We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier

Save
Share
36 Main Rd off State Hwy 6, Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7856 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Snaptravel
Booking.com
Expedia
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (457)
Room & Suite (138)
Dining (25)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#10 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier sits at the edge of the Westland World Heritage Park, and is just moments from one of New Zealand’s most spectacular natural attractions, the Franz Josef Glacier. Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier makes the most of its alpine location and offers quality accommodation in two separate hotel ‘wings’. Stay in either the Douglas or Graham wing, and enjoy the beautiful surroundings within Franz Josef village. Our hotel is in a premium location, making it the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the magnificent Westland region.Our professional, friendly staff look forward to welcoming you and helping to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Your visit will be made even more memorable by the many natural wonders in the area. Just be sure to bring your camera!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1010Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 370
  • 382
  • 161
  • 65
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jabusi wrote a review 3 Jun
Sydney, Australia8 contributions7 helpful votes
The service and staff were exceptional. Special callout and thanks to the General Manager Alexander, who simply couldn't do enough to make sure our time in Franz Josef was memorable. The purpose of our 2 night stay was to experience the glacier where we had a Heli-Hike booked. Unfortunately due to poor weather conditions this was cancelled. Upon returning back to the hotel for breakfast, Alexander immediately put his local knowledge into practice providing us with Plan B options - even to the point of making calls himself. From a hotel comfort perspective, it met our expectations. It's a little dated (namely the bathrooms), but the rooms were clean, the beds super comfy. Don't book if you're looking for uber luxury. Book this hotel, knowing they've got the important things right. Without doubt the staff made our time in FJ memorable and we look forward to returning ....when the weather warms up.!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Bruce F wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
The hotel is superb. Very well run, with super-friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent views. We enjoyed one breakfast and two dinners and the cooking was sublime. Five stars from me!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: mountain view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Tipa wrote a review May 2021
5 contributions
For this t lime of the year very quiet in town. The hotel itself is large and we were log as red at an an ex on the ground floor. Room was comfortable although maybe a little dated and could be upgraded. Did not use lounge or bar so can not comment on service. Location to other services excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Peter O wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
To start our Franz Josef experience, we had to wait around ten minutes at check in, before the only couple in front of us were processed. Then we were told we would have to pay a further 2.5% surcharge on top of the $204.00 we had already paid. Then we were told the Restaurant was CLOSED, but there was a restaurant in the hotel in the next block we could use BUT!unfortunately it was fully booked for the night. BUT we could walk down the street( in the rain) and try to find a cafe or restaurant Then our room was so cold, we had to retrieve a heater from our motor home to warm it up enough to be comfortable Then the beds! the most uncomfortable we have ever experienced So DON'T waste your money by booking here, go find somewhere that provides value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Tschampel, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 6 May 2021
Kia Ora petelafeet, I am very sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Despite all our effort to make you and your wife feel comfortable. Has a hotel we have failed to exceed your expectations on us and I am truly sorry and most apologetic. in regards to your concerns, please allow me to provide the following feedback. Your check-in to the hotel was delayed due to another guest (who did not have a booking) arriving just a little bit earlier than you and a full booking had to be created. This normally takes around 5 to 10 minutes and I remember that I acknowledged your arrival and made you aware that I will be with you as soon as I possibly can. You correctly pointed out that our sister property was fully booked the day, what explains that I did not have a seconded front office staff on as it was all hands on deck for us that day. That the restaurant was fully booked that evening was due to other guest bookings and there is simply no other explanation. You can believe us that we would have loved to have you and your wife dining with us but this was simply not an option. I remember that I provided you with alternative dining options that were in close proximity tor your guest room and as a hotel standard we are providing hurricane umbrellas in all our guest rooms for your guests to use. I further remember, that I provided you with three different payment options at the time you checked in with us. Cash, EFTPOS or credit card - the latest payment option costs the hotel 4.5% on commission so our preferred options are Cash or EFTPOS payments. For guest that decide to pay by credit card we charge a 1.5% surcharge which we declare to guests in advance. Prior to your arrival, I personally 'comforted' your room and switched on the heater to provide a nice and most importantly warm welcome to you. I remember that you called me to your room after your check in as you had forgotten your cell phone charger and I presented you with charger cable options that we could provide to you. During my visit, I could not ignore that your room was very warm (for my personal taste a bit to warm but this is preference). Anyway, for guests that require additional heating in their room we have portable heaters that can be requested from reception. Next time you stay with us please simply call us from your in-room phone and let us take care of you. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future. Nga mihi, Alexander Tschampel General Manager
Read more
GT wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
We saved up for this trip and thought we would support the Hotel. Receptionist was nice but the foyer was very cold & sterile. Only ever saw one staff member. Restaurant and bar closed down and we were told that we could use the restaurant across at their sister hotel but it was fully booked for the whole weekend. Garden had overgrown. Noisy room location across the road from a bar, main road and helipad so we didn't get much sleep. The room was pretty average and outdated. Had much better room at a Hostel. All in all have no idea what we paid for except for a bed and shower. Very disappointing as this was our family holiday. Left a day early to catch up on sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Tell them you've got kids and want a quiet room so you can sleep
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Alexander Tschampel, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 6 May 2021
Kia Ora Traveltheworld760099, Please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations on us as a hotel. We are currently in unprecedented times that bring a lot of challenges with us for any tourism or hospitality business in New Zealand or world wide. Rest assured that we are working through the concerns you have mentioned in your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you again to the hotel in the future. Nga mihi, Alexander Tschampel General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$86 - US$264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
franz josef glacier hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFranz Josef
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier
Which popular attractions are close to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Nearby attractions include Franz Josef Clay Target Shooting (0.2 km), Te Koha Gallery (0.4 km), and Tatare Tunnels Walk (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alice May, BLUE ICE RESTAURANT & BAR, and Monsoon Bar & Restaurant.
Is Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Franz Josef.
Are any cleaning services offered at Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St. James (10.8 km).
Does Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.