Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center

Traveller (124)
Guest room with two beds
Room & Suite (62)
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#132 of 153 hotels in Portland
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value

Looking for a place to stay in Portland? Then look no further than Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center, a family-friendly hotel that brings the best of Portland to your doorstep.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at Portland La Quinta offer a flat screen TV, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including 24 hour front desk and newspaper. Guests of La Quinta Portland Hotel are also welcome to enjoy a pool and breakfast, located on site. For travellers arriving by car, parking is available.

Close to some of Portland's most popular landmarks, such as St. Johns Bridge (0.6 mi) and Portland Center Stage at The Armory (1.1 mi), La Quinta Portland is a great destination for tourists.

Portland has plenty of Thai restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Pok Pok Restaurant, Red Onion Thai Cuisine, and Thai Peacock, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you’re looking for something to do, Pearl District (1.0 mi) and Lan Su Chinese Garden (0.7 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of La Quinta Portland Hotel.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center as you experience everything Portland has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Golf course
Tennis court
Business Centre with Internet Access
Newspaper
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!

Location

431 NE Multnomah St, Portland, OR 97232-2010
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 72 out of 100
72
Portland Intl Airport
Union Station
16 min
339Reviews6Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 82
  • 108
  • 50
  • 61
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Jennifer N wrote a review Mar 2022
Alameda, California
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Bathroom was not cleaned, no bar soap left in bathroom. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was a bottle of water, a sausage croissant that one had to heat themselves so not really to go, and a muffin (was very tasty muffin). Convenient walk to convention center and light rail. Got double charged for parking (charged both my credit card and my room mate-the one with the car). Took multiple hours to correct, was promised a call from the GM at 5pm, 4 hours later still nothing. Would not stay here again. $8 for parking (not bad for this area). Pool closed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guide4622 wrote a review Dec 2003
Oakland, CA
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I just spent two nights at this hotel. Results are mixed. It's not flashy, it not a rat trap. It's a solid, basic place to sleep and keep your stuff while you're out exploring Portland.

The Good Very convenient location. It's a block from the MAX light rail, which you can ride for free to downtown Portland, or for $1.60 to/from the airport. Convenient freeway access. There are a few restaurants within a block (Starbucks, Dennys, Red Robin, Burgerville).
And you can walk to the Lloyd Center. Free on-site parking which was nice since the surrounding blocks are metered. The room was fine, the bed was fine, the towels were fine, the bathroom was fine. The staff was very pleasant and accomodating. The continental breakfast was fine (fruit, fruit juice, hot drinks, hot cereal, cold cereal, muffins, doughnuts, waffles, and so on).

The Bad The hallways had a weird disinfectant smell. As long as you didn't hang out in the hallway, this was okay. The lights in the rooms were so-so. Between the flouresent bulbs and the low watt incandecent bulbs, reading at night was a bit of a challenge. Not all rooms have bathtubs, some have only a shower. For some people it doesn't matter, but my wife likes to take a bath at night to relax and the first room we got didn't have a tub. The hotel is located between two main streets, so noise is an issue. You do hear vehicles going by, their horns and loud radios. There are quieter rooms that face the interior parking "courtyard". Unfortunately, we had a exterior room facing the street. Not enough hot water. Showers in the morning were fine, but in the evening, when my wife wanted to take her bath, the water was at best lukewarm, and quickly chilled after that. This was really annoying. If I were in Timbuktu or something, sure, but not downtown Portland USA.

Overall I would stay here again because of the convenience, free parking, decent breakfast and functional rooms. However, I would want to be guaranteed a few things in advance: -a quieter room facing the courtyard parking area, -a room with a bathtub, and -hot water 24 hours a day. With these things, I would have given the hotel 4 stars instead of 3.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Quest14760 wrote a review Apr 2003
Eastern Oregon
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room at the La Quinta because they ran a coupon special in our local paper for a night at the hotel plus four tickets to the zoo or Science Museum for $99. I thought that was a good deal but was dissapointed by the room. The room smelled like deodorizer as if it was previosly a smoking room converted to a non-smoking room. The towels were yellowed (were they supposed to be yellow or white? I couldn't tell). The shower tiles were mildew stained. The bathroom fan ran but did not vent and the moisture stayed on the surfaces all day. The bathroom was tiny. There were mollys in the walls where they had moved pictures and some had little wads of tissue paper in them. We also couldn't miss a big yellow glop of something gross on the wallpaper. We rented a VCR but the entertainment center was positioned so it blocked the ac outlet. I wish I had known the condition of the hotel ("pardon our appearance as we undergo a change" -- was on a card in the room) before I booked it. The other La Quintas had the same special and might have been in better shape.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Casie L wrote a review Jun 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had gotten a room at this hotel back in January for an event that I was coming to this weekend. Jurassic Quest. Was planning on going with my family. Obviously the event is canceled. I live 300 miles from there. With all the covid19 stuff going on.. I asked for a refund and cancelation back in March when my event was canceled. I was told to call when it got closer. So I did today. I was told the only way I could get my money back was to still be charged $105 for one night. Shame on them. Not cool at all!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Filipe son of José wrote a review Aug 2022
Esposende, Portugal
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Look no further friends, this is the worst hotel in the US. I’m happy I found this gem of filth and all things terrible. Stayed here for 2 miserable nights and the pleasure of mingling with homeless people at the breakfast area which is also the main lobby. My room was as dirty as a nightmare, just incredible grease stains everywhere, a carpet of dust on top on every single piece of furniture and the knob of the shower had a beautiful thick layer of filth.
Staff, except for the girl with glasses and curly hair, was as useless as you want them to be, “sorry, we don’t have bathrooms in the lobby you can do to a coffee shop over there somewhere. I’m not allowed to let anyone use ours.” “Can I refill my bottle?” “No, we don’t have water”.
Doors were loose, lights didn’t work, linens were sticky and it was like $120 a night in the middle of a sketchy neighbourhood.
Anyway, Awesome experience as it was the worst one.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay away please unless you like hell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Oregon Traveler wrote a review Feb 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel caught on fire and no money was refunded. Terrible service, little sleep, and smoke everywhere. When I asked what they were going to do to compensate the guests, they said "Nothing. It wasn't out fault.". Lousy hotel. I will forever chase people away from it that are here to visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Pass on this hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Uresh Patel, Owner at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Responded 2 Mar 2020
Our hotel has never caught on fire. We did have a dumpster that caught fire that is in our parking lot and it did set the alarm off for the entire hotel.I am sorry but this is a safety issue and we do not offer refunds for fire alarms going off as it is for everyone's safety.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
claire WH wrote a review Oct 2022
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This two-hour "stay" was horrendous. I had planned to come down for a nice weekend with my boyfriend and we checked into a king bed hot tub suite. We got into the room after avoiding the hole in the hallway ceiling and tried our best to ignore the musty smell.

We were uncertain if we could stand the smell. After many hours of driving, we went for dinner. Then we went back and tried the hot tub, which was unable to stay full and was incredibly loud. We went to call the front desk to inform them and found a filthy, coffee stain-covered phone. The last straw was finding our window "locked" by nothing but a dowel. The latch doesn't latch into anything! Neither of us felt remotely safe at this point.

We checked out after only two hours. Today, I saw a $162 charge and my boyfriend talked to the general manager. He said that we used the bed and the hot tub and so we were being charged for one night's stay. He went so far as to accuse us of using the room for a quick sexcapade. Verbatim, "Well, LOTS of people use the hot tub and the bed and then leave."

Avoid at ALL costs. I was fine with the one night charge until the manager* decided to make an inappropriate comment about our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tracie722017 wrote a review Aug 2022
Eugene, Oregon
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is by far the filthiest hotel I’ve ever stayed in! The carpet left our socks blacks, there was rust and mildew and what appeared to be blood spatter in the bathroom. Ripped chair, stained bedding, inoperable electrical outlets, used toiletries, just general disrepair and a bad smell. With that being said, their employee “Peter” was exceptional. He was very kind and accommodating. If I could give him 5 stars I would. Any hotel would be lucky to have him. Will never stay here again and I’m reluctant to ever stay in a Quality hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeffrey K wrote a review Sept 2022
Oceanside, California
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room for an employee and he walked in, sent me photos of the stained chair and bed, and walked out. I booked him at the Marriott next door 5 minutes later. We often stay at Choice hotels so this is disappointing. I called several people and did get a refund but no manager call, nor a call from anyone else.
Trip type
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Go somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Erica H wrote a review Oct 2014
Anchorage, Alaska
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for four nights for a conference per the recommendation of our conference organizers. Let me first preface it by saying while the front desk staff was great, the housekeeping and Eric (manager) were a disappointment. We woke up starting day 2 with a wet room, sheets were damp and cold, the floor was damp etc. Took the towels and sheets put them on the floor per their policy request for new sheets and went to our meeting. When we got back the sheets that had been on the floor were back on the bed and then we were told they were clean. (They couldn't be because the mascara from the previous night was still there). Called the front desk a second time and asked for clean sheets explaining that the sheets were still dirty. The housekeeping staff (1 extremely nice the other extremely rude) came in telling us we needed to put a note to ask for clean sheets. My colleague remarked per their policy and the rude housekeeper got worse. We just said thank you and left the room for the next meeting we had. When we came back we had the SAME sheets on the bed. The front desk brought up two sets of clean sheets to which we put them on the bed. This went on the remaining time we were there, meanwhile our exposed skin began reacting to the dirty room conditions. In between that time, my colleague left two messages for the manager explaining the situation to which there was never a response until the following Tuesday when she contacted him directly. When we called on Monday the manager Eric, commented that we were just trying to get out of paying for our room. (We had 3 other colleagues with us and weren't asking for a free room, just a discount on the one room.) Another colleague said her room smelled musty and like cigarettes (shes a non-smoker) Eric was extremely rude, refused to tell me who was his supervisor or who we could call/contact with our concerns. Having been at other Quality Inns through my travels both personally and professionally, I wouldn't recommend this particular location.
I gave the front desk a 5 but housekeeping and management deserve a 0!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't go here! It's worth an extra $50 bucks a night to be treated with respect and be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aj199912 asked a question Sept 2018
Seattle, Washington
How old do you have to be to check in?
Answer from Uresh P
Portland, Oregon8 contributions
You must be at least 18 years of age to check in.
Answer from SanDiegoFrenzie
Eugene, Oregon32 contributions31 helpful votes
I think it would be a bit far to walk. I believe it's approx. 2 plus miles. Depends on time of day and ability. But I wouldn't do it.
cjsm44 asked a question Mar 2017
Roanoke Island, North Carolina40 contributions19 helpful votes
Do all the rooms have a hair dryer?
Answer from Uresh P
Portland, Oregon8 contributions
All our rooms have hair dryer. Thank you for considering staying with us.
statesofgrace asked a question Apr 2016
Seattle, Washington
Is there on-site parking?
Answer from Chad C
Portland, Oregon199 contributions56 helpful votes
Yes, they have a parking lot for guests.
Luis440 asked a question Jan 2015
Klamath Falls, Oregon
How far is the Quality Inn from the Oregon Convention Center?
Answer from brendi934
Grants Pass, Oregon172 contributions66 helpful votes
five min...2 short blocks
Jeffrey K wrote a tip Sept 2022
Oceanside, California36 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else"
Read full review
Filipe son of José wrote a tip Aug 2022
Esposende, Portugal3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay away please unless you like hell"
Read full review
Jayanta B wrote a tip Jul 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Never plan to stay here"
Read full review
Oregon Traveler wrote a tip Feb 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pass on this hotel."
Read full review
Princess T wrote a tip Aug 2019
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not stay here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$781 - HK$968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la quinta portland hotel portland, portland la quinta
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
La Quinta
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUALITY INN DOWNTOWN CONVENTION CENTER - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include Moda Center (0.4 km), Irvington/Broadway District (0.4 km), and Memorial Coliseum (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Creo Chocolate, Frank's Noodle House, and Burgerville.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portland Center Stage at The Armory (1.8 km), Old Church (2.6 km), and Japanese American Historical Plaza (1.1 km).
Is Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Portland HotelsPortland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortlandHotels near Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire