We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion

Save
Share
Red Lion Brook Street Brook Street, Cromer NR27 9EY England
Booking.com
FindHotel
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (275)
Room & Suite (87)
Dining (33)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#2 of 7 hotels in Cromer
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Red Lion Hotel is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast, with views of the award winning Cromer Pier. We boast 14 en-suite Bedrooms & Suites, all of different shapes and styles. We are an AA 4 Star Inn and we have recently been awarded the AA award for breakfast. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Darts
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
997Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 606
  • 258
  • 70
  • 36
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Amanda W wrote a review 17 Sep
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom46 contributions9 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights, last time we stayed here was just before the first lockdown, and we were so pleased to see how well Cromer has survived and how the Red Lion has got even better. We had room 6, don't let the word 'room' make you think of a room - it was a superb suite, with a gorgeous sitting room overlooking the sea. Loads of space and worked really well for us as I'm an really early bird, so it was nice to get up and 'potter' without waking the other half. Everything about it was the BEST! Really cosy, even if you sat by the open sitting room window to listen to the sea, and a great view of the staircase stained glass window from the bedroom. And I've not mentioned the food yet ........ I'm actually quite pleased to come home and cut back on the portion sizes! Just amazing and very tasty, I wish I could have eaten more (but I'm pleased I didn't). Veggie linguine with garlic bread was lovely, as was fish & chips on the second night . Husband had the latter 2 nights running but had to ask for a smaller fish. Would have loved to try the desserts which sounded amazing, but no chance of that happening. Breakfast too, well just wow! Tomorrow I'll be back to my toasted crumpet, but I loved the Eggs Royal (?) with the smoked salmon, but couldn't face a full breakfast today before the drive home, so *just* had coffee, juice, Danish, fruit salad and toast. We've had a few hotel breaks this year (catching up on 2020 bookings) but the Red Lion was by far the best, and the best value for money. Everything was spot on, the staff were lovely, the room was very clean and the food excellent. We'll be back. THANK YOU! Show less
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 6 is amazing, but if you can't book that, just try to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
julie p wrote a review Aug 2021
19 contributions6 helpful votes
We had a very good dinner at the Red Lion, Reasonable prices and friendly staff. Worth a visit. The pub has a great atmosphere. Comfortable seating and well spaced.The menu has something for everyone. The Pub doesn’t have parking so you need to use the car parks close by.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo Alger, Owner at The Red Lion
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for your lovely review and spending the time leaving it, see you again soon!
Read more
Rachel wrote a review Aug 2021
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom3 contributions5 helpful votes
Had a wonderful three night stay at the Red Lion. The service and friendliness of the staff were top-class, fabulous breakfasts with homemade granola, fruit salad, quality full-cooked and lovely coffee. All produce used is of high quality. Great location on the sea front, lovely bar area. Unfortunately car parking currently not available as being used for a marquee, so be aware that parking adds another £7 a night in local car parks.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo Alger, Owner at The Red Lion
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for leaving us a review. We have tried really hard to improve our Breakfast offering as we couldn't offer our Buffet due to Covid, really pleased you liked it. There are on street parking options in Cromer that are free of charge very close to the Hotel and I'm sorry we didn't communicate that with you. See you next time.
Read more
Tony Brighton wrote a review Aug 2021
Brighton, United Kingdom66 contributions31 helpful votes
£160 is a lot to pay for 1 night in a pub. OK if you get value for that. Car park shut for a tent for drinks. Why? Not Covid related now. Only Earl Grey tea in the room and hardly any milk in the fridge on the landing. And that was off. No lift. Chaotic breakfast with rude reception and eternal wait. Not a lot of competition in Cromer so it does well.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo Alger, Owner at The Red Lion
Responded 1 week ago
Really sorry that we didn't quite do it for you, yes our Car Park is currently used as an outside drinking area but in these strange times some people really do prefer to be outside. I'm really shocked that you only had Earl Grey in the room, had you mentioned this at the time we would have delivered a wide selection of anything you would have asked for. As for the milk, we do change the milk in the fridges daily and again if you had of phoned down or told us we would have sorted it for you. Yes we don't have a lift but the Hotel was built in the 1800's and they didn't even have cars then never mind lifts! Also we are listed so can't even install one now sadly. We hope you enjoyed your trip to wonderful Cromer even if we let you down this time.
Read more
ashdown2011 wrote a review Jul 2021
East Sussex, United Kingdom19 contributions20 helpful votes
A designated 4* hotel which has replaced its entire car park with a very tired looking marquee which appeared to be very little used. Parking is difficult in the vicinity so a walk to/from hotel - + luggage - may be expected. There is no lift so the elderly/infirm would also find this difficult. A bit of a tussle to get supplies in room replenished each day which was irritating. Previous bar tables and chairs replaced with uncomfortable high stools. All in all not so appealing as previously. Breakfast good.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo Alger, Owner at The Red Lion
Responded 1 week ago
Thanks for your review. Our Marquee has proved extremely popular this year and last so I'm suprised that it was very little used...maybe the weather wasn't all that good when you came? Yes we have no lift but we have never said to have one and the building is over 200 years old. Our change of furniture in the Bar was a decision based on what our customers had been asking for, I'm sorry it doesn't suit for you....just to note we still have lots of comfy Sofas to sit at in the Lounge/Restaurant area as well as the Conservatory.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$147 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the red lion hotel cromer, cromer red lion
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkCromer
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Red Lion
Which popular attractions are close to The Red Lion?
Nearby attractions include Pavilion Theatre (0.3 km), Cromer Pier (0.2 km), and RNLI Henry Blogg Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Red Lion?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Red Lion?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Red Lion?
Conveniently located restaurants include Brownes on Bond Street, The Old Rock Shop Bistro, and Hatters Tea Shop.
Is The Red Lion located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cromer.
Are pets allowed at The Red Lion?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Red Lion?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Felbrigg Hall (3.9 km).
Does The Red Lion have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is The Red Lion accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.