We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier

15 Cowan Street, Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7886 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (87)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 12 hotels in Franz Josef
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Terrace is the closest Motel to the centre of Franz Josef Village, yet on a quiet side street. The 4 star Terrace Motel offers views of snow capped mountains and the Croz Glacier from its grounds. Unlimited Free Wi-Fi and free on-site parking are included. The Terrace offer Hotel style rooms along with rooms with cooking facilities, next to reception is a quiet restaurant operated by two of Franz Josef most experienced restauranteurs. The Terrace is the closest Motel to Franz Josef's free Glow Worm Caves and Franz Josef Kiwi Bird Centre where guests can experience New Zealand's national bird up close. The Terrace offers spacious ground floor accommodation with electric blankets and electric heating, flat-screen Televisions, tea/coffee making facilities and all en suite bathrooms, some feature a Spa Bath. Guests have a choice of studio's or spacious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments. Most rooms features stove tops and microwaves along with a dining area (please note Hotel style rooms offer tea / coffee and breakfast making facilities only). All rooms are serviced daily. Guests have access to shared laundry and barbecue facilities with outside tables and chairs. The tour desk can organise a range of activities including discounted helicopter flights, hikes, kayaking, horse treks and glacier walks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
441Reviews4Q+A51Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 233
  • 157
  • 38
  • 6
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Charlie M wrote a review 11 Apr
Northampton, United Kingdom48 contributions43 helpful votes
Unfortunately I didn’t get there. I booked late the day before so cancellation wasn’t an available option. Little did I know then was that due to very bad weather and multiple land slips the road from Queenstown was closed, a 10 hour detour via Christchurch wasn’t an option. I tried to engage with hotels.com who I’d booked with. They contacted the hotel who insisted I pay for the first night and they would refund the second. I obviously wasn’t happy with this as it was apparent the road was closed when I booked so access to the hotel was never going to be possible. In fact the following day the other road into the area was closed so the town was completely cut off. I read a write up on here from someone who had the same issue in 2019. The hotel said then that if they had been contacted they would have refunded the money as they did with other direct bookings so this time either hotels.com are lying or the hotel have changed their policy. Obviously not happy I paid for a product I didn’t receive.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WorldTravelRod wrote a review 6 Apr
Brooksville, Florida738 contributions441 helpful votes
A lot to like with this motel. First as others have mentioned the location is excellent, multiple restaurants within several blocks, the NZ wildlife center 1 block away, and book your helicopter flights 2 blocks away. Great internet service, very clean and comfortable room and a great value for the price paid. For sure would stay here again. FJG is a great, great place to visit
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CanberraJenny wrote a review Mar 2024
Kingston, Australia366 contributions159 helpful votes
The hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the main road. There is a good restaurant next door. The room was small but comfortable and parking was outside the room. The glacier could be seen easily from the hotel when the cloud lifted.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle P wrote a review Jan 2024
Brisbane, Australia221 contributions143 helpful votes
Very good value for money by staying here and close to everything. I didn't have a hire car so walked everywhere and I was close to everything I needed and easy walking distance. Motel is run by a nice family, always willing to answer questions and I felt very welcome. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would happily stay here again. The decor, and bed linen etc is older style, but homely and comfortable. Highly recommend. Has onsite laundry too which is fantastic.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
PJswan wrote a review Feb 2023
Adelaide, Australia857 contributions152 helpful votes
We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Terrace thanks to the lovely interactions with the management. The spotless studio rooms (no kitchen) are not overly large but adequate with a queen and single bed. Bathrooms are roomy and modern. Being able to park right out front is a bonus. An on-site bbq is handy but byo oil and utensils or make do with a knife and fork. Wifi is slow but not unexpected in this area. The excellent Alice May restaurant is right next door and the 10% discount is a bonus. We recommend this motel and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Passenger683159 wrote a review Feb 2023
2 contributions
We stayed for 3 nights during the Watangi day long weekend in Feb 2023. On Saturday night it started pouring rain and with strong winds the power lines came down which meant we were without electricity and internet for 28 hours starting 1pm on Sunday. The owner/manager of Terrace motel will no doubt get a substantial payment compensation from the electricity company, but of course this is not passed on to the long suffering customers! Furthermore we couldn't checkout until 9.30am on Tuesday because the office is closed until then. We popped out for a quick coffee at 9am expecting to be able to have access to our room until 10am, but no the cleaners had already taken over our room! All in all basic accommodation, overpriced and very poor experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TSfromAUS wrote a review Jan 2023
Sydney1 contribution1 helpful vote
We had booked for 2 nights and left after the first night. The washing machine located on the premises and advised to be used by the staff destroyed approximately $600 of laundry that was washed. The blaze, indifferent and eye rolling response from the ‘owner’ was frustrating and unhelpful. After being fobbed off to deal with someone called Logan, his unprofessional business manner and redirection of blame to me was flabbergasting and amazing. After reading Tripadvisor reviews, there is a clear connection with Logan being a previous owner or manager of the motel and now has a strange connection with the faulty laundry that is everyone else’s fault but his. As our stay continued there were more issues to arise. The room was stifling hot. I appreciate that NZ motels are not use to this warm weather and therefore to not have air conditioning but to not include a fan is terrible. We struggled to sleep the first night as we could not get a breeze in the room. Our room backed directly onto the Alice May restaurant which created loud operation noise, cooking smells and light from the restaurant. The bed was far from comfortable. Even though the bed is a King bed capable of becoming 2 singles, there should be a mattress topper on the bed to alleviate the ridge down the middle and the fact the beds are hard and probably old. The linen smelt of oil or cooking fats, I can only assume this is because of the location of the restaurant or the fact the motels washes and dries the towels in full public view in the car park exposed to air from the restaurant. The Terrace was the 6th hotel we had stayed in during our time in NZ. The bathroom amenities they provided are exactly the same brand that some others have provided…the only difference, this motel has obviously watered down the amenities. They were watery and ineffective. Much like the amenities, the shower head in the room was ineffective and pathetic. Cleary during their recent ‘refurb’ these new shower heads had been installed. Unfortunately, ours sprayed every direction but where is should and if you had it turned down too low there was no water but have it too high and it would sting you. The next morning, we decided we could not stay an extra night at the property and checked into another motel for the night. There are plenty of other and no doubt better options in Franz Joseph.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Allan Glen, Owner at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier
Responded 1 Feb 2023
Dear Taylor, Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this feedback and I am sorry I did not get to see you at 4pm when you checked out. I am very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your room and the laundry next door. Regarding the laundry, like the helicopters, restaurants, supermarket etc, we are happy to help guests find them and provide information but I only own the motel business only. I am sure in many motels / hotels, staffs provide information to Guests for facilities that they do not control. I have followed this up and believe Logan is waiting to hear back from you. I understand he has had an electrician look at the machine and it’s set correctly, that wash cycle includes a hot cycle to help clean clothes fully. With regards to the issues you raised. I am sorry if the restaurant disturbed you, in my time here you are the only person I can recall mentioning this. As you can see from our other reviews our guests normally enjoy the restaurant and love having it so close. If we had known that you would like to have a fan, we would been happy to provide one for you. The bed is the top of the range commercial bed that our supplier stocks and about 4 years old. Your topper suggestion is a good idea, I will look into this with our suppliers. I am sure you would agree it is important for the hospitality industry to reduce our environmental footprint. Air drying saves a significant amount of energy, although with the increased Labour costs us more we think it’s important to do it for the sake of our beautiful planet. We haven't heard of any customers mentioned smell in our laundry, normally we get positive comments saying the towels is fresh and clean. However, we will gather feedback from other guests to see if they have noticed anything wrong with our laundry. With regards to the shower head I will check if there is any calcium build up but this has never been an issue before. I can assure you that we provide the bathroom amenities exactly as supplied. It seems you have had a bad experience with your laundry which is very unfortunate. Although you seem to have taken this out on my team and property. Guests stayed in the rooms next to you have a great stayed when they checked out and seemed genuinely happy with the weather and stay. As we were one of the 3 worst affected towns in NZ during Covid I simply can’t afford to comply with your request. Had you checked out in the morning and we were able to clean and resell your room I would have been happy to refund you one night. Best Regards, Allan
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AJMil95 wrote a review Dec 2022
14 contributions23 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights on our tour of NZ. Staff were very friendly and helpful with great communication. They emailed us beforehand recommending places to visit on our journey there....which we found really useful. It was raining very heavily when we arrived so they loaned us an umbrella to go out to eat. The room itself was fine and comfortable...if a little dated. The television must be the oldest model we have seen for a number of years, and the TV channels available were very limited. Not a major issue but we would imagine a family might struggle for evening entertainment. Also the information in the room stated that bed would be made if no personal belongings were left on it...and ours wasn't which was slightly disappointing. Overall though a pleasant comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
tylertraveler2015 wrote a review Oct 2022
Tyler, Texas12 contributions4 helpful votes
Paid a little extra for a mountain view and it was certainly worth it. The sweet young lady that checked us in (Kahrkeese ?) was especially helpful in showing us all the walking trails in the area & providing a map. She was also kind enough to describe the closest restaurants and escort us to our room.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kirsty wrote a review Jul 2022
11 contributions3 helpful votes
Loved staying here, it was clean, spacious and the beds were comfortable. Felt very welcomed on arrival by Allan and the team who were friendly and helpful, giving us lots of information about options in Franz Josef. View of mountain from our window extra special. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franz Josef area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$634 - HK$987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFranz Josef
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE TERRACE, FRANZ JOSEF GLACIER HK$720 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶0̶4̶2̶) - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews - New Zealand

Frequently Asked Questions about The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier
Which popular attractions are close to The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Nearby attractions include Te Koha Gallery (0.3 km), West Coast Wildlife Centre (0.08 km), and Tatare Tunnels Walk (0.04 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alice May, BLUE ICE RESTAURANT & BAR, and Snake Bite Brewery.
Is The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Franz Josef.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St. James (10.8 km).
Does The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is The Terrace, Franz Josef Glacier accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.