We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rouge Bouillon, JE2 3ZB
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (21)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Individually wrapped toiletries
Updated 17/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 17/05/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#10 of 26 hotels in St. Helier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Norfolk Lodge occupies a substantial landmark site in St Helier. It is one of Jersey's most established and successful hotels with substantial free on-site parking provision. Key strengths of the hotel include its superb indoor swimming pool complex and its large public areas that lend a quality feel to the hotel. The hotel boasts great freshly prepared catering, an all day menu and a comprehensive evening entertainment programme. All 90 bedrooms are well furnished and equipped. This seasonal hotel is generally open from April - October each year. Exact dates can be seen on our website.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Car park
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
728Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 311
  • 290
  • 91
  • 21
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Woodander wrote a review 22 Sep
Nottingham27 contributions33 helpful votes
The staff here are absolutely excellent. The hotel is clean but very dated. It needs an upgrade but if that isn’t so important to you then it’s fine. The food is extremely good but note that it is self service so if you have mobility issues ( ie can’t carry your full plate of food to the table) then you might struggle. Also on mobility …. There are so many steps! The hotel is a bit of a “rabbit warren” and even using the lift will mean you have to negotiate a couple of short flights of stairs. Swimming pool looked nice and a 10 minute walk to down to shops/sea front.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments on our team of staff, catering and cleanliness. These are greatly appreciated. We are a traditional AA three Star hotel offering guests a great deal of public space internally and externally. We are not open to non-residents and as such the hotel is fully dedicated to the needs of our in-house guests visiting the Island. We are pleased you liked the look of our indoor swimming pool. This modern pool building is a major plus for many choosing our family owned hotel. Your comments on our team of staff are greatly appreciated. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alan T wrote a review 22 Sep
1 contribution
The staff were excellent in every way and the food was excellent too. The location of the hotel suited us as well - away from the busiest parts of St. Helier but with a nice stroll into town every day. Our first visit to Jersey did not disappoint and the Norfolk Lodge was a big part of that. Happy to recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bus service very good around the island - worth buying a multi day pass.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Carole F wrote a review 21 Sep
3 contributions
Best things about hotel: efficient, helpful and friendly staff, wide range of choice for breakfast, beautifully presented desserts at dinner, lovely small pool which I generally had to myself, sunny terrace, easy walking distance down into St Helier or two bus stops close by (5 and 19), comfortable bed, powerful shower, everywhere spotlessly clean. Worst thing: hotel is located on a busy roundabout so can be rather noisy if your room faces the road, depending on room location there may be quite a lot of stairs. For me the pluses outweighed the minuses.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try to get a room not overlooking the roundabout
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Martin B wrote a review 12 Sep
21 contributions29 helpful votes
This has to be the best 3 star hotel I’ve ever stayed at! Yes it is a little dated in the rooms and the odd floorboard creaks but how clean it is and how great the staff are outweighs everything else. Just returned from staying in room 55. ALL the staff are outstanding, special mention to Dennis. We was B&B breakfast was perfect, lots of choice from full English to continental. We didn’t have an evening meal but other guests said it was really nice. I’ve read reviews saying it’s a noisy hotel, it’s on a main roundabout and you expect noise but it’s no where near as bad as some reviews make out. If your thinking of booking please do
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for your custom and thoughtful comments regarding our AA three Star family owned hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team of staff are grateful to be recognised. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back at some future date. You would be most welcome here at the Norfolk Lodge.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
duck186338 wrote a review Aug 2022
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom7 contributions13 helpful votes
Given a single room downstairs Room no 7, opened the door and the smell hit me it smelled of damp, I have a breathing problem and the smell aggravated it to such an extent I could not breathe properly. I thought no way would I be able to tolerate this for 7 hours let alone 7 days. I went to the receptionist who appeared to be aware of the problem she promptly gave me a can of air freshener. 30 minutes later the receptionist and I went back to the room and the smell was worse, I asked if there was another room, she replied "no we are full up". I told her I would not stay for health reasons in that room, she appeared unconcerned, at the time she had a number of holiday makers queuing up to complain about their rooms. The hotel is old, not updated, the floors creak and the smell of damp permeates around the hotel, including the restaurant. They eventually found me a room no. 85 which was minute. It annoys me you have to pay a supplement for single occupancy, however no way could you fit a second bed or a double into these rooms, I had to walk sideways around the bed it was so narrow. I complained to a Manager and handed the comments form to him he read it and made no comment. No apology from start to finish.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The rooms at the front are very noisy, on a main road, coaches pulling in day and overnight....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you did not enjoy our hotel some weeks ago. Regarding your inference that our hotel is perhaps not up to standard generally, we are a Circa. 100 bedroom AA three Star hotel and sit comfortably within our grade. Each year we accommodate guests for tens of thousands of bed nights with very few issues. You booked as part of an organised group and we have received good feedback generally from group guests this season, not least because of our large comfortable public areas. Our records show you stayed in R3 as opposed to R7. While we are not a new build hotel our hotel is regularly maintained and bedrooms are updated on a rotational basis and are in good condition. Your comment on damp is unusual in that we have no known damp source at the hotel and have had a long hot summer here in Jersey. Being at full occupancy, we are pleased our reception team were able to offer you a bedroom move on the evening of your arrival ahead of your first night’s stay and had thought the matter was dealt with. Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
josie f wrote a review Aug 2022
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom17 contributions4 helpful votes
Room 52 very clean, comfortable and spacious on the ground floor, however there are about 7 steps from the main entrance up to the reception area, which then led to our room. Dining area well presented and supervised very professionally by Sarah. Good choice of food, both at breakfast and the evening meal, which are both buffet style apart from the hot soups and desserts which are served to the table. Lovely indoor swimming pool that leads out to the patio where there are several sun loungers and chairs. Evening entertainment most evenings including bingo, singers, quizes and a magician! 20 minutes walk from the hotel to Liberty Square walking at a steady pace, or there is a bus service no 5 goes into the bus station hourly and no 19 returns to the hotel from the bus station. Iced flavoured water was a nice little complement on the reception desk after being out in the hot sunshine. Friendly staff, with special compliments to Sarah, Mary and Jeannie. The only fault we experienced with the hotel was when a party were up and preparing to leave the hotel at 5am that they woke us up with the noise they made in their room above us and in the corridor. Comfy seating available on the pleasant veranda, lounge and bar area, indoors and outside. An enjoyable stay at the Norfolk Lodge which is in a nice area of St. Helier with a children's play area at the park 10 minutes walk away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: We were happy with our room on the ground floor. Room 52
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased that you liked our location and enjoyed a pleasant stay. Your feedback is appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MaryOLeary_13 wrote a review Aug 2022
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom31 contributions13 helpful votes
An hotel that ticks all the boxes, reasonable price, conveniently located, indoor swimming pool (with full size d/b glazed doors) Perhaps a little dated, but everything very clean, plenty of hot water, rooms serviced and staff wonderful, nothing too much trouble and everything achieved with a smile. The bar meals are excellent value too Would I come again - yes - just remember this is a 3 star hotel and not luxury hotel. Nevertheless it all runs very smoothly
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at the rear perhaps a little quieter as this hotel is on a main road
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are indeed a traditional AA three Star hotel as opposed to a luxury high-end property. That said, we have a large indoor pool, accommodating public areas affording much public space, entertainment most nights in season along with a great amount of car parking - all in a St. Helier location. Thank you once again for your thoughts on your stay which are greatly appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judith B wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a great time at the Norfolk Lodge. The bedrooms were a bit old fashioned but spotlessly clean, the food all week was delicious and the staff were all lovely. It had a nice pool and entertainment every night. We would definitely recommend it. .
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2022
Thank you for your 5/5 review of our traditionally appointed Norfolk Lodge Hotel and for noting some of the benefits of staying with us at our hotel. Your feedback is much valued by our team here at the hotel. Thank you for recommending us and for your valued custom.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mr Brown wrote a review Aug 2022
Bingley, United Kingdom50 contributions31 helpful votes
Stayed here with my family for a week's holiday in Jersey. The plus points are it's location, about 15 minutes walk to the bus station, centre and beaches. The food was great, the bed was comfortable and the hotel was clean. The downsides are that as it's on a main road, it's a little noisy to sleep. The floorboards creak somewhat so you can hear people moving upstairs and the walls are not thick so again you can hear your neighbors. The whole hotel needs a refurb. Wallpaper is dated to say the least. However, all things considered and the price paid, it's not bad. Would I stay again or recommend to others? No
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
We are pleased that you indicate that found us not to be reasonable value for your peak season family stay. Thank you for your custom. We are a traditional AA three Star hotel long in the same family ownership with a good range of facilities. Thank you for staying with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gordon M wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
Excellent location. Good parking. Extremely friendly staff. Good menu selection at breakfast and evening meal. Cleanliness superb. Fan supplied if requested. Evening entertainment added a little extra and well enjoyed. Would fully recommend this hotel and hope our family will return soon. Overall a good experience. Compliments to management and staff. Ethel and family.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Indoor swimming pool available.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Jersey, General Manager at Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and are grateful for your warm family feedback. In particular our team of staff are greatly appreciative of your kind words. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
norfolk hotel st. helier
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsJerseySt. Helier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Norfolk Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include 16 New Street Georgian House (0.9 km), Jersey Museum & Art Gallery (1.2 km), and Liberation Square (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bellagio, Bollywood Bytes Restaurant, and Aromas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Norfolk Lodge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mont Orgueil Castle (6.5 km), La Hougue Bie Museum (3.3 km), and Battery Lothringen (5.3 km).