We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Rouge Bouillon, JE2 3ZA
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
eDreams
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (379)
360
Panoramas (37)
Room & Suite (248)

About

#13 of 26 hotels in St. Helier
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ideally situated in the heart of Jersey's capital, St Helier, The Savoy's central location makes it the perfect base from which to explore the Island. Located only a few minutes walk from the town centre and main shopping district, a unique shopping experience, great restaurants and nightlife are close at hand. If you want to see Jersey's many attractions, most of these are within a short drive from the hotel, and with plenty of on-site parking, hiring a car or bringing your own gives you freedom to roam. Upon arrival you'll discover Restaurant 1840 that offers the perfect place to indulge in culinary delights and a cool Jazz bar that hosts live music every week with occasional artists from abroad. Also, you can enjoy our sunny courtyard with its crystalline pool to while away Summer days, or the modern and stylish gym with the latest equipment if you feel like keeping in shape during your stay. The Savoy is an intimate boutique hotel, providing superb cuisine with inviting guest room
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
1753Reviews35Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 866
  • 599
  • 199
  • 48
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Colmph44 wrote a review 3 Aug
Santry, Ireland46 contributions17 helpful votes
The hotel looks better inside than outside it’s an old building refurbished The staff were friendly The restaurant gave you good food and was well served by staff We picked the evening with jazz and the band are exceptional The bar food is really good also and the bar man was so nice real gent We didn’t like the breakfast food it was self service although the bread was fresh the eggs and bacon were not that good In sure you could get scrambled eggs but was not offered nor was porridge nor hash browns Cereals were limited One of the staff was quite grumpy so didn’t help The room itself was facing a building so the view was bad. However the single hate for us in the hotel was the lack of air con there was none and the room was like an oven especially when the air was high humidity and woke up many times sweating Such a pity they do give us a fan TV didn’t work at all unless you logged into apps and the bed was bouncy so the two of us ended up at the edge of the bed during the night
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the side of the hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Mimi-Tayto wrote a review 1 Aug
18 contributions10 helpful votes
Very disappointed with our narrow room with a view of a grey gable wall. Room nothing like the pictures on the website. Very stuffy room with no air conditioning and no breeze. Not enough sockets and had to plug out lamps, trouser press, etc, to charge phones. Nearly killed myself climbing into tall bath to have shower, no walk in shower. Complimentary water was never replaced after day 1. Breakfast was a very average buffet. However, the bar was lovely and we had a lovely meal in restaurant, compliments to the chef. Jazz band was very good. Finally, on checking out, we were never asked how our stay was. This hotel lacks the attention to detail which makes a 4* hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lesley G wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for three nights in a family room with my two children, the room was great as has interconnecting door which is perfect for older teenagers. My son is nearly 15 and doesn’t like to share a room anymore I must admit I was very worried reading the reviews about the noise but was pleasantly surprised had no noise issues until the last night where i did hear a lot of banging from upstairs, wasn’t bad enough to complain but was noticeable. Breakfast was ok Room was spotless and kids enjoyed the pool. Always managed to get sunbed, the weather was glorious The bar area at night is nice, last night had a band on. The location is approx ten mins walk from shops, 15 mins from beach. Make sure you book your return taxi on arrival to jersey, luckily we did but wanted to leave early rang every taxi company all full so if we hadn’t booked original time we wouldn’t have got to airport on time Would def return
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
dkrasteva wrote a review Jul 2022
London, United Kingdom43 contributions36 helpful votes
A very noisy place, you hear doors banging all the time, this is the way the doors are installed, so no-one can do anything about it. Breakfast is very mediocre and you are not allowed to eat outside on he terrace, why is not clear. The beds are narrow and short and I am not a large person at all, but my feet were hanging out and every time I turned in bed I was afraid not to fall off the bed. We complained and we were offered a voucher for dinner, but I regret that I except it, as we ate at restaurant facing the main door rather than enjoying dinner by the cost in one of the many lovely restaurants the island has to offer. We were so happy when we left this hotel and enjoyed the comfort of our home on our return. Pitty, the island is beautiful and this hotel has shadowed our overall experience. O, I forgot, in front of our room we had metal beer barrels which were lolled in and out on the concrete of the bar next door, this was particularly enjoyable especially late at night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: There is no good room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Puscasu, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear dkrasteva ( Joanne), We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with constructive feedback. Please accept my apologies for failing to provide the vacation experience you had envisioned. Permit me to clarify several points: 1. Regarding the doors, they are equipped with a self-closing mechanism that operates under tension; this mechanism is mandated by the fire code, and they are routinely inspected and adjusted. 2. We are disappointed to see that you find our breakfast to be quite mediocre, as the vast majority of our guests were very pleased with the variety we provide. 3. We don't serve breakfast on the outdoor terrace because it attracts seagulls, who would then start making noise in the early morning hours, and we want to protect the residents who chose to sleep in late. The seagulls are a protected species and a part of Jersey's heritage. 4. In terms of accommodations, you have requested room 72 with a view of the pool, which we have allotted as a twin bed. The room has 22 square metres, and the bathroom has 16 square metres. The dimensions of your single bed are 190cm by 90cm, but if you join the two single beds, you will have a double bed measuring 190cm by 180cm ( by UK standard that is almost a super king size). During your stay, the temperature reached 40 degrees Celsius, which is unheard of in Jersey. As we operate in a 180-year-old building, strict regulations prevent us from installing air conditioning units, but we have installed a fan blower in your room. Taking into account your comments that the room was too hot because it faced south and received sun exposure for the majority of the day, we moved you to room number 60, which is in the shade but close to the bar, and you were pleased with the change. 5. As an act of courtesy, we have prepared a complimentary dinner for two cooked by our executive chef, who has extensive experience in Michelin-starred restaurants, such as Fat Duck in Brey, The Square in London, and Bohemia in Jersey. However, you did not enjoy the dinner because we do not offer you a sea view. We promote ourselves to be a family-run boutique hotel, located 0.6 miles from the city centre ( not a sea view), which provides friendly service, we hold an extended gin selection from around the world (225) and over 100 types of wine in our cellar, a talented Executive Chef with pedigree Michelin star ( for food and service please see our reviews on dishcult.com, we provide live music in our restaurant four nights per week at no extra cost. We aim to provide good value for money, and at £135 per room on average in the high season, bed and breakfast for two people sharing, we believe we offer that. Also not to mention the high operation cost in Jersey. I apologise for the length of my response; I was hoping that most of the above comments would be clarified after our face-to-face meeting at the hotel. If you change your mind and perhaps you wish to visit us again please contact me directly at manager@thesavoy.biz With respect, Michael P. Hotel Manager
Read more
rebeccaelyse wrote a review Jul 2022
6 contributions
The Savoy Hotel Jersey was fantastic. The staff were accommodating, the rooms were clean and the pool was well looked after. I don’t understand all the reviews saying this place is dated. The Savoy is leaps and bounds beyond many other hotels in Jersey which truly are stuck in a different century. The breakfast was delicious every morning and the restaurant provided a top class dinner (really recommend the fish and chips and the thai curry!!!!) We couldn’t have asked for a nicer place to stay. There is no air con which proved to be a slight problem during the heatwave but this was immediately resolved by the hotel staff by placing fans in our rooms. We loved the Savoy!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking in the hotel car park is charged, £5.50 a day
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
chezza05 wrote a review Jul 2022
wrexham5 contributions1 helpful vote
Been to this hotel 3 times didn't disappoint check in quick and easy room comfortable breakfast very good and plenty to choose from enjoyed our stay with plenty to do around this area and just beyond easy to travel by bus
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Sandra B wrote a review Jul 2022
West midlands239 contributions101 helpful votes
+1
Long weekend stay , firstly the weather was beautiful sunny everyday , 15 mins taxi from airport £17 , after a 50 min flight Spacious balcony room front of hotel . Tea coffee biscuits ,bottled water replenish daily . Restaurant excellent , breakfast very nice , tea and coffee not served :( machine for coffee very nice cappuccino, pool and pool area very nice , cold water once your in it’s fine. Loungers and umbrella and towels provided Bus very good from liberty square to anywhere on island Le petit train runs to St Albans across coast , recommend , muddy duck restaurant . No 14 to st brelade beach with loungers /towels/umbrella to hire for the day . If you want lunch need to book Aromas restaurant just down from hotel on left before front excellent remember to book
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Puscasu, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear C5225VPsandrab, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are pleased to see that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again soon. With due respect, Michael P. Hotel Manager
Read more
Globe Trotter wrote a review Jun 2022
United Kingdom16 contributions23 helpful votes
Disappointed in this whole stay - have stayed here twice before and this time was awful. I did advise staff we were having a very bad experience of this hotel on our second day and were only prompted to elaborate on this upon check out as the staff member advised we ‘seemed happy’ when coming and going. What a shambles. We have just stayed here for 3 nights with our baby boy, upon arrival the hotel staff assumed as I had asked for a high chair in the room (to feed the baby) that I didn’t want a ‘cot’ for him. How did they expect him to sleep in a high chair? The stupidity and lack of common sense fails me! The broken travel cot was then put in our room and was NOT safe as the base bar of the travel cot had poked through the ‘mattress’ material and a small quilt and a blanket were placed on-top to try and cover this - absolutely not the case as the base of the cot was metal therefore unsafe and uncomfortable! No fitted sheets provided so just generally unsafe. This was not swapped when we mentioned this to one of the many woman on reception. (Why so many staff and so little happening?) My child slept in his pram (which luckily for us was compatibly safe to do so) from here on. Making the booking and advising we have a 1 year old, you would assume the hotel as a ‘family run business’ would have some sense to give us an accessible room, however we were given a room at the very back of the hotel (98) first floor, where in addition you had to go up and down 3 stairs with the pram - which doesn’t sound hard work, but when sometimes coming and going alone with the pram, baby, bags etc is a nightmare. I mentioned this to the reception staff and was given a silent response. As I advised the staff member on reception, the bathroom was NOT clean upon check in, mould between the glass panels on the window in the bathroom and hair around the base of the toilet that I can only assume was pubic hair, disgusting. The bath towels were absolutely NOT ‘bath towels’ more the size of a hand towel. Also marks on the bathroom wall that should have been cleaned and dodgy taps that you can’t fully turn off as they are stiff and fitted way too close to the wall to even turn properly, therefore the cold tap was constantly dribbling water. Wasteful and highly Annoying. The curtains in the room half fitted the window - no exaggeration- actually half fitted which was again a nightmare with a baby. No black out what’s so ever. The window in the bedroom was leaking when it rained onto the window ledge. Also the room backed on to a building site - an actual build of new apartments. No one gave us notice of this and no one called or emailed to ask if we still wanted to continue with the booking or offered an alternative room or offered an upgrade to avoid this nightmare. The work started approx 7:15 every morning and finished 6pm so nap times - impossible for my baby. When I mentioned this to reception she advised ‘we have told them to start work 8am onward but they don’t listen’. Well that is not the case and the hotel staff can clearly hear that and done absolutely nothing about it. From all of the above points and reading below bad reviews, it’s clear to see the hotel has absolutely been let go as it is closing down. So sad to see, I would have thought the ‘family business’ would have liked to go out with a bang, when sadly it seems they are going out in the worst possible way with awful reviews and many bad experiences for previously loyal customers. Don’t be fooled by the nice photos you see online, this is an honest review of this hotel, don’t waste your money.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Puscasu, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kathrene ( GlobeTrotter) We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience Despite our best efforts, we are unable to make this stay more enjoyable on this particular occasion and I apologise for not having the opportunity to meet you while you were on the property. We regret that due to the hotel's full occupancy at the time, we were unable to offer you a room with easier access for the pram. On our property, we have four nearly new cots, of which you have received one… Unfortunately, the cots did not meet your expectations, but they are fully functional and safe to use. I have personally examined each crib and found none to be defective. You mentioned an additional receptionist who is a charming French student completing a six-week internship with us. You made a request via Expedia - and I quote "Would it be possible to have a high chair in the room? Thank you The high chair was delivered to your room prior to your arrival. According to our previous observations, the vast majority of families who have young children opt to bring their very own portable crib with them. Unless specifically requested, we will not provide additional amenities. Concerning the bathroom, I have forwarded your complaints to our Housekeeping Manager, and as a result, she will closely monitor the cleaning quality. The bath tab will also be replaced. The room has two sets of curtains; the front pair is for decoration, while the back pair, when fully retracted, provides complete light blockage. As we are located in close proximity to the city centre, we are surrounded by residential buildings, and there is little we can do once the planning permission is granted. I reported the violation of the 8 a.m. start time to the authorities, who conducted multiple checks and concluded that they are in compliance with the law in the final report. Please accept my sincere apologies for not being able to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you will give us another chance to make things right, and if you choose to, please contact me directly at manager@thesavoy.biz. With due respect, Michael P. Hotel Manager
Read more
Graham H wrote a review Jun 2022
London, United Kingdom69 contributions35 helpful votes
Stayed 4 nights 20th June 2022. The Hotel is nice inside. Spotlessly clean, hard working staff naturally, the food in the 1840 restaurant was excellent. Thanks in particular go to Corina, supervisor in the breakfast room in the mornings. Very professional, elegant, attentive, knowledgeable, helpful. The Rooms cozy, bright and clean, but overbath-shower leaks onto floor. We know from the Hotels' own publications that they will be closing at the end of this year, and they are not taking bookings beyond this upcoming Christmas Eve or thereabouts, with the prospect of ending all room occupancy by end of December 2022. However it was told to us that the staff have not yet been given an "end date" to their employment at the time of this writing. As other contributors have indicated, this 180-ish year old building is being knocked down to make way for flats/apartments/other ? Noise - Not from the road or the air. The Hotel hosts corperate evenings. Boy ! What a noise. Not music, but people. We experienced 2 of these noisy eveneings out of the 4 we stayed here. Dreadful. And then when the attendees go home/to bed, it doesnt stop there..... the night staff are moving and re-arranging the furniture around downstairs by means of pushing/scraping the furniture along the floors, bashing the walls etc. OMG..... NOISY ! Its more noise than the attendees. Then theres the seagulls. All night, unbelievable, squawking continually. We have been to many coastal resorts in many places around the world, but none have been so polluted by seagull noise like it is here. This Hotel is placed suitably to easily walk into the town in just a few minutes, which we did to try out the eateries etc. No problem.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Puscasu, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Graham, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our staff's hospitality, our cuisine, and the hotel's cleanliness. We attempt to maintain and modernise this 180-year-old structure while preserving its character, but as you can imagine, two years of COVID and a number of restrictions have not been helpful. Recently, we upgraded the company's entire WiFi network including all the hardware and replaced all the front hotel and garden lighting systems. As the owner of the hotel wishes to retire after many years in the industry, there is also a plan to convert the land into a residential area. As the initial planning permission was denied, there will be a second hearing later in the year. Normal hotel operations will continue until the end of September 2023. Our entire staff has been informed and is up to date. Once we have more information from the planning permission application, we will release more information regarding the future of the hotel. In regards to the noise, just like with any hotel, we host events to keep the business afloat. However, we monitor the noise level on a regular basis and keep it below 85 decibels, as required by law. Jersey's heritage includes seagulls, which are protected species. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email me at manager@thesavoy.biz. With regard, Michael P. Hotel Manager
Read more
BrianJSurreyUK wrote a review Jun 2022
Godstone, United Kingdom125 contributions90 helpful votes
Only thing that is similar to other savoy hotels visited is the name. Booked two rooms and both are tired with over bath showers. Tried to change but not a lot of options! Beds are dire… hardest most uncomfortable I have slept on for a while. Pool area adequate and the food in restaurant 1840 was quite good with nice waiters and bar staff. Other staff not very positive but I guess this is synonymous with knowledge that the hotel gets turned into a block of flats next year (-Allegedly) Breakfast is very mediocre with self service theme. Morning staff could at least try to smile a little. All in all not the best experience
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Only have one EV charger a n two Tesla charge points. Not seem favoured by non EV vehicles...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Puscasu, General Manager at The Savoy Jersey
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear BrianJSurrey, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. As you can imagine, it is difficult to maintain a 180-year-old building that has undergone numerous renovation stages to reach its current state. We constantly strive to make improvements while preserving its character and identity, but the two years of COVID uncertainty times did not help. For those who prefer a softer version, we offer toppers upon request. All of our mattresses were changed a few years ago, and they are all medium firm. With decent accommodation, free parking, over 225 gins from around the world, a considerable wine list, a talented F&B team led by an executive chef with a Michelin star pedigree, and live music four nights a week, we aim to provide excellent value. As a boutique hotel, we believe that, along with our prices, distinguishes us from other Savoy's Hotels from around the world. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please email me at manager@thesavoy.biz. With due respect, Michael P. Hotel Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the savoy jersey hotel st. helier, savoy hotel st helier, savoy st helier, savoy hotel jersey
LOCATION
United KingdomChannel IslandsJerseySt. Helier
NUMBER OF ROOMS
55
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Savoy Jersey
Which popular attractions are close to The Savoy Jersey?
Nearby attractions include 16 New Street Georgian House (0.8 km), Maritime Museum (1.1 km), and Jersey Museum & Art Gallery (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Savoy Jersey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Savoy Jersey?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a pool view.
What food & drink options are available at The Savoy Jersey?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Savoy Jersey?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Savoy Jersey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bellagio, Bollywood Bytes Restaurant, and Aromas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Savoy Jersey?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Savoy Jersey?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Savoy Jersey offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Savoy Jersey?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Savoy Jersey?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Mont Orgueil Castle (6.6 km), La Hougue Bie Museum (3.5 km), and Battery Lothringen (5.1 km).