We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner

Scotch Corner Near Darlington, Scotch Corner DL10 6NR England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (188)
Room & Suite (78)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 3 hotels in Scotch Corner
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A stylish hotel beside the A1(M) with free parking, meeting rooms, a restaurant and an indoor pool Set beside the A1(M)/A66 junction, the Holiday Inn® Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner hotel is less than 20 minutes' drive from central Darlington and Durham Tees Valley Airport (MME). There's free parking, and a direct link to Darlington Railway Station from the bus stop outside. Riverside Richmond, five miles away, is the gateway to the Yorkshire Dales. You can hold an event for up to 300 in the nine modern conference suites with digital projectors and free Wi-Fi. Keep hunger at bay with breakfast pastries and finger buffets. And if you need a printer or copier, the friendly reception staff is happy to help. Kids love to explore Richmond Castle, beside the River Swale only 10 minutes' drive away. Just 13 miles from the hotel, the Bowes Museum shows fine art, textiles and ceramics in a grand French-style chateau with a park.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Electric vehicle charging station
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
1,147Review15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 488
  • 381
  • 133
  • 66
  • 79
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mia wrote a review 7 Apr
32 contributions6 helpful votes
Friendly welcome from reception. Room a decent size and clean. Beds are very comfortable. Restaurant/bar area Went for the meal deal Good portion sizes Mix up with the pricing of the meal deal. On arrival receptionist told us £32 per adult towards dinner when paying we were told £25. Paid it and went to sit in the bar area, staff realised they had over chargered us gave us the money back. Bought one drink at the bar area and paid by card for this. The next day we checked out and went on our way it was not until we looked at the bill we paid for drinks that were charged to our room ( we did not set a tab up when we checked in we said we pay for it there and then- which I did at the bar). Sent an email after a telephone conversation with the receptionist who looked into this for us and refunded the money paid for the drinks and can not understand how that happened. Breakfast self service and a great choice on offer. Staff were pleasant and cheerful speaking to all the guest. The chef was talking to guest also and making the children laugh with some jokes.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Mia_5757 Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us. Can I further apologise for the mix up with your bill, I am glad the team straightened it out for you, but we are looking into how this happened as it really shouldn't be necessary for you to highlight this issue. Our breakfast chef is indeed quite a character and great to have around. I only wish from a personal perspective he would get some new jokes. Hopefully, if you are to return he will have a new repertoire to share. Regards, Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
colin9314 wrote a review Aug 2023
Newtownards, United Kingdom33 contributions21 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I have used this hotel for almost 15 years ; recently had a few years break. The appealing things for me are the facilities (pool, rooms and bar) and staff, over the years I have seen the same staff and always received a warm welcome. In the current hospitality crisis, it is great to see the management have it right and are able to retain quality staff - well done. Be assured you will feel welcome and relaxed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Read signs on parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 30 Aug 2023
Dear colin9314 Thank you so much for your kind positive feedback and we are all delighted that you enjoy staying with us as much as you allude to. I am immensely proud of the team at the hotel at the great level of service they provide our guests day in day out. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Geordie wanderer wrote a review Mar 2024
United Kingdom336 contributions148 helpful votes
Stayed for one night on a recent visit to the north east. The hotel is very dated. Staff were friendly, but the public areas need freshening up. I had dinner in the onsite Italian restaurant and wasn't particularly impressed with the quality of the food. Breakfast was better, but still not brilliant. The hotel bar was a little expensive and I did note not many people were using it, instead preferring to go out to eat and drink elsewhere. I don't think I will be back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear jeffswork Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, but I am sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We will take note of your comments and pass your feedback to the relevant department heads. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jon L wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Poo - on the sheets we have never visited such an unclean establishment will never return complained to the duty manager and was just laughed at and not believed, ruined the first leg of our trip to Scotland. Decided not to stay and got a room at nearby Morritt.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Jon L, It's a delight for us to host your stay. We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner as your lodging partner. Thank you for sharing your experience. I am sorry to learn what happened. I've shared your feedback with our management team as a reference for the necessary improvements needed. I also sent you a private message to continue the conversation about this. I hope to get another chance to host your next visit. We promise to make the value of your experience worth it for all the right reasons. Yours in hospitality, Jeraldine R. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lizzie H wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Avoid sneaky parking fines Great location for a comfy stop off on a long journey, however please be mindful of the poor signage for parking as I have been fined for a quick stop which was not clearly advertised. £100 fine for a stop break I would of used the services if I’d of known. The hotel looked clean and staff friendly but the parking fine has put us off staying.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Hi 690lizzieh, I am sorry to hear you have received a parking fine. I can assure you that parking is free of charge for all guests and visitors of the hotel, restaurant and bar. If you were just using the car park then there is a fee to pay to do so. Please contact us at enquiries@hidarlington.co.uk and we will try our best to help you. we do have signage throughout the car park and at the entrance to the hotel so it is unfortunate if you have missed this. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ben M wrote a review Feb 2024
Nottingham, United Kingdom48 contributions14 helpful votes
I think it’s had an update as Id been told it wasn’t nice. I would easily recommend this hotel to friends and family. Personally I found it to be a lovely hotel. There was plenty of parking; if you have an electric car there were 8 double Tesla sockets out front and probably another 8-12 other EV charging points along the side wall spaces. The entrance is really nice and welcoming after a long trip. The receptionists were lovely and quick to process me. The room was really nice and had brilliant heating/cooling control and was very quiet (I was on the ground floor and looking out over the car park - but the curtains and windows keep out Pringles and noises). The bed was very comfy (once I pulled out the very nicely made bed covers) and warm. The room had a really nice TV which made casting my iPad to it really easy. Although, no need as it also had Netflix and YouTube apps. The room had a fridge with bottles of water if needed (don’t know if they charged for them). There was also an iron and ironing board in the cupboard and extra towels and pillows too. Breakfast was very good, if I was being very picky the fried eggs were slightly under-done - I ate them all the same. There was a really wide range of choices and the coffee was ok, which could’ve been better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: They have a sticker on the bathroom saying they have toothbrushes and other bathroom amenities...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 3 Mar 2024
Hello M1552KAbenm Thank you very much for your kind words and feedback. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly regarding our new TV system. We look forward to seeing you again as well as your friends and family. I can also add that the water in the room is fully complimentary. Regards Tim Snowdon General Maanger
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ruenruff wrote a review Feb 2024
Lincoln, United Kingdom4 contributions
*****Rip Off Alert******* Got done for parking No obvious signs saying register at reception. ****DO NOT STOP HERE FOR A MEAL***** GO ELSEWHERE. Due to no obvious signs we did not expect to be fined. Will never go back, will go elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t park here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Gregory, Other at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 19 Feb 2024
Dear ruenruff, Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your visit to us. I can confirm there are sufficient signage in our car park, including in the entrance way. We also have a free standing display notice in the hotel doorway. However, we understand that on this occasion you have missed this, so if you would like to contact the hotel with your parking fine reference, we can look into this for you. We can also discuss your disappointment for not wishing to dine with us again, and what you deem to be a rip off, as I am sure you will appreciate that your feedback is important to us. We look forward to hearing from you. Charlotte Gregory Reservations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
CeriM wrote a review Feb 2024
Wickham, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
I’ve stayed in many Holiday Inns around the country and am normally very pleased with the visit. The hotel at Scotch Corner was sadly disappointing for many reasons. Overall, there is a feeling of tired decor and furnishings. Holes in the bedroom wallpaper, bathroom hook missing but hole left behind, grout missing in the bathroom tiles, very poor pressure in the shower, uncomfortable mattress, tea tray not topped up and glasses not cleaned, 1 x bath sheet and 1 x bath towel provided for two adults which I found odd. One thing that always draws me to Holiday Inn is their buffet breakfast. I don’t normally eat breakfast so this is a treat for me and I especially look forward to the granola…..which is on the menu but not on offer at this hotel. All small things on their own but cumulatively made for a less satisfying visit than I had expected. On the plus side, the welcome was great, the porridge at breakfast delicious, and the gym next door (and free for residents) very well equipped with a decent pool. Sadly, I will not choose to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The gym at the weekend gets busy by 1000.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charlotte Gregory, Other at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Dear CeriM Firstly can I apologise for the disappointment you experienced during your recent stay. I can assure you that we have taken your comments very seriously and will address all your points raised. I'm sorry to learn you wish not to stay with us again. If you would like to discuss your feedback further, please email me on reservations@hidarlington.co.uk. Thank you Charlotte Gregory Reservations Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rob j wrote a review Dec 2023
114 contributions42 helpful votes
our usual breakfast stop, early in, table for two, relaxed breakfast, superb open style buffet, great staff, easy FREE parking, just remember to put your reg number in to parking eye at reception, thank you again team, see you soon
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 11 Jan 2024
Dear robjW4631KC Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding breakfast. We are all delighted you enjoying a pit stop for a bite to eat at holiday Inn Darlington A1 Scotch Corner. We will see you soon Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Shona H wrote a review Nov 2023
Penicuik, United Kingdom13 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic big room, very comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean. Amazing dinner (portions are huge!) Brilliant breakfast. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Plenty of free parking and bar prices good although could dp with being open after 10pm
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Snowdon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Responded 7 Dec 2023
Hi 438shonah Thank you very much for your kind words. Myself and the team are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully we will see you again sometime in the not too distant future. Regards Tim Snowdon General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Scotch Corner area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$666 - HK$948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn darlington a1 scotch corner hotel scotch corner, scotch corner hotel, corner hotel scotch
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Scotch Corner Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireNorth YorkshireScotch Corner
NUMBER OF ROOMS
91
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN DARLINGTON - A1 SCOTCH CORNER - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Nearby attractions include Georgian Theatre Royal (6.0 km), The Green Howards Museum (6.0 km), and Catterick Racecourse (6.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Bay Horse at Ravensworth, Number 29 Tapas Bar, and The Heifer.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Scotch Corner.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Easby Abbey (5.7 km), Stanwick Iron Age Fortifications (8.0 km), and Weselyan Chapel (6.0 km).
Is Holiday Inn Darlington - A1 Scotch Corner accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.