We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TravelRest Solent Gateway

Save
Share
22 The Avenue, Fareham PO14 1NS England
Expedia
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Trip.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (55)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (107)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 22/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from TravelRest Solent Gateway
Updated 22/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 7 hotels in Fareham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make TravelRest Solent Gateway their hotel of choice when visiting Fareham. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Titchfield Abbey (1.6 mi), located nearby, makes TravelRest Solent Gateway a great place to stay for those interested in visiting this popular Fareham landmark.

Rooms at Travelrest Solent Gateway Hotel provide a flat screen TV, and guests can stay connected with free wifi.

In addition, while staying at Travelrest Solent Gateway Hotel guests have access to room service and baggage storage. You can also enjoy an on-site restaurant. Need a place to park? Free parking is available at TravelRest Solent Gateway.

While in Fareham be sure to experience local crab favourites at Villa Romana.

There is no shortage of things to do in the area: explore popular history museums such as Westbury Manor Museum.

At TravelRest Solent Gateway, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Fareham.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Ironing service
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
196Reviews7Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 59
  • 77
  • 36
  • 13
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Clive S wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Poor facilities. Furniture looked like it had been picked up from a thrift shop. Very 80s decor. No working space in the room (desk etc). Breakfast was poor considering the price. 6.50 for 2 rounds of bread, 2 bits of bacon and a singular sausage. If you have any issues with your stop the complaints emails are ignored and if you call to ask why your complaint is not being responded to the phone manner of whom said she was the deputy manager was terrible, very confrontational and aggressive on the phone. Sorry but I'd avoid. Much better places for less money.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
R W wrote a review Sep 2022
51 contributions72 helpful votes
I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business stopover. There is plenty of parking, free wifi and the room I had was clean and comfortable. It's not a five star luxury place, and a little dated in some areas, but overall not too bad. There is a Harvester about 100 meters away for a bit of reasonable pub grub. My only poor experience was the fire alarm going off at 2am due to "a faulty alarm in a single room". The hotel's response to the alarm was to be honest, not the greatest and perhaps something they could learn from. At least do a role call next time! My rule of thumb is asking myself would I stay here again? Possibly, yes, but I would also consider altenatives.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ann P wrote a review Apr 2022
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Good parking, excellent welcome, acceptable room. No cleaning whatsoever during our three night stay. Mugs and teaspoons never washed or replaced, hot drinks supplies not replenished, bins not emptied, bathroom never cleaned. Three attempts to overcharge me at checkout. Sloppy management, I think.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Flo R wrote a review Nov 2021
Shropshire, United Kingdom18 contributions27 helpful votes
Visiting family so location was ideal. Plenty of parking and next door to a harvester, which was very convenient for dinner after a long drive. Rooms are dated but comfortable. Unfortunately a window was left open so by the time we checked in (evening in November) the room was freezing. Be prepared for a bit of noise, walls are thin and floorboards creaky so you can hear movement from other rooms, stairs and hallway. Luckily it didn't seem very busy so this wasn't a huge issue. On the plus, there was a good selection of pillows in the room which was nice to find one of a comfortable thickness. It was also a pleasant surprise to find a cafetiere as an alternative to the standard instant coffee sachets. Unfortunately didn't get a chance to sample breakfast, service ended before we rallied (lay in recovering from the drive). It would be great if service continued a bit longer but as mentioned above, harvester is next door. Overall reasonable for the money and would stay again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
David D wrote a review Nov 2021
Weybridge, United Kingdom1 contribution
I stayed at the TravelRest Solent Gateway Hotel from Friday 29th Oct to Monday 1st Nov. On the second night, Saturday 30th, I arrived in my room at approximately 11 pm and found that the door was unlocked. I also discovered that the bed had been stripped and the duvet and pillows had been left on the floor by the door. I informed Elliott in reception who brought some linen and we both made the bed. In the morning I discovered all the towels had been taken away. As there was nobody in reception and was short of time, I had to quickly go to my relatives house and use their shower and towels. When I returned to the hotel that evening, I discovered my room hadn't been touched except for the reappearance of the towels. The cups I had used for my coffee the night before and my morning cup of tea were still dirty and none of the tea, coffee, bottle of water, sugar and milk sachets had been replenished. The gentleman in reception, Ian I believe, said that they are not currently servicing rooms for guests who are staying longer than one night. He also said that Elliott had mentioned about the linen and towels but he couldn't understand why this had happened. I have written to the hotel, but having read some of the most recent reviews as well as the responses from Ian the Manager, I think I can safely say that Ian has no intention of accepting his hotel is in steep decline and it would appear he is very happy to take the public's money in exchange for poor service and a shabby, poorly maintained establishment. It will be interesting to see if he responds to my email or indeed this review. Shame on him and I will not be using this hotel anytime soon, nor will I be recommending it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Hall, General Manager at TravelRest Solent Gateway
Responded 6 Nov 2021
Hello Firstly I would like to apologise that you did not receive the service you or we would have expected during your recent stay. To clarify, during the ongoing COVID pandemic we have taken the decision to focus on deep cleaning guest rooms after each guest departure, including disinfecting each room. We feel this is important to our guests and our team to reduce their risk of COVID at this time. In order to achieve this we have had to take the decision not to clean guest bedrooms for guests who are staying more than 1 night. Most guests acknowledge and appreciate this approach to COVID management. We should have informed you of this fact on check in and I am sorry if that did not happen. I am sorry your room was then inadvertently stripped of the bedding and towels and the inconvenience this caused.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HF1 wrote a review Oct 2021
17 contributions26 helpful votes
On arrival the hotel is a lot smaller than what it looks like on the pictures. The furnishings and rooms all need up dating. There was damp on the walls, cracked tiles in the bathroom, toilet didn’t flush and kettle broken in the room. The shower was above the bath and the hot water took ages to come through. On one day, the boiler had broke, so we could not have a shower at all. There was no lift so I would not recommend for some one with mobility difficulties. The dining area was clean but the breakfast was small for the price. We were not told about order times and on the second day we’re told we could not order a cooked breakfast as it had to be ordered by 8.45, even though we were ordering at 8.35!! The menus were also dirty and covered in grease. Sadly our experiences ruined our mini break away
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Hall, General Manager at TravelRest Solent Gateway
Responded 31 Oct 2021
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy you stay and thank you for your feedback which will help us improve. We are sorry the heating system malfunctioned on one of your stay days and fortunately we were able to repair the fault very quickly. To clarify, our highly acclaimed and well received, freshly cooked to order full English Breakfast is available between 7am and 9am Monday to Friday and 8am to 10am Saturday, Sunday and Bank Holidays and I am very sorry if this was not explained at your arrival.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith L wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
+1
I booked for two nights for a family visit and was given room 30, a double. On entering the room it was immediately apparent that it needed considerable work and was in a poor state of repair with paint flaking off the ceiling, damp in the ceiling, windowsill in a poor state with flaking and cracked paint. The room door did not latch closed, in fact there wasn't even a cutout in the frame for the latch, and it also had a one to one and a half inch gap underneath it, not much use as a fire door!! The room is a double but only had one bath and one hand towel in it. One miserly set of toiletries with a one very cheap plastic water glass in a bathroom that needed cleaning properly and had a door that wouldn't close unless slammed very hard. There was only one bedside lamp in the room, though the light pouring in the gap at the bottom of the fire door helped if you had the side of the bed without a light. I thought about ringing reception about all of this but then found there wasn't a phone in the room either. The room was very noisy with traffic on the A27 and the fact you could hear any water running in the surrounding rooms, their TVs or the occupants talking. The dining area of the hotel is reasonable but the rest of the hotel is very tired and feels dark and oppressive especially with dark tartan carpeting in corridors and stairways. All in all it was two unpleasant days stay which I will never be repeating and would advise people not to get their hopes up if they book this hotel. If you must stay there then make every effort to get a room facing the rear of the hotel as you may escape the traffic noise at least.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Hall, General Manager at TravelRest Solent Gateway
Responded 31 Oct 2021
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and thank you for your feedback, which will help us improve. Unfortunately during the weekend you stayed the M27 was closed for a smart motorway upgrade which increased the traffic using the A27 adjacent to the hotel. Otherwise, especially overnight the hotel double glazing is usually sufficient to reduce the noise.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
leepownall2426 wrote a review Aug 2021
Portsmouth, United Kingdom97 contributions86 helpful votes
Attending a party so needed somewhere to stay for a night. The room was adequate and clean however the bathroom floor tiles were badly damaged; This could have caused nasty foot injury. This does not detract from the fact it is a worthwhile place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kev F wrote a review Aug 2021
Newbury, United Kingdom4 contributions
A hotel in need of renovation, and certainly not worth $84 per room on a Saturday night. Below is the transcript of my email complaint to them, to which I've had zero response, no return email, not even a voicemail to say it's been received. Terrible service. My fiancee, my son and myself stayed at TravelRest Solent Gateway on the night of Sat 31st July, and I'm unhappy to write that we didn't have the greatest experience at your establishment. We were initially given rooms 32 and 37 by the young man on reception. After I'd made sure he was comfortable in 32, I was told by the young man that we were supposed to be in 36 + 37, so I went back to relocate my son from 32. At this point, I noticed that there was bottled water in this room, and also in 37, but none in 36? On inspection of 36, we found that: - The handles were loose on the bedside table - One bedside lamp didn't work - The desk unit was coming away from the wall - The bathroom extractor didn't work - The window blind wasn't attached in the correct manner, and was just an eye-sore - The pillows were synthetic/foam type - The mattress protector in my son's room was torn, and hadn't been fitted correctly. - The sink was dirty - The toilet brush holder was dirty And in 37, the diffuser over the bathroom mirror was held on with black electrical tape. We were woken up at 07:30 this morning by the sound of water running in sinks and showers, in other people's rooms, and could hear the voices of the room's occupants quite clearly. My fiancee was lightly scalded in the shower by water which ran first warm, then cold, then boiling hot. The decor and feel throughout TravelRest Solent Gateway is old and tired and, in some areas, dark and oppressive (the staircase and landing, for example). It's located approx 8km from where we were meeting friend's on the seafront at Lee, which was a £10 taxi ride out and a £22 return ride and, despite it's proximity to the train station, with all of the above findings, I fail to see how you can charge £84 per room on a Saturday night. Personally, I would be embarrassed to charge this amount, based on the above. It really isn't worth that amount, and I feel that we should be refunded the cost of one of those rooms. As stated, to this day I've had no reply to the above. They've had more than enough time to reply, but haven't done so. Hence, I'm now leaving this review. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
PPW2010 wrote a review Sep 2020
Carlisle, United Kingdom16 contributions13 helpful votes
Clean and very friendly service but just be aware - Online booking form offered breakfast at £8.00 - only option, which I ordered. Got to the hotel - they had a breakfast menu which offered selections cheaper and nearer to what I would have ordered. I asked at reception to change my breakfast choice and was told I had a room discount because I had ordered the £8.00 breakfast and, if I changed my breakfast choice, my room fee would increase. Checked this online that night and the room was still advertised for the same price I had paid - and adding the £8.00 breakfast did not reduce my room rate - maybe worth ringing the hotel before booking to check breakfast choices. When checking in, I asked at reception what time breakfast was available until – I was told 10.00am - I had a room at the front of the hotel and was up from 8.00 due to road noise and noise from reception area - I had a shower/coffee in my room etc and arrived at reception at 9.15 – I was told breakfast finished at 9.00 on weekdays, and given a lovely apology for the mix-up and was offered scrambled eggs/toast etc - but I opted to ask for a refund of my £8.00 as I did not feel the price justified a 'light' breakfast. On asking for the refund there was no mention that I had a room reduction rate - the fee was refunded. I would stay again due to the locality but would request, as another member has said, for a quiet room or take ear plugs and would call to ask about breakfast rather than book online.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$58 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelrest solent gateway hotel fareham, travelrest solent gateway fareham
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Avenue House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireFareham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about TravelRest Solent Gateway
Which popular attractions are close to TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Nearby attractions include Westbury Manor Museum (1.1 km), Robins Nest Emporium Fareham (1.0 km), and Reel Cinema (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Buccaneer, The Garden Shed Cafe, and CrumbleJack.
Are pets allowed at TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to TravelRest Solent Gateway?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Royal Armouries - Fort Nelson (4.2 km), Little Woodham Living History Village (6.4 km), and Portsdown Hill (7.3 km).
Is TravelRest Solent Gateway accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.