We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kaanapali Ocean Inn

Traveller (228)
360
Panoramas (3)
Pool & Beach (56)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Babysitting
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Shuttle Bus Service
Tennis Court
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Safe
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 1 km
7Attractionswithin 1 km
277Reviews
309Photos
11Q+A
68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 54
  • 87
  • 53
  • 46
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We booked to stay here but on check in were very lucky to be offered free upgrade to resort tower room, we took the room move after seeing both rooms. The Ocean Inn building is run down and smells damp, the walls are damaged/peeling in some places. The Ocean View room we’d
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 3 days ago
Aloha Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and fellow travelers. We are extremely sorry to hear about your unpleasant experience and even more sorry to have disappointed you. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to see where we can improve our guests overall satisfaction. Being a tropical destination, we do our absolute best to not have any bugs, insects, etc. and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention while you were here with us so we may address the issue. We pride ourselves on legendary service in all areas of the hotel, and we are very sorry these expectations were not exceeded during your stay with us. We are an older inn and are in the process of making improvements. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us at our sister property. Mahalo Tara
Read more
Nice, budget friendly option for your stay at the beach of Kaanapali. This is the older building on the Royal Lahaina resort. It is a bit older, but rooms are spacious and clean. Quality of the bed and shower is OK. We could see the whales (in January) from our balcony. Ask
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 1 week ago
Aloha Thank you for your review! You are correct, we are an older property, but we keep all rooms clean and comfortable. We are very happy that you enjoyed the view and were able to whale watch from your lanai! The view is the best from the Inn, you can't beat the proximity to the water! We hope that you can return for another magical stay in the future! Mahalo, Zareena
Read more
+1
Great location right on the oceanfront with rocking chairs and sounds of endless ocean waves and great sunset views. You have access to all amenities at the Royal La Haina resort. However the room smells musty, the bed is hard, the pillows are flat, the carpeting is worn, the
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to see you were able to enjoy the great sunset views and the ocean waves. We are sorry to read you did not enjoy the room, we are in the process of making improvements to our hotel. We would be honored to welcome you again. Warmest Aloha Tara
Read more
Purchased accomodation here under guise of Royal Lahaina resort. It is part of the resort but it is 1 star backpackers budget hotel. Rooms horrible in urgent need of renovation. Carpets stained , noisy plumbing, cold . Bathroom and shower tiny. Pillows disgusting. Walls paper
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 4 weeks ago
Aloha Thank you for your valuable feedback of our hotel. We are very sorry to read of your disappointment with our accommodations. We are an older hotel and we are in the process of making improvements to our location. We are sorry to see you did not stay with us for your entire stay and hope you were able to have a memorable vacation in Maui. We will be sure to review your valuable feedback with our team. Warmest Aloha Tara
Read more
+9
We decided to stay at this hotel for our week-long Christmas vacation in Maui and ended up deeply regretting it. First impressions were disappointing (see photos to understand why). The first room we were assigned had a broken sliding door (completely off the track) to the
Read more
Response from HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Responded 7 Jan 2019
Aloha Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. Being located oceanfront, our property maintains a lot of wear and tear from the elements and frequent guests. We are extremely sorry that your room was not maintained correctly and that our team did not provide the highest level of service. We will address these issues with our management and will work on fixing the issues you have described within the room. Our team should have taken better care in managing your room, and in their treatment of your comfort. Leaving a mess after fixing an issue is unacceptable, furthermore a housekeeper should have been sent right away to sanitize the area. Once again, we are extremely sorry about these issues that you experienced. We understand your concerns, and we will improve. Mahalo Zareena
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKaanapali Ocean Inn
The Oceanfront Room at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKaanapali Ocean Inn
The Oceanfront Room at the Kaanapali Ocean Inn
PreviousNext
12345630
No there are no renovations going on. My guess is maybe they will tear down the hotel and rebuild or use the land to improve they Luau venue since it is right next to the Luau and looks like it could be upgraded. Only my guess!!
1 vote
Show all answers
Aloha Yes there are designated smoking area at the hotel. Mahalo Tara - Customer Satisfaction Specialist
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes. $15/day for self park and $20/day for valet
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the beach swimmable ?
Aloha. Yes, Kaanapali Ocean Inn fronts one of the most beautiful beaches in the world and generally the water is very calm and great for swimming. There are no barricades between the hotel and the beach. Mahalo
3 votes
Show all answers
We have stayed twice in the ocean front rooms on the third floor. I have never seen a roach not have I had a problem with a musty smell. Granted we did not run AC and we usually had the slider open to let the ocean breeze in. I like the proximity to the ocean, the view and the price. This hotel is not for everyone but if you are ok with basic lodging in a great location then this is a good place.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"South rooms face the Luau grounds loud music each night til 9 or so. All rooms are on the second or third floor."
"Buliding is next to the nightly Luau. get rooms with Lanais facing away from the luau. Noise becomes was minimal . 2nd floor only for views"
"You WILL hear the luau every night if you stay at the Ocean Inn."
"Ocean-facing rooms are farther from luau noise"
"I would recommend paying extra for an ocean front room."
PreviousNext
12345614
PRICE RANGE
US$161 - US$274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kaanapali ocean hotel lahainakaanapali ocean innkaanapali ocean lahaina
LOCATION
United StatesHawaiiMauiLahaina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
59
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing