La Villa Mathis

La Villa Mathis

Jl. Bumbak no. 81 Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan Indonesia
Traveller (671)
Bathroom Room Bintan.
Room & Suite (142)
Pool & Beach (97)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#7 of 41 hotels in Kerobokan
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Villa Mathis is a boutique hotel set in 11.000 M2 of tropical gardens, 4 pools, a dedicated Massage/Spa, a Bar/Restaurant. The 18 rooms (50+m2) are disseminated in 4 beautiful and unique villa areas with Balinese atmosphere in a refined and architectured resort, in the island of the Gods, Bali. Each villa incl. pool, lobby, dining room. Each room has a unique decor and design. Decorative wood furnitures and artwork are exhibited throughout. Family rooms incl. mezzanine with a 2nd double bed. Complimentary drop-off shuttle service everyday to Petitenget/Seminyak/Canggu (dayime). Each villa can be privatized for groups or families (4 and 5 bedrooms villas). Suitable for weddings, celebrations, garden dinners. The Mathis Collection boutique hotel group offers 2 other hotels in Ubud (Mathis Retreat) and Amed (Mathis Lodge).
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Poolside bar
Car hire
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
Salon
Concierge
Mosquito net
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Minibar
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Safe
Seating area
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Indonesian

Location

Jl. Bumbak no. 81 Banjar Anyar, Kerobokan Indonesia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Bali Ngurah Rai Airport
798Reviews9Q+A52Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 589
  • 128
  • 41
  • 16
  • 24
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Seghers E wrote a review Feb 2020
Gistoux, Belgium32 contributions55 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
In october 2019 , we decided to go and see by ourself this Island we where hearing so many excellent comments.
As we don’t like to organize too much our stays, we followed an excellent advise from a friend.
We contacted the Mathis collection which is a resort with 3 different locations on the Island. Villa Mathys in Umala, Mathis retreat at Ubud and Mathis Lodge in Amed for a total of 13 nights in Bali.
Our trip was amazing , everything was very well organised, we could have every informations upon our arrival in those 3 different hotels . Organising the day before what we were going to do the next day . This is a great advantage as there are son many things to see but also the need of relaxing some times .
Villa Mathys: Definitely the first place where you have to enter Bali. The villas are extremely charming . This is actually a Paradise.
Mathis retreat in Ubud: excellent location to visit all the surroundings. Karin was there to help us making the right choice for the excursions. The restaurant of the hotel is great with a vue on the rice plantations and some nice white ducks walking along.
Mathis Lodge in Amed: exceptional place isolated in the hills whith a view on the Ovean and a Jacusszzi in the room !!
The restaurant offered amazing italian dishes (and others) that Santos , the Manager always ready to make you feel well, teached to his local employees.
We left there afte 4 days off diving and relaxing . Direct to the airport.
Well We had a perfect trip !!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from yves0712, Manager at La Villa Mathis
Responded 23 Feb 2020
Dear Seghers E, Thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Villa MATHIS and in our 2 other properties aswell. Customer satisfaction is paramount and we are pleased to read about customers who are satisfied of our hotels and our staff. We are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Bali. Regards, The team at Villa MATHIS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jayde0711 wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an amazing stay here! The staff were all very friendly and they were helpful and accommodating when our trip was delayed. The villa was lovely, very private and the bed was super comfy! It was nice and quiet at the resort, despite being fully booked and was located away from the busyness of Seminyak and Canguu. Thank you so much Yves and team for making our stay so enjoyable, we would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from yves0712, Manager at La Villa Mathis
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Jayde, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our tropical property. For your next adventure in Bali, we invite you to check our two other properties in Ubud (MATHIS Retreat & restaurant Terracotta) and in Amed (MATHIS Lodge & restaurant Asmat). When combining 2 or 3 of our hotels directly with us, you will benefit from our « Happy MATHIS » advantages; please refer to our web page for more information : mathiscollection. Warm Regards, The team at Villa MATHIS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna M wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my favourite hotel whilst travelling around Bali. It was beautiful, quiet, the staff were friendly, the breakfast was lovely and the general manager was incredibly helpful and accommodating. I would definitely revisit if I returned to Bali.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from yves0712, Manager at La Villa Mathis
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Anna, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful tropical property. For your next adventure in Bali, we invite you to check our two other properties in Ubud (MATHIS Retreat & restaurant Terracotta) and in Amed (MATHIS Lodge & restaurant Asmat). When combining 2 or 3 of our hotels directly with us, you will benefit from our « Happy MATHIS » advantages; please refer to our web page for more information : mathiscollection. Warm Regards, The team at Villa MATHIS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Volker L wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We rent the Villa for 1 week in March to celebrate my Birthday. The service was very good and all my guest were very happy. Management and staff were super helpful to make this week unforgetable for me and my family and friend. Highly recommend Villa Mathis
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Дмитрий В wrote a review Jan 2020
Kyiv, Ukraine243 contributions168 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Amazing area with fantastic tropical garden. Extremely friendly staff, great pools, tasty food. There a lot of markets and restaurants near. Also you can rent a car close to hotel. Hope to stay here next time. This location is really good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from yves0712, Manager at La Villa Mathis
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Dear vinogradovdima, Thank you for your amazing review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our tropical property. For your next adventure in Bali, we invite you to check our two other properties in Ubud (MATHIS Retreat & restaurant Terracotta) and in Amed (MATHIS Lodge & restaurant Asmat). When combining 2 or 3 of our hotels directly with us, you will benefit from our « Happy MATHIS » advantages; please refer to our web page for more information : mathiscollection. Warm Regards, The team at Villa MATHIS
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LaraB wrote a review Jan 2012
1 contribution9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was by far one of the most ill run hotels I have ever stayed at. Not only were the villas infested with roaches and geckos which left their droppings everywhere, but the villa I was put into had an outside bathroom which was swarmed with worms and bugs everytime it rained.

On my first morning I caught two local builders on the wall of my bathroom unabashedly staring at me showering in the outside bathroom. When they were still there the second morning I complained to Bruno- the owner. His response was not to apologize, but to tell me that I HAD to, "shut up, calm down and go to the pool." In shock I started crying at being spoken to in this way. He then called me 'hysterical, unreasonable' and refused to speak with me and insisted he would only speak to the one man in our group of 8. Bruno followed this by sending an email to our male friend, telling him that 'the girls were being difficult' and that he should 'calm the girls down'.

Not only am I in my late thirties and have not been a girl for at least two decades, but the misogynistic tone of the owner and the lack of regard with which he treats paying guests is unprecedented.

Neither I nor anyone I was with, shall set foot in this horrendous establishment again. Bruno's only achievement was to ruin my new years eve and long awaited holiday.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis
Responded 22 Jan 2012
Comment un petit problème peut prendre des proportions démesurées par la simple volonté d’un client de faire du tapage, cela en devient fatiguant. Jamais je ne pouvais penser que tout cela allait encore donner vie à de telles critiques de tout. Petit problème dû à un élément que nous ne maitrisons pas et qui n’est pas de notre fait – est d’amplifier et de créer d’autres points imaginaires de litiges pour que le petit problème atteigne une importance relative pour avoir une chance de trouver une oreille attentive à ses malheurs. Encore une fois ici et dans les autres cas, je suis conscient de tout cela, conscient que ce client en face de moi va utiliser l’événement pour me faire des ennuis au maximum (car c’est la mode à présent) alors que de mon côté j’aborde le problème calmement, sereinement et en proposant des solutions…quand le client se mure car veut rester dans une logique de conflit et non de résolution immédiate de problème, j’ai en face de moi la mauvaise foi du client qui ressort outrageusement. Je ne trouve pas du tout mes réactions excessives, juste remettre les éléments dans la réalité des choses face à des clients de plus en plus pernicieux et profitant de tout….. Nous avons décidé depuis ce dernier incident que je n’interviendrais plus directement avec ce type de client, quitte à ce qu’il doive attendre un peu de temps avant d’avoir un interlocuteur (en l’occurrence Lilka mon épouse et également Maitre de Maison ou Wilfrid le manager) Sur ce dossier, les clients ont réservé une villa 4 chambres pour le Nouvel An, j’ai traité du début à la fin avec Mr K. Ce monsieur étant très pointilleux, m’a semblé très difficile juste par mail durant nos échanges, j’ai donc surclassé sans surcoût, j’en avais la possibilité, ce groupe de la villa de 4 chambres de 1900m2 (Les Jardins d’Hiver ou Villa OHI) à notre plus grande villa, celle de 5 chambres de 3200m2 avec vue sur les rizières (Villa des Rizières ou Villa KI) certain de faire plaisir aux clients et de m’assurer une réservation des plus tranquilles. Le 28/12, jour de l’arrivée, il y a eu 5 clients qui sont arrivées, le responsable du groupe Mr K. n’arrivant que le 30/12. De suite, Wilfrid mon manager m’informe de clientes excessivement nerveuses et difficiles. Certaines remarques dès le lendemain matin, comme plainte sur la présence de geckos dans les toits (ce qui est normal puisque nous avons des toits traditionnels en alang alang), bruits d’oiseaux extérieurs tôt le matin (un comble !!!) et pas assez de lumières vives dans les chambres (rajout de lampes le soir même). Les clients avaient un rooming list en 4 chambres, ils ont pris possession bien naturellement aussi de la 5eme chambre (Gili). Le 30/12 au matin, mon manager me signale que la cliente déjà très nerveuse (relisez simplement sa critique et vous comprendrez l’état d’esprit même un mois après..)au début a commencé à hurler et ne veut rien entendre car elle a été observée par des locaux au dessus de son mur de salle de bain. Le fait est que notre voisin qui a la propriété privée voisine a décidé de couper tous les bambous de son pourtour de terrain pour remplacer par d’autres arbres…et ce sans nous prévenir. Son staff a donc coupé les bambous que l’on voit sur la photo ce matin là, la cliente s’est sentie agressée par cela. Elle ne voulait plus rien entendre et parler sur le champ au propriétaire (le manager ne comptait même plus), je l’ai donc pris de suite au téléphone durant un long moment. D’abord lui faire comprendre que ce n’était nullement de notre faute, que je ne pouvais pas anticiper cela. Que je comprenais sont état de panique mais qu’il n’y avait bien évidemment aucune envie d’agression de la part de ces ouvriers. Je lui ai simplement rappelé que cette chambre était en bonus (car la 5eme de la villa) et que la solution immédiate était simplement de retourner dans la configuration de rooming initial en 4 chambres. Que de mon côté, je mettais mon équipe engineering de suite au travail pour redresser un mur de bambou, nous en aurions pour 24h maximum et ensuite elle aura le choix de rester dans l’autre chambre ou de reprendre cette chambre une fois ok. Je pense avoir réagit au plus vite et au mieux. La cliente a continué à parler de viol, de traumatisme, et de remboursement immédiat…. ???????? tout en hurlant dans le téléphone Je lui ai à ce moment conseillé de se calmer, c’était la seule chose devant un état presque hystérique, d’aller se relaxer au bord de la piscine et de prendre un cocktail à mes frais, et d’oublier rapidement ce pet incident pour ne pas gâcher le reste de son séjour. L’arrivée de Monsieur K. étant prévue vers 15h, je lui ai effectivement envoyé un mail rapide en anglais (dont les tournures ne sont pas parfaites je l’accorde) pour juste l’informer de l’incident de ce matin mais surtout de lui dire qu’une de ces amie était dans un état anormal, je ne voulais pas qu’il le découvre en arrivant mais qu’il en soit déjà informé..il était mon seul interlocuteur durant tout le process de réservation, je me devais donc de le tenir au courant, cela me semble tout à fait logique…et en aucun cas une forme de mysoginie Je me suis ensuite entretenu à son arrivée par téléphone….à la fin m’a demandé de faire un geste pour elle afin d’aplanir le problème, ce que j’ai fait dans les 5 minutes en envoyant une bouteille de cueva chilien avec 6 verres au bord de la piscine (bouteille qui a été renvoyée directement par la cliente ?????) et en lui offrant un soin au spa, qu’elle a consommé. A mes yeux, ce petit soucis a été réglé très rapidement et de la manière dont il devait être réglé, je ne vois en rien où mes actions ont posé problème, jusqu’à me critiquer ouvertement sur Trip Advisor, texte repris ci-dessous et en insistant sur le fait que j’ai véritablement ruiné ses vacances….. ???? ? Allant même jusqu’à affirmer que j’ai utilisé le terme anglais Shut up que je ne traduirais pas et qui n’est ben évidemment jamais sorti de ma bouche. Pour ce qui est de la photo de déchet de gecko, il est évident que sur des chambres en Alang Alang, cela peut arriver à tout moment, mais le housekeeping passant 2 fois par jour, c’est immédiatement nettoyé, particulièrement quand il est placé come là sur le desk du bureau…maintenant il est facile de prendre la photo à tout moment juste après et d’insister sur le fait que les chambres soient sales, pas nettoyées, etc….c’est un abus évident. Je ne vois pas d’autres photos montrant clairement que les chambres sont sales, car ce n’est évidemment pas le cas ! Maintenant en période des pluies, il est évident qu’une salle de bain extérieure est sujette à plus de désagréments qu’en période sèche, c’est aussi une évidence qui ne remet pas en cause la propreté de l’établissement ! Pour terminer je vous invite à lire les nombreux avis de Trip Advisor où la grande partie de nos clients nous félicitent du lieu, des nombreuses attentions de notre équipe et de l’efficacité et de la présence discrète, efficace et courtoise de l’ équipe de management….
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
edjakarta wrote a review Dec 2012
Jakarta, Indonesia21 contributions39 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disclaimer: this is my first review on tripadvisor. I usually do not comment, regardless of a great stay or a less than pleasurable one. However, this stay was particularly bad, such that I feel I need to warn people of what they are getting into.

I stayed in the villa in late oct 2012 for 3 days. After my wedding in Jakarta, I had hoped to enjoy a few days of celebrating and relaxation at this villa which I chose because I could get 9 villas in close proximity to each other. We did get 9 villas close to each other, but pretty much everything else was negative.

THE GOOD
- The common areas were spacious
- The pantry has ample refrigerator/cooler space

THE BAD
- OLD:
I do not know how old the villa is, but from the dilapidated furniture and the untended jungle of plants which they use to line the walking paths, I assume that it is at least 20 unmaintained years old.
- THEFT:
Incident 1: A shirt and shorts left pool side under a hotel towel disappeared, presumably because the staff did not realize there were clothes underneath. I asked the staff to check on the clothes, but they never got back to me. So I followed up with the manager(?), Wilfred, and he also did not get back to me. The next day, upon further inquiry, Wilfred simply shrugged the following response, "If the staff had found the clothes, they would have returned it already".

Incident 2: I accidentally left a pair of sneakers in our room after checking out. From the airport, about to board my airplane, I called to ask whether someone had found the sneakers. To my relief, the cleaning staff had turned in the shoes to security, where they promised they would keep it until I could return to pick it up. A few weeks later, I was back in bali, so I called the villa where they confirmed they still had the shoes, and apparently they had "lost" the shoes.

- CHARGED FOR A BROKEN CHAIR:
As mentioned earlier, the villa appears to be old, as is the furniture. A friend was lying on a pool chair, when it broke. I was charged USD 250 for the chair. I later found out from a different friend that the chairs were all "creaking".

- DIRTY:
Our room was dusty, the furniture cushions were damp and had some stains. Around the bed was a curtain which was dusty. The private pantry was dirty with chipped ceramic and a discolored sink.

- UNDEPENDABLE WIFI:
Would go on and off sporadically, mostly off, and slow even when it was on

- SLOW/UNRESPONSIVE SERVICE:
Would take half an hour to deliver a drink. Often the staff was nowhere to be found, and when they were, they were unresponsive.

TAKEAWAY
Bali has many amazing accommodations, there are MANY alternatives to this villa. I read that alot of people have enjoyed staying at this villa, so take my experience with a grain of salt. Service is debatable depending on each individual's standards. However, theft is a deal breaker in my books. Potential guests, beware.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from prizzo, Propriétaire at La Villa Mathis
Responded 12 Jan 2013
Dear Guest, I regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, even if with a group of around 20 people, we had NO complains during their stay. So I’m not sure this is the feeling of all the guests of your group, but mostly your opinion turning to a very bad experience, motivated by the fact that you lost your sneakers (value of 2 USD). I deeply regret that because of this matter you write all kind of bad words unexpected , where Villa Mathis is responsible – The process ask to give us back directly the items lost by the clients to us, unfortunately we were out and the staff leave to one of our security – Jacob a very good guy, very honest, unfortunately, as the process as not respected in this case, after few weeks, we were not able to find back your shoes – so we are totally agree that we are responsible of the lost – But I’m really not agree when you treat all our staff of thefts, we are running nearly 8 year and if we had this kind of problems, we will have direct actions against it, and, for sure you will find it mentioned regularly on this website……….you can easily read that it’s not the case. About the remarks of wild garden and old woods, Bali is full of modern and minimalist places with no charm, very small and poor gardens, all concrete and roofs in tiles – closed bathrooms as in city’s apartments. Here we have more than 1 hectare of tropical and wild gardens (full of birds and butterflies), alang alang roofs, antique and all chairs and tables are in teak and all kind of woods, mostly coming from Java and Sumatra. As Indonesian citizen, you have to be more sensible to the fact that properties like us respect the traditions and the handicraft of your beautiful country to try to bring our guests to a different atmosphere where they will be able to have a really exotic feeling – may be in the future when you will travelling more, you will understand it..but now it seems that your lack of travelling brings you to tell such things to very friendly and helpful staff, and make you think that antique and old are the same word…
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PrincessVoltron wrote a review Mar 2012
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I wasn't going to write this review; I was planning on cutting my losses and moving on, but I still look back on my time at Villa Mathis with few fond memories.

My husband and I stayed here with an Ouffer deal, and not sure but I felt that this was the reason our room was quite small and unimpressive. It certainly looked nothing like the rooms shown on the website, and it literally was just a room with a bed (and small desk, wardrobe) with an outdoor bathroom. There were none of the luxurious trimmings seen in the photos from the website.

Firstly, the air conditioning unit was far too small to adequately cool the space - remembering that this is in the tropical, hot Balinese climate! It was a 900 watt unit, my husband discovered, and to put that in context, in sunny Queensland Australia, I have a 2.6 KILO-watt unit to cool an office half the size. Not only that, but it was mounted on the wall beside the bed, right above the pillows, meaning air was blowing on our faces all night, (and really, you can't NOT have it running all night). A fridge in the room would have been useful to cool drinks, and there is no phone (which I guess is supposed to be part of the concept) so every time you need something you have to walk up to the reception.

There is no internet access in your room, which is fine - keeping in mind that concept - but you would be extremely lucky to be able to access the wi-fi anywhere else in the grounds either. We could connect perhaps 50% of the time. It is supposedly available in the communal areas of the villas and the restaurant.

2 traditional massages were included in the package. My husband used one on the first day and I asked for an aromatherapy one, but they were exactly the same, so be aware! Having read someone else's comments that said the same thing, I don't think the therapists know the difference!

Also the spa prices are about DOUBLE what they are advertised at on the website!! I was extremely disappointed about this. THE WEBSITE NEEDS TO BE UPDATED! Whilst the prices are still very reasonable, compared with Australia, I was all prepared to have some treatment every day, and then decided against it because of this. Spa treatments are much more reasonably priced in town.

At the start of our stay we booked a horse riding tour on our second last day. My husband is tall, dutch and weighs about 110kg - they breed them tall over there! :) Anyway, the shuttle arrived in the afternoon and the first thing the driver asked my husband was "How much do you weigh?" 80kg is the limit - and goodness, but I am nearly 80kg! So we couldn't go, but I felt that Villa Mathis should be aware of such rules considering the close-by riding stables are a tour that they promote and should communicate these details to their guests. When I went to tell the situation to the reception lady, she laughed and suggested I go by myself! I wasn't about to leave my husband all on his own while I went and had a nice time... So because of the time, and the disappointment, we didn't do anything that day. By then, I was just ready to leave.

There were other small things that bothered us about the stay, but I think the above spiel covers enough. We won't be back to Villa Mathis, and I won't be recommending it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Perhaps a room in one of the villas that has a communal area would be nicer? Ours didn't have...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bruno-Villa-Mathis, Director of Sales at La Villa Mathis
Responded 21 Jan 2017
“Thank you for choosing MATHIS Collection, as you know when you combine our 2 properties MATHIS Retreat Ubud and Villa MATHIS Umalas, enjoy the HAPPY MATHIS with FREE benefits: For a minimum of 3 nights each: Transfer inter hotel, Massage of 60min facing the ricefields & Romantic candlelight dinner in our tropical gardens. Other advantages for longer stays as cooking class, day tours, … -Do not hesitate to ask us! Enjoy also our unique concept of LIBERTY PASS, Any night booked can be swapped, without fee, to another hotel of Mathis Collection. For a 100% Freedom on holidays! Thank you for your confidence and see you soon in Paradise!” MATHIS Collection Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael H wrote a review Feb 2018
6 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What can I say we both got bed bugs. The owners were so rude and arrogant. The mattress was nothing short of putrid and there was no proper mattress protector. I doubt it was ever cleaned. See pictures below. The staff there are really nice in general.

We checked out straight away. A full refund was promised by the owners wife but never materialized. My partner spoke to her in French but she just gave poor excuses. When we checked out they gave no assistance and it was late at night on Chinese New Year. One of the staff called the owner but he refused to speak to us.

The internet never really worked which was fine. A few things went missing from our room and the toilet was not clean nor did it flush properly. The staff tried to fix things but I think they were not trained properly.

We both had bites all over our body and had an itch for most of our trip. It completely ruined our photo shoot here in Bali. No care from Villa Mathis!

I would think again about staying here. It looks great online in the photos but it’s old ,dark, tired and needs a good facelift. The breakfast was not great either but again lovely staff.

Beware of the bed bugs!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bruno B, Owner at La Villa Mathis
Responded 28 Feb 2018
So in summary – no bed bugs and a undermatrass not checked by housekeeping but already the same day put in rubbish and change by a new one – a good internet but if you want to download of course files of more than 20Mega – better use the common area – owners are not rude and very welcomed but please do not shut on them………..we are not there to receive insults even if here the client is the King First of all the pictures you took show undermatrass not clean and it s indeed a mistake from our staff who not check ontime this bed but this is of course not a proof of bed bugs at all. If you read all the posts here you will never find any kind of mention about it. I can understand that this kind of title is much more attractive than « spots on undermatrass cover ». this mattras was dirty and it’s absolutely right. You were so aggressive to the staff during the nights and to the owner that all people were closed as afraid of you to be honest - this is not also an acceptable attitude as you only focus to get a full refund and specially of the nights you spent with us and everything was possible to reach your goal – please understand that our job in this case is really unconfortable – it was so aggresive than even your partner was puzzled with us – and the way you treat Lilka the owner was not very rewarding. We were all here very sad that you used all the power to make scare everybody in the only purpose to get money………please keep a honest and moderate temper specially on holidays with all the people doing the best to please you. Specially as we proposed to change room few times – you refused. About internet we have a optic fiber connection – i use it for work and it’s perfect. You came for working and download very heavy files (that of course you forget to mention in your post) – once again you was able to download these anormal sizes of file in all the common areas and after be able to work normally in your room – you refused as well. There is a last point that i don’t understand that you asked few times to the reception to extend and get special deal – even the last moment at the reception and it’s absolutely strange you asked to extend one week free of charge….incredible..so once again try to post only the facts but do not spend your nerves for your ego.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela P wrote a review Jan 2018
Queensland, Australia7 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
As a travel agent i had a client who had a booking but due to an unfortunate medical emergency the doctors deemed her unable to fly. Emails back and forth of their availability and her availability. Dates secured.. unfortunatly due to a death of immediate family my client now not able to travel again. Approach hotel to advise mother will go in her place. Hotel states No name change allowed. States no where on voucher no name change. Hotel not loosing business as people still coming just not my client, and i have been advised booking has been to much hassle and is now cancelled and closed. No refund no nothing except "thanks for your understanding"
Not acceptable at all
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bruno B, Owner at La Villa Mathis
Responded 11 Feb 2018
Very surprising post as it concerns only a problem connected to a booking and finally this post was even not written by the client but her travel agent - so difficult for me to have a correct answer.as this post has Nothing to do here.... they booked a room at Villa Mathis in 2016 and finally cancelled in last minute - the rate was non refundable - they claim to me and push me to refund, normally it was lost, but I was agreed to postpone. they rebooked and cancelled few times and finally few weeks ago inform me that she not going to come and her sister will take her place (after 18 months of mails - my feeling was that i showed a lot of patience) - the deal was to postpone for the same client so cannot be cessible as like that people can make business and resell the voucher. so after a 10th cancellation - this unprofessionnal travel agent (i know what i'm talking about as i was travel agent during 10 years in the past) take a decision to post a such ugly post to try to find a kind of revenge as she was angry that the way was not the one she claiming - i didn't know that Trip Advisor was a place for such revenge.... but what can I do, except let it go.....Just read the posts of all our estimated clients and you will understand the daily job that we do to satisfy all of them... Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from bruno
Bali19 contributions13 helpful votes
hello please leave directly a mail to our website - Best regards
Answer from bruno
Bali19 contributions13 helpful votes
Dear Sir, We will gladly provide you an early check in for one room (3 adults) in our resort at midnight and a transfer from the airport for USD 30 (per car). Please kindly send us your flight detail and we will arrange this transportation service. Thank you in advance and see you soon. Regards,
JulieLND asked a question Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom229 contributions184 helpful votes
Hello ! I am planning to come with my 7months old LO. Is the hotel stroller friendly ? Thanks !
Answer from bruno
Bali19 contributions13 helpful votes
Dear Julie, Thank you for your enquiry, yes no problem for the baby, the first villa is suitable for it - Moreover, we provide also if needed baby-sitting in extra. Thank you for your confidence, Best regards Bruno
Answer from bruno
Bali19 contributions13 helpful votes
Chère Caroline, merci de votre mail. Le concept de la Villa Mathis est unique, une propriété d'architecte d'un hectare divisée en 4 parties avec 4 piscines et de très larges jardins, un endroit romantique par excellence...Vous avez accès aux communs restaurant, bar et Spa comme dans un hôtel mais en plus aux 4 parties et aux 4 piscines sans distinction, ce qui fait que vous avez souvent l'impression d'être quasi seule......donc vous n'avez pas accès qu'à la partie où vous logez mais bien à l'ensemble...voici mon mail si besoin: bruno villamathis com Java et Bornéo sont effectivement les 2 suites de la Villa des Rizières J'espère avoir répondu à vos questions, Merci de votre confiance Bruno
Sudarmaarta123 asked a question Feb 2022
2 contributions
Apakah ada parkiran mobil?
Answer from bruno
Bali19 contributions13 helpful votes
ada pak!
Mat wrote a tip Nov 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good luck choosing their all amazing"
Read full review
E A wrote a tip Nov 2019
Bangkok, Thailand75 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms seem to be well located."
Read full review
Estelle wrote a tip Jun 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"better with a terrace"
Read full review
PHWalker wrote a tip Nov 2018
34 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I stayed Borneo Villa which was very private and peaceful and would be perfect for couples or honeymooners."
Read full review
Kyle M wrote a tip Sept 2017
12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every room at this resort is beautiful. You will not be disappointed."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kerobokan area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$492 - HK$655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la villa mathis hotel kerobokan, la hotel umalas, la hotel mathis
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Villa Mathis "Relais & Chateaux"
LOCATION
IndonesiaBaliNorth KutaKerobokan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA VILLA MATHIS HK$602 (H̶K̶$̶6̶6̶5̶)

Frequently Asked Questions about La Villa Mathis
What are some of the property amenities at La Villa Mathis?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at La Villa Mathis?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at La Villa Mathis?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at La Villa Mathis?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Villa Mathis?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bumbak Coffee, La Casetta, and Souphoria.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Villa Mathis?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does La Villa Mathis have airport transportation?
Yes, La Villa Mathis offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at La Villa Mathis?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Villa Mathis?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to La Villa Mathis?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pura Dalem Sakenan Serangan (6.9 km).
All Kerobokan HotelsKerobokan Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KerobokanHotels near La Villa Mathis
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire