We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Kilhey Court

Save
Traveller (214)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (14)
Ratings and reviews
GreenLeaders Silver level
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“spa break”(55 reviews)
“spa facilities”(40 reviews)
“lovely grounds”(25 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Fitness centre
Spa
Wheelchair Access
Business Centre
Dry Cleaning
4 Star Hotel
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Chorley Road, Standish, Wigan WN1 2XN, England
32.2 km to Liverpool John Lennon Airport
12 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,466)
Filter reviews
1,464 results
Traveller rating
485
441
281
160
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
485
441
281
160
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa breakspa facilitieslovely groundssteam roommain buildingrelaxation roomlovely hotelexecutive roomafternoon teaevening mealsmall poolwedding breakfastbed and breakfastenjoyable staywedding venuefull englishbar area
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 1,464 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Don’t have the full English breakfast. Sausage x one uncooked, bacon one rasher . Black pudding. Turned to ash. If this reaches management and you don’t believe me . I implore you to send someone “ incognito “ to try it. All show and no...More

Thank neilryans2018
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We booked this hotel for convenience and tbh we had no expectations but what a lovely surprise we got, the staff helped every customer who was struggling to get transport a taxi, nothing was too much trouble, on our return form our night out we...More

Thank Freya D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My friend and I chose Kilhey Court for our annual spa weekend. Unfortunately there were various things we were disappointed with at this hotel. We would say the food was excellent, the room was OK, a little dated and attention to detail in cleaning was...More

Thank SpaGirl87
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful setting. Outstanding food, although breakfast service was a bit on the slow side. Rooms are a good size with comfortable chairs etc. No noise from others so peaceful. I think improvements could be made for those that find stairs challenging - they are everywhere...More

Thank craftwing29
Response from KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey CourtResponded 1 week ago

Dear craftwing29 Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at the hotel. I am please to read that overall you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay at the hotel We do have portable ramps that we can utilise if...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were surprised when we arrived how lovely the setting was. A large lawn leads down to a lake and two reservoirs that make a lovely walk. The hotel itself has some lovely features and we found the staff extremely attentive, polite and nothing was...More

2  Thank aldamcgregor
Response from KC_GeneralManager, General Manager at Macdonald Kilhey CourtResponded 1 week ago

Dear aldamcgregor Thank you for taking the time to complete great five star review and for your great comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards Kirsti | General...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Escape to Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel, a perfectly accessible place to do business and to unwind, just 10 minutes drive from the M6 and M61 motorways directly between Manchester and Liverpool. Take advantage of ...More unlimited, free WiFi throughout the hotel, a comfortable night's sleep and relax in the spa at the hotel. The hotel has completed a refurbishment programme to upgrade 14 bedrooms, rejuvenate the bar, restaurant and reception. Following a day on the road or in the meeting room, there's plenty of ways to unwind at Macdonald Kilhey Court Hotel. We're passionate about the quality of food that we offer, sourcing fresh, quality ingredients to craft simple but flavoursome dishes. Try our award-winning food in the Laureate Restaurant. Less
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
GreenLeaders Silver level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Wheelchair Access
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
GreenLeaders Silver level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
GreenLeaders Silver level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Hotel class
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
GreenLeaders Silver level
GreenLeaders Silver level
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (214)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Julie A
15 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from SueB919 | Reviewed this property |
Best to prebook as it has a very busy Spa especially at weekends.
0
Votes
Megan B
30 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jameshill007 | Reviewed this property |
The classic rooms are more expensive.
0
Votes
Clair J
29 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from littleannie | Reviewed this property |
Yes but not very big really at all. Nice for kids.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"401 excellent"
Read review
"Rooms away from the separate Function Suite are less noisy but we did not experience a problem."
Read review
"The suites are worth it for a luxury stay"
Read review
"rooms overlooking the gardens are quieter"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing