We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Al Minar

Visit hotel website
Traveller (106)
Panoramas (6)
Dining (24)
Travellers' Choice 2018 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Located just a stone’s throw from Zanzibar’s historic Stone Town, the Al-Minar hotel is located centrally amidst the tourist district of Forodhani Gardens along the beach. The hotel itself embodies the essence of Zanzibar offering hand-carved beds, local artwork and the best local cuisine with modern amenities including state of the art bathroom, hot water and electricity backed by a generator. The best nightlife on the island is located minutes away as are the best restaurants, shops and other tourist destinations. Our hotel concierge will be happy to assist you with any arrangements regarding recreational activities during your visit. The rooftop restaurant at Al-Minar serves up an array of mouthwatering delicacies including local, Asian and Continental cuisine and the restaurants atmosphere showcases the spirit of stone town. tastefully decorated using local workmanship with modern amenities, the Al-Minar Hotel offers the best that Zanzibar has to offer with international flair
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Reviews & more
34Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 164
  • 131
  • 29
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Great location in Stone Town and housed in an nteresting building. The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are cleaned well. We had two twin rooms which were reasonably sized and clean. The bathrooms were on the smaller size. The breakfast was disappointing. We
Read more
Response from Santosh G, General Manager at Al Minar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Greetings of the day !! First of all thank you so much for the constructive feedback; we will for sure do the necessary improvements where needed. we are really embarrassed to see how disappointed you were with our breakfast. but we will take this as our room to grow. once again thank you very much for honestly pointing out the things you were not pleased with. on your next visit, i personally promise you that you wont have any disappointments. we look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards Santosh Giri General Manager
Read more
Due to my prolonged business trip, I had no hesitation in extending my stay twice over. All credit to the superb management team led by Santosh. Looking forward to my next visit in 2019 after the hotel has been extended and refurbished😊
Read more
Response from Santosh G, General Manager at Al Minar
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr. Bash, we are very happy to know that your stay with was very pleasant. we all miss you here;and it was a pleasure being your host. we all look forward to welcome you again in 2019. Happy New year !! Best Regards Santosh Giri General Manager
Read more
This is a small hotel in the middle of Stone Town. It is managed by Mr Santosh, a lovely local who is super helpful, and a small staff. The room I stayed in was adequately sized and tastefully decorated with nice carpets, a 4-poster bed and nice furnishings. Air con was
Read more
We were a bit disappointed. The room was ok for a night though the walls were very dirty. The low season rate was a good value for money. The staff at the reception was helpful. But the breakfast was very low quality and the staff on the roof was not very friendly. We
Read more
After reading these reviews I felt that I stayed in a different hotel than others. I based my choice solely on the reviews here, and this is the first time when I felt let down by tripadvisor. We came here after a long and dusty safari stay in a bush camp. I was tired, cranky
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Room at Al Minar
Room at Al Minar
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAl Minar
The Standard Twin Room at the Al Minar
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAl Minar
The Executive Room at the Al Minar
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAl Minar
The Executive Room at the Al Minar
Dear Ian, Greetings from Alminar, please check your inbox, i have responded to all your queries. Best Regards Santosh Giri
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear Fatma, kindly advise us the time of the year you would like to visit. and accordingly we can offer you the best possible rates. should you have any further queries, please feel free to contact us at ( santosh @ alminarhotel. com) Regards Santosh Giri
0 votes
Show all answers
Tourist tax and deposit amount for stay?
Dear Guest, you will not have to pay any tourist tax and no pre- deposit for the stay will be collected. Regards santosh
0 votes
Show all answers
"There is no life so if stairs are a problem book on the lower floors"
"Corner Room 104 wifi is weak."
"Talk to the manager. He is accessible and goes out of his way to help."
"If mobility is a problem, choose a room on the first floor. The area is not noisy at night, so your sleep should be undisturbed. ht"
"The front desk staff and been very helpful arranging tours and with recommendations."
US$69 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
TanzaniaZanzibar ArchipelagoZanzibar IslandZanzibar CityStone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing