We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
3 Wallace Street, State Highway 6, Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park 7856 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (350)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (55)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#3 of 13 hotels in Franz Josef
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Luxury hotels in New Zealand don't get any better than this! Nestled amongst native West Coast rainforest at Franz Josef is a very special five-star Qualmark rated retreat. Designed with utmost care of its precious environment, guests at Te Waonui Forest Retreat will find themselves encircled by rainforest and accommodated in natural and sustainable luxury. Te Waonui Forest Retreat promises all its guests a truly unique and memorable experience. At one with nature, the five-star Qualmark rated Te Waonui Forest Retreat is the ultimate coming together of luxury escape and environmental awareness. Great care has been taken to ensure this exceptional forest retreat steps lightly upon the earth, from the organic cotton bedspreads to its recycled local building materials. Discerning travellers will appreciate the hotel’s attention to detail, which starts with attentive personal service upon arrival, and continues throughout all the hotel facilities and every aspect of your stay. As our guest you will enjoy exceptional quality and service, including: Luxuriously appointed guest rooms, generously proportioned and featuring the highest standard of room amenities, such as your personal pillow menu, natural wool mattress underlay, and high speed Internet access. Dining among the tres in ‘The Canopy’ restaurant, and savouring quality local cuisine, including an indulgent five-course degustation dinner. Innovative, environmentally sustainable architecture and building materials that create a healthy, warm and quiet haven for you to enjoy. Easy access to many excellent local attractions, including the Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, just minutes away.
Read more
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
962Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 670
  • 196
  • 75
  • 16
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
drinkh20 wrote a review May 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand13 contributions
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Te Waonui. Accommodation was warm and comfortable with a lovely view of the forest. Very calming and tranquil. Especially enjoyed the big breakfast and had a lovely dinner in their restaurant too😊. Staff were very friendly and the service was great! We liked how close the village was to walk to and also the hot pools👍
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 13 May 2021
Hi drinkh20 Thank you for your review, pleased the facilities and service of the hotel All the best
Read more
R R wrote a review Apr 2021
25 contributions12 helpful votes
Modern rooms that are quiet and in stunning bush surroundings with vi3ws of the mountains. Freindly staff and a good breakfast too. Lots of parking and close to everything. Stay here when in Franz Josef.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 13 May 2021
Hi RR694 Thank you for your review, pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us All the best
Read more
Heather S wrote a review Apr 2021
Randwick, Australia8 contributions
We spent 2 nights here. The hotel is conveniently situated in the town with ability to walk to restaurants within a couple minutes. The room looked on to rainforest, with a sneaky view of the mountain in the background. It was private and quiet. The reception staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay special after our engagement. They even gave us a cake with congratulations written on it! It was a lovely surprise.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 28 Apr 2021
Hi Heather Thank you for your review , please that we could make your engagement special during your stay with us All the best
Read more
MilmineM wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand504 contributions177 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights as a family of four. Very helpful and accommodation front desk staff. The spa is excellent and the massage from Asha is probably the best I’ve ever had. Dined one night in the Canopy Restaurant - good choice of menu items although perhaps a little pricey in the current climate. Breakfast also good with an excellent a la carte menu. Rooms very nicely appointed with private balconies looking directly out into the forest.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Hi Megan M Thank you for you review, , appreciate your kind comments on our spa service, dining and the service from the team All the best
Read more
Mike V wrote a review Apr 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand13 contributions1 helpful vote
Having travelled through the beautiful Haast Pass, we stopped in Franz Josef and spent one night in this beautiful retreat. Nestled in amongst native bush, had we known how special a place this was we would have planned another couple of nights! Welcomed by friendly staff, our room was clean, contemporary with attention to detail. Highest quality linens, underlays, pillows, etc and the bed was super comfortable. The rooms overlook native bush and the bird song is beautiful. We enjoyed a high quality meal in the restaurant. The restaurant and the Retreat are decorated to a high-end quality and overlook/are surrounded by native bush which is very restful. We thoroughly recommend this retreat and hope to be back again some day!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: All the rooms have native bush views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Hi Mike V Thank you for review, great to read that you enjoyed our facilities, service and atmosphere All the best
Read more
Michael VS wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
We were booked to stay at a another of the group hotels but received the opportunity to stay at Te Waonui Forest Retreat. What a lovely surprise. Amazing check in experience with friendly staff member and on to a luxurious, well appointed room. Clean and comfortable in a lovely tranquil setting but allowing easy access to the surrounds.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Our room was well sound proofed. There were many other guests at the hotel but did not hear them...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Hi 32Mik3 Thank you for review, its great when a surprise is well appreciated, thank you for your lovely comments All the best
Read more
Ebz0r wrote a review Apr 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand49 contributions47 helpful votes
Right off the main road, this hotel feels like an oasis smack bang in the middle of the rainforest. You wouldn't know there's a highway nearby, honest! The room was spacious and comfortable, well outfitted with a bath and beautifully high pressured shower! I had a relaxing massage at the spa, and although I was unable to have the deep tissue massage I wanted, it was great and I was on cloud 9 when it was over. The restaurant served a brilliant dinner, the beef fillet was amazing! I had breakfast both mornings, and the only reason this review isn't getting a full 5 stars is because I felt the first breakfast (a la carte) was really lacking. I had the waffles and was.. not impressed. I've never been disappointed by bacon until then, either! Half of it tasted like charcoal and the other half like chewy water. The second day's breakfast, buffet style, was really great, however. Without fault the staff at Te Waonui were polite and attentive, despite this being the last month of its operation for an unknown period of time. They must be worried for the futures, but it didn't show. Bravo to them all, thank you, and best of luck for the future.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Hi EbzOr Thank you for your review, great to read that you experienced all of our facilities and service and had a great time All the best
Read more
ExpatzAbroad wrote a review Apr 2021
San Francisco, California5 contributions12 helpful votes
We had booked into the Scenic Circle Franz Josef for a weekend getaway and were surprised to find upon arrival that we had been moved to Te Waonui Forest Retreat. We were a bit taken aback as the hotel website had accepted our booking for the Scenic Circle and there was no mention of it not being available. However, our experience at Te Wainui ended up being wonderful! The hotel and our room were spotless, elegantly furnished and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent. But most importantly was the customer service, starting with Joy and Sunil ( sp?), and including every staff person we encountered during our stay. Across the board they were helpful and pleasant and a pleasure to deal with. We will definitely choose Te Waonui on future vsits to Franz Josef Glacier!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Hi ExpatzAbroad Thank you for your review, I have passed your comments on to the team, and thank you mentioning some of our team by name, it is very much appreciated All the best
Read more
lian06 wrote a review Apr 2021
75 contributions57 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights with bed & breakfast package. Location in bush is fantastic. Our room welcoming and comfortable, all the amenities you’d hope for. Dining room lovely space amongst the trees, food was excellent, service also very good. Spa services also excellent and reasonably priced for a resort. More than happy to return.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 26 Apr 2021
Hi lian06 Thank you for your review, pleased that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, dining and spa treatment All the best
Read more
Lynne R wrote a review Apr 2021
Whangamata, New Zealand13 contributions
Of course a trip to Westland may coincide with lots of rain but it was actually rather calming to be in the lovely rooms of Te Waonui Forest retreat set right in the forest, listening to and watching the rain. It’s a great hotel with very welcoming and helpful staff; the lounge with signature fireplace serves excellent cocktails; good food too in the restaurant. An excellent therapist too, so I took advantage of the indoor option to enjoy a wonderful facial.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Brad M, General Manager at Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Hi Lynne Thank you for your review, pleased to read that you enjoyed all the facilities that Te Waonui has to offer All the best
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$445 - US$471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
te waonui forest retreat hotel franz josef
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFranz Josef
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Te Koha Gallery (0.5 km), Franz Josef Clay Target Shooting (0.3 km), and Tatare Tunnels Walk (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alice May, Monsoon Bar & Restaurant, and BLUE ICE RESTAURANT & BAR.
Is Te Waonui Forest Retreat located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Franz Josef.
Does Te Waonui Forest Retreat offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Te Waonui Forest Retreat?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St. James (10.7 km).
Does Te Waonui Forest Retreat have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Te Waonui Forest Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.