The Westin Houston Medical Center

The Westin Houston Medical Center

Even the breakfast is amazing
Traveller (202)
Room & Suite (52)
Dining (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#12 of 542 hotels in Houston
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The 1954 award-winning Medical Towers have been rejuvenated and restored to become the 382,000 square-foot Westin Houston Medical Center, offering a comfortable and convenient stay to more than 15 million annual visitors to the Texas Medical Center and Museum District in Houston, Texas. Schedule your next meeting or event in our more than 11,000 square feet of modern venue space and relax afterward in one of our spacious rooms or suites. The staff at The Westin Houston Medical Center look forward to your visit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Patio
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Valet parking
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Pool / beach towels
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Yoga room
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Poolside bar
Rooftop bar
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Hindi, Portuguese and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

1709 Dryden Rd, Houston, TX 77030-2400
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 67 out of 100
67
Hobby Airport
George Bush Intercontinental Airport
31.5 km
See all flights
632Reviews5Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 526
  • 47
  • 22
  • 14
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hugette C wrote a review Nov 2020
Poplarville, Mississippi260 contributions156 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are spacious, beds are so comfortable, and everything clean. I love the lighting in the room, many hotel rooms are dark with not enough lighting. The wall art with lighting near the TV with relaxation music provides a very Zen moment. It is very quiet in the room and hallways.

I was also thrilled with the AC no large wet dirty unit in the room blowing curtain but a sleek vent nicely placed in the ceiling with wall thermostat.

The staff goes above and beyond just friendly welcoming and respectful. There is a patio/dining area outdoors by the 5th floor restaurant. Restaurant staff so friendly and service oriented. Because of testing I was to have I was on a clear liquid diet and the chef prepared me some chicken broth that was not on the menu.

Roma and Luis the servers I encountered were great representation of the restaurant. So nice and friendly. They made me feel comfortable and provided great service.

There is a refrigerator for meds and beverages. There is adequate closet space. I love the location short walk to clinics and hospitals in the medical center. There are numerous small restaurants nearby like Chiplote, Salata, and others. I believe they have a special rate for guest who are visiting Houston from out of Town for Medical treatment.

I usually stay at Marriott near Methodist but this hotel has a brighter more contemporary feel and the staff is just so much nicer and friendly. The hotel is just across the street on Dryden from Smith Tower Scurlock and Methodist Hospital, Memorial, and Children’s.

I highly recommend this hotel. The hotel restaurants all of them in the area have an abbreviated menu which is unfortunate so not much to choose from for meals, but their are several chain restaurants nearby and many hospital cafes and Starbucks galore.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Wiseman, Sales at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Dear Hugette, We really appreciate your amazing review of our hotel. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and we appreciate your kind comments regarding Roma and Luis. I will make sure to share your review with them and our entire team. The Westin Houston Medical Center opened in January 2020 and our location as you indicated is idea for travelers coming to visit Methodist, MD Anderson, Texas Children's and many other of the hospitals. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vacationauthority wrote a review Feb 2021
USA126 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you’re in the area visiting the Medical Center it’s a great location and The hotel has a Tesla that will bring you to your appointment if it’s available. This hotel was very very clean and I love the elevator system and the room was stocked with plenty of fresh towels for our stay. We were shocked this Westin did not have the dreamy Beds most other Westin’s have-this was one of the scratchiest beds we’ve slept in and we stay in a lot of hotel rooms. We did walk in to our room to find Housekeeping in there despite the DO NOT DISTURB sign. They apologized for the mishap and explained they were being overly conscientious about housekeeping for us so it’s hard to be too upset about that and knocked $18 off our parking bill of $68 for the 2 nights - and I am confident they are now reinforcing the meaning of the DO NOT DISTURB hanger to all of Housekeeping as they seem extremely dedicated to cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Wiseman, Sales at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 1 Mar 2021
Dear vacationauthority, We appreciate your comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary Tesla Shuttle to MD Anderson. We pride ourselves on being proactive and ensuring our guests have the best experience while staying with us so I do apologize that our housekeeping staff did not adhere to the DO NOT DISTURB sign, I have passed this along to our Director of House Keeping. Our hotel does have the newest Heavenly Bed that Westin Hotels are known for so perhaps it was the sheets that were referring too. We do hope to see you back in the near future. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Foodie wrote a review Jun 2020
Corpus Christi, Texas294 contributions102 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed there last week and again this week with my son for several medical appointments. Was very impressed both times upon arrival with the valet, bell service and front desk. The hotel is immaculate and spotless, as are the rooms. Everything you would hope for the delicate care of a cancer patient. The rooms were very comfortable and upscale, even more than expected. Wonderful rainfall shower with additional optional handheld rainfall shower attachment with thick fluffy towels, in- room starbucks and fresh comfortable beds and linen. My son was able to rest very well here. We didn't try the pool or other areas but there was a lovely outside area with an overlook on the lobby level by the restaurant. The restaurant had limited menu, but very good food. My only complaint was that one night the service was exceptionally slow filling our drinks and we waited over half an hour for the check. Prior to that very attentive. Wonderful iced tea and they even gave us to go cups to take back to our room which was very nice. The shuttle/valet driver Will was a very nice, pleasant young man right there helping and very attentive to guests and getting us back and forth to the hospital and retrieving our car and luggage. I would obviously stay here again because we already have :)
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Barry_Sondern, General Manager at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 18 Jun 2020
We sincerely appreciate you and your son staying for your medical appointments. We take great pride in delivering a safe and exceptional experience at our hotel. The hotel and room design was thoughtfully created with our guests well-being in mind. Along with our "Work Safe" status and industry leading cleaning and disinfecting protocols, our hotel creates a relaxing and rejuvenating atmosphere for all. Thank you for being our guests and sharing your experience. We have noted your comments regarding the delay one evening in food and beverage and will connect with our culinary team. Thank you again for being our guest!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CypressTX_Traveler wrote a review May 2021
Cypress_Texas74 contributions39 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We'd go elsewhere, if my open heart surgery wasn't scheduled so soon. Our "clean" room had someone else's half eaten food left in our fridge. Made us wonder what else was slipshod cleaned. Thank goodness we travel with an arsenal of products. Management response was minimal, offered us another room, that they "verified" was clean. I'm of the opinion that cleanliness verifcation should occur for every room, before it's rented out again.

Further disappoints:

A room we originally rented for 10 nights came with 2 bottles of water, 3 tea bags, 3 coffe pods and 2 paper cups and my personal pet peeve: lowly fake and super unhealthy creamer. Come on Westin, even Marriotts. Hiltons and IHG supply the real stuff.

PLUS a poorly cooling refrigerator.

Only enough towels for 1 day!!!

No acknowledgement by Front Desk upon arrival.

The microwave we saw in the common area, on Sunday while no mirage, was gone Monday. According to a front desk worker it was only available on the weekends. Sorry, I'm not interested in being charged a nightly fee to enjoy my fluff...roasted red pepper tomato soup...soul food for the sick!

Did I mention all the dirty glasses, yes glassware, left around the pool area, for several hours?

The Business Center with NO fax capabilities?

While we appreciate that this hotel works closely with DeBakey Cardiology we do NOT appreciate most of what we have experienced. We recommend you choose a comparable or higher caliber alternative in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Wiseman, Sales at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing our property. I do apologize that our services and staff did not meet your expectations while you were with us. I have asked our Director of Operations to reach out to you personally to address the concerns you have noted above. We definitely are disappointed with your experience and want to make sure we can make it right. Thank you again for your comments and I do hope you will give The Westin Houston Medical Center another opportunity. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
boatwaco wrote a review Mar 2020
Austin, Texas104 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a nice 3 night stay at this new Westin property. Everything looked great and staff was friendly. I did provide them feedback on a few very minor items:
1. inconsistent number of wash cloths and hand towels left each day. One day only one if each, next only one hand towel no wash cloth. This is a minor item and I informed the desk so they could train the new staff better.
2. It took a long time one morning to get my car via valet - apparently the driver / runner couldn’t get out if the garage with my car until they gave her a new exit gate key fob. Minor issue again.
3. One morning I sat at the restaurant for breakfast. The bread station was still being set up. It took the entire time I was eating to get bread out and a toaster set up. Minor issue unless you are only planning on having toast...

My room was nice. The surrounding area is noisy though. The commuter train’s horn is loud when it goes by in the morning.

The exercise facility is top notch! Best I’ve seen in many years of travel.

Anyway - good hotel, great exercise facility, pricey valet, food and beverage prices in the high range (as expected for this level of hotel) and really friendly staff.

I’m sure the minor issues I ran into are all resolved by now. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Courtney G, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Your feedback in invaluable and we are grateful to have your review. You may have thought you were at a luxury, member-based fitness studio when you visited the Westin Workout Center. We hope the studio design, our signature Peloton Bike and Matrix cardio equipment, our cutting edge technology and expansive views of the city inspired you to #MoveWell all day. Your notes on areas of opportunity to truly delight guests are spot on and we have shared the review with our operations teams. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to having you as a guest again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dave F wrote a review May 2021
Austin, Texas5 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed at this property several times and I keep coming back. While I appreciate all the COVID precautions used by this Westin, I do want my room serviced every day for the price I pay. I've been staying at other hotels during the pandemic and know it is possible to safely clean the rooms on a daily basis.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CancerWarriorWife wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel because my husband was in ICU at St. Luke's hospital across the skybridge. I chose it for the convenience of reaching the hotel safely at night and being able to get to my husband quickly if needed after visiting hours. Covid restrictions prevented me from staying with my husband in his room at the hospital so I had very limited choice being that we live more than 6 hours from the hospital.

Pros: The beds are the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, in a hotel. The room was very clean. The belhop staff are very kind and helpful.
Cons: The room service food was incredibly overpriced for the extremely low quality that it was. I have paid less for much higher quality room service food. I was disappointed at each meal I had, and I purchased breakfast and dinner menu items. Valet was 35 dollars a day. That's insane to me. Valet park your car with the hospital where it is 14 dollars/day, more than half the cost.
I learned that if you tell the staff you are staying for a medical reason, they will discount your room to the medical rate. I learned this on night 3 of my stay, but they would not apply the medical rate for my previous 2 nights. That was not nice. I will likely not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Wiseman, Sales at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Shanna349, Let me start off by saying I hope everything is ok with your husband. Our location is definitely central to all of the hospitals in the Medical Center making it easy for our guests to visit loved ones while staying with us. I am disappointed to hear that you had issues while staying with us regarding your rate. If you could reach out to us we can make this right for you. I will also pass along your comments regarding the quality of the in room dining you had received to our Chef and Director of Food & Beverage. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable next time you come to the Texas Medical Center. Thank you, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jan C wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at this hotel, it had only been open less than a week. Front desk staff very nice, shuttle driver very nice. The rooms are very small, bathroom is very small, we had a room facing hospital and heard helicopters all night long so sound proof these rooms are not. Dining choices were so so and gift shop had small selection of drinks, but nothing special. They may be working out the kinks since they were so new so I would stay there again to try a second time. Uber and Lyft will not recognize the hotel so you must use actual street address on Dryden when requesting rides.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Request room facing South or West if you want a quiet room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Courtney G, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 6 Feb 2020
Dear Jan C, Thank you so much for your feedback and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves in exceptional guest services and creating an experience that enhances your well-being while you travel. We would love to have the opportunity to ensure you find all your travel needs are met when you visit us again. Please email me your contact information at cglover@thewestinhouston.com and I will personally follow up with our reservations and F&B teams to make sure you have a 5 star experience. Sincerely, Courtney Glover
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Doug S wrote a review May 2021
Sugar Land, Texas115 contributions67 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Conveniently located in the heart of the Houston medical center area. The place is clean and the new decor has a 1960's color vibe. The room was clean, towels soft. There is a great fitness center, heated rooftop pool, and the best breakfast burrito I ever had. So why only 3.5 stars? Two reasons: The bathroom door in the room is one of those sliding 'barn doors', a sliding barn door of translucent glass! Whoever designed the rooms was watching too much Chip and Joanna 'fixer upper' shows. The glass door gives you NO privacy when you want to use the toilet. Who designed these rooms? Clearly, it was not a woman. Also, there is no small overhead light // large mirror light choice in the bathroom. Flip the light switch, and you are blasted with about 6000 watts of blinding bright lights that ring the mirror. It's either all or nothing! As for me... I like to leave a small bathroom light on, and half close the bathroom door, and use it as sort of a night light. Can't do that here. With the huge blast of light coming thru the big glass door, I found it hard to fall asleep. Your nighttime habits may be different. Maybe you are not bothered by this. I was. Second item: At checkout, the room rate was $5 More than what was on the Westin Houston hotel website. The desk lady cheerfully made the correction at checkout. It's a small thing, but this is the second time where I have found Marriott trying to nickle-and-dime its guests with deceptive pricing. Someone more cynical than I might even think Marriott is doing this on purpose. Other than this, I would have given it 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Dont use valet park. Park in nearby garages for $12 a night. Right outside are a bbq place,...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John D wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is clean and modern. Had a room with a King bed. Room is a little dark because the window is so high off the floor and does not stretch across the room. No desk for working and table was not level. A bar height table with bar stool chairs was main seating place in the room. I would prefer a normal height desk and chairs.
Shower and bathroom are nice and clean except mirror, which when shower steamed the mirror, there were notes visibly scribbled by previous room residents....
Ordered Room Service for dinner. Food was delivered quickly and promptly with appropriate Covid social distance measures taken.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Natalie Wiseman, Sales at The Westin Houston Medical Center
Responded 11 Dec 2020
Dear Hotel Guest, We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear you enjoyed our spacious rooms and In Room Dining order. It is our goal to ensure every guest feels safe while staying with us and comfortable in our guest rooms. We do hope you come back and stay with us next time you are in the Medical Center. Be Well, Hotel Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Houston area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$1,476 - HK$1,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesTexasTexas Gulf CoastHoustonMedical Center
NUMBER OF ROOMS
273
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE WESTIN HOUSTON MEDICAL CENTER HK$1,547 (H̶K̶$̶1̶,̶7̶5̶0̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin Houston Medical Center
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Nearby attractions include Rice University Campus (0.8 km), Hermann Park (1.2 km), and Hermann Park's Japanese Garden (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Yes, a parking garage, paid public parking nearby, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Terrace 54 Bar + Table, Southwell's Hamburger Grill, and Safina Mediterranean.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a yoga room during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Westin Houston Medical Center offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Westin Houston Medical Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Hindi, and Thai.
All Houston HotelsHouston Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HoustonHotels near The Westin Houston Medical Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire