We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
WHotels.com
US$237
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Vio.com
Agoda.com
Etrip
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (614)
360
Panoramas (12)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#38 of 97 hotels in Boston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Platinum level
Immersed in the music, fashion and art galleries of the downtown district, W Boston is a stylish, modern hotel with boutique hotel rooms. Located near the Theatre District, our Boston, MA hotel is near Fenway Park, New England Aquarium and Chinatown. Signature amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a lounge and a full-service restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bowling offsite
Nightclub / DJ
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Paid wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
On-demand films
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
153Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
48Attractionswithin 0.5 km
2212Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,292
  • 520
  • 213
  • 103
  • 87
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michael F wrote a review Yesterday
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This has been the worst hotel experience I have endured for three days in a row. The night manager on 11/29 was a ridiculous waste of time in helping guests enter the hotel as the doors were locked and the card reader was not working, nor were any entry instructions posted. He was not staffing the desk or responding to the doorbell ring as we arrived after 11 pm to find we could not enter. He provided nothing regarding customer service or understanding of the guests' experience. The door card reader failed for 3 of our guest cards, and the doors would not open. Again, there is no signage or indication of the timing of entry locking or how to access the hotel. An individual just opposite the entrance knocked on the window where he was; the parking valet ended with a blank stare and no reactions regarding help or assistance. I mean absolutely nothing. I went to the other entry at the bar and was luckily let in by a guest. This is after I walk around the other corner and enter the closed bar. I was then met with the manager threatening me because I was angry and complaining loudly as I couldn't get into a hotel I paid to stay in and had to rely on another guest to get into the hotel. No apology. No, let me check. Nothing, but if you don't lower your voice, we'll have you escorted to the residences ( we are also visiting residence owners who rent to tenants as we live outside the country), all because I was angry. He finally walked outside to show me how the card system worked. (I believe it had been reset as three other cardholders could also not enter. Mind you; there is no signage, so it's a matter of trying to figure out late at night where to tap your room card.)   As an owner of W residence and a 25-year member of BONVOY, I suggest you stay far away from W Boston and remove it from your searches. The Westin or Park Plaza have been great in terms of stay and staff. The staff at those hotels all respect your business and appreciate you as a customer. The W Boston has consistently fallen way too short with their service to be a referral, just a warning to avoid horrible untrained outsourced services and poorly trained managers. (Remember when the customer was always right? They don't! Here, it appears the staff don't care, and they do nothing to impress or show any regard for your happiness as a guest in the hotel.) I am disgusted with the response and service of the overall staff. The only exception has been the experience with the bar staff midweek and the attention paid to the smell of persistent marijuana in our room. The overall disdain for the guest shown by the rest of the front-end staff is so overwhelming and disappointing. . PLEASE BOOK AND LOOK ELSEWHERE! You need an excellent guest experience and should never have to have situations escalate when you question the failure of expected services. Trust me when I tell you that you will save yourself so much grief and enjoy the Bonvoy/Marriott brand much better at a different hotel. Boston is a great city, and your stay will start much better at other hotels with the respect and loyalty you deserve. You should also note that Fridays and Saturdays turn the hotel into a club in the lobby with hosted DJ nights. They then hire security that treats paying hotel guests as interlopers trying to get to their rooms. You have extremely rude security guards demanding to see your room card before letting you through the doors to get to the elevators. Mind you, the elevators require your room card to access your floor and are less than 100 feet from the door. The hotel should decide if it wants to be a hotel with guests or a weekend party club, but they must stop harassing guests who spent good money to stay on the property to enter the hotel to get to the rooms they paid for. I CAN'T EMPHASIZE ENOUGH THAT YOU TO BOOK ANY OTHER HOTEL BUT THE W BOSTON. They do not represent other Ws or the Bonvoy/Marriott Brand in their service delivery, and I would be supportive of the brand pulling the name and benefits of Bonovy from them. The service is that horrible.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Go to the Westin or the Park Plaza
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dan U wrote a review Aug 2022
Toronto, Canada21 contributions37 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We booked into the W Boston at the last minute for 2 nights mid-week. We had an excellent stay. The hotel is well situated close to Boston Common, and within walking distance to great restaurants in Back Bay. It's also just a 15-20 minute walk to pretty much anywhere in the downtown core. We splurged a bit and booked a Cool Corner King room - it was a uniquely shaped room with two walls of window that meet at a sharp corner. All that glass provided for a great view of the surrounding area. The room was quite large, and the shape of it kept the bed quite far from the door which makes it feel all the more private and keeps any hallway noise at bay. The bathroom was large and modern. The building itself is maybe getting a bit old and it shows here and there, but not as though major renos are needed. Staff we encountered were efficient and professional. We had a car with us in Boston and while the valet was efficient, it's not for the faint of heart at $68 a night. It became clear to us the couple of times we were driving in the city that there is quite a severe shortage of parking for a city its size. Any more than 2 nights and I would've ditched the car before check in. The one drawback I will point out is the amount of street noise that comes through the windows. I live in Toronto and am used to the noise of a big city, but I had to use earplugs here. It seemed like the windows didn't block any street noise at all, and with the location being so close to Tufts Hospital, there were sirens constantly. Perhaps try and get a room higher up, I was on 7 and it was pretty loud. Overall, a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor to help reduce street noise at night.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 6 Aug 2022
Hello finnadian, We are thrilled with your generous review, and we thank you for sharing your experience at W Boston. What a treat to read how much you enjoyed the exotic views from our spacious rooms. We like that our guests can escape and relax in our comfortable, urban accommodations. We also love knowing we could make you feel at home, and our amazing Talent and never-boring location added to your stay! We are always eager to go the distance for our guests, and we appreciate you mentioning our efforts. We enjoyed hanging out with you, and we are already looking forward to your next visit! Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Promo I wrote a review 24 Nov
Everything about this hotel is wonderful the luxury to the great art detail well prepared accommodations I must say this property is six star I am an ambassador and I was treated so not like one who has been nothing but loyal to the Marriott Bon Voy program I’ve been to many W hotels and I love them for the great energy and vibe in accommodations but geez the service at this hotel was just so sadly awful no care or appreciation even understanding putting yourself in the guest shoes not once did the front desk care to help or to even try and find a solution for us being there with the two kids in sick mother I just have no words but I do hope that you guys can live up to your name because the W was one great hotel. Seemed like the front desk only did their job and nothing more just their job hotel is about accommodations welcoming the guest understanding the guest sadly none of those were executed. And I didn’t mean any bad by saying what I said I truly hope you guys can grow and build each other up I’m sure there’s great great customer service there but man I was embarrassed as an ambassador.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 5 days ago
Hello promoi2022, First and foremost, thank you for your loyalty to our hotels. We are very thankful for valued elite members like you. We feel very sorry that we were not able to show you our gratitude while staying with us on your recent stay. Providing outstanding customer service to every one of our guests is always our top priority and is something we pride ourselves on. Therefore, we are genuinely disappointed to learn that this was not your experience. Your feedback is valuable to us and has been addressed with our Welcome Agents to ensure we are well-poised to serve you in the future. We would love a redo and wish you all the best with your travels! Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacquie P wrote a review 19 Nov
We stayed at the W for my birthday. Anna at the front desk was so informative and pleasant upon arrival . Paul that got our luggage up to the room and down from the room when we left was also was so pleasant, had a great since of humor and really added a positive vibe to our experience. So great to have met these smiling faces !!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 1 week ago
Hello 252jacquiep, Thank you for your recent stay at W Boston and your gracious review. Our Talent's highest priority is making every guest comfortable by helping them feel right at home. We appreciate you calling out Paul and all our supreme Talent for their devotion to limitless service - we will share your kind words with them and thank them personally. Thank you again; we look forward to seeing you soon! Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan21_12 wrote a review 8 Nov
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom109 contributions66 helpful votes
Great location in the centre of town. The bed was really comfy. There was a bar in the room and lots of quirky bits and pieces. Loved our stay. Had breakfast in the cafe across the road which served bagels and did a reasonable oatmeal.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hello Jan21_12, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay at W Boston. We love that you liked our fantastic location, stylish rooms, great bar, and tasty breakfast. We enjoyed hanging out with you, and we are already looking forward to your next visit! Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beorganic wrote a review Oct 2022
22 contributions1 helpful vote
Nothing beats this hotel in Boston. Its business and pleasure combined. The staff are great and would highly recommend it. Its noisy in the weekends with DJ and the bar is usually full. I can recommend the bar staff for their drinks and service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello Guest, Thank you for recommending W Boston to fellow travelers. We were overjoyed to read your compliments about our Talent’s dedication to supreme and limitless service! They were happy to hear they played a major role in making your stay with us memorable. Please revisit us the next time you are in the city, whether for business or leisure. Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Allison M wrote a review Oct 2022
Halifax, Canada18 contributions5 helpful votes
Excellent location and really nice hotel. Would be great for grown ups but a little tricky with young kids but we made it work. (Moved the glass table out of the say and had a discussion about not touching the mini bar and snacks) and had to be careful with the bathroom floor and shower doors. I do agree with the other comments about noise. Typically the A/C noise covered it but we did hear a lot of music, street noise, sirens and theatre/club sounds. All in all a good hotel, great service. Just those couple of things to note if applicable to you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 24 Oct 2022
Hello 902allisonm, Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay at W Boston. We love that you could experience all the energy that Boston has to offer. It is also great to hear how our devoted Talent played a part in making your visit extra special. However, we regret not meeting every expectation and apologize for the noise issues you encountered. Our Welcome Desk is available 24/7, and we are always ready and willing to help make you as comfortable as possible. We enjoyed hanging out with you, and we hope to see you and your family again. Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ron L wrote a review Oct 2022
1 helpful vote
First class hotel in a superb location in downtown Boston. Service and amenities were outstanding and we were treated like royalty. We highly recommend the W Boston and we will surely be back in the very near future!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 8 Oct 2022
Hello ronlJ6428VF, We appreciate you choosing W Boston for your recent accommodations. Thank you for pointing out that our fantastic location was convenient for your visit to our city's many attractions. We are also pleased you enjoyed our Talent's vibrant hospitality and also our exceptional amenities. We believe in inspiring possibility and offering limitless opportunities, all at an excellent value for our guests! Thank you once more for the kind recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CaliNanc wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Matt at the W Boston gave us the most incredible suggestions for dining in Boston! From the 1928 Beacon Hill to Branch Line, each restaurant had its own unique flair and the food at each establishment was amazing! We are already looking forward to our next visit so that we can dine at some of his other suggestions. From two self-declared California foodies, take a few minutes to pick Matt’s brain for ideas. You will NOT be disappointed ◡̈ !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Hello nancymS4406KL, Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent experience at W Boston. It is our greatest pleasure to exceed your expectations throughout your visit. I am delighted to know you had a fantastic time in our city and that you enjoyed dining at several nearby restaurants. Boston always has something exciting going on, so we look forward to seeing you again soon. Safe travels! Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthony D wrote a review Oct 2022
Huntington Beach, California2 contributions
AVOID THIS PLACE IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP! This is the letter I sent to management 2x. They have not responded unfortunately. Dear sir. We did not sleep in the room for 2 to 3 Days of our stay. You need to give notice to anyone staying in room 601 at the W in Boston and it will be a noisy the entire weekend due to the club nearby. It reverberates through the room with a big bass sound. We only had four to five hours to go to the airport at 3:45 a.m. and get zero sleep. This is not to mention the two previous days on the weekend. This is unacceptable. I am requesting points and cash refund for all three nights. Ps. The desk manager offered me EARPLUGS!!!! WHAT??
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: avoid on the weekend. super loud nightclub next door. You will not sleep.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at W Boston
Responded 5 Oct 2022
Hello AnthonyD132, We are genuinely sorry your sleep was disrupted by noise. Our Welcome Desk is available 24/7, and we are always ready and willing to help make you as comfortable as possible. That said, we never want our patrons to leave with a negative impression of our hotel; therefore, kindly allow us some time to see what best we can do to regain your trust. Matt Tomkewicz Insider
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$271 - US$454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
w boston hotel boston
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBostonTheater District / Downtown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
238
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

W BOSTON - Updated 2022 Prices & Hotel Reviews (MA)

Frequently Asked Questions about W Boston
Which popular attractions are close to W Boston?
Nearby attractions include Shear Madness (0.1 km), Trapology Boston (0.3 km), and Boston Opera House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at W Boston?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at W Boston?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at W Boston?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at W Boston?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to W Boston?
Conveniently located restaurants include Mike & Patty's, Ostra, and The Q Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at W Boston?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is W Boston located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Boston.
Are any cleaning services offered at W Boston?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at W Boston?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does W Boston offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.