We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Surtees Rd, Redworth DL5 6NL England
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (2432)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (506)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Mini golf
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Steam room
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
5810Reviews96Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,129
  • 1,673
  • 1,079
  • 534
  • 395
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Voyage71907 wrote a review 24 Sep
1 contribution
Having received a gift voucher for my birthday for a deluxe overnight stay and afternoon tea with fizz, we weren’t overly impressed by the stay. Hotel was very dated and in desperate need of some tlc. Room was a bit dark and dingy, smelt a bit musty and bathroom moldy/damp. We were supposed to have a bottle of Prosecco in the room on arrival which wasn’t there. They did provide us with it once asked. We were told we would have robes in the room for use at the spa, which again weren’t there on arrival. When we enquired about it, we were told by a different member of staff that we don’t get them in the room we were in. For the price of the room, I’d expect everyone to have a robe as standard. We didn’t use the spa facilities, but the spa area and bar looked lovely, clean and modern compared to the rest of the hotel. Afternoon tea itself was very average and not really worth the money. Voucher included a glass of fizz, which again was forgotten about until mentioned. We were also sat far away from anything or anyone in the restaurant which meant it was very quiet and there was no atmosphere. It would have been nicer if we were sat in the bar area. Overall, pleasant stay but I wouldn’t rush back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear Voyage71907, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay with us. I am sorry that you experienced some issues whilst with us, I will certainly share your feedback with the team as this certainly isn't our usual high standards. I do hope that you return where I am sure you will have a better experience. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam G wrote a review 21 Sep
1 contribution
We booked a last minute stay with room, evening meal, breakfast & use if the spa /pool and facilities. Good value for money, especially now the hotel is getting a gradual facelift & refresh. The Food and service was excellent for both meals. The staff were friendly & the Bar tender in the Lounge in the spa was great and interested what we made if the place . We had one of the refreshed rooms and a lovely bathroom - however there needs to be a little attention to detail. A replacement bathroom door, which looked shoddy would change the room and the tv control was dirty. Thank you for a great little stay We'll definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear K5486PQsamg, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us however sorry for the issues which you experienced. I will share your feedback with the team so they can do better. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Martin Green wrote a review 21 Sep
South Shields, United Kingdom30 contributions10 helpful votes
My Wife and I booked a spa stay . On arrival we were looked after by reception, in no time we were in our room. Excellent room , only thing wrong was it was freezing. Told the maid and she got maintenance straight round to fix the problem. Could not praise them enough for the quick response. Down to the Spa for a swim and to use the sauna, not busy at all , very relaxing. Our evening meal was very nice ( we both had Belly Pork ) then a sweet . All the Staff were very friendly and helpful from the Bar to the restaurant. All in all we had an excellent time a d hope to get back very soon .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear oneblank, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your spa stay with us and loved all aspects of your stay. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tipsy14 wrote a review 18 Sep
Aberdeen, United Kingdom19 contributions19 helpful votes
Stayed for one night to break up a long journey. Booked virtually on route via Hotel.com. Not sure if this affects your room. Anyway room was fine with a spa bath ( extra). Were in the older part of Hotel.Had late dinner 9pm. Food came very swiftly and lovely and hot. Breakfast was also good. Staff were efficient and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear tipsy14, Thank you for leaving us a review about your stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn N wrote a review 15 Sep
2 contributions
Hotel nice. Room great. Staff fab especially Alex in the restaurant. Very pleasant, nothing to much trouble. Food lovely every night and breakfast nice - plentiful and excellent choice. Staff coped well with water supply disruption providing free bottled water. Staff remained cheerful when managing a lot of customers at once remaining attentive to each person and not rushing us. Would definitely recommend a stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear lynnn935, Thank you for leaving us a lovely review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff to be pleasant. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie E wrote a review 11 Sep
Darlington, United Kingdom15 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed in a spa deluxe double, lovely room Spa and Spa staff excellent and well worth it. The hotel generally is very tired and needs some tlc. The main things that let's the hotel down is the staff who mostly give the impression they don't want to be there. This poor service experience begins at check in and continues for the whole stay until you check out. Restaurant food was good but let down by restaurant staff even the lady in charge was miserable. Looks lovely in the photographs but definitely doesn’t feel like a 4 star hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear 726debbiee, Thank you for the time it took to leave us a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the Retreat and for the staff to be excellent. I am however sorry for some aspects of the stay left you feeling a little disappointed. I will share you comments with the team. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melandjue wrote a review 7 Sep
16 contributions5 helpful votes
We had one night bed breakfast and evening meal for our wedding anniversary.. The hotel is lovely ... surrounded by gorgeous grounds. We stayed in a room in the coach house which was lovely , beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. All staff were polite and helpful. There was plenty of choice on the evening meal menu... and the breakfast was by far one of the best breakfast I've ever had.. and very well served. I would definitely recommend this hotel for any special celebration.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear melandjue, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to be perfect. I will look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gunsanddroses wrote a review 7 Sep
Nottingham, United Kingdom60 contributions60 helpful votes
Beautiful looking hotel. Lots of steps and corridors in the building. No lift in old part of hotel, lovely dining room but food not as good as some hotels we have stayed in. Lots of greasy dressings used of food which is not mentioned on the menu and spoils the whole meal. The deserts are amazing best part of our meal. Most of the staff are helpful and very pleasant but as usual there are certain ones that just don’t want to be there and show it in their attitudes. The room we had was next to the kitchen yard which was very noisy , the kitchen fans could be heard and bottles being put into the bins all make for a noisy stay. Staff seen in kitchen yard smoking with their aprons on. The room had a four poster bed in it with dirty scatter cushions on it but was comfortable there was lots of dust on the bedside table lamps, leaking tap in bath, high step into the shower. On the positive side the hotel has lovely grounds with a crazy golf area and lots of seating outside. Enjoyed our weekend away but would not go back there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms near the kitchen to be avoided.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear Gunsandroses, Thank you for your time in leaving us a review. I am sorry that you were left feeling a little disappointed with your stay for a couple of reasons. We only have a few bedrooms to the front of the hotel where we cannot install a lift. The friendly staff do usually receive positive reviews so I am sorry that it came across to yourself like they didn't want to be with us. I do hope that your decision changes and that you stay with us again in the future where I am sure you will have a more positive stay. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chloe wrote a review 3 Sep
6 contributions9 helpful votes
Booked a spa break here as there was a great offer on. The room was clean and tidy when we arrived, staff were polite and the car park spacious. We had a lovely evening meal with 3 courses at the restaurant 1744, the food was delicious! The spa was nice however was pretty crowded when we got there, it would have been better if they gave people different time slots to enter. There were no robes or slippers provided in our rooms and when we got to the spa it was sometimes a little chilly when lounging round the pool so it would have been useful. We asked for these and we’re told it would be £7.50 each to rent them, I thought with it being a spa these should have been complimentary. Overall we had a great stay at Redworth Hall and would recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear chloe m, Thank you for leaving us a review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tori wrote a review 2 Sep
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom2 contributions
Booked here for my 30th birthday in an upgraded deluxe house double room. Having just had a baby we were looking forward to a night away from the baby and a little relaxation. Arrived just after 3:30pm and staff were great. Got settled in and decided to have a drink in the bar before heading down to the spa. Went down to the spa at 5pm to use the facilities, slightly crowded but fine overall. Due to children being in the pool making it super loud (nobody’s fault) and lack of seating, we decided to use the retreat bar before going in for my treatment which cost £110. The whole idea of the day was to have a few glasses of fizz in our bathrobes which feels like a luxury so it was slightly disappointing that the bar was closed. On looking at the website the bar closes at 5pm which I was dumbfounded at as you can only check in from 3pm. I also don’t know many hotels that close bars when you expect that as part of your “spa day”. My treatment was lovely and the staff were great. Worth every penny and finally got the relaxation that I came for. Room was old fashioned which is expected for that part of the hotel which adds character, it was nice and clean but the bath did have rust stains which made me reluctant to use it. Biggest issue was a banging noise in the room which seemed to come from above. We hadn’t thought much of it during the day as we were in and out of the room but it did disturb our sleep. Food and drinks were fine and reasonably priced, we stayed as part of a package so we had a two course meal and breakfast which we both enjoyed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee Kirtland, Other at Redworth Hall Hotel
Responded today
Dear Torimal, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you had a few issues whilst with us however delighted that you enjoyed the food when staying with us. We will pass your comments to the various teams to address. Kind Regards, Lee Kirtland Hotel Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$97 - US$143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo newton aycliffe, newton aycliffe barcelo, redworth hall hotel, durham hall hotel redworth, hall redworth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamRedworth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
143
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Redworth Hall Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Redworth Hall Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Valhalla North Axe Throwing (3.5 km), Walworth Birds of Prey (3.6 km), and Kynren (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Redworth Hall Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Redworth Hall Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Redworth Hall Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Redworth Hall Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Black Horse, Raby Hunt Restaurant, and The County.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Redworth Hall Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Redworth Hall Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Redworth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Redworth Hall Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Redworth Hall Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Redworth Hall Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Redworth Hall Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Piercebridge Roman Fort & Bridge (7.9 km) and Bishop Auckland Deer House (7.6 km).