We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lone Star Inn

2340 W Expressway 83, San Benito, TX 78586
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)


#1 of 4 hotels in San Benito
The Lone Star Inn - San Benito, TX (former Super 8 - San Benito) is the ideal location for leisure and corporate travelers. The property is located 30 miles from beautiful South Padre Island, conveniently located 15 miles from: Matamoros, Brownsville, and the Mercedes Outlet Mall. Only 1/4 mile to Fun N Sun RV Resort, Valley Baptist Medical Center, Harlingen Medical Center and the V.A. Hospital. The hotel is also 5 mins from Harlingen International Airport -HRL, and Downtown Harlingen. The property is located near restaurants and shopping . The hotel offers free high speed Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast with homemade Texas waffles, free LD/Local phone calls. All guest rooms equipped with Micro/Fridge, in room safes, 42" led tv with full cable. Our Hotel in San Benito, TX, offers a business center and a meeting room for your next out -of office event. With easy on/off access from Expressway 77/83, Our Hotel is Designed and Located For Your Convenience. Pet Friendly under 25 lbs/10 USD fee.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
56Reviews0Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 21
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Janice R wrote a review Nov 2019
Denton, Texas5 contributions
Activity Office always has something going on. People are friendly and helpful. We will be here for 5 months. Best place to be for the winter. If you aren't busy, it's because that's your choice. There is a class or group for almost any activity you can think of.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Samir Patel, General Manager at Lone Star Inn
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Thank you...
Read more
jesusl979 wrote a review Nov 2016
Brownsville, Texas1 contribution
I paid about 75-78 bucks for a night. It was very clean and nice. I feel that it would be better if the price were 10 bucks cheaper. Great customer service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Date of stay: October 2016
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Samir P, Manager at Lone Star Inn
Responded 10 Aug 2017
Thank you. We take great pride in offering a great value to our customers. I will make every effort to lower our price.
Read more
texafornia wrote a review Sep 2016
Austin, Texas38 contributions36 helpful votes
We experienced the following on our 2 day trip: 1. Checked in after appropriate time and our room was NOT ready/cleaned. After it was suppose to be cleaned, it was obviously NOT cleaned. 2. The bed linens were not changed because when my husband pulled back the sheet, it had pee splatter, hair and dirt where your feet go under the sheet. 3. The sink still had toothpaste from the previous people. 4. The sink took 15 minutes to drain. Very disgusting after brushing your teeth. 5. The toilet and shower were not cleaned. 6. The carpet had pet stains. I requested a pet friendly room which usually means a room with vinyl or time flooring. Nope, I refused to walk barefoot on that dirty carpet. 7. The main did not have a vacuum, so I know the carpet was not vacuumed. 8. The battery on the door failed and we could not get back into our room after taking our dogs out to go potty first thing in the morning. Not only did we pay the "summer rate" in July but we also paid the "pet fee" for our DIRTY room. I repeat, DO NOT STAY HERE!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
Response from Samir P, General Manager at Lone Star Inn
Responded 23 Sep 2016
I sincerely apologize. I can not express how saddened I feel about your experience at my hotel. During your stay, I wish you had brought any of these short comings to my attention or my staff's attention. I would have done my best to address all of your concerns including the rate, sink, linen, carpet, etc... I apologize that you had to stay in the room for two days without these issues being addressed. As for my housekeeping staff, they all have vacuum cleaners. Once again, I apologize. I wish that I was made aware of your situation so I could have helped you have a pleasant stay.
Read more
Pat M wrote a review Aug 2016
New Braunfels, Texas, United States16 contributions3 helpful votes
Room was just ok.Bedding needs replacement. The breakfast was a joke. Even the coffee sucked! When I checked out,the clerk on duty did not say a word.I don't know who owns this hotel,but they need management training.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Date of stay: August 2016
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from Samir P, General Manager at Lone Star Inn
Responded 8 Aug 2016
Please accept my sincere apology regarding your recent stay with us. What you experienced is not the standard we strive to uphold. We hold true to brand standards set by Super 8. I apologize if the breakfast did not meet your needs. I have contacted our coffee company to see if I can do anything to improved the flavor of the coffee. Once again, the coffee is a brand standard product. As for the front desk agent, I take full responsibility for his actions. I dropped the ball. I have take appropriate actions to address your concerns. Once again, please accept my sincere apology.
Read more
Rick E wrote a review Jun 2016
Magnolia, Texas48 contributions4 helpful votes
This has been my choice for overnight stays for several years now when making trips to the Rio Grande Valley. The Inn is very well maintained. I like the fact that the rooms have ceiling fans as well. The Continental breakfast is a bit week, but I am not knocking it. Something is better than nothing when you are on per deim. I do wish they would start at 6am rather than 6:30, but again, no big deal.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
US$69 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Texas Inn
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastSan Benito
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lone Star Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Lone Star Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hugh Ramsey Nature Park (4.1 km), Harlingen Arts & Heritage Museum (7.7 km), and Jackson Street Market Days (5.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lone Star Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Lone Star Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Lone Star Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lone Star Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Pizzeria, La Playa Mexican Cafe, and Las Vegas Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lone Star Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lone Star Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Lone Star Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Lone Star Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Lone Star Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.