We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (13)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Rim Rock Lodge is located in the heart of the Northern Black Hills, SD and is the perfect spot for the active vacationer - hiking, climbing, biking, fishing, site-seeing and, at the end of the day, relaxing in the serenity of Spearfish Canyon. Our 4 cabins are historic on the outside, but comfortable, updated hotel rooms on the inside. Two of our three luxury suites are like one-bedroom apartments with full kitchens, satellite TVs and washer/dryers. Our third suite is similar to a hotel room with satellite TV, small refrigerator and microwave. All suites have large decks and beautiful views of the Spearfish Canyon. Our 1919 historic lodge boasts two large decks as well as an indoor lobby where meetings and special events can be held. Our gift shop, gallery and Canyon Bistro - serving prepared foods/lite bites and beverages, including beer and wine - are open most days from 1pm-6:30pm.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Banquet Room
Conference Facilities
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Family Rooms
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Kitchenette
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Location
Full view
Getting there
Rapid City Regional Airport79 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
27
1
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
27
1
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private deck kitchen area basic continental breakfast every morning spearfish canyon black hills yogurt sturgis rally geoff tatanka hosts ponderosa suite microwave property highway
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We enjoyed the Sunday Brunch that is offered three times during the summer months. The venue is beautiful, wonderfully taken care of and improved. (I remember Rim Rock Lodge as a young child. They have improved it beyond would would seem to be possible.) The...More

Thank ZWorldTraveler2000
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We stayed in the Tatanka Suite 6/14 - 6/16/18 and had a quaint, clean, newly remodeled adorable room. The bed was super comfortable. This room comes with A/C which we didn't need, and also satellite TV. The best part was our private deck overlooking breathtaking...More

Thank Aimeebeths
Reviewed 7 June 2018

First of all, the people taking care of this place are indeed MOST excellent. The owners, Geoff and Lori, were so welcoming and would do anything possible to make our stay good. Really nice people. The caretakers, Maggie and Charlie, were of the same fabric,...More

Thank cowrind
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We were very much looking forward to our stay here and were very disappointed. The location is great, close enough to town to be there in 10 or 15 minutes but away from the crowds. The cabins are updated but not very functional. We chose...More

Thank dduck62
Response from Rim Rock L, Owner at Rim Rock LodgeResponded 3 October 2017

We are very sorry to hear that your visit was not what you had hoped. Please know that for sanitary purposes, we do not keep plates or utensils in the cabins, but as noted on our website, these items -- as well as grilling equipment...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017

This was my first trip to South Dakota, and staying at Rim Rock Lodge was the icing on the cake to a wonderful trip. The location is breathtakingly beautiful. Our hosts, Geoff and Lori were great. Attentive, friendly, informative, helpful and professional. We stayed in...More

1  Thank Laurie9959
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
frig0018
12 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Rim Rock L | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Due to our location in the middle of the forest, poison ivy, and hypo-allergenic reasons, we do not allow pets of any kind.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Amazing view, peaceful property"
Aimeebeths
20 Jun 2018
Read review
"From what I saw, there are no bad rooms. The cabins are placed for privacy and views. Excellent views and..."
Laurie9959
15 Aug 2017
Read review
"The Birch cabin is right next to the breakfast area and family area."
Bridesmom_8
31 Jul 2017
Read review
"Lovely property"
nicknnancy1
30 Jun 2017
Read review
Show More 
LOCATION
United StatesSouth DakotaSpearfish
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing