Banfield Value Inn

Banfield Value Inn

scracted up and punctured bathtroom door
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (36)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.5
#21 of 26 motels in Portland
2.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make Banfield Value Inn their motel of choice when visiting Portland. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a budget friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at Banfield Value Inn provide air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Banfield Value Inn guests have access to 24 hour front desk. You can also enjoy a pool. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at Banfield Value Inn.

Close to some of Portland's most popular landmarks, such as Alberta Street (2.0 mi) and St. Johns Bridge (2.2 mi), Banfield Value Inn is a great destination for tourists.

While visiting Portland, you may want to try some crab at one of the nearby restaurants, such as Ox Restaurant, Pok Pok Restaurant, or Portland City Grill.

If you are interested in exploring Portland, check out one of the parks, such as Washington Park, Mount Tabor Park, and Forest Park.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Banfield Value Inn as you experience all of the things Portland has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Telephone
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English

Location

1525 NE 37th Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1843
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 61 out of 100
61
Portland Intl Airport
48Reviews1Q+A11Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 7
  • 15
  • 8
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
doctorglenn wrote a review Sept 2016
Portland, Oregon35 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a place to safely put your head and to wake up refreshed. It is right on the interstate, if that bothers you, but my room was clean and the staff were helpful. The internet access worked. Really not much more to say.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn
Responded 6 Nov 2016
Dear Glenn, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Banfield Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you found our hotel "clean," our staff friendly and that you were able to wake up "refreshed." We hope to have you back again soon! Best regards, -Guest Relations
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
misty75 wrote a review Jan 2007
Edinburgh9 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Banfield is a clean, basic 1 star motel in the Hollywood district of Portland. Our room was a decent size and had two double beds, TV, microwave, fridge, alarm clock/radio, bathroom, storage and a copule of chairs.

Towels and soap are provided, but no shampoo or hair dryer. The room had a TV but the reception was a bit fuzzy on some channels. The room was cleaned every day, including new sheets and towels. The motel has plently of parking and is close to MAX (the train) and buses. Free coffee is provided, but you have to go to reception to get it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was closed for winter.

Overall I had no bad experiences at this motel. Its not a fancy hotel, but it did serve all my needs, namely somewhere clean to sleep, relax and shower. Its close enough to downtown - about 15 min by train. I would recommend this place for families and budget travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
btaxi wrote a review Jul 2019
Bury, United Kingdom103 contributions69 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is situated near the centre there is not many food places the hotel is two storeys high you don't get any breakfast the rooms are basic no iron the bathrooms are small it has a fridge and air con.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn
Responded 27 Jul 2019
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at The Banfield Value Inn! We are glad to know that you are satisfied with your time with us. Your patronage is much appreciated and we look forward to being able to serve you again on your next visit to The Rose City.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Experience3528 wrote a review Oct 2003
Santa Paula, California1 contribution23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don't be fooled by the "heated pool" picture- The pool is not available for much of the year. Bring clean sheets and be careful about the glue traps for mice. Other residents may be from the county, which gives vouchers for people for whom they try to find permanent housing - street people. I complained to expedia that I couldn't get hot water in the tub and the next morning the management lied and said that Expedia had cancelled my reservation- that I would have to move out when almost every room in the city had been taken because of a convention.
Actually, while hot water was slow to arrive (management said they were replumbing the building), the tub was plumbed backward, so that H = cold, C = hot.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hikerchick7 wrote a review Mar 2011
seattle,wa3 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I used the Priceline "name your price" deal for a Portland hotel and was given this one. Upon arrival, we were offered a room that was a former smoking room; however, we declined that and were given the room next to it -- room 58, and I was charged $20 more per night. It was a Friday night, and they were completely booked too. We went up to the room and found gashes in the dry wall, the shower did not look like it had been cleaned in months either. One of my friends who is an apartment manager in Seattle, immediately stripped the bed of it's sheets and examined for bed bugs and fleas, and found feces and shells of bed bugs, which meant that the motel has bed bugs. The room also reeked of cigarrette smoke. We went downstairs, asked that the extra $40 transaction be voided and complained about how unsanitary the room was, and even showed the manager. We called back the next day and another employee asked us what had happened and said that the manager had just put a note that we found the beds unsatisfactory, which doesn't even cover the problem we had with the room. I would not recommend anyone stay here. I have filed a complaint with priceline and encourage you to find a room somewhere else even if you have to spend a couple more bucks.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2011
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PDX_Hotel_Service, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn
Responded 7 Apr 2011
Dear hikerchick7: We wish to express our appreciation to you for taking the time to share feedback about our property. We were disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with the room you were provided. We believe that each one of our guests deserves to stay in a room which is both clean and comfortable, and we regret we were unable to meet your needs on your recent visit to Portland. We hope that you will choose to return to our exciting city in the future even if you will be staying somewhere else. We thank you again for your review. There are a few points we would like to clarify for our TripAdvisor readers: Priceline guarantees a smoking room and offers the option of requesting a non-smoking room if one should be available. However Priceline does not guarantee a guest will receive a non-smoking room. Like most hotels we charge according to room occupancy. The reservation we received from Priceline indicated that the guest had requested a room with a single bed for two adults for two nights. It is our policy to charge a per person per night fee for any additional guests. Since at check in there were in fact four adults and not two it became necessary to assess the extra $40 in charges. They were also given a free upgrade to a room with two beds to accommodate the extra people. When the guest expressed dissatisfaction with the first room they were checked in to we moved them to a new one. Unfortunately they did not find the new room to their liking either. Since the hotel was near capacity that day and we had no other rooms onsite to move them to we offered to transfer the guest to our larger suites property a short drive away at no additional charge but they elected not to. The guest chose to leave and was given a full refund. After receiving a complaint of bed bugs the property management immediately had our contracted pest control service out to the hotel to do a thorough inspection. When the technician arrived he went over the room inch by inch and couldn’t find any evidence of past or current bed bug activity. We asked him to do a proactive treatment of the entire property anyway as a precaution.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ccb9801 wrote a review Sept 2005
Chicago, Illinois25 contributions21 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I was fooled by the picture and description on Expedia and I was VERY disappointed in this dirty, dingy motel. The only good things I can say are the staff were helpful, the location was convenient to public transportation, and when I requested a larger room, they complied (for a minimal $5 per night fee).
Read more
Date of stay: August 2003
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D F wrote a review Mar 2013
Portland, Oregon1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Awful, awful, awful. Pictures are NOT what you get at all. Rooms are shabby. My room did not have towel racks, hair dryer, headboard, trash can, coffee maker, nightstand nor table. Furniture was old and tired. No pool. Grounds unclean. Poop and cig butts everywhere. Attendant could really care less. Maid service did not freshen room. Room stank during my 3 day stay. Promised arable but none arrived. I did finally get a remote for the TV after nagging about it. Paint was stained. Bathtub was stained. Night blinds on window looked as if it were peppered with shotgun blast. After 1/2 hour the motel was visited by the police looking for someone. Walls are paper thin and neighbors on all sides very loud until late into the nights stayed. Only thing missing was "do not cross" crime scene tape. All this without offering nor accepting any price break for compensation for such a shoddy motel and lousy service. NOT STAYING HERE EVER AGAIN!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't stay here. There must be better value somewhere in Portland.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peterpan250 wrote a review Jun 2014
Portland, Oregon1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a reservation via phone with a woman who claimed to be the owner/owner's wife. I was in the process of moving back to Portland and needed a place to stay until August. Upon my arrival I was greeted by a woman who confirmed my reservation until August.. I was told the room would be $385 a week, which I was fine with. The room itself was dingy. I had to have the fridge replaced because it was covered in mold (as was the shower). The hotel staff was far from friendly--owner came out screaming at people on multiple occasions. After three weeks I went down to the office to pay for the following week and was told (by the same woman who checked me in) that they overbooked the hotel b/c there was a Festivle in town. I was told that the manager "Frankie" would have to release my room when he arrived. Needless to say, Frankie was unable to release my room and sthe notes which said I would be staying until August, magically disappeared. Frankie then had the nerve to tell me that the arriving guest "made their reservations in advanced and sold out the hotel.." this was "bringing in big business and over $13,000 for the motel". So, the truth comes out.. Basically they lied and said my room would be available just to get my money for the three weeks I was there and they were vacant. Oh and then he had the nerve to ask if I would like to come back in three days and stay at their sister motel in the meantime. .stay far away. This place is dirty and the staff are a bunch of crooks.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
doloreschesterburke wrote a review Feb 2013
Castro Valley, California1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My first impression was that it was not a safe hotel, so asked that under no circumstance any one be allowed in my room that was with a night desk person at check in. The next morning I went to the desk and again stated my request for no maid service. The room had dirty blankets & bedspread, shower was moldy and a piece of jewelry missing I went to the desk they said the maids did not speak English so it wasn't their problem. The fact is maids went in my room when told not to. I have filed a police report the place is run by thieves
!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Don't go here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nathanial R wrote a review Sept 2016
Seattle, Washington2 contributions5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
So I stayed here only because of an error on Hotels.com. I had a wedding to go to and then had to book that week prior to the weekend. This was the only room left that wasn't over 300 dollars. I regret it now. I got a voicemail stating that I was charged 100 dollars for having a pet in the room. I then called and left a VM stating that I had no pets and I was at a wedding all day long. When I got a call back from Banfield they stated that they charged me for smoking in the room! Story changed. I told them I don't smoke. I could even get them medical evidence that I don't smoke. They still charged me anyway. This place is illegal and is creating fraudulent charges. Stay far far away!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Param_Hotel_Group, Guest Relations Manager at Banfield Value Inn
Responded 27 Feb 2018
Your opinion is important to us! Our records indicate that the only charges we made to you are for room rent and tax. We do not have anything here indicating miscellaneous fees for either pets or for deep cleaning due to smoking in a non smoking room, for $100 or otherwise. If we believed that you had unauthorized animals in your room or that you had smoked in a room where it was not allowed your name would have been red flagged and added to our No Rent list. Your name has not been marked as such and there is no documentation that we have available to us that we had any problems with you at all during your time with us. We would certainly like to resolve this matter to our mutual satisfaction and if you would be willing to contact us a gm@portlandvalueinns.com we would welcome the chance to discuss the situation and put your mind at ease. We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
banfield value hotel portland, banfield motel portland, banfield hotel portland
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BANFIELD VALUE INN

Frequently Asked Questions about Banfield Value Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Banfield Value Inn?
Nearby attractions include Hollywood Theatre (0.4 km), Broadway Cigar Company (0.09 km), and Moments Have You (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Banfield Value Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Banfield Value Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
Is parking available at Banfield Value Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Banfield Value Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shandong, Gado Gado, and Chameleon Restaurant & Bar.
Are pets allowed at Banfield Value Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Banfield Value Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Portland Center Stage at The Armory (4.5 km), Old Church (5.1 km), and Japanese American Historical Plaza (3.6 km).
All Portland HotelsPortland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortlandHotels near Banfield Value Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire