Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

1813 S Saunders St I-40/440 at US 70/401, Raleigh, NC 27603-2315
The Suite
Traveller (76)
ADA Bath
Room & Suite (21)
The Lobby
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#30 of 89 hotels in Raleigh
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
You can find this Red Roof PLUS+ in Raleigh, North Carolina conveniently off I-40 and just two miles from the Raleigh Convention Center. Stay with us and be within minutes of your next event at Red Hat Amphitheater, Walnut Creek, PNC Arena, NC State Fair and Koko Booth Amphitheater! We offer all of our guests free Verified Wi-Fi, a free expanded cable package featuring HBO and free coffee in the lobby. Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh Downtown - NCSU/Conv Center is a 100% smoke-free, pet-friendly hotel. The hotel is currently offering limited cleaning for stayover guests. Please see front desk upon arrival for details.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids stay free
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Value
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
483Reviews5Q+A98Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 256
  • 114
  • 61
  • 25
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nevin wrote a review Feb 2020
Boston, Massachusetts11 contributions27 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is perfect if you need somewhere to crash while hanging out in downtown raleigh. The room was probably the cleanest I had in a while. Don't even think about the breakfast you're better off grabbing something outside the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sammy N wrote a review Mar 2020
4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff overall did a great job with the upkeep of the place. Any issue I had they did their best to take care of it ASAP and I really appreciated that. The customer service was stellar. One particular employee stood out by the name of Keon. He displayed professionalism and excellence in all our interactions. Anyways...I will definitely return and return soon.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melanie wrote a review Oct 2021
Columbia, South Carolina4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I just spent four days and three nights at this hotel. The hotel is wonderful. The staff was great, the beds were soft and comfy. We never knew that anyone was on our floor. I would highly recommend it to my friends.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juliette M wrote a review May 2022
Yorktown, Virginia6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This Red Roof has the worst customer service oriented front desk. Through an error, the charge card I used to reserve my room expired and I did not arrive until 10:00 p.m. I was told my reservation was canceled and in order to rebook, I would have to pay way too much for the value of a Red Roof room. While we were sitting in the lobby trying to book a room at the same hotel, the desk person told me no other rooms were available. We were not told there was only 1 room left. And they didn't offer us that room prior to selling it. I will NEVER use another Red Roof Inn!!!!! The Days Inn up the street was much friendlier and offered me a room at the same price as my original booking at Red Roof. Buyer Beware!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Q R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Responded 30 May 2022
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Please know anytime you make a reservation it is only held until 6pm without being guaranteed. At 6pm all reservations are ran and if the credit card onfile is not valid the reservation is canceled. Memorial weekend is a very busy weekend so as reservations were being canceled people were continuing to book via online if available or by phone. Im sorry that we were sold out nd not able to hold a room for you all pass 6pm. In the future if you are aware that there is a issue with the card provided please call and add a new card to your reservation. Thank you again and I do hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you on your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PurpleLady1958 wrote a review Mar 2023
North Carolina3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I normally do not stay at Red Roof Inns, but I had such a pleasant experience in Greensboro, NC that I thought I would try it. This one was in Raleigh, NC.

The room was not ready at 3pm as they advertise; I arrived at 345pm. I always request the first floor due to an issue with my leg. I would have to wait for an hour or take a room on the second floor. So, I had to walk my luggage up to the second floor because the elevator was out of order.

There was dust in the room and the furniture was worn. They also charge you for using the safe up front, even if you do not plan to use it and will credit you the following day if you ask. Really!

Clearly, I will not be staying at this Red Roof Inn again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: People were talking loudly in the hallway and using profanity.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Madison RediResponse Speciliast, Marketing at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the RED ROOF PLUS+ RALEIGH DOWNTOWN - NCSU/CONV CENTER. We are sorry you had a less than satisfactory experience, prompting your 2/5 score following your stay. You indicated that the elevator was broken, the lack of cleanliness as it relates to your room and the other concerns you highlighted hindered your experience. I have notified management of your feedback in an effort to address your concerns. Thanks to your feedback we can continue to work on improving the quality of our services, in order to provide our guests with an exceptional experience. Thank you for sharing your concerns and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Very truly yours, Samantha RediResponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy H wrote a review Mar 2022
Fletcher89 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I really wanted to like this accommodation as it had a fantastic location close to the interstate and downtown, but that was about it. The employers were nice but this is a no frills stay. You got a room with a squeaky and lumpy mattress. It definitely could have been cleaner. The floors were gummy and sticky. The bathroom did not smell, but it just didn't look very clean. You had to get your towels at the front desk as there was no room service until you left. Snack and food machines will take your money....if they are working at all. Coffee bar in the morning only had sugar, no creamer. So the 2 stars I gave it was for nice employees and location. Remember, you get what you pay for and not a thing more!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Q R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Hello, I just want to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your stay with us. Please rest assured that your most recent experience is not the type of experience that I find acceptable and can assure you that I will personally follow up with my housekeeping team members to make sure that there is an immediate improvement in their attention to detail when servicing the rooms that are to be provided to our guests. I sincerely thank you as it is through feedback as yours that allows us an opportunity to improve.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stacy T wrote a review Jan 2020
Concord9 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this room for our daughter's college graduation. We even paid kore for the premium room and it was a disater. We couldn't even take a shower because someone else's drain line was backing up in the tub. We tols them about it and all they said was sorry, we can let you shower in another room. What should have been said is we can put you into another room. Will not be staying here ever again. And do you think we got a discount for the stay? Negative. We left after 1 night of a 2 night stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pamela W wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
1) The staff was so friendly, as soon as we walked in the door Brandon at the front desk acknowledged us with a smile & a warm hello.

2) He made it so easy to get a room, I thought I had registered online but I had not finished my reservation. No problem for Brandon; within minutes we had our key.

3) The room was very clean & inviting. A very quiet place for a good night's sleep.

4) As I walked in to check out Deasia greeted me with a beautiful smile to start my day.
KUDOS!!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RediResponse Specialist, Marketing at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Hello Pamela, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the RED ROOF PLUS+ RALEIGH DOWNTOWN - NCSU/CONV CENTER. Thank you for your 5/5 rating. It's thrilling to hear how hospitable our staff were which created a wonderful experience for you. I'm happy you liked our clean and quiet rooms. Positive guest feedback, like yours, is always an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future. Sincerely, Recordo Rediresponse Specialist
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Phishow wrote a review Sept 2015
Fairfax, California145 contributions442 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here to attend a concert at Walnut Creek. The hotel is pretty close. About a 8 minute drive door-to-door. The pictures on the internet make the rooms much better looking than they really are. There seemed to be a little bit of a sketchy vibe to the place and people staying there. It didn't seem very far from downtown as we went to dinner there. I guess you get what you pay for as the rate was pretty cheap. Nothing horrible but if I find myself in Raleigh, I will be looking for a different place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM0256, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Responded 25 Sept 2015
Thanks so much for staying with us. I'm glad to hear that our location was convenient for you to attend the event at Walnut Creek. Please consider us on your next visit to Raleigh. Have a wonderful day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
burlybears wrote a review Sept 2018
Raleigh, North Carolina5 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Anyone else stay here last weekend during hurricane Florence? No power, partial
power, no air conditioning, water soaked floors, no elevator or ice..... all for jacked up to $129 a night rooms ($40 more than the usual rate). No cancelling reservation for reward stays. Penalized and losing reward nights for checking out early due to the conditions. The hotel wasn’t sold out. Prices should have been dropped, not increased, under these conditions. This is taking advantage of impacted individuals and price gouging! Even today, any and all possible discounts were not available (veteran, red hot deals, AAA, senior rates, etc...). I have reached out to hotel management and corporate offices. Thus far, no response other than “Sorry. Hope to see you again”. I am contemplating a formal complaint to the Better Business Bureau. Please advise if you have concerns and a complaint as to business practices and we can circle wagons for a comprehensive complaint to BBB and make media outlets aware. Management can blame rates on it being an “event weekend”... WHAT? The event was a hurricane!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GM0256, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Responded 27 Sept 2018
Burlybears, thank you for your response. I am sorry to see that we were not able to satisfy your needs during the hurricane. My apologies that you did not see the signs posted stating Raleigh was in the path of the storm and we may lose power. Unfortunately, as with any loss of power we were unable to operate the elevator, ice machine and any other appliance until power was restored. We moved any guest who chose to do so to other hotels without penalty. Per our phone conversation, your reward stay was credited back to your account. Thank you again for staying with us. Have a great day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica C asked a question Jan 2019
Chester, New York1 contribution2 helpful votes
How are the beds? Firm or soft?
Answer from TDSBS
6 contributions14 helpful votes
Firm. But stay away, the hotel is a dump!
Answer from burlybears
Raleigh, North Carolina5 contributions12 helpful votes
The manager is lying and said we were given the option to cancel and move. She said we were Given letters as to rates and no refunds. I’m filing my BBB complaint now. I suggest you do the same.
Answer from GM0256
raleigh5 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello. We have muffins, Danish, apples, oranges, bananas, instant oatmeal, grits, coffee, and a juice machine.
BetsyB96 asked a question May 2015
Charlotte, North Carolina46 contributions13 helpful votes
What do you mean by Tier 1 and Tier 2?
Answer from jal9556
Atlanta Ga80 contributions26 helpful votes
The difference between them is a very basic room and a room with a few amenities. There is no hair dryer in the lower tier room.
SheilaBord asked a question Feb 2019
Valencia, Spain410 contributions127 helpful votes
Can I get Amazon delivery at the hotel?
Michael R wrote a tip 10 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pool was filthy and located near nothing convenient "
Read full review
PurpleLady1958 wrote a tip Mar 2023
North Carolina3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"People were talking loudly in the hallway and using profanity."
Read full review
Brandon Smith wrote a tip Jul 2019
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is one of the only Redroof Inns with bigger rooms"
Read full review
John Y wrote a tip May 2019
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very quiet except the rooms near the lobby area."
Read full review
cstroupe1015 wrote a tip Feb 2019
15 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"not possible"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Raleigh area.
PRICE RANGE
HK$648 - HK$749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
red roof inn raleigh downtown ncsu hotel raleigh, raleigh red roof inn
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaRaleighCaraleigh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED ROOF PLUS+ RALEIGH NCSU - CONVENTION CENTER - Updated 2024

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Which popular attractions are close to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Nearby attractions include Trolley Pub (2.3 km), Crazy Axe (3.4 km), and Tic Toc Escapes (5.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and facilities for disabled guests.
Which room amenities are available at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Conveniently located restaurants include Second Empire Restaurant & Tavern, Angie's Restaurant, and Bida Manda.
Are pets allowed at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Historic Yates Mill County Park (5.3 km), Mordecai Historic Park (4.4 km), and Historic Oakwood (4.1 km).
Is Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Raleigh HotelsRaleigh Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RaleighHotels near Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire