We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highlands Inn

Save
Share
420 Main St, Highlands, NC 28741-8447
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (107)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (1)

About

#5 of 6 hotels in Highlands
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

See why so many travellers make Highlands Inn their hotel of choice when visiting Highlands. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a luxury setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

Rooms at Highlands Inn offer a flat screen TV and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Breakfast will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Highlands Inn, free parking is available.

If you like Asian restaurants, Highlands Inn is conveniently located near Asia House.

If you’re looking for something to do, Glen Falls (0.4 mi), The Bascom (0.5 mi), and Cliffside Lake Recreation Area (1.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Highlands Inn.

At Highlands Inn, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Highlands.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Romantic
219Reviews2Q+A46Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 47
  • 22
  • 25
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
BYOKetchup wrote a review Jun 2022
EASTCOAST14 contributions14 helpful votes
The Highlands Inn has been a fantastic location in a gem of a town for many years. We celebrated our anniversary there earlier in June. Not the first time! During covid, we also visited. At that time, they were not serving the fantastic breakfasts of the past, but gave us a voucher for the deli down the road (excellent)! 2022 we paid so much more for our front porch room, even during the week. There was a breakfast. Some juice. This year, a big truck moved antiques from the other property. Hang on Highlands Inn! Nothing else quite like you.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Thomas K wrote a review Oct 2021
Bethesda, Maryland24 contributions4 helpful votes
Very threadbare and tired interior. Musty odor throughout. Staff less than friendly. Breakfast meager. Interior carpet is worn and has holes on stairway. Many areas dirty. Room had spiderwebs, old socks s as bd dirty carpet with musty odor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sg22255 wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
This is an authentic historic country Inn. Not shabby, not run down. I am so glad we did not pay attention to these reviews. Some people want Brands and Franchises. This is not that!! Cannot say enough good things about it. It is very well maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MJP wrote a review Nov 2019
Georgia6 contributions2 helpful votes
We have tried to speak to Sabrina [-], the manager, personally about our stay at the Inn. We have made numerous phone calls and sent 2 emails asking her to return our call to no avail. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Travel04287973842 wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Upon arriving we found that our Expedia booking was not valid because we have a dog and the Inn doesn’t allow dogs because of concerns with damage to a historical property. Seeing our distress at this news, the lady behind the desk made a phone call to help us find a solution- the Gazebo room, It is owned by and sits directly behind the Inn, in the middle of their magical garden complete with a “frog pond”. With the approval from the Inn’s owner, we had a place to stay. The room was beautifully appointed, roomy, comfortable, and absolutely delightful. Street parking was steps from the entrance to the garden and Gazebo, yet the room was very quiet. The Highlands Inn is located right in the center of shopping and restaurants on Highland’s Main Street. So convenient! We certainly will stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from dania30346, Manager at Highlands Inn
Responded 14 Sep 2019
Thank you for your kind review! I am so Happy that Diana was able to Get you in the cottage. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Read more
Lindsey N wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Overpaid ($309/night) for a musty dark room. Breakfast was included but VERY minimal (raisin brain or Cheerios, hard boiled eggs, biscuit). Hotel concierge/staff never spoke to us except for when we checked in (night shift Gary was great and the only person who showed us hospitality). Conveniently located but absolutely not worth it to stay here. Customer service not impressive and kitchen staff not kind. When I called to book the room originally the concierge suggested a favorite room but upon arrival it was the smallest and musty-est room on the property. Felt like he was just trying to get us to book. The historic nature of the hotel was charming, but the ceiling had water stains, wallpaper peeling off, and hairs on our towels daily (except for the day we didn’t get towels and had to dry off with bath mats). I hate to give a bad review but want to let others know true expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from dania30346, Manager at Highlands Inn
Responded 14 Sep 2019
Thank you for your review. I am sorry for your disappointment. I have researched your reservation. I found you made reservations for a rock garden king and were placed in room 44, A very lovely room Which most Likely was a staff favorite. One week after the res was made, you called back stating you must have a patio room. Upon arrival,You did not like the patio room and were shown the remaining available room we had in the Inn for the Labor Day weekend. You wanted the front Porch room, which is the most expensive but a lovely room that opens to our front porch on main street. Definitely worth the price difference. We do not have wallpaper in any guest rooms at the Inn. That was removed years ago, therefore not sure where you spotted wallpaper peeling. As far as hairs in towels, I have not seen this as our commercial washers and dryers do a fairly good job with our laundry. Our staff is normally very friendly, so These concerns have definitely sparked my attention and I will be addressing them with staff. Our breakfast items you mention are extras. Daily, we have hot cooked items for our guest to choose. Ordering off the menu is not included, however we do offer Inn guests a variety of options. I note that you state your stay was horrible, However you decided on Sunday to extend your reservation for another night after staying three nights. This is Not indicative of a guest who is disappointed and does not recommend that others stay here. Again, I apologize for any inconveniences you had during your stay. I am happy to speak with you on a personal level and address your concerns.
Read more
Hotel Review1 wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I was disappointed! The first room offered was musty and dark. We were referred to another hotel, the Highlands Lodge. Upon returning to the Inn, there was no hot water and cable service TV was limited. The Inn is a nice location and has been on the National Historic Record but needs much renovation. We were told the room offered at first was blocked for renovation, not for occupancy. The rooms on the lower level do not have elevator service. Rooms at the Lodge are less expensive but offered at the same rate as the Inn. For our trouble there was no refund when asked or free breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upper floors seem better. Do not accept a room on their lower level.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from dania30346, Manager at Highlands Inn
Responded 14 Sep 2019
We are certainly sorry for your disappointment. Thank you for your review. I always like to get both sides to the story published here. You reserved the most inexpensive room available on a third party booking site without breakfast that came at a discounted room rate of $30 per night over our regularly published rates. Total savings to you, $120!! That room was a patio room. To throw off on the Inn because of your disappointment surrounding the cheaper room you booked is unfair. It is True that there are no windows on this interior hallway, however the patio doors open up to the back patio garden area( just the opposite side of the building opens to the front porch which would be main street). Upon your arrival, you did not want to be on The patio, ground level, Most likely due to stairs, but you needed twin beds. Since we have only 3 rooms in the Inn with two beds, we offered you the option of looking at our lodge property that has several rooms with two beds. That rate was the same as the DISCOUNTED rate you received off your discount rate website you used, so no, there was no additional discounts off your reservation. The remaining rooms with twins that were above your pricing tier were temporarily out of order due to the installation of a new water heater and those rooms not having hot water during the early afternoon hours. I might note that you arrived early, prior to our 4 pm checkin and we were happy to oblige and allow early check in. Upon your return from The lodge and your dissatisfaction that we would not discount the lodge rate, we had our new water heater installed and the other rooms back On line. Our desk clerk was happy to move you to one of these more expensive rooms at no Additional charge to you. Our rooms have new carpet and new paint. We do this every winter when we close for The season. We also remodeled the bathrooms in all the rock garden rooms two years ago with brand new tile, tubs, toilets, vanities and fixtures. These rooms also have new settees and/or easy chairs or wingbacks. We have never had a problem with our cable tv. We receive over 100 channels. Again, we apologize for Your frustrations but felt we needed to set the record straight.
Read more
mpesommer wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
We checked into our room, which had the name plate "Nanthala" on the door. We chuckled when entering because the spelling is actually Nantahala. As prophecy would have it, around 11 pm that evening water starting dripping from the ceiling from the rain outside, and eventually became a substantial leak in our room. We contacted the front desk and they were able to get us into another room, although smaller and an inconvenience, especially since we had to pack up our stuff and it was our anniversary. The next day we contacted the owner through the staff and asked for some sort of compensation for our inconvenience, to be told that there was nothing they would do. Our opinion is that the customer service is terrible and to be honest the place needs a good cleaning - everything is dirty and smells like you are deep in a musty, moldy forest. So if you are looking for a true "Nanthala" experience with little customer service, this is your place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Shaycor, General Manager at Highlands Inn
Responded 31 Jul 2019
Thank you for your review. We do apologize about the ceiling drip in your room, as it was an unusual evening of torrential rains from Hurricane Barry with the driving rain and winds sending the water to places it would have never have gone, otherwise. We did give you a credit for The room rate difference and even offered to upgrade you to our nicest historic room On the front porch at no additional Cost, to which you declined. It’s True, Nantahala is one of our National Forests. Our room ‘Nanthala’ has nothing to with that, but I’m happy to see you got a chuckle and enjoyed yourself. We appreciate the feedback.
Read more
Z487JYscottr wrote a review Jul 2019
Cleveland, Tennessee3 contributions1 helpful vote
For a $500 room for 2 nights not very impressed. It has a good location that’s it. Be aware there is no parking just have to find a spot on the road & carry your luggage. Our TV didn’t work & they just said unplug it, maintenance is gone. We’ll be back we just won’t stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
rbsh8675309 wrote a review Jul 2019
Plano, Texas1 contribution3 helpful votes
We were here July 2019 for 5 days. I Made our reservation on booking.com, although we thought it was the hotels main website.It wasn't. If you book with a third party, you do not get their complimentary breakfast and the rates with those third party sites may even be more. I understand this because the hotel has to pay a 20-25 % commission and since most all of the hotels in the town do not offer complimentary breakfast anyway, we could not have found a better value with the location and the loveliness here. We had not one complaint except that we were not smart enough to realize we weren't on the Inn's main site when we booked the reservation. The Inn has Some of the most beautiful antiques throughout the place that I have ever seen, front desk staff were friendly and even though we had some rain showers during the days we were there, we had a wonderful time. You won't want to miss this little Inn.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$371 - US$481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
highlands hotel highlands
LOCATION
United StatesNorth CarolinaNorth Carolina MountainsHighlands
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Highlands Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Highlands Inn?
Nearby attractions include Highland Excursion (0.1 km), Highlands Playhouse (0.1 km), and Highlands Wine Shoppe (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Highlands Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Highlands Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Highlands Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Highlands Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ristorante Paoletti, Wolfgang's Restaurant & Wine Bistro, and Kilwins Highlands.
Is Highlands Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Highlands.
Are there any historical sites close to Highlands Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sky Valley Overlook (13.5 km).