We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
75-146 Sarona Road, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3725
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia
ZenHotels.com
US$271
View deal
Booking.com
Snaptravel
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (241)
360
Panoramas (15)
Room & Suite (276)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#5 of 14 hotels in Kailua-Kona
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Kailua-Kona, offering many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV and air conditioning, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona features 24 hour front desk, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts a pool and breakfast. If you are driving to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, parking is available.

Nearby landmarks such as Ali'i Drive (0.1 mi) and St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.1 mi) make Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona a great place to stay when visiting Kailua-Kona.

While in Kailua-Kona, you may want to check out some of the restaurants that are a short walk away from Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, including Kona Brewing Company Pub & Brewery (0.5 mi), Big Island Grill (0.1 mi), and Umekes Fishmarket Bar & Grill (0.6 mi).

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular art galleries such as Kona Henna, Lava Light Galleries, and Trudy's Island Arts.

Enjoy your stay in Kailua-Kona!

Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
680Reviews34Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 326
  • 258
  • 57
  • 18
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
april wrote a review 20 Oct
Oahu, Hawaii1 contribution
Booked this hotel reservation online through hopper. I wanted to rate this hotel on their website, but I couldn’t leave a recommendation. So I’m here on Trip Advisor to give my feedback. First of all it we checked in at 8:00 pm on 10/08/21 n were greeted by our front desk clerk Donna such professionalism . Thee location was perfect, 20 minutes from the Kona Airport, shops n restaurants 5 minutes. Very clean n accommodating room, bathroom were great with all bath necessities. Thee water pressure in the shower was spot on. Definitely rating this hotel with 5 stars, n will definitely come back again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Thee parking are first come basis, n part of the road to their parking facility is one way. $10...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Ryan S wrote a review 11 Oct
San Francisco, California329 contributions198 helpful votes
The hotel is pretty new but it sure feels old, and old school. The front desk has lots of signs posted about what you can or can't do, and how much is parking, how to use keys, and so on...you will know this type of place, it's usually more like that with signage at a Motel 6. The rooms are behind a locked door that needs your key card to access, it's oversecured for the area and feels chintzy. Each person at front desk had a relatively poor attitude like they're doing you a favor to deal with you, and was more like eyeing you to see if you're some kind of scum or scammer even if you're a perfectly normal guest. I don't usually cause that type of attitude, so it seems to be endemic to the staff. The room was fine but nothing special. Breakfast was the most meager selection of poor quality items, tiny items mainly, served by someone with again a very non-sunny disposition and generally poor service attitude. Parking they try to charge you an extra $10 per night...I just parked nearby for free, suggest you do the same, or just tell them you don't have a car but park in their spaces anyway, because an extra $10 on top of this already overpriced place is further insult. From what I saw of other guests, there are a lot of multi-day or weekly or monthly type guests who are doing service jobs and their companies are paying for them to stay here. So it doesn't have an atmosphere of fun enjoyment but rather of workaday life. What a sullen group it seemed to be, guests and staff. Anyway at the conclusion, tourists would be better off to consider other options (especially since I paid $225+ ugh), and not be fooled by the photos that make this hotel appear new and clean. It may be that, it's true, but it has nothing else going for it and the experience will leave you with an icky feeling.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Albert Bay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha ryans69, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on a variety levels. I do have to disagree with you on your advise about the parking. There will be a $50 parking ticket if you do not have the parking pass that our hotel provides. Also, our rate is one of the best rate you can find here in Kailua-Kona. Again, thank you for telling us about our over secured system, our over communicated system with the signage, our front desk staff and the way they made you feel, our breakfast, and parking. There is no reason for the front desk to treated you the way they did. Please rest assured that I will be addressing this immediately. We can only get better when we know what we did right and where we missed the mark. Mahalo, Albert Bay
Read more
SoniaV wrote a review Sep 2021
Seattle, Washington433 contributions23 helpful votes
Our first time on the Big Island and I was disappointed. Most of the staff look unhappy and unfriendly. They advertise free continental breakfast. When you get there, they say it is "served" breakfast, not buffet. But it's almost like begging for food because the servers were not happy to serve. They have no business being in the service industry. I thought it was only the lady that served on Sept. 2nd that was unfriendly; the next day it was not the same person but same attitude. I had asked for a bagel, slightly toasted with cream cheese, and the lady said, we do not have a toaster. That afternoon, we went to Walmart and got ourselves instant coffee, cream, and loaf of sweet bread so we don't have to ask food from the goddess of the kitchen. And we stayed there for 7 days. Not sure about the bed too because my back hurt on waking up on the 3rd day. I guess not much support from the bed. This hotel is advertised as an IHG (intercontinental hotels group) yet none of their amenities can be classified as an IHG quality. Not going back. Pro: the location is close to everything. Con: everything else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Albert Bay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Aloha, Thank you so much for your feedback. I want to apologize to you directly on how things were handled at our property. Know that your feedback will be taken seriously and a conversation will be had. If you have any questions or would like to discuss this further, please feel free to reach out to me directly. Mahalo.
Read more
James wrote a review Aug 2021
Hilo, Hawaii165 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is new and the pool and hot tub are nice. There are lots of options at the complimentary breakfast. The beds are very comfortable and I slept great. There are so many places to eat and beaches to enjoy that this hotel is a good fit due to the location. All the hotels in Kailua-Kona are expensive during the High season.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor a plus
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Katie wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
I am disgusted by this place. Our entire room was sopping wet, including our towels, clothes, socks from the wet rug and basically everthing In the room. Also smelled like poop. Do not come u will regret it. I’ve been waking up every morning with a wet shirt and my body is soaked. I’ve never been this uncomfortable in a hotel and they also ran out of towels so we had to use our wet ones. The location is awful and right next to homeless people as well. I would give this hotel a literal 1/10.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Albert Bay, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Responded 14 Jul 2021
Aloha, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we weren't able to meet your needs. I would like to discuss this further as I am also concerned that you had checked into a room that you were not satisfied with. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to discuss any further details. 808-329-2599 Mahalo.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiIsland of HawaiiKailua-Kona
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include St. Michael the Archangel Church (0.2 km), Hulihe'e Palace (0.3 km), and Mokuaikaua Church (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Aloha Shave Ice Co, Kona Coffee Cafe, and Scandinavian Shave Ice.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Kamakahonu (0.6 km) and Ahuena Heiau (0.6 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kailua-Kona, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.