We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

NOLA Jazz House

Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (4)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Located on the famous Canal streetcar line, come see why Jazz House is the perfect spot to experience all of this city's exquisite food, astounding music, and unique culture. Just a ten minute ride from Bourbon St., the cemeteries, and City Park. Five minute walk to bars, restaurants, and even the bayou! We host events three days a week! Bar crawl on Fridays, Martini Night on Saturdays, and Red Beans and Rice on Tuesdays. We are a social hostel, where the staff isn't afraid to mingle with guests and give out the best NOLA secrets. The number one compliment we get here is our staff. Every guest is different, so let us help you personalize your trip and make New Orleans into your second home. And, with a good mixture of dorm rooms and affordable privates, our hostel is perfect for your group of any size. Our private rooms are available for everyone 18+, while our shared dormitories are reserved for students and international travelers.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Hotel deals
148Reviews
67Photos
3Q+A
14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 101
  • 24
  • 7
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
New Orleans is one of if not my favorite city to visit in the US and this hostel is ideal for a vacation to the Big Easy, especially if you want to be resting/hanging out in a more laid back area...situated in Mid-City, which is a cool part of the town in itself, the hostel is a
Read more
It is disappointing to see the bad reviews about this hostel. If you want a five-star hotel, then pay for one. But if you are looking for an inexpensive but decent place to stay for your visit to New Orleans, then this is the place for you. My daughter and I stayed at NOLA Jazz
Read more
Had an awesome time and met some really nice people. The staff there was really nice and helpful.so if you're looking to have fun and meet great people I recommend Nola Jazz house you won't be disappointed.Look forward to mardi gras 2019
Read more
Negative: Josh, the host, walks barefoot ( without shoes in the street and in the hostel, on a rainy day). I think he was drunk or drugged because he could hardly concentrate on what he was talking about. He had red eyes and strange behaviour. The bathroom was very dirty, and
Read more
Response from Jazzy_Staff, Manager at NOLA Jazz House
Responded 24 Jan 2019
Again, I am going to copy the exact same response as I did your husband who left the review below you. You were both were kicked out and unfortunately felt the need to seek revenge online. I truly hope the next time you travel you both are much more respectful to the property you are staying at. We do not usually respond but we feel compelled to clarify. You were kicked out of the hostel, and are not welcome back. You were found naked in your room because you were to have checked out at 11am, instead at 6pm when I came in to clean you still had not vacated the premises, so essentially you stole a room from us. Therefore, it's your fault I found you naked. Finally, here in America we celebrate the New Year with a few drinks, and not to mention this is New Orleans, so the desk clerk may have decided to have a beer. In all, it's too bad to did not enjoy stay but that definitely was not our fault but yours. Take Care and Happy New Year.
Read more
1. We had to wait 70 minutes because there was none (18.35). The receptionist who arrived with a big smile, a beer in his hands and a big smile apoligized. 2. the bathroom is very dirty, the shower does not download the water, basically you have to bath in somebody else water.
Read more
Response from Jazzy_Staff, Manager at NOLA Jazz House
Responded 17 Jan 2019
We do not usually respond but we feel compelled to clarify. You were kicked out of the hostel, and are not welcome back. You were found naked in your room because you were to have checked out at 11am, instead at 6pm when I came in to clean you still had not vacated the premises, so essentially you stole a room from us. Therefore, it's your fault I found you naked. Finally, here in America we celebrate the New Year with a few drinks, and not to mention this is New Orleans, so the desk clerk may have decided to have a beer. In all, it's too bad to did not enjoy stay but that definitely was not our fault but yours. Take Care and Happy New Year.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play Areas
Photo provided by managementNOLA Jazz House
Our six man bunk bed room.
In our room
PreviousNext
12
Do we need to take our own bedding (sheets, pillow etc) and bath towels?
they prefer that you don't bring your own bedding! they provide it for you.
0 votes
Show all answers
No they do not. I got a taxi from the airport. If you are happy to walk four blocks you are able to get a shuttle to another backpackers or from there back to the airport.
0 votes
1 5049751311 Or search "nolajazzhouse" and it should be first one. Also, whether its loud or not, has a lot to do with the guests currently there. Since there people checking in and out constantly, even if the staff kicks a trouble maker out (happened while we were there) anther might check in the next night. I recommend that if you are a light sleeper to look for more of B&B or VRBO place. The staff tries their best, but hostels typically attract loud/party people.
0 votes
"Dorm looks great, we choose a family room for 4 ("royal street" room)"
"The 10 shared room was a great way to meet people"
"stay upstairs"
"Sometimes a 3 person private booking gets put in a 6 bed"
"All rooms were fairly kept up.. Double rooms were VERY nice.."
PreviousNext
123
PRICE RANGE
US$56 - US$295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaNew OrleansMid-City DistrictMid-City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing