We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
19 Packer Hl PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Expedia
Hotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (17)

About

#3 of 16 in Jim Thorpe
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Massage
Adults only
Gift shop
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Wine / champagne
Hiking
Horseback riding
Skiing
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Romantic
222Reviews5Q+A48Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 27
  • 11
  • 6
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Yuliya S wrote a review May 2022
Brooklyn, New York1 contribution
We stayed for 2 nights and had an absolutely incredible time in Jim Thorpe. Mansion is unique with unforgettable view and classy service. Staff is very hospitable and make your stay as comfortable as possible. Planning to come back to stay at the mansion for Fall Festival.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Beach Monkey Tr... L wrote a review Dec 2021
Johnstown, Pennsylvania3 contributions2 helpful votes
I wanted so badly to fall in love with this place. This was a surprise birthday trip for me from my husband. Let me start by saying that the mansion is beautiful. HOWEVER, as a bed and breakfast not so much. The parking is awful and don't have anything larger than a small car or you won't be able to navigate. The rooms are as basic as they come and for the price that they charge you would think they could have stepped it up a bit. The sheets were horrible and scratchy not even close to being soft. The pillows were very cheap and wafer like. As far as the breakfast, I am used to lovely homecooked meals at a Bed and Breakfast this was Sam's club quiche and microwave potatoes. Very blah and bland. My largest complaint was not being able to take a hot bath or shower longer than 3 minutes. The hot water situation is awful. I have bad legs and not being able to soak then after a day of walking around , I was in horrific pain. So many additional things could have been done to make this place worth the money. I have no issue paying to stay someplace that is nice. This is in no way shape form or fashion worth what they charge.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Save your money book elsewhere
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Brock C wrote a review Apr 2021
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania26 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I will admit, leading up to my visit this weekend, I was really nervous about how the murder mystery would go with all the Covid restrictions and precautions. We were delighted to be put at ease as soon as we arrived. Bob, Pat, and their staff are pro-mask and enforced those rules anytime that guests were in the common areas. Couples were properly distanced during all meals and murder mystery activities, without at all taking away from the excitement of the event. Our room was in perfect order and all food was delicious. We were originally supposed to attend another weekend, but when a conflict arose, Pat was fantastic about working with us to secure another weekend, which we greatly appreciated. Parking is extremely tight, so be sure to bring a smaller vehicle if at all possible. The walk to town and all the shops is short, but it’s a very steep walk so make sure you have good walking shoes. Huge thanks to Bob, Pat, Taylor, Jimmy, Kelsey, and any other staffers that we didn’t get to meet in person that helped make our weekend away so special. We can’t wait to come back and bring some friends along with us!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Colleen B wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We had an amazing time at the Harry Packer Mansion! Our girls weekend was so much fun as we tried to solve the intricate mystery so expertly woven by our host. We had lots of laughs, had great beverages, and truly enjoyed the entire experience. The mansion was beautiful and food was great. They easily accommodated several vegetarians in our group without issue. We love the Disney flare and enjoyed hearing about the history of the mansion and it's former inhabitants. We can't wait to go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MTDigs wrote a review Jun 2020
Brooklyn, New York273 contributions198 helpful votes
Whatever you do, do NOT trust the owners of the Harry Packer Mansion. In the age of Covid-19* they were required to cancel their event, yet refuse to grant refunds to their customers. They even went so far as to submit to my Credit Card Company that "Customer was not able to attend" implying that I was unable to attend. Meanwhile, they cancelled the event themselves (as stated on their website) due to their states' restrictions. It is not worth the fight with your credit card company ---- don't fall for their Murder Mystery bologna. The only mystery is "What will they do to your money" Jim Thorpe PA is wonderful. But do yourself the favor and stay and the Inn of Jim Thorpe, NOT the Harry Packer Mansion. * NOTE: Every other travel vendor we did business with (Airline, Cruise Line, two other hotels, and three destination tour operators) gave full refunds for the events we had planned between April and September 2020. Harry Packer Mansion was the only vendor who high-jacked our funds.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Patricia Handwerk, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Responded 16 Jul 2020
Thank you for your thoughts and this is a good forum to be sure the facts are available to all. Yes our deposits are nonrefundable. We are too small to have reservations made that could be cancelled. We post it on our website and again when the reservation is made. I can't begin to count the number of times I have asked "are you sure this date works for you before I charge your card" ? Next thing is usually the man (sorry to be sexist but it's true) checks with the other half only to find that weekend already has something going on. We want you to come and have a great time, we don't want you to cancel and leave us with an empty room. The covid crisis caused us to cancel the mysteries for most of March and April. We worked with each couple to offer future options or a refund for those reservations for March or April. Most of our future guests have felt they are part of the big picture and have rebooked or used their reservations for just overnight stays. Their kindness and consideration has brought us to tears at times. We are now open and practicing all safety measures. Guests are coming and having a great time. Nothing like a little murder to ease the stress! This crisis has brought out the best and worst in people, both of which have sometimes been a surprise. As to what did we did with the money, we paid our employees and all our vendors. No one who counts on us for their livelihood was not paid even with no money coming in. Again we are sorry you didn't join us for the mystery in May, we did offer you a future date if you were nervous about attending.
Read more
jneaj wrote a review Nov 2019
44 contributions34 helpful votes
My husband and I along with several friends booked the mansion for the murder mystery weekend. We each played a role in the mystery. The event was to start at 9pm, Friday night. Due to traffic congestion some friends did not arrive until a few minutes after 9pm. The hosts graciously waited for them to arrive and take a breath before commencing. Bob, Pat and their son Taylor are the proprietors. Ms. Jo was their assistant and bartender (great drinks btw). Bob played the role as detective and murder victim. Pat was the head chef. Our rooms were spacious, and all had a private bath. Our bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the sheets were very luxurious. We had a few hours free on Saturday to explore the quaint little town. I would highly recommend this fun filled weekend!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jasonn33 wrote a review Nov 2019
Pittsburgh11 contributions51 helpful votes
What a great time! My wife booked us a weekend at the Harry Packer Mansion for my birthday and signed us up for the Murder Mystery experience. The mansion itself was a really great place to stay with spacious rooms and phenomenal food and it is within walking distance to the downtown area of Jim Thorpe which has lots of shops and restaurants and other attractions. However, what really made our stay was the murder mystery experience. It was non-stop laughs and just a great time all around. Our whole stay was excellent and we highly recommend you give the Harry Packer Mansion a try if you will be traveling to Jim Thorpe, PA.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
ndenno wrote a review Nov 2019
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania7 contributions1 helpful vote
Every year we enjoy a pumpkin martini on the porch of the mansion. It has become a fall tradition and the drink and the service never falls below expectations. Thank you staff at the Mansion. Not to mention the town at Halloween time. Jim Thorpe does it well
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Minorkey wrote a review Sep 2019
6 contributions
+1
The whole mansion was VICTORIAN. Well preserved. A superb job was done in their decorating and furnishing, in period. Had a lot fun and laughs in the murder mystery. Bob you spun a great yarn.Had a delightful time eating and visiting on the veranda, overlooking the town and train station. Could walk to town from the B&B. Food was wonderful. Bob and Pat were great hosts. Gus was a good mascot. Got questions on the property, just ask Bob. Harry's room was very comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Harry's room had best views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Nancy R wrote a review Sep 2019
State College, Pennsylvania48 contributions18 helpful votes
We arrived a little before 4:00 to an open door. As we walked in, we were greeted very sternly and told that check in is 4:00 - and were sent outside to wait!!! Not a good start. We were then told that they had to accept our reservation because one couple had a gift certificate - and they usually aren't open during the week. We were not aware that we were putting them out because of this. Also not aware - until Tuesday - that most of the town is closed on Tuesdays - Wish we had been told that at the time of reservation. Had drinks on the porch - and she very nicely made us what we wanted. The breakfast was nice but coffee not available until 8:15.. I agree with the review that usually there are cookies or maybe candy of some sort available - none here. The bathroom was very old - and the towels smelled - also very old. Not fond of the victorian dark atmosphere - but then that is the way it was. The hotel's location made it difficult to get into town without driving and parking in town can be difficult.Would not return to this mansion.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: No elevator - so would recommend the 2nd floor
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
harry packer mansion hotel jim thorpe
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaPocono Mountains RegionJim Thorpe
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Nearby attractions include Episcopal Parish of St. Mark and St. John (0.2 km), Asa Packer Mansion (0.08 km), and The Mauch Chunk Opera House (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a desk, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Moya, Stone Row Pub & Eatery, and Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse.
Are there any historical sites close to Harry Packer Mansion Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Asa Packer Mansion (0.08 km) and DeFeo's Manor (0.4 km).