We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection

Save
Share
2017 E 9th St, Cleveland, OH 44115-1315
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Expedia
Booking.com
Agoda.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (335)
Room & Suite (127)
Dining (39)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 05/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Updated 05/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#8 of 40 hotels in Cleveland
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
The Metropolitan at The 9 is simply iconic! Built in the 1920's, this former bank building has been beautifully restored with luxury amenities, a splash of history and unique event space located in the heart of downtown Cleveland.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Bowling offsite
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car hire
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Rooftop bar
Tennis court offsite
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Dining area
Fireplace
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
855Reviews15Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 570
  • 142
  • 76
  • 40
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mike wrote a review 1 Aug
Sandusky, Ohio25 contributions9 helpful votes
Incredibly disappointed. Booked King bed with the sexy shower. Was told with the happiest of smiles I was being down graded to a Handicap room with a wheel chair accessible shower. Oh and The Vault bar was closed due to a private party. $1019 please. Not sure if Incredibly disappointed says enough. Use caution.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the 9
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded 1 week ago
Greetings Mike P, Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable insight regarding your experience with us. We sincerely apologize for not meeting expectations with the room selection and the limited hours in Vault due to a private event. If you are open to returning to our location, please feel free to contact me directly at 216.631.3305 to curate your next experience at The 9. Warmest Regards, TK Sanders Director of Rooms
Read more
Nicholas Rantamaki wrote a review Jul 2022
Geneva, Ohio2 contributions
We typically stay at other hotels when in Cleveland, OH but I have always wanted to stay here. We went to the Def Leppard, Motley Crue, Poison and Joan Jett & the Blackhearts concert. The concert started at 4:30p so we tried for an earlier check-in than 4p, this didn't happen as the hotel was sold out from the night before. Completely understandable. We left our bag with the front desk. The front desk did try to get us in as early as possible. They ended up calling at 3:55p saying our room was available and they had taken our bag to the room. All we would have to do is stop at the front desk and grab our keys. The staff was very nice and the room was amazing. Valet was fast to get our car to us. Less than 10 minutes. We will definitely be back and I will now check here first before staying anywhere else. I just can't stress enough how impressed we were here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Suite, 1 King, Sofa bed room was massive.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Flying_Squirrel6767 wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Took an hour to get coffee and Yogurt from room service and they kept forgetting utensils or sugar & creamer - ultimately took 90 minutes to get a cup of coffee. I was traveling for work on a weekend, don't stay there if you want decent sleep in a quiet hotel. Party scene until 3am in various floors (including mine) and cars driving outside blast music all hours of the night. Front desk wasn't able to help. Would never stay here again and definitely not for families by any means
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Flying_Squirrel6767, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Metropolitan at the 9 and taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations for in room dining and the noise levels. We strive to provide all of our guests with amazing experiences and we did not meet your expectations. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact me directly at 216.239.1200 ext 5115. Theodore Ostapack Director of Front Office
Read more
HardyFlyer wrote a review Jul 2022
United States6 contributions13 helpful votes
Perhaps my experience is a one-off occurrence, but after having an absolutely unacceptable check-in experience, I felt the need to review. Hopefully, for those planning to stay at this property this will make them aware of potential issues and for any Marriott Bonvoy staff that may read these forums, some useful feedback. Let's start with the pros of this property: - Great location downtown, walkable to many wonderful restaurants and attractions. - Updated, modern, and spacious gym. Now on to the main issue for my post, check-in and room availability. - Prior to arrival, I requested to use a suite upgrade certificate (I am a Titanium Elite), which was confirmed a few days before. The day before arrival, I placed an early check-in request via the Marriott app for 1:30 PM. - Arrived around 1:45 PM to be informed by front desk agent #1 that early check-in would not be available, and that hotel check in time was 4:00 PM. Advised that we would be contacted by text/phone when room was available. No issues with this, that is what is published. Left property to explore Cleveland. - Around 4:15 PM, no word, so contacted the property to be told that a room was still not available. - Checked again at 4:45 PM, advised that room was still not available. - At 5:00 PM, went back to the property, in person, to inquire about room status. At this time, desk agent #2, who appeared to be a manager, advised me that "4:00PM is the start of when rooms would be available" and that there is "no guarantee when a room is available." I countered that this would mean, theoretically, if there is no guarantee, they could not give me a room at all. At that point, I was offered a choice to wait for my original room (with *no* guarantee or estimate of when the room would be available) or accept an AHA/wheelchair accessible room. Since I needed to make it to a business dinner at 6:00 PM, I begrudgingly accepted the AHA room. No compensation was offered for the room change or non-availability of my booked room. A separate, but still irritating issue, was the valet wait time. I called from my room to request my vehicle be brought up, was informed that it would be 10 minutes. 34 minutes later, I received my vehicle. I understand COVID has seriously impacted staffing in the hospitality industry. I have had stays where there are delays, but the key difference in those instances were that: 1. Expectations were managed properly/better. For example, tell the guests at check in that valet may take 30+ minutes due to short staff and to call in advance. If rooms cannot be cleaned in time, tell the guest upfront that there is delay in housekeeping due to staffing, that the room booked may not be available on time, and pro-actively offer options or compensation for the inconvenience. 2. The staff apologized and at least understood that they were not delivering to published expectations. In this case, I was stunned to be told by a front desk manager that there is no such thing as a check-in time, as if I were in the wrong. I hope no one else has had an experience like mine, but if you have, I think all we can do as frequent travelers is provide feedback and hope that management notices. ​​​
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings Hardyflyer, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Metropolitan at the 9 and taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations for your check in, room type, and valet parking experience. We take pride in ensuring all of our guests have an amazing experience and we did not meet your expectations. Your experience is not a common experience, but sometimes delays do occur for various reasons. I am sorry these delays impacted your experience with us. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact me directly at 216.239.1200 ext 5115. Theodore Ostapack Director of Front Office
Read more
Alice C wrote a review Jul 2022
Houston98 contributions52 helpful votes
I just returned from three nights at the Metropolitan at the 9 in Cleveland. The location was perfect--blocks from the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Progressive Field, and the theater district. The front desk staff was very pleasant. However, housekeeping was so bad, I would not recommend the hotel. We asked for housekeeping service both Tuesday and Wednesday. On Tuesday, a housekeeper arrived at 4:45 pm and spent less than 5 minutes in our room. She changed the towels and soap (which was unnecessary). She asked, "Did you want your bed made? despite our asking for maid service at the front desk that morning. The next morning, I specified with the front desk, "Please have housekeeping change our sheets." The bed was made some time during the day but sheets were not changed. It also appeared that the room was not straightened, wiped down nor vacuumed during our stay. My recommendation: stay somewhere else if you want better housekeeping or stay some place much less expensive if you don't care about housekeeping. Also, sadly, at least one fly spent the entire three days in our room and in bed with us at night.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Scott B wrote a review Jul 2022
Redondo Beach, California22 contributions15 helpful votes
I recently went to Cleveland to visit family and tour the city. Staying at Metropolitan at the 9 made my trip spectacular. First, the location couldn't be better, right in the middle of Cleveland and in walking distance to most of Cleveland's many attractions. The awesome Heinen's market is literally adjacent, just a few steps away. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and very chic! The service is amazing! Sorry I cannot remember more names but Kendra and Holly both a stars and made me, my partner and our doggie feel very welcome. There are four bars that all serve delicious food but Adega is the only actual restaurant and it is EXCELLENT! From their delicious breakfasts, lunches and dinners, the food was top-quality, many unique choices including several vegetarian, the presentation and service are top-notch, yet the prices are great. The guest suite was impeccably cleaned, very spacious, comfortable with living room and excellent modern styles. The valet guys are also excellent, very courteous, provided great directions and recommendations and they along with much of the staff look like models, including the amazing staff at the EPIC rooftop club/bar Garden of Eden and the super-elegant underground bar Vault. This was our 3rd of 4 Marriott brand hotels in an eleven day trip and though all were excellent, The 9 is at the absolute top. This is the only place I plan to stay on my future trips to Cleveland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Higher floors with beautiful city views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
debbie b wrote a review Jul 2022
Oradell, New Jersey59 contributions60 helpful votes
We just returned from a great stay at this hotel. I spoke to Holly before we checked in, and met Teddy at check in. Also spoke to Tatiana. Such nice people. They upgraded our room to a beautiful room. The hotel is in a great location. The room was super large and very clean. The front desk was very nice. Two televisions and a soaking tub! Nice place to stay. High recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
mwtraynor wrote a review Jul 2022
Saint Paul, Minnesota12 contributions18 helpful votes
We overall had a very good experience. Unlike some recent reviews, we thought the staff were professional and friendly, and the room was very clean. The location is awesome . . . We walked to ballgames and Rock’n’Roll Hall of Fame. Excellent fitness center. We were updated to suite, and room was quiet, with comfortable sitting area. Breakfast at Adega was great. We used Bonvoy points so I’m not sure of value for usual rate. The overall vibe of decor is Vegas bro, with outdated (and questionable) female nude art in rooms and hyper-masculine finishes. We would stay again and recommend if headed to Cleveland.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kevin P wrote a review Jun 2022
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania151 contributions39 helpful votes
We tried our first Autograph hotel in Sioux City IA last year. Loved it. Cool hotel. So this trip, we are trying Autograph hotels. The 9 was our first one. The manager was very nice and upgraded us to the 12th floor. We had a Japanese Soaking Bath and an attached living room. Nice. The rooftop bar was pretty cool. The attached Adega restaurant was nice, Get the the Bolognese pasta. Very good. Down sides. Adega Restaurant outside had great service but very load motorcycle traffic where we ate. TV difficult to figure out how the change channels. The shower was missing the seal at the bottom and water leaked all over the floor. The USB ports weren’t working properly. With emphasis on bars over a pool, this seems like a hotel geared for a younger crowd.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just remember this is the big city, valet parking is $42.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Greetings Kevin P- Thank you for choosing the Metropolitan at The 9 for your recent stay in Cleveland. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the amenities in the room and our restaurant. The Japanese soaking tub is such a great amenity to have after a long day. Thank you for providing the feedback regarding the shower and the usb ports. Our engineering team will resolve these issues immediately. Again, thank you for taking time to highlight your experience at the 9 and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. TK Sanders Director of Rooms
Read more
BP wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Unfortunately I had a very bad experience. I was wrongfully evicted out my room. The GM was very rude and unprofessional to me and my guest. I was denied a refund, and no one wanted to give their names.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Geis Marketing, Owner at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Responded 9 May 2022
Dontbookhere2022, Sir, as you know I was involved in your eviction. The hotel does it's best to accommodate all guests. I do apologize that your stay ended earlier than expected. Kenny Didier, General manager, Metropolitan at the 9 Hotel
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$274 - US$464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesOhioClevelandPlayhouse Square
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection
Which popular attractions are close to Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Nearby attractions include PlayhouseSquare (0.5 km), Heinen's Downtown (0.04 km), and Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Conveniently located restaurants include Marble Room Steaks & Raw Bar, Butcher and the Brewer, and Mabel's BBQ.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Cleveland.
Are pets allowed at Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Metropolitan at The 9, Autograph Collection?
Many travellers enjoy visiting USS Cod Submarine Memorial (1.2 km), Heinen's Downtown (0.04 km), and West Side Market (2.2 km).