We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
7611 Katy Fwy, Houston, TX 77024-2001
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (146)
Room & Suite (85)
Dining (10)

About

#121 of 602 hotels in Houston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Houston, TX Hotel near Galleria Mall Our Houston hotel is perfectly located within minutes of Galleria Mall, Texas' largest and most luxurious shopping destination. The Crowne Plaza® Houston Galleria Area hotel offers you a convenient central location at the I-10/610 interchange, close to Reliant Park, George R. Brown Convention Center, and Toyota Center. If you're in Houston on business, we are just minutes from a number of Fortune 500 companies including Weatherford, Schlumberger, Shell, GE, Exxon Mobil, AIG and Air Liquide. Enjoy easy access to popular area attractions where you can spend the day in the Houston Museum District, shopping at The Galleria or Memorial City Mall, visiting the Houston Zoo, or having fun at the Marq*E Entertainment Center. Plus, we provide free scheduled shuttle service within 5 miles of our Houston hotel. We are pleased to provide a number of upscale amenities to pamper you during your stay at our Houston hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Kids stay free
Highchairs available
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Happy hour
Kid-friendly buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Dining area
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi
510Reviews13Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 237
  • 134
  • 71
  • 26
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Iris and Victo... A wrote a review 14 Jan
1 contribution
We were there for a family trip the weekend they had a conference. It was a full house and the staff was slammed! My husband and I had dinner at the restaurant on site. Everyone was working together to make sure everyone was being served well. We especially would like to acknowledge Jocelyn. She came out from the kitchen to serve meals and drinks which is not her usual job. She was a stellar team player! Everyone there was great.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sam S wrote a review Dec 2022
Austin, Texas6 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed here on a trip to a family event on 12-16. It was listed in the company travel listing and we got a good price or so we thought. We paid 14.50 for a mini sized burger with the wrong cheese, fries were good, but we had to ask for ketchup and water from the busser, the waited never came back until I got up to go ask him for the check. Paid over tipped and went to the room. This hotel has seen better days. The sofa was ratted out and should be repaired or replaced. Bed was no comfortable but the pillows were good. The shower curtail was not big enough and water comes out both sides, had to use all the extra towels. What makes this a "never stay" here was the 2 am phone call from a woman that identified herself as an employee but refused to give her name. She new the name on the guest register and demanded to know who was in the room with my fiance. She said there was a male at the desk claiming that he was supposed to be in the room. My fiancee, could not go back to sleep so this stop was useless on our trip should have stayed at a Hilton and paid for a better stay. Can not, will not recommend this hotel to anyone. IHG should be embarrassed to claim this hotel. We will recommend that our company remove this location from the travel list. Not worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pass this one by. Go to Holiday Inn. Also I forgot to tell you, the in room coffee maker did not...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Sam S, We appreciate you providing us with feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you have chosen to do business with IHG® Hotels & Resorts. I'm sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay weren't as enjoyable as you had hoped, as we always work hard to make an assurance that our guests have a great time. I have communicated your thoughts to the management of our hotel for improvement. Your business with IHG® Hotels & Resorts is appreciated. I hope you consider staying with us again to redeem your confidence. Sincerely, Renz A. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith F wrote a review Nov 2022
Long Beach, California76 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
From my bartender Julian, who made the perfect old fashioned to my server Celmey, who was so very personable and attentive, to the beautiful GM, Lisa, outgoing but still professional, who took my call, gave me advice on how and where to park my loaded pickup, and had a mini fridge brought to my room. Sorry I couldn't stay longer. I loved every minute of my interactions with you! This will be my go-to place around Houston. I'm sure the room renovations will be spectacular... furniture needs the upgrade.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rachel K wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
We stayed 3 nights while we were in town for a wedding and almost everything in our room was broken. -When we checked in, our key card did not allow us into the room and we had to get it rekeyed (a problem I frequently heard other guests at the front desk complain of). -We were at first charged double the price, though the front desk confirmed this was a mistake and printed a receipt of the refund for me. -The elevators were extremely slow and jumped when they stopped at floors. -The shower diverter barely worked and water sprayed out of both the showerhead and bath faucet when you tried to shower. -The showerhead was loose in the wall, the shower did not even turn off if you turned the handle fully (it had to be almost but not quite turned off) and it was impossible to take a bath as the drain did not seal. -The sink gushed excessive water, splashing back out of the basin and drenching anyone who turned it slightly too much. -Our first day, we had an invasion of ants from our air conditioner (even though our room was on the fourth floor) and were told many other rooms did too. -The outlets nearest both beds did not work. -The second day, the toilet broke and would not flush (it was not clogged - it just broke). -The wifi intermittently stopped working (another problem I heard from other guests). -The pillows were all so tall they made it uncomfortable to sleep, with no option for a more normal thickness. -The last night the fire alarm went off at 11:30pm (one of our party was in the shower) and we had to evacuate, only to learn it was because the hotel had installed a cheap popcorn machine in the lobby for the Astros game. We would have loved to call down to confirm if we needed to leave, but the phone did not work either. -The doors to the dresser would not stay closed. Leaving 2 stars because all the staff we met were generally courteous, and the front desk did fix the most egregious broken items (the door key, toilet, and invasion of ants), but I would absolutely not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kelly S wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Damien made delicious homemade samosas and butter chicken. The chutney was fresh and AMAZING, better than some of the restaurants in town. Will definitely be back to try his cooking again. Staff was very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Russ B wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
If your going to stay here then you need to stop and see Celmy at the bar. She knows her customers and always goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. Great staff, incredible service and always with a positive attitude and a smile. Make sure to stop in and say hi!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chaunceymixon wrote a review Oct 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Our stay at crown plaza was great. The best part was our service we received from Rumana, she was amazing and very professional, loved it! If you are ever in Houston,Crown Plaza will definitely be a great place to stay .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
QueenE F wrote a review Oct 2022
Miami20 contributions39 helpful votes
I read the reviews for this hotel and based the decision to stay on the reviews and booking last minute for a stay in Houston. Arrived later than anticipated because of the rental car counter being closed and having to make alternate arrangements. However, when we arrived Lily at the front, works overnight, was extremely nice and pleasant to deal with after the fiasco. We had breakfast at the buffet one morning and it was pretty good overall, the basics, nothing fancy. The rooms on the other hand are begging for an update! Whoever had the bright idea to put wallpaper in a bathroom must have been under the influence of something. The wall paper is basically peeling itself off the walls, and there is no exhaust to remove the moisture while taking a shower so everything just gets steamed all the way up have your room feeling like a sauna. the furniture is all scratched and scuffed. The fixtures in the shower are wobbly and need to be replaced. The floor in the room I stayed in on the 3rd floor is uneven and have dips and grooves in it, a potential trip hazard from someone with small children or an older person with an unstable foot. The faucet in the bathroom was missing the little filter piece that controls the water coming out, so the water came out all crazy and fast. Every time we used it, water got everywhere on the counter. The flooring when you walk in the room was damaged, the tile baseboard in the bathroom was in extreme disrepair. It appeared someone has been trying to patch it up over and over and its a buildup of either grout or colored caulk, whichever it is, it all needs to be removed and done properly because its a mess. Just throw the bathroom away and get a new one! The dark colors on the headboard the accent wall--all of that is so dated and the rooms are just crying for a makeover. The door to enter the room looks like they had to pry it open previously and they didn't bother to fix it. Just looks like a struggle took place and they had to break in to get into this room, and this is obvious by the bent around the door latch and all the paint scratched off. The elevators were small, but all functioning properly during the stay. They actually show the age of the building and give it charm, but it was nice they maintained them. Location was good to get to most places. It is on a one-way service street right off the highway. There is a location closer to the galleria, but this area is not far. Once you muddle through traffic you can get there in like 15 minutes. Traffic gets bad and is even heavy on the weekends, so if you want to be near the Galleria and not be bothered with traffic, don't stay here. There were a lot of comments about other properties having raggedy rooms and I thought this property was an exception because the comments did not mention it that much however, they are raggedy! Alisha (sp) the director of operations and I spoke before my arrival and I was telling her about this from what I read about other properties and she expressed how they have maintained this building pretty good...I just want her to know these rooms are screaming for an update! Please begin whatever process you need to begin allocating a budget for an update because these rooms are raggedy!!!--(will try to update and post pics to see) The customer service was excellent and everyone was helpful that we came across, the rates were decent, so there is nothing to complain about on that front. Probably wouldn't stay again unless they do a renovation because they not budgeting properly. The staff is 5-star but the property is 2 at the most, corporate give them something to work with or they should take their 5-star talent elsewhere thats more reflective of having it!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: its located right off the highway, so you can hear traffic depending on what side of the building...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel
Responded 27 Oct 2022
Dear QueenEF, Thank you for selecting our hotel while visiting Houston and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience. Pleasure having you as our guest. I am truly sorry that you did not experience an exemplary stay due to the comfort of our room and that our it needs updating. This is certainly below our usual high standard of service. Please be assured that I have noted and forwarded your comments for the management to improve. In the midst of the inconvenience, I am glad to know that the service of our room and our breakfast was still appreciated. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Renga S wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Very Good Service! I liked the food. I had a pleasant stay. I liked the breakfast. I will definitely visit again. I should mention about the service of the person. She was very friendly and take good care of us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Dare M wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution
Kitchen staff was incredible! Food was amazing! Service on point and very friendly! I would stay here again when I’m in the Houston area. Being away from home you still need good food and this staff delivered!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHoustonGreat Uptown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
207
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROWNE PLAZA HOUSTON GALLERIA AREA, AN IHG HOTEL - Updated 2023 Prices & Reviews (TX)

Frequently Asked Questions about Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Houston Improv (0.2 km), Escape It Houston (0.3 km), and Dave & Buster's - Arcade (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Red Robin America's Gourmet Burgers and Spirits, Chick-fil-A, and Russo's New York Pizzeria & Italian Kitchen - Marq-E Entertainment Center.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens (5.1 km), Rienzi Mansion (5.4 km), and Washington Cemetery (7.6 km).
Does Crowne Plaza Houston Galleria Area, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.