Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea

Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea

Traveller (989)
Guest room
Room & Suite (146)
Restaurant
Dining (27)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#31 of 506 hotels in New York City
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Daily Mandatory Destination Charge includes: Premium WiFi: daily $10 food & beverage credit for use in restaurant & coffee bar: choice of local meditation session or 45 minute Orange Theory Training class at local gym: 2 bottles premium water daily. Towering 42 stories over Chelsea, our hotel is two blocks from Madison Square Park and the Flatiron Building. We're about a mile from The High Line, Chelsea Market, Times Square, and Greenwich Village. Dozens of unique eateries, bars, museums, and shops are also a short walk from our doors. Or unwind with a drink and bite to eat at our bar and restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Up to 20% off!

Location

113 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10001
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
LaGuardia Airport
10.7 km
See all flights
Teterboro Airport
13.1 km
See all flights
23rd St
2 minNew York City Subway
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles1,164 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea garners praise for its exceptional service, with staff members who are friendly and helpful, although some guests have noted occasional lapses in responsiveness. The hotel's central location is lauded by visitors for its convenience to key attractions and public transit. While rooms are celebrated for their cleanliness and modern amenities, they are also described as compact by NYC standards. The urban destination fee has raised some eyebrows concerning value. Despite noise issues for some, the hotel's vibrant atmosphere and live jazz are often appreciated.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Well-designed
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Spotless
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Top-notch

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,164Review35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,018
  • 71
  • 44
  • 17
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Andy R wrote a review Jan 2024
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our stay at Motto. We stayed for Christmas and were sad to leave. The staff and atmosphere are extremely welcoming and the decor is very stylish and typically New York. A modern but authentic feel to our stay with fantastic location in the heart of Manhattan, between 6th and 7th Ave. Nearest subway at 23rd street just 1 block away too with various uptown and downtown routes. Check in and out was very easy though reception can get busy because the hotel is popular. However, there were always polite, helpful staff on hand. Free Wi-Fi worked everywhere in the hotel and rooms and premises were immaculately clean. Comfortable beds/pillows, plenty of charge points and mini fridge. Free water each day also. Room for a family of 4 is a little small and there's no wardrobe which was a slight downside. 3 big draws on the beds and space for suitcases but 4th draw replaced by a safe and a bit of a lack of space for clothes and belongings as a result. That said, the room did not feel cramped as we're tidy and in Manhattan, space will always be at a compromise. Breakfast was absolutely fantastic as was all food that came from the kitchen. Great taste and flavours as well as presentation. They really know how to serve food here and though part of a huge chain, this felt like a family run hotel with great attention and service levels. Full drinks bar and cafe with a wonderful atmosphere at all times of the day, breakfast lunch or dinner. Also, a quite and relaxing lounge on the floor above, for guests. Extremely well presented and great for our Christmas day family photo's. There is also a small fitness gym on the 4th floor with weight, treadmills, mats, Pelaton etc and lifts operate only by guest keys for security. One slight problem where we only seemed to be given 3 towels each day when there were four of us in the room and had to ask for additional ones each day but they were sent immediately. Would highly recommend this hotel for travelling families, couples or solo travellers. Very friendly, highly convenient, fantastic food, lovely atmosphere, good value and excellent service. We certainly will look to stay here again when in New York, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 7 day Subway card $36 and worth the money if staying a few days. Otherwise $2.90/ride. Taxi from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Andy! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate your kind words and are thrilled to hear about your pleasant stay. We hope to host you very soon again at Motto Chelsea NYC!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nawabofdelhi1 wrote a review Feb 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Right on the cusp of Chelsea and the Flat iron district, barely 7 minutes by cab from Penn station this Hotel makes a strong case for those seeking to maximise a short stay in Manhattan.
Definitely seek out rooms on the higher floor for great views the cities skyline . The on-site restaurant is a bonus and shockingly good for grabbing dinner . Breakfast options are limited though and pricey but great coffee. Checkin is smooth and friendly , Edgar at the reception is a pleasure to deal with and makes one feel most welcome .
Rooms are based around the concept of a minimalist design and are sleek and smart , would appeal more to the 25 to 40 year old crowd . A functional gym is on premise . Be prepared for the wash basin to be an open concept one in the room , though the bathroom and shower have adequate privacy.
The not so good bits : the walls of the rooms I would say are wafer thin . The hotels insistence on conservation results in a ridiculous situation of having to constantly refill the one or two bottles of plastic water bottles they provide, especially given that the refill options are just on level 4 and in the lobby , so all the best ferrying around for drinking water on the elevators.
Other than that if one can snag a room for around $125 here plus taxes think it would represent good value .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Seek rooms on higher floors and away from elevators.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 3 Mar 2023
Hi there Nawabofdelhi1! Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your amazing feedback with us! We are so happy to hear that your Motto experience was a delightful one. We deeply apologize for the issues with noise you experienced during your stay, we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. We are green hotel so that is why we ask to refill your water bottles to help the environment. We are so delighted to hear that Edgar and our Motto staff took amazing care of you! We look forward to hosting you again at Motto Chelsea NYC!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
ana f wrote a review Feb 2022
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I don’t usually leave the reviews but I wanted to share an amazing experience I had at Motto by Hilton Chelsea this weekend. The minute I walked in, I was greeted by friendly and professional staff who went above and beyond throughout my stay to make me feel welcome. The decor was beautiful and provided very modern and tasteful yet cozy atmosphere. The front desk provided guidance and assisted with even making reservations at the restaurant. As I entered my room it became more clear that Motto is dedicated to providing very person centered customer service. The screen read “welcome Ana” and after a stressful work week, it made me feel special. The rooms are squeaky clean and provide breathtaking views of the city. I admire the fact that Motto seems to be dedicated to sustainability, the soaps and shampoos come in full size bottles to reduce plastic waste and everything just seems right. The restaurant is absolutely amazing with delicious drinks and food, i just cant stop talking about it. If you are visiting NY or you are a New Yorker trying to get away home away from home, I definitely recommend staying at Motto. Looking forward to staying there again! Special thanks to Alex who made this what was supposed to be an ordinary day, a special and unique experience. See the picture of the view from my room below.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 21 Feb 2022
Dear Anna! Thank you so much for such a thorough review! as a new hotel it wars our hearts to hear such a great review by our guests. We hope to see you back soon for your next staycation!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia A wrote a review Jun 2022
San Francisco, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cute hotel and a good location that is highly walkable. Bar Chicchetti has great food, drinks, and ambiance for a hotel restaurant, but I’d expect nothing less from Top Chef alum Fabio Viviani. The room we had was very small but well laid out with drawers under the bed for storage of items that didn’t need to be hung. It was tight for two people for a five night stay though. A shorter stay would have been ideal given space limitations.

The big issue that I had was with housekeeping. They did a great job, but I didn’t ask for housekeeping and didn’t want anyone in the room. We were told at check in that housekeeping was only upon request and that no one would enter the room without permission, which was great, and to schedule a day in advance. We returned to the room the next day to find that the room had been cleaned without any request. I chalked it up to a fluke but it happened again the second day. We raised it with staff that evening and was told it would be addressed and wouldn’t happen again. Then, on day three it was cleaned again. I complained that night and the staff acted like I was crazy and also asked if I had put a tag on the door to stop them from entering. Well, the room is so small and the only place to hang clothes is on pegs placed by the door, which apparently was where the tag was hanging - under all of our clothes - so no we didn’t even know we had a tag, nor did I think we needed something like that since housekeeping was supposed to be on request only. So, of course I hung the tag the next day and housekeeping did not come in. With other hotel brands I have status with I would have been offered points or free drinks or something to make up for the repeated mistake. Instead I was treated like I did something wrong rather than staff not making sure that only rooms that requested it were serviced. Also, the woman at the front desk, that had checked us in and saw us everyday, acted like she had never met us when we had a complaint. It was disappointing to say the least. Also it was a loss of tips for the housekeeping staff because I didn’t leave a tip out daily as I was not expecting them.

This Motto location has a lot going for it, so I hope that they continue to work on the customer service provided by their staff to make sure these issues don’t happen in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get a higher floor to minimize street noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 29 Jun 2022
Dear Julia, Thank you for your feedback. I have sent you a separate email and will be waiting for your reply!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richard g wrote a review May 2022
2.0 of 5 bubbles
While the stay was OK - it it's true that the views from the high rooms are sublime across the city, it felt like there was plenty to avoid staying here again. Yes, the room was clean and the bed v comfortable but the wash basin is in the actual room and the shower / toilet is separated by a heavy sliding door with a metal catch that was industrial like and made my partner cut his finger while he closed it. When I asked (after the first night) if they could clean the room, the answer was that housekeeping isn't possible during your stay unless requested 24 hours before. The restaurant downstairs did an OK breakfast. When we arrived at the hotel at 1am, there was no room service available. The immediate area around West 24th Street is very midtown and dirty. Basically a re-skinned Hilton. That said, the staff were perfectly helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 26 May 2022
Dear Richard, thank you for choosing Motto to be your home away from home. I regret that we did not meet your expectations on this visit and would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced. I have addressed the issues with the appropriate teams so that we may learn from your experience in an effort to improve our product and service. It is our sincere hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back, where I am confident a more refined experience awaits you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel L wrote a review Jun 2022
St. Petersburg, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 3 travelled to NYC for pleasure Father’s Day weekend and the Motto was a lovely place to lay our heads in Manhattan. Perfectly walkable to many restaurants, shops, vintage stores and coffee shops. Grab a NY bagel with the best cream cheeses T Corner Cafe in the mornings and then catch the subway to all the sights and boroughs! Yasmine at the front desk will text you so you have all your needs met (but not so many texts that it’s bothersome). The front desk will call cabs for you if you’re not a subway person. Hotel is only one year old, so style and comfort are great and clean! Chelsea feels like a safe neighborhood and you can hear ZERO street noise in the rooms! 42 floors, and we stayed on the 8th, no noise from above or below! Two double room was a great size for myself, my spouse and our 12 year old son. Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Dear Rachel, Thank you for making Motto your hope away from home! We hope to see you back soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
netllama wrote a review Jan 2023
Sf Bay Area
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 10 nights here. The hotel property itself is pretty great. Excellent location (near multiple subway lines, walking distance to lots of great stuff). The room was in great condition, with good AC, good wifi, and a shower that had excellent water pressure and hot water (most of the time, more on that below). Beds were comfortable.

However, there were a number of persistent staff issues that went unresolved. On the first morning (before 7AM) of our stay, I got only cold water in the shower, despite waiting minutes. After contacting the front desk, they said it was due to planned overnight boiler work, which they neglected to notify us about.

Then a week later, all of the water was a brown color, with poor water pressure. When we reported that to the front desk, they claimed that house keeping had left a note in everyone's rooms the day before. However, we had the 'do not disturb' tag on our door the previous day, such that house keeping never entered our room, therefore never left us the note about the work. I suggested that notices such as this should be posted in a public location, such as near the elevators, so that they can't be missed. The person basically dismissed my feedback and gave me a passive aggressive "is there anything further that I can do to help you now?" response, which was unhelpful. What they can do is improve communications so that people don't get unpleasant surprises that are avoidable.

The final issue was persistent for the entire stay, which was very slow/erratic elevator service. The property has 4 elevators, however, much of the time, at least one of them was out of service (or more accurately commandeered by staff). It was not unusual to have to wait 5+ minutes to get an elevator. Each elevator included a panel showing which floor it was currently on, and we'd watch while at least one of them would be "stuck" on the same floor for multiple minutes. Sometimes, it would be the C (cellar) floor, which is restricted to staff. There were also a few occasions, where a member of staff would board an elevator while we were in it, and swipe their badge and send the elevator to a floor in the *opposite* direction than we needed to go (sending it up when we were going down, or vice versa). Its pretty frustrating trying to get an elevator, and having to wait for minutes at all hours of the day & night, while staff are hijacking them. Why isn't there a dedicated employee elevator? Why are the staff holding elevators while paying customers are standing around waiting?

Despite the staff issues, it was a good experience over all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 1 Feb 2023
Dear Netlama, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate you staying with us. Let me apologize for the issues you encountered with elevator and for any inconvenience that may have caused you. we always want to ensure that each and every guest have a great stay with us, and we fell short on that goal this time. We do want to invite you back to Motto where we guarantee a better service delivery. Looking forward to all your future stays.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Weilan W wrote a review Jul 2022
Cincinnati, Ohio
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An amazing experience for me and my teens boys! We stayed for 6 nights in a King Landmark View Room and a Double Bed Room.

Room:
The rooms are modern, chic, bright yet calming. It feels spacious with the large windows and the tall ceilings. Beautiful minimalist design, color palette and artwork display, efficient use of space, clever design and placement of lighting fixtures, numerous electric outlets and USB outlets for charging multiple devices at the same time, great shower water pressure, full size shampoo/conditioner/body wash/hand wash/body lotions, very comfortable bed, bedding/pillows and blackout curtains. Love having the vanity/sink separate from the bathroom and the counter space to put all my toiletries. The view of downtown Manhattan from my room (King Landmark View on the 35th floor) is spectacular and breathtaking. It's well worth the extra fee so get it if available.

Location:
Chelsea is probably the best location in NYC, less crowded than midtown or near Central Park, and felt much safer walking late at night. There are so many places to see and good food to eat in Chelsea. the Chelsea Market and High Line is about 10 min walk, from there we walked to Hudson Yard and the Edge NYC. Eataly Flatiron and Madison Square park is two blocks from the hotel, Union Square about 10 mins walk, about 20 mins walk to Bryant Park, Upper Midtown, Soho, Greenwich Village and East Village. We didn't use subway this time, there are two major subway lines nearby that can take you to any place you'd like to visit in NYC.

People:
What sets this hotel apart from the other hotels are the people. The staffs at this hotel are phenomenal!!! So warm, friendly, caring, and helpful, they genuinely want customers to have a great stay and passionate for excellent service. Alexander and Fouad messaged me in the app before our arrival to welcome us, helped place our rooms close to each other and so kind to provide an upgrade to my room. Yasmine gave us a warm welcome, checked us in, followed up with us after we settled in the room. Fouad, Yasmin, Alexis all checked in with us during our stay to ensure we have what we needed. Jojo and Aziz answered my questions with a warm smile and great humor. When I messaged to extend our stay, Fouad responded so quickly and so thoughtfully took care of all the changes.

HUGE thank you to you all and to other helpful staff I didn't know names of, and to the housekeeping team! We didn't see them but they made our rooms so clean everyday. The lobby and the fitness center were also super clean. It's the cleanest hotel I've stayed in the last few years.

We love visiting NYC and looking forward to staying at Motto Chelsea again. We're recommending Motto to all my friends and family, too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The King Landmark View Room is well worth the extra charge. The restaurant at the hotel lobby...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Dear Weilan, Only thing i can say is WOW! THANK YOU so much for such a great thorrough review! We really appriciate it! I passed you kind words to our team and it made their day! We hope to see you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mj B wrote a review Jun 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was okay at best.

Our room was on a floor that I’m assuming had flooded a few days before because they had a hot fan blowing trying to dry the carpet outside of our room and the wallpaper at the bottom of the wall was peeling upwards. So every time we stepped outside of our room, it was sweltering hot. It felt like a sauna.

The business center was closed and we weren’t told that beforehand so I had to do my work meetings at the bathroom sink.

Our AC went out one day and when I told the front desk staff, she was so rude and said “Well there’s nothing we can do about it. The AC had maintenance completed this morning so it should be working soon.” Meanwhile it was 6pm and 78 degrees in our hotel room. Half an hour later, she called and sent an engineer up to our room to restart our AC and that fixed the issue. So her rude attitude was unnecessary and there was something she could have done about it.

We were told housekeeping wouldn’t come unless we requested it but there were multiple times when we got back to the hotel and our belongings were just thrown all over the place because housekeeping did come in when we didn’t request them. So it was frustrating to come back to the hotel and not be able to find what I left on the bed because it was moved and usually just thrown on the floor or in my friends suitcase.

The hotel is in the middle of everything so it was easy to walk to places and get to different parts of the city quickly. We wouldn’t stay at this hotel again. There was one Asian man who was the nicest person in the place. Everyone else was pretty rude or not accommodating. I wouldn’t recommend anyone stay here. Vacations should be relaxing but this hotel made ours more stressful than necessary.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear Maya, I hope this message finds you well. Thank you for making Motto your home away from home for your recent visit to Chelsea, NYC! Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost priority to us, and to that end we'd like to connect with you and gather more feedback of your stay. Please feel free to email me directly at alexander.khugashvili@hilton.com. Thank you, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarahchoochoo wrote a review Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The facilities in the room and overall size of the room were very disappointing indeed.
I understand that the area where the hotel is located is one of the more expensive areas, but having paid $350 per night, I would expect the bathroom sink to be actually in the bathroom and at the bare minimum, to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room as standard.
The bed was only easily accessible from one side and the foot of the bed as it was pushed up against the window, and the clothes hanging cupboard was easily the smallest I have ever seen.
Finally, the room dividers - as opposed to actual physical walls, meant that I could clearly hear what the occupants of the neighbouring rooms were doing and even saying.
Not impressed at all.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Motto Team, Guest Services / Front Office at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Responded 25 Oct 2022
Hi Sarahchoochoo, Thank you for giving Motto NYC Chelsea a try on your recent visit to New York. I do regret that Motto's concept did not fit your needs, however, your feedback is greatly appreciated as a tool we can use to improve our service and product. We hope you can give us another chance if the future at Motto Chelsea NYC!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah asked a question Apr 2024
Birmingham, United Kingdom21 contributions3 helpful votes
How much is the destination charge per night ?
Answer from Anders K
Fredericia, Denmark22 contributions2 helpful votes
it was 30 USD
Kate S asked a question Mar 2024
4 contributions3 helpful votes
Are there robes in the rooms?
Answer from MWBoston
Boston, Massachusetts36 contributions35 helpful votes
There are no robes.
Jordan H asked a question Mar 2024
1 contribution
What is the fee for a late check-out (3pm approx)?
Answer from Ian H
4 contributions1 helpful vote
There was a hotel guest at the front desk when I was first checking in and because she had missed the check out time she was charged full rate for another night even though she was leaving.
Deanna U asked a question Feb 2024
San Francisco, California1 contribution
Is there a Peloton stationary bike in the Fitness Center?
Answer from Andy R
33 contributions16 helpful votes
yes
Rodalita B asked a question Jan 2024
Francisco I. Madero Municipality, Mexico3,256 contributions29 helpful votes
Hi there? May I know if Motto is a good Hotel thank you for asking
Answer from Rodalita B
Francisco I. Madero Municipality, Mexico3,256 contributions29 helpful votes
The Motto Hotel was an Amazing stay in Chelsea..the entry into the hitel is very modern with ckeanlines abd gray hues.. the ambiance and decor upon arriving at the front desk . Is very warm and welcoming with an amber undertone....
Pr T wrote a tip 9 Jul
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of excellent diners close by for breakfast. Subway really close. 2 Bros pizza was awesome!"
Read full review
GlobeTrotting749393 wrote a tip Jun 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
" No desk in room .. may be the only thing thats slightly bothersome thouogh they do have an area in the hotel to do your laptop work. "
Read full review
Bruce S wrote a tip Jun 2024
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Definitely take advantage of their restaurant for all meals. "
Read full review
wildonva wrote a tip Jun 2024
Alexandria, Virginia43 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book a high room if you are afraid of heights. There's no balcony, but you can get dizzy looking down. "
Read full review
Rob G wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"GET THE HOTEL FOOD LOL"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New York City area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,648 - HK$3,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkNew York CityTenderloin / Chelsea
NUMBER OF ROOMS
374
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOTTO BY HILTON NEW YORK CITY CHELSEA - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Which popular attractions are close to Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Nearby attractions include Escape the Room NYC (0.2 km), Museum of Sex (0.5 km), and Madison Square Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Conveniently located restaurants include Johny's Luncheonette, Brooklyn Bagel & Coffee Company, and Stumptown Coffee Roasters.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York CityHotels near Motto by Hilton New York City Chelsea
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire