We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

Visit hotel website
Share
Traveller (58)
Room & Suite (66)
Dining (8)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
About
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible6%
Located on the Cape Fear River, our downtown NC hotel is minutes from water tours, shopping, dining and historic sights. Guests benefit from our free shuttle to and from Wilmington International Airport (ILM), just seven miles from the hotel. Each room offers free Wi-Fi, water views, workstation with ergonomic chair, and HDTV. Other hotel amenities include 24-hour fitness center, outdoor seasonal swimming pool, room service and library. Choose from three onsite dining options. Board & Barrel Coastal Kitchen offers Southern cuisine, indoor/outdoor dining and live weekend entertainment. Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse serves the best steaks in town, or have a locally roasted coffee at Buffalo Bayou. Our onsite convenience store is stocked with snacks and sundries. From small meetings to extravagant waterfront weddings, our expert team coordinate your day with detailed perfection. Enhanced with 17 meeting rooms, AV technology, catering options and space for 800 guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room Service
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Shuttle Bus Service
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Suites
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Marina View
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Offer:Double Points, Every Stay
Hotel deals
Location
Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
148Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
81Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
119
37
27
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
119
37
27
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ruth chris great location city view bell hop valet parking attendants self parking hilton family the river walk great view of the river excellent hotel stayed here for one night per day the cape fear river cotton exchange a great stay cleaning staff top floor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were part of a wedding party which rented out approximately 30 rooms. Check-in was great and the front desk staff were amazing...thats where it ends. After the wedding ceremony, the members staying at the hotel went to the downstairs bar at 8:30pm before going...More

Thank Tour39397698968
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by HiltonResponded 3 days ago

Hello Tour39397698968: We appreciate you choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your concerns. Please accept our apologies for this unfortunate incident and the lack of attentive service. Your feedback will be shared with our team to prevent such issues from happening again...More

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The Ballast is a great value and a very nice hotel right on the river. The location is excellent. The pool is wonderful. The service is very good. I don't think there's a better experience in downtown Wilmington.More

Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Thank hajinnc
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by HiltonResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for the amazing review of the Hotel Ballast. We are glad you both had an outstanding stay and that you found everything we offer to be a great value. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit. Thank you, General...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We stayed next to a couple fighting the entire night. We could hear hear everything and despite our calls to security, their fighting ensued ALL night! The walls were so thin, it sounded like they were fighting in our room. Worst experience at a Hilton,...More

Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Thank Safari08602771792
Response from 00gc, Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by HiltonResponded 6 days ago

Hello Safari08602771792: We appreciate you choosing our hotel and taking the time to share your concerns. Please accept our apologies for the lack of attentive service during this unfortunate incident. Know that your feedback will be shared with appropriate staff to learn and help prevent...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Exceptional time with family/friends at a wedding celebration held at the Ballast. People traveled from places near and far to attend and no one could have asked for better food, accommodations, and service. There was a group rate offered for those attending the wedding which...More

Review collected in partnership with Tapestry Collection by Hilton
Thank PK1389
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by HiltonResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback at the Hotel Ballast Wilmington while you were here for a wedding. We are delighted to know you had an amazing stay and that everything we have to offer left you with a remarkable impression of our hotel. It...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Great location. Great service. We definitely will be staying at Hotel Ballast in the future. Beautiful downtown fun and delicious restaurants right there. Downtown Wilmington is my favorite part of Wilmington.More

Thank Seaside581119
Response from 00gc, General Manager at Hotel Ballast Wilmington, Tapestry Collection by HiltonResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Ballast Wilmington and for your terrific review. We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our outstanding location set in the bustling Downtown Historic District and near many restaurants. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
SweetOviedoHwy
12 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from cbroo | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is. It is downstairs from the lobby and I hope it is operational despite Hurricane Florence.
0
Votes
Elizabeth H
12 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from 65_PB | Reviewed this property |
self park also. valet is good . quick retrieval.
1
Vote
gabrielatravelfun
7 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Robert B | Reviewed this property |
No Sofa. Perhaps in the Suites?
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Riverview rooms available"
lac127
2 weeks ago
Read review
"get a riverfront view - worth the additional cost"
SusanHinCaryNC
22 Sep 2018
Read review
"River view"
marktrussell
9 Sep 2018
Read review
"Book riverside has a great viwe"
21kellya
3 Sep 2018
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$133 - US$301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hilton wilmington riverside hotel wilmingtonwilmington hilton
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina CoastWilmington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
274
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing