Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park

2902 Franz Josef Highway, Franz Josef, Westland Tai Poutini National Park New Zealand
Traveller (127)
View from Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Room & Suite (74)
Tui on bush in front of dining room / kitchen
Dining (8)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 4 campsites in Franz Josef
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park is the perfect place to base yourself to experience the outstanding scenery, many attractions and exciting activities of the region. Nestled below the breathtaking panorama of towering mountains, magnificent glaciers and lush forests, Franz Josef Top 10 Holiday Park offers a beautifully landscaped environment and plenty of space to stay. Choose from a range of accommodation options which suit every style and budget. We have everything you need to explore our special part of the world.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Internet
Vending machine
Bicycle rental
Game room
Children's playground
Kids' outdoor play equipment
BBQ facilities
Car park
Hiking
Billiards
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
First aid kit
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
809Reviews3Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 298
  • 289
  • 128
  • 63
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
micharl2n wrote a review Mar 2020
Blenheim, New Zealand1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Top 10 park at Franz Josef is a very clean park with particular attention to detail. When we arrived the gardener was sweeping out the roadside gutters, he was working in the rain. It has all necessary modern facilities. The team provided information about Franz Glacier and best way to explore without transport.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne B, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Thank you for your feedback and comments. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and you had a chance to explore Franz Josef.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Diane S wrote a review Nov 2020
Collingwood, New Zealand3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend this park for comfort and value for money. Everything in the kitchen to make food, the furniture was comfortable and the black out curtains meant we had good restful sleeps. The shower pressure was excellent. It is conveniently located to sightsee in the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne Brockie, General Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Thank you for your feedback. So great to hear that you had a good sleep and enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kevin H wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, Australia63 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here in a 2 bed cabin whilst visiting the area.
The staff are helpful and only too happy to give advise on road conditions and pending weather to make your trip to the glaciers less drama packed.
Whilst it’s not 5 star, the accomodation is clean and packed with everything you need.

We would stay again if we were in the area again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne B, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Great to hear we will see you again ! Thank you for your feedback and comments about our Park. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in our beautiful little town.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Camper81676911 wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was fine but the community kitchen very basic and not up to the usual standard of the other Top 10 Holiday Parks we had been at. The noise from upstairs unit was unbearable. Manager Leanne was so rude and combative that we left after 2 hours without a refund.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne B, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 10 Mar 2020
I am replying to this the same as I (Leanne) did to your Google Review. Thank you for your feedback. Like you said you were going to let everyone know about me! I was not the person who checked you in. I had to take over from our receptionist, because at 4pm you were unhappy with the noise coming from the unit above your's. The people in that unit were out until 3 pm. Like I tried to explain to you that we really can't do a lot about the noise, ( of people moving around, doing dishes etc) at 4 pm in the afternoon. If it was 10 pm at night that would be a different story. You told our receptionist that she needed to change other guests around so you could change units from a down stairs unit. Looking at the booking system, there were no motels to upgrade you to ( you had booked a studio and they were both checked in.) All our other motels were also checked in for the day, as check in is from 2 pm. You wanted a refund. I came over and explained that you have booked online and agreed to the terms and condition of your booking. I looked at how we could move form your unit to something else. We only had 2 options you could move to, due to the bookings we ad checked in. I also asked you please look at them first as we want you to be happy. I moved the rooms around so that you had an end room, and your a joining wall was to the small kitchenette. This meant your noise would at a minimal level. You made reference before looking at the room that it will be noisy next to a kitchenette.The other room which was an ensuite room, you didn't even want to look at. I also said that we could put you into a motel the second night, but can not do it the first night. You came back and said that you were not happy with that room and it is old etc. You said that you will have a refund for the second day then. I then explained again you had made your booking through the TOP 10 Website and ticked the terms and condition of the cancellation policy. These state : (from the booking site) Cancellations All cancellations must be made via the TOP 10 Online reservation system using your reservation confirmation number. A 75% refund will apply to cancellations 72 hours or more before the date of arrival. No refunds will apply to cancellations within 72 hours of the date of arrival. You said that you were going to keep the key , I said that is fine as you have the room for 2 nights. You were accusing us of not refunding and selling the room to someone else and making double on the room. I also explained that I will not be getting housekeepers out at 4. 30pm (time you checked out) to clean the room. I also tried to explain to you that we could not sell the room as it was not cancelled. You checked in at 2pm and it was not until 4pm you came over to the office and talked with our receptionist. Checking out around 4.40pm . You did use the bed and kitchen the 2 hours you were in the room, if it was that bad I don't understand why you waited 2 hours? We may have not had all our units checked in by then and being a 2 night booking it was hard to find you a room that went through for 2 nights. I have not worries you reviewing us, but it is the cancellation policy you were not happy about. I don't feel I (Leanne) need to be call nasty, dirty and very confrontational. (Google review) I tired my best to move you to another unit, but what ever we did you were still not going to be happy about.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
karyn764 wrote a review Feb 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No the standard we'd expect from the Top 10 chain. The room was tired, pokey and smelt musty and damp. In addition, the unavailability of wifi or cell phone coverage made the stay most unpleasant.
The cost of the ensuite room was well above what we paid for far superior accommodation elsewhere on our tour of the South Island.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne B, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Sorry to hear you were not happy with your room. We are in the middle of a rain forest, so cell phone coverage can be hard, as well as the WiFi. We do our best with what we have here in the village. Once again sorry you were unhappy with your room. We hope the rest of your trip went well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz wrote a review Jul 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms were cramped no walking space between the beds and the extension lead is tacked onto the wall to provide power at the bedside.
Power went out and they would not refund the $300 a night they charged so we could find a place that had power (every other place in town had a back up generator) offered no solutions to the fact I couldn't make breakfast for my family of 6, just said I go out for breakfast in town that was a really long walk from the holiday park.
The woman that work there are rude and unhelpful. The only solution we were offered was a BBQ in the rain for cooking.

Won't be going back there, I'm a top 10 member and have been for a number of years and have never been treated so appallingly.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Aimee Gill, General Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hi Liz, as we mentioned to you in a previous reply. Your feedback is disappointing to hear and completely unreasonable after all our staff tried to offer you, considering the circumstances. I stand by my team and our decision and not once did we offer you a 'rude' response. The power outage as a result of an ongoing severe storm is out of our hands unfortunately. There was nothing we could've done about restoring the power. (Power lines outside of town were broken) We do not have a generator large enough to cover a property of our size and our cooking/water in our facility block are gas operated, so no power needed! However, you seems completely disinterested with our help. For refence, the village center is a 15 minute walk from our property or an easy 2 minute drive away. Great customer service is what we always strive for and staff had tried to come up with every possible solution for you but these options were all turned down. Regards, Franz Josef TOP 10 team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iROAM888 wrote a review Aug 2020
New Plymouth, New Zealand62 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Howard and Leanne are amazing host when we stayed the amenities are spotless and they had great tips and knowledge of things to do and they organized our helicopter 🚁 ride to fox and Franz Joseph glaciers which was Epic.
Can’t thank them enough for there help.
Also our son Milo loved playing with there dog Stella and cat Benson
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne Brockie, General Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Thanks very much for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed both your flight and stay. Look forward to seeing you again at some time.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carol L wrote a review Feb 2023
Solihull, United Kingdom164 contributions117 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the king size en suite. The only positive thing I can say is that the accommodation was cheap compared to motels in the area and in hindsight I wish I had spent more. The room is tiny and very dated, no air con. The one plate for toast had what looked like fungus on it and the 2 bowls were dirty. The towels were substandard and thank goodness I had my own toiletries.
To get to town cross the road and there is a walk through the woods. This takes around 15 mins and at the end of woods there is a safe well lit walk another 5 to 10 mins to a few restaurants and bar plus a super market. The area is of course stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don’t bother
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracy Harris, Owner at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 17 Feb 2023
Hi, Thank you for your feedback this is important to us. You will be please know we have only taken over Franz Josef TOP 10 in the last week. We are working hard to get all the rooms back to a 5 star rating as they deserve. We hope we might see you again in the future. Franz Josef TOP 10
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane L wrote a review Feb 2020
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom7 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this park for two nights when visiting Franz Joseph Glacier. The location was very good as it was close to the centre of the town. We stayed in a chalet with a double and single bed. The room was clean although I found the bed too soft. We used the communal kitchen which was well equipped and was provided with a full box of cutlery and crockery for a small deposit. The bathrooms were very clean. We would recommend this holiday park for a short stay in Franz Joseph.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne B, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Thank you for your recommendation. We are delight to read that you found everything you needed here at Franz Josef TOP 10. Thank you for your feedback and comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mcev0y79 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is fine with a short drive to the town. And the park itself is nice and clean with a nice view of the surrounding mountains.

Bowever, my family stayed in a cabin, and to call it such is a little generous. Having to share kitchen and bathroom facilities is fine but for the price was a bit of a rip off.
The bed was also prettt cheap and uncomfortable while the provision of 500mb download on wifi is not enough.
Probably would look to stay in different part of park or some other accommodation mext time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Leanne B, Manager at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jan 2020
Sorry to hear you won't be staying with us again. Glad to see that you found us clean and tidy and you had time to enjoy the views. The WiFi is due to the location and once we can get faster WiFi we will be putting it in place. We have to work with what we can get at this stage. If you do come back, we do have other accommodation that might suite your needs. once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and comments.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stagen asked a question Nov 2017
Massachusetts31 contributions20 helpful votes
The 1 bed apartment indicates 75 square feet. Is this correct?
Answer from Laurine F
Waikanae, New Zealand50 contributions15 helpful votes
I agree with Emma, not sure of the size but they are spacious enough. You would need to ask Top10 management
chewie8477 asked a question Mar 2017
Brisbane, Australia18 contributions36 helpful votes
Have you laundry facilities and how much.?
Answer from FranzTOP10
Franz Josef, New Zealand2 contributions
Yes we do. It costs $4/wash or dry
Lynda J asked a question Jan 2016
South Brent, United Kingdom1 contribution
Is the kitchen fully equipped or do we have to bring cooking utensils?
Claire W wrote a tip Dec 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand12 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Horrific customer service and poorly made up rooms"
Read full review
Anne I wrote a tip May 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Need to be happy to drive to town for shops and restaurants."
Read full review
Carol L wrote a tip Feb 2023
Solihull, United Kingdom164 contributions117 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother"
Read full review
easy traveller wrote a tip Dec 2022
Sydney167 contributions64 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
Dean wrote a tip May 2022
Wellington, New Zealand3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The twin room accommodation was excellent"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Franz Josef area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$539 - HK$648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestland Tai Poutini National ParkFranz Josef
NUMBER OF ROOMS
37
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FRANZ JOSEF TOP 10 HOLIDAY PARK HK$601 (H̶K̶$̶6̶6̶3̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Franz Josef Glacier (6.2 km), Te Koha Gallery (1.9 km), and West Coast Wildlife Centre (1.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, internet access, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a view of the mountains.
What food & drink options are available at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Alice May, BLUE ICE RESTAURANT & BAR, and Snake Bite Brewery.
Are there any historical sites close to Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Church of St. James (9.5 km).
Does Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Franz Josef HotelsFranz Josef Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Franz JosefHotels near Franz Josef TOP 10 Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire