we only hear about them on a review page. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind regards General Manager
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementPunga Grove Motel & Suites
It looks like the middle of a jungle but there is a driveway beyond the foliage.
Tiny patio. The slider opens to let in light and air, and the vegetation provides privacy.
Great arrangement! Queen bed in loft upstairs. Twin bed next to table. Workable kitchen.
"Definitely recommend this accomodation"
"Choose a room at a different hotel"
"our room at the back was very quiet"
"Book somewhere else"
"Find another hotel / motel - probably a little way out of town"
US$80 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
punga grove hotel franz josefpunga grove motel and suites
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)Franz Josef
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing