Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport

Traveller (119)
Bedbug 4, but more were found in the back and on the pillow.
Room & Suite (73)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#101 of 153 hotels in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Hotel links
Special Price:5% Off Or More

Location

7101 Ne 82nd Avenue, Portland, OR 97220
829Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 170
  • 238
  • 190
  • 130
  • 101
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ken O wrote a review Apr 2023
Sharon, Massachusetts27 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here one night before leaving from the airport in the morning. It was generally a good place, but there were a few issues. The first was that it was hard to find. Generally when you are going to hotel you don't expect to drive your car through a gate and get a ticket for parking. We passed by the first entrance thinking it was wrong, and then with quite a bit of trepidation, went through the second. By this time we could see the hotel, but still we felt we were in the wrong place. This could be addressed very simply by a sign at the entrance saying "Red Lion hotel customers: enter here and take ticket to front desk".

The beds were rather soft for my taste. There was some noise from aircraft, but considering how close it is to the runway, they did a decent job of soundproofing, and we were able to sleep fine. Noise from people talking in the parking lot was also an issue (we were on the first floor).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 4 Apr 2023
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you had a few issues with your stay! We'll definitely look into the housekeeping issue, and make sure it's addressed. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon! Thanks again, Sincerely, Hotel General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
agoneil wrote a review Jan 2020
Tacoma, Washington234 contributions171 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I reviewed this property 5 years ago, and that review is still mostly true. But this time, the physical layout has changed--at least one building (maybe 2?) is gone, as is the large grassy courtyard area. The adjacent restaurant is also gone. Another motel has been squeezed into that space, reducing, a little, the isolated feel of the area.

Our room was great, typical Red Lion quality. And our night here was VERY quiet.

A restaurant has been added, in an area formerly (I think) occupied by meeting rooms. Very nice, very reasonable, with very friendly staff. On our visit, it was empty except for us and a few people at the (surprise!) slot machines.

We made our reservation thru Expedia, choosing the room price that included breakfast. However, at check-in I was told that "your reservation doesn't show that." Hmmm....

In spite of that glitch, this was all in all a good stay, close to our planned Portland activities. I can recommend this hotel for a quick overnight stop in the airport area.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Curiosity05852117160, Hotel Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 27 Jan 2020
Hello Agonell, Thank you for your stay at the Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport. It is really inspiring to see your specific comments on the service and facilities and also recommendations. We always value such reviews which help us to understand guest expectations and sentiments. Also, it helps us to improve our services still better. Your comment on the breakfast inclusion will be verified. I look forward to continued patronage. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roberta B wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The room was clean and comfortable. I loved that they let me check in early since my transporting got me there two hours early.

Only disappointment is that the restaurant and bar/grill closed during Covid and no longer operate. At least the gift shop had frozen food options you can microwave in your room.

The airport shuttle runs every 20 minutes and gets you where you need to be in timely fashion.

I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 16 Feb 2023
Hello Robert , Thanks for your stay at our property. Appreciate your feedback and telling us what you liked and also the areas where we need to improve. We shall work further to improve the amenities and hospitality based on your observations. Hope to welcome you again soon, Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lindsey wrote a review Nov 2020
Portland, Oregon1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
0 Stars. They wouldnt let us check in but they charged my cadh app debit card $120 for completing the reservation ahead of time onlune. I made sure i wouldnt need a deposit or anything else upon arrival the website i bookedthe room with, snaptravel.com,took the $120 off my card and when i arrived at the red lion inn portland airport suites, the hotel clerk at front desk,a man,said he was the supetvisor because i asked for one polietely to speak to. He said i am the general manager for right now,and unfortunately we are goung to have to.czncel your reservation if you dont have a " major bank," debit or credit card as you paid online with a prepaid card,for deposits we dont accept cash or other prepaid cards ,we need to authorize another $40 onto a major banks card such as usbank or bank of america etc. I currently didnt have enough funds on my us bank debit card at that moment so they said theyd let the snaptravel.com ppl know to refund our 120$for not being able to stay at their hotelid be honored 100% the man the managerso he says said... its now nearly the middle of november 2020& the reservation was for october 15 th almost one month ago i was supposed to get the entire payment credited back into my accoubt within five to ten buisness daysbut luke i said notjing in my account yet and when i called on the eleventh day to ask cash app and snaptravel.com whete my regu d is, they ,the snaptravel.com ppl,said im not getting my mobey back now,there was a review of the situationand blahblah!! so,they totally riped us off me and my boyfriend omgosh,how absurd! ive been tryi g to co tact anyone at that lnly online buisness and no one will help meice been quite politeand cooroperative and nothing!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 13 Nov 2020
Dear Lohan, Thank for the stay and the comments. It is pretty serious and we never condone such things. The matter will be investigated and strictly acted upon. Anyway,our apologies for all the inconveniences. This is an uncommon occurrence, Request your understanding and continued patronage. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lupine C wrote a review Feb 2020
Portland, Oregon17 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have complained about dirty vents on the Ac unit and once again it was moldy and dirty. Mgmt stated they will validate the claims, yet each time I stay, the vents are dirty. Plus the stained carpets are gross. Can't your housekeepers spot the carpet and wipe the bents when cleaning? I stay here at least monthly to 3 times. The value is great, the beds are comfortable and clean. Also your Pacific grill never answers their phone to place an order. Each time I go down and they say it was off the hook. No one in there, so they have time. Just 3 extra steps please for hygiene and breathing issues. I may have to go to the Radisson instead. I tip well to both housekeeping and servers, so I am begging you to fix these areas.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Curiosity05852117160, Hotel Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 26 Feb 2020
Hello Lupine C, We are disappointed to note that your overall experience of the stay was unsatisfactory. Whatever may be the reasons, we will definitely verify the reality and take actions to prevent such happenings in the future.Our apologies for your inconvenience, but we still hope that you will be generous enough to give us one more opportunity to show us in a better way. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
robertandhollyw wrote a review Aug 2023
Eugene, Oregon2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had booked a room weeks in advance while also paying for park and fly services. We got in late with our two twin toddlers and were given a room in a hallway under construction. Paper on the floor, and woke up to bangs and furniture piled around out door, wet paint on the floor leading to the lobby. We got into the room with cranky babies after long flights home to find both beds headboards missing and a splintered board with nails and staples protruding out in its place. Making it unsafe for the babies to be in the beds or adults being able to sit up against the wall. The tub stopper was broken making it difficult to give babies a bath. We put plastic down to hold the water and made due. The fridge had old leftover old food left inside. That next morning we talked to the front desk staff who apologized and we're told the manger would be calling and would make it right, or possibly discount the room. No call, no follow up so I'm leaving this review, don't stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Pick a nearby hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Dear Robert & Holly, I am distressed to see your comments. My apologies for all the bad experience you had. We never want our guests to go back with an unpleasant stay. The entire points will be investigated and necessary actions will be taken. We are taking ample steps to ensure the comfort of our guests. You can be sure about a fine stay with us. Please visit us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CAAAON wrote a review Jan 2022
Killaloe, Ireland2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Red Lion because it was close to the airport and it had a shuttle service. Prior to booking I called the hotel and confirmed that the shuttle was accessible for someone in a wheel chair - I was assured that this was the case.

When we arrived in the airport we discovered the shuttle was not wheel chair accessible. I called reception and I was told hat they had 2 shuttles and they would send out the one that was accessible.

We waited for 15 to 20 minutes only for the same shuttle to arrive. We eventually had to get a taxi.

When I asked in the hotel on arrival they apologized and said it was a mistake and the accessible shuttle was in the shop.

I checked further the next morning and was told that the hotel never had an accessible shuttle.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations in a several areas. My apologies for all the inconveniences. We take our guest comments very seriously. Our team have taken note of the issues and are working to improve the problems areas mentioned by you. Despite your disappointment, we hope you will return to stay with us again. You can be assured of our very best attention. Sincerely Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ao S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very confused as we got here at 6:45PM. (With an infant with us on her first trip. Looking to make things as smooth as possible.)

My partner comes back to the car stating we have to wait because the room is still being cleaned. We checked our booking info - check in is after 3.

The front desk man after we check in again around 7:00, Let’s my partner know that check in is At 3. I am so perplexed that I wander down after we get into our room. I ask him what time check in is. He says three. I tell him it is after 3. No apologizes he states that they are fully booked and rooms are available once cleaned. And that people just wait until their rooms are ready.

That is so unreliable and unfair. You could also clearly tell he did not care what so ever. For driving from out of town to stay by the international airport and the fact that we will be leaving well before check out to catch a flight. The fact that customer service has gotten to the point that we would have to fear being denied the room by complaining is really disappointing.

The housekeeper was super nice though!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 8 May 2022
Dear Guest, Thanks for the stay. Kindly accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your visit. I am extremely disappointed that you had an unfavorable experience due to all the reasons you have mentioned. My apologies. Please be assured that I have taken this up very strongly and the concerned team has been told to ensure that such an incident is not repeated in the future. In particular, I have made a note of your concerns regarding the issues you had and such customer feedback from valued guests as yourself will be monitored from my office. Though it is our endeavor to provide the highest levels of product and service to our discerning guests, this is an unusual happening and we seem to have fallen short in this instance. Please do let me know when you plan to visit our hotel so that we can ensure your next experience is very special. Sincerely, Hotel Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
buddyrandolf wrote a review Feb 2020
Portland14 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware of mold. The AC/heat unit has mold, the bathroom vent was moldy and filthy. I've complained before, but apparently it doesn't matter.

Great beds and good price if you want to breath filth and mold. Management obviously doesn't care or monitor housekeeping.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Curiosity05852117160, Hotel Manager at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Hello Buddyrandolf, We are disappointed to note that your overall experience of the stay was unsatisfactory. Our apologies. Whatever may be the reasons, we will definitely verify the reality and take actions to prevent such happenings in the future. Our apologies for your inconvenience, but we still hope that you will be generous enough to give us one more opportunity to show us in a better way. Sincerely, Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
joshua wrote a review Jul 2021
Blairsville, Pennsylvania1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This trip was a bit of chaos. I called and reserved this hotel through Priceline for 14 days and the hotel made sure we were constantly comfortable. Whether it was the late shift offering to take our bags to the room, the constant and never judgemental replacements of our card keys, or even helping us out with a few snacks while we waited for a mechanic, the Management and staff are absolutely nothing but the best and help their guests with the HIGHEST quality of care they can manage.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Parking isn’t free yet, but that’s due to trying to protect more customers down the line. Enter...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Manager, Other at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Responded 23 Jul 2021
Dear Guest, Thanks for the stay and the positive feedback. Your comments empower our team. We are continuously raising our benchmark. You can expect an amazing stay next time. Visit us again soon. Sincerely, Hotel General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackie M asked a question Apr 2017
Aruba8 contributions2 helpful votes
Do they have car rental service at hotel
Answer from Robert B
Phoenix, Arizona135 contributions49 helpful votes
Greetings, I did not see a rental car counter at the Red Lion, but being on the Airport grounds, they provide bus service to the rental car locations (both at the PDX airport or off site locations).
Answer from JatPat
Troutdale, Oregon4 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes we do. All he needs to do is call the hotel once he has picked up his luggage and go to the island labeled Courtesy Shuttles. 503-255-6722. For the shuttle the next morning he just needs to sign up for a time slot. Safe Travels.
Answer from Patrick Q
Portland, Oregon
Hello, Yes, we have a washer and dryer on site for our guests to use. It's $1.50 for the wash, $1.50 for the dry, and we sell soap and dryer sheets in the gift shop located by the front desk. Have a great night! Sincerely, Michelle Hannah Front Office Manager
christa wrote a tip May 2024
York, Pennsylvania11 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here"
Read full review
helenmaryr2018 wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Hotle provides secure parking while you are gone at a minimal charge."
Read full review
christa wrote a tip Jan 2024
York, Pennsylvania11 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid needing a shuttle or an extra bed. Or breakfast. Or good service"
Read full review
robertandhollyw wrote a tip Aug 2023
Eugene, Oregon2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a nearby hotel "
Read full review
Ronald Jay B wrote a tip May 2022
Gig Harbor, Washington2 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for an upstairs room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$758 - HK$937 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
portland red lion
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED LION HOTEL PORTLAND AIRPORT HK$703 (H̶K̶$̶8̶1̶3̶) - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Which popular attractions are close to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Nearby attractions include daddies board shop (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lakeside Bar & Grill, Columbia Grill & Bar, and Brenner's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport have airport transportation?
Yes, Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Portland HotelsPortland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortlandHotels near Red Lion Hotel Portland Airport
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire