Travelodge East Grinstead

Travelodge East Grinstead

Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#2 of 3 hotels in East Grinstead
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Travelodge East Grinstead is an excellent choice for travellers visiting East Grinstead, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

Given the close proximity of popular landmarks, such as Saint Hill Manor (1.3 mi) and Hammerwood Park (2.0 mi), guests of Travelodge East Grinstead can easily experience some of East Grinstead's most well known attractions.

Rooms at Travelodge East Grinstead provide air conditioning, and getting online is easy, with paid internet access available.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to Nest, Bluebells Cafe, or The Mug Tree Tea Room, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Travelodge East Grinstead.

If you’re looking for things to do, you can check out East Grinstead Museum (0.1 mi) or Sackville College Almshouse (0.2 mi), which are popular attractions amongst tourists, and they are all within walking distance.

Enjoy your stay in East Grinstead!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Paid wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming

Location

2 Little King Street, East Grinstead RH19 3DJ England
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 92 out of 100
92
Heathrow Airport
49.4 km
See all flights
Gatwick Airport
12.8 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles404 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Travelodge East Grinstead garners appreciation for its cleanliness and freshly decorated rooms that offer a cozy stay, complete with effective blackout curtains. Its central location is not only convenient for exploring local dining options and the town center but is also popular among guests for short stays due to the hotel's affordability. While the staff's friendly and helpful service frequently earns praise, some guests have pointed out room sizes and noise as minor drawbacks. Overall, this hotel is celebrated for its value and comfortable atmosphere.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
404Reviews5Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 288
  • 75
  • 18
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
OllyGee wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly staff, comfy bed and impressive shower.
The initial welcome made me feel very well looked after and the room was of a fairly high standard.
The bathroom was so-so but the shower worked very well, a rarity in hotels in this price range.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SG31BA wrote a review Sept 2022
Frome, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently stayed at Travelodge in East Grinstead. The hotel is conveniently located but there is only a public car park nearby, which is a bit expensive to park in. The staff are welcoming and the hotel is clean but basic rooms. This hotel chain is somewhat less expensive than comparable hotel chains and these represent good value for money. We had a room on the quiet floor and it was really good; considering the location of the hotel in the middle of East Grinstead, there was also little noise from outside.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Bavarian_Cream wrote a review Jan 2020
Sierra Nevada, Spain
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a great addition to East Grinstead. The hotel is in the centre of town close to shops and amenities. You enter the hotel via a lift if you have luggage which is better than other hotels of a similar price range. The room was a pleasant surprise. It had everything I needed for my short stay and was comfortable and quiet. Loved it and would come again. Only issue was the Wifi connection which I couldn't connect to at all.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
57GMS wrote a review Feb 2020
Ashford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a pleasant enough overnight stay. The hotel is centrally located if that's what you need. The view from the window was the local cinema and Wetherspoons. The bed was comfortable and everything worked. We paid in advance for breakfast, which was admittedly only £5.25 each, but it turned out to be a cardboard box with a tub of cornflakes, a carton of juice, a carton of milk and a muffin. There is nowhere to eat it except back in your room and my box contained a broken plastic spoon so not even anything to eat the cornflakes with! A shame as everything else is okay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge East Grinstead
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our East Grinstead hotel. We're pleased to hear that you were happy with the hotels location and the bed was comfortable however we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with the breakfast box. We appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elena G wrote a review Oct 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As a frequent traveller I stay in many budget hotels, luxury air b n b and even occasionally get to treat myself to a 4 or 5 star hotel. This is the first time in 25 years that a budget hotel has surprised me. It was clean, tidy, low cost. Not a single thing wrong in the room, albeit a small bath tub the shower itself was excellent. The air con, heating worked and allowed sleep without excess noise. The staff, my lord the staff, James and his lady Co worker who's name I unfortunately forget. Sweet, profesional, smart and very clearly, great customer service skills(and with 25 years in the same work area, now training folks, I can spot them,))
So if you want to visit on the bluebell railway definitely book here. We will be going back just for date night! Excellence has raised the bar for travelodge hotels(stay away form Dunkirk)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
James Ward room 210 wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good hotel, small car park to the rear which the generous manager authorised us to use as we were working night shifts.
Ideally placed in town centre, lots of local places to eat and socialise within a ten minute walk.
Some amazing 1500th century buildings to see and walk round on the high street.
The hotel itself is quietly tucked away behind the main town centre road with good noise reduction secondary glazing, ideal for those like myself who need to sleep during the day.
Five star rating from me, would stay again any time.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Den V wrote a review Nov 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for the whole of October and November for work. All the staff here were so welcoming. They were friendly and helpful and really made me feel at home. My job can be dirty work and long hours but it was made better knowing I was coming back to a clean and comfortable room and a cheery, helpful person on reception. I’m a strict vegetarian and was worried about finding places I could get food, but the staff were so helpful with local knowledge about where I could eat and telling me about other local amenities such as the laundry and which shops were where. Despite probably working very long hours themselves everyone was always professional and courteous. A special mention should go to Claire, Helene and David for being incredible and going above and beyond. They really made my stay fabulous.
The hotel itself is well kept and tidy and in a central location that’s handy for shops, cinema, restaurants and the railway. All are within easy walking distance of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel. East Grinstead is a lovely little town for a few nights away and the hotel is in an ideal location for business stays too.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julian Christian Rhoden wrote a review Mar 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I dealt with a lady called Sam who welcomed me with a smile and was very accommodating when sorting and amending my booking and room changes.

I had spent almost 3 months with weekends off and on there and the staff made me feel as temporarily at home as they could. So I appreciate that.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tina C wrote a review Aug 2021
Canterbury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here whilst visiting family in the area.

The room I had was at the rear of the hotel so not overlooking Weatherspoons. Room was clean and there were no noise issues.

Parked in the small car park opposite which is free from 6pm through til 8 am, so if you don't make an early start, just remember to go down and pay for a couple of hours, it's not too dear.

Ideally placed for town.

Would def stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark D W wrote a review Oct 2021
3.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all I was booking ahead of our planning then their wedding venue changed to further than we thought. However I couldn’t call cos I am Deaf, and many forward and backward from Facebook message (no live chat or direly emails) then give up so I pop to my local Travelodge cos need face to face.
On that time those were very friendly and helpful but in end no luck, however the price is crazy so I paid £60 (1st booked) so need transfer to where wedding venue is so that weekend is £200 although one city they have 2 Travelodge’s. Guess what both £30 different. Anyway I keep the 1st booked so drive down and back. But on that sign like when arrive early or late whatever, how can I phone them!!!!!. The manager was “ooooooooo dear” and will put forward so I have meantion to my friend not to go there
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Bookworm
London, United Kingdom78 contributions29 helpful votes
18
Jo J asked a question Sept 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom105 contributions14 helpful votes
Please can any one say is ther many bars and restaurants in eastgrinstead town thanks
Answer from Tanya H
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Yes plenty of places to eat and drink within a 5 min walk from hotel
Answer from Jean-Paul M
Esbly, France13 contributions4 helpful votes
Sorry, I only read your msg today April 22,2019 !, months after you wrote it. But the 3 answers you got from other people are excellent ! I have nothing to add.
Roy H asked a question Jul 2017
East Grinstead, United Kingdom18 contributions5 helpful votes
When (if ever) will they finish building it? What's the real problem? It's long overdue.
Carol C asked a question Jun 2017
Leeds, United Kingdom28 contributions13 helpful votes
When will this hotel be open ??
Answer from Keith B
Forest Row, United Kingdom86 contributions67 helpful votes
Nobody seems to know. It's been a building site for at least two years with very little work in progress.
Kevin Gibbs wrote a tip Jun 2024
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very central and very high standards and Claire and Helena are lovely helpful staff as all others we've seen cleaners so carefully clean eve"
Read full review
Mathew J wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking close by and a variety of places to eat "
Read full review
Kevin Gibbs wrote a tip Sept 2023
11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No great time "
Read full review
ShertieGertie wrote a tip Mar 2023
6 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"MiPermit outlines parking charges for the King Street charges - can be paid on app too for ease"
Read full review
David C wrote a tip Nov 2022
Samford, Australia546 contributions96 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay as you go Car Park is a way away. Best to purchase a day rate for 24 hours. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the East Grinstead area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$406 - HK$812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest SussexEast Grinstead
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE EAST GRINSTEAD - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge East Grinstead
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge East Grinstead?
Nearby attractions include Kings18 (0.03 km), Chequer Mead Theatre (0.3 km), and The Atrium Cinema (0.03 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge East Grinstead?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge East Grinstead?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Travelodge East Grinstead?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge East Grinstead?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hux Burgers, Dom Domingo Steakhouse, and Dorset Arms.
Is Travelodge East Grinstead located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of East Grinstead.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge East Grinstead?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Standen (2.6 km), London Temple of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (5.1 km), and Saint Hill Manor (2.6 km).
Is Travelodge East Grinstead accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All East Grinstead HotelsEast Grinstead Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in East GrinsteadHotels near Travelodge East Grinstead
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire