Onyx Boston Downtown

Traveller (369)
Panorama at Kimpton Onyx Hotel
360
Panoramas (9)
Guestroom
Room & Suite (253)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sun, 5 May
HK$2,555
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#70 of 96 hotels in Boston
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Next to TD Garden in downtown Boston, our hotel is within walking distance of the city's top attractions. Quincy Market, Haymarket, Boston City Hall, and the Old North Church are a half-mile walk away. We're also close to transit stations, government offices, and dozens of restaurants.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Board games / puzzles
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Green
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Price Match Guarantee

Location

155 Portland Street, Boston, MA 02114
1,777Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 819
  • 573
  • 221
  • 109
  • 55
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Cecile E wrote a review Apr 2023
Lewiston, Maine4 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was such a find in Boston. Close to TD and all the great attractions. Staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Breakfast was not warm, but many great options were available. We would recommend this hotel very highly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garth C wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 4 nights here and we were pleased with the accommodations, location, and the staff were kind and courteous. They stated up front that they did not provide daily room service, which we appreciate, as we prefer to reuse towels and not change the linen to help keep our vacationing footprint smaller. However, they also stated that if we needed anything, we only needed to ask, and they were generous and quick to provide extra items as requested. We would stay there again. Umbrellas and yoga mats were provided in all the rooms and bikes were available on a first come first serve basis.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from MaKayla Woods, Other at Onyx Boston Downtown
Responded 30 Jun 2021
Dear 706garthc, Thank you so much for your review. I'm very happy to read that you were pleased with everything & hope to have you stay with us again in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stan D wrote a review Mar 2020
Paris, Tennessee, United States106 contributions67 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The good . . . . The facilities seemed well maintained and decorated smartly. The breakfast and coffee were good. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable with numerous power and USB outlets.

Things to work on . . . OK, I came in with a group of 17 and I was the leader. Having just completed a 8 day tour of Iceland and moving the group from hotel to hotel, I was surprised at how confused and inefficient the staff seemed at check-in. Our group had just 7 rooms for a brief overnight until we could catch our last flight home the next day. I booked 6 rooms using my cc and my Booking.com account and then I booked another room just for me (according to Onyx's requirement). This really seemed to throw them for a loop. Check-in took about 20 minutes but it seemed much longer. The staff (Noah, Vince) were nice and friendly but the situation of multiple bookings by 1 person for 16 others seemed to either overwhelm them or maybe it was the hotel booking software. Again, the staff were nice and brought us waters as we were tired and the staff eventually got everyone settled. Another issue, I only book where breakfast is indicated as "free breakfast included" and the booking confirmations all indicate this clearly for this particular hotel; however, there was a lot of confusion over this as the hotel had a very confusing policy of $50 per 2 guests per room and if you had 3 guests in a room there was an extra "free" breakfast ticket. And there would be a charge and it would be credited . . . . . .Anyway, we'll see "free" this really is because a breakfast wrap was $16 and an omelette was $20. My suggestion to management is to clearly indicate that "free breakfast" is limited to a $16 item + 1 beverage (according to the breakfast-restaurant personnel). It just seems way too complicated. The rooms were over $1600 and for the headaches, honestly, I would probably stay somewhere else on my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenn wrote a review Sept 2021
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff did not explain anything about the covid cleaning procedures. We were not told that there would not be any cleaning unless requested by us the day before. We had piles of towels and garbage in our room and had to virtually beg for someone to change the sheets or provide towels. We requested towels and washclothes and the guy came with towels and when we asked about the washclothes he was quite exasperated that we had to come back. Very poor service all around for the cost, will not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynne Luongo, General Manager at Onyx Boston Downtown
Responded 8 Oct 2021
I'm terribly sorry about your negative experience. The property has just gone through a changeover to join the Hilton family and as part of that change some much needed training and development of the staff will occur. Service is everything, and there is no reason that we should have failed. Lynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mitch K. wrote a review Jan 2020
Seekonk, Massachusetts94 contributions136 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second time staying here, and next time we're in Boston we'll try somewhere else. The staff is all very friendly and the free wine event is nice, BUT the bed was severely uncomfortable (I woke up with pain in my back), and the free wine is bottom of the barrel. It's a great location and valet parking is fast, but the beds will keep me away from this hotel unless I hear that they've replaced them. They're that bad.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from jmariebos, General Manager at Onyx Boston Downtown
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Thank you for reaching out to let us know how your stay was. I'm glad that you had great interactions with our teams and amenities. I'm very sorry that the best in your room was not able to provide you with the sleep you deserve. I understand how disappointing and frustrating that is, as its the most important thing when staying away from home. If you don't mind sharing the room number with us through the email below i would greatly appreciate it. Best wishes, Jessica - yourfriends@onyxhotel.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichiganderAbroad wrote a review Apr 2022
Ann Arbor, Michigan157 contributions149 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The best way I can describe this hotel is like a black hole. It sucks up any enjoyment or joy you might have anticipated from your stay and leaves you a shell of your former self wondering where it all went wrong. My stay began in the dismal lobby which is under construction and gives you a dreadful first impression of the property as it’s basically a mess of wet paint signs and plastic sheeting illuminated by lighting that’s straight out of an insane asylum. The young man at the front desk needed some serious training in customer service as he completely skipped any kind of greeting or welcome and performed no orientation as to the property’s amenities or acknowledgment of my Hilton status. In fact all the staff I’ve encountered seem pretty miserable and frankly, if this was the environment I had to work in every day I’d be pretty miserable too. The rooms are ok but the bathroom features the most poorly placed makeup mirror I’ve ever seen- right above the toilet with no extension arm to make it possible to use it while standing in front of the sink. The provided soap leaves a gross residue on your hands and there are no coffee or tea supplies in the room. The only thing saving this place from a 1 star review is the location and the fact that despite being in the heart of the north end, it’s actually pretty quiet. There is absolutely no way I’d stay here again unless I had no other choice.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don’t stay here. Boston is a beautiful city and you deserve better.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Victoria P wrote a review Nov 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania90 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is in a great location, and you can easily walk to many bars, stores, tourist sites, and public transportation. Our room was clean and the beds were super comfortable! The hotel had a happy hour each night and they provided wine to all hotel guests, which was a nice touch. The staff were very friendly and were willing to help with anything that you needed.

There was a hand sanitizer station in the lobby and in the elevator. I liked the ability to text the front desk with any requests and questions. The room was quiet. The only bad thing about the hotel was that some of the furniture in the hotel was ripped when we checked in, so I would not expect that if I paid a higher price.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sal_Paradise767 wrote a review Sept 2021
Durham, North Carolina5,736 contributions825 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay Report - 9/6 to 9/7

Location: The hotel is located on Portland Street just south of Causeway Streets in the TD Garden Area.  This means you're a quarter mile from the North Station MBTA and Commuter Rail Station and an easy walk to the North End.  You're also all of 8 minutes from Logan Airport.  The area around the hotel is a little scuzzy and you will likely encounter homeless people along with a lot of abandoned businesses. 

Hotel: The hotel is tiny, even for an urban hotel.  There lobby has a closed bar and restaurant and a joke of a snack selection they call the Onyx Bodega.  It seemed to be mainly Pringles and bottled water.  On the basement level is a fitness center, ATM and a few other things.  The corridors are small and narrow as well.  Everything about this hotel feels like its sandwiched into its space in the worst way possible.

Check In: On the bright side we were able to get into our room at 1:30 PM.  I was offered points or an item from the Bodega as a Spire.  

Room: Really tiny.  As small a room as I've ever had at a Kimpton.  I was with my family and as soon as I saw the room I instantly regretted choosing the hotel.  There's barely room to get around the beds to use the desk and the bathroom is tiny.  It also took minutes for the shower to get hot.  Thankfully soundproofing wasn't an issue and the Wifi worked well..

This is the most disappointing Kimpton I've been to.  Nothing about it felt like a Kimpton...except the price tag I guess.  I will not be back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lynne Luongo, General Manager at Onyx Boston Downtown
Responded 8 Oct 2021
I'm sorry that your stay was so disappointing. The property has transitioned to an independent Hilton Hotel and will undergo many changes over the next 18 months or so. I do hope that you will give us another try once everything is fresh and new. Can't change the size of the rooms, but we will at least get a much needed face lift. I do appreciate your mentioning the positives! Lynne
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TJ Meiers wrote a review Jan 2021
Denver, Colorado60 contributions50 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall enjoyed my stay! Found this hotel via a 3rd party booking service at a great price. Stayed two nights over the weekend. Staff was amazing, very customer service friendly. Had a king size bed, decent size room, updated, clean. Housekeeping stopped by even and asked if I needed new towels or refreshed trashed. Their bar/restaurant was closed at the time of my visit. I will note that their water pressure of the shower & faucet wasn’t great at all. Hot water, just very lower pressure. Could also use a more comfortable mattress. I’d stay here again for the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jessica Lavin, Owner at Onyx Boston Downtown
Responded 26 Jul 2021
Thanks so much for reaching out and sharing your experience. I'm glad to see that Kimpton Onyx was a good match for your trip, and I hope you will be back. I will be sure to pass on the water pressure issue to the team to look into. All the best, Jessica
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Destiny H wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I have no idea how this hotel has a 4 star rating! My last stay at a 2 star Hampton Inn was nicer. For $400+ a night (and as a Hilton diamond member) I was given a room on the 10th floor, however we were not informed that there was on going construction on the PH floor above, with drilling and hammering starting at 7am. The room had no shampoo/conditioner/lotion, just two bars of hand soap, the quality of the toilettes brought to us, once requested, were ridiculous as they had obviously been refilled with cheap products and relabeled. There was NO coffee machine in the room. I don't believe I have ever stayed in a hotel that didn't at least have a basic coffee machine, and the TV screen was cracked and wouldn't turn on. As for the included breakfast, it was slightly warm, water downed coffee, and stale bagels and muffins. Nothing else! Hilton should be embarrassed to associate this hotel with their brand.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from cjyap
Griswold, Connecticut825 contributions199 helpful votes
There isn't onsite parking. There is a municipal lot very close, and there is another lot they recommend also. When you park in either of those sites, they will give you a ticket or voucher to use to get a discount when leaving. I would think you could park before you check in and ask for the voucher to extend the whole time.
Englewood, Colorado14 contributions
Hi Lilly! Our restaurant is currently closed so we are not serving breakfast. If you can reach out to talktous@onyxhotel.con we can assist.
Cathy M asked a question Apr 2020
London, United Kingdom70 contributions56 helpful votes
Is there a compulsory tax or fee to be paid in addition to the room rate please?
Answer from Marc F
Bergenfield, New Jersey89 contributions68 helpful votes
I think yes.
Jazzijeff27 asked a question Jan 2019
Worcester, Massachusetts
Is there free parking for that hotel?
Answer from edge46
Chatham, Illinois466 contributions127 helpful votes
No free parking. Valet parking only, ~$50 a night.
Stacy M wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here"
Read full review
V7321YMklauss wrote a tip Dec 2023
Cologne, Germany87 contributions15 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast disappointing"
Read full review
Nic Y wrote a tip Nov 2023
Epsom, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend only using the hotel as a base."
Read full review
Laura W wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay at The Bostonian. Or The Hotel Indigo has a restaurant on site!!"
Read full review
Jennifer S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Franklin, Tennessee3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Call to see what areas will be under renovations when you arrive."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Boston area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$2,429 - HK$4,051 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
onyx hotel kimpton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonWest End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ONYX BOSTON DOWNTOWN - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about Onyx Boston Downtown
Which popular attractions are close to Onyx Boston Downtown?
Nearby attractions include Hub Town Tours (0.5 km), New England Holocaust Memorial (0.5 km), and Room Escapers (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Onyx Boston Downtown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Onyx Boston Downtown?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Onyx Boston Downtown?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Onyx Boston Downtown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Regina Pizzeria, Pauli's, and Ernesto's Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Onyx Boston Downtown?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Onyx Boston Downtown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Boston.
Are any cleaning services offered at Onyx Boston Downtown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Onyx Boston Downtown?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Onyx Boston Downtown offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Onyx Boston Downtown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bites of Boston Food Tours (1.4 km), The Printing Office of Edes & Gill (0.6 km), and Old North Church & Historic Site (0.6 km).
All Boston HotelsBoston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BostonHotels near Onyx Boston Downtown
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire