We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
42-24 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101-4217
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (258)
Room & Suite (113)
Dining (15)

About

#16 of 42 hotels in Long Island City
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Red Lion Inn & Suites - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe all come standard with your room.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
72Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
651Reviews44Q+A64Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 133
  • 316
  • 138
  • 31
  • 33
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
NMartGB wrote a review Jul 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom36 contributions20 helpful votes
Adequate hotel with comfortable bed. Relatively clean but tired e.g flush doesn't work well, decor old fashioned. My main issue was the incredible level of noise from the aerial railways and roads. I couldn't sleep even with earplugs. Location is excellent close to several subway lines. On balance, good value for New York but be aware that you might struggle to sleep due to the overwhelming noise.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
LSJUMBOF wrote a review Sep 2021
Carmichael, California11 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
I had a great stay here in August 2021. I was in NYC for a week visiting family. This location was convenient to my family’s place in Brooklyn, convenient to LaGuardia Airport, and had many shops and restaurants within 3 blocks. The place was clean and well-run. The bed was quite comfortable; I slept well all week. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi was free and speedy. Everything in the bathroom worked perfectly. There were more than enough places to conveniently plug in and recharge my electronic devices. A couple of very minor routine issues were very quickly and easily resolved. Due to COVID restrictions, they were not serving breakfast, but were providing coffee and tea in the mornings. The rates were low for the area, and the place was quite a bargain. It’s designed to satisfy a traveller’s basic needs, and it does that well. If you’re looking for a luxury experience, you should keep looking; but if having a clean, comfortable, well-run room in a convenient location fits your desires, you would be happy staying here!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Rena O wrote a review Nov 2021
Watervliet, New York7 contributions11 helpful votes
General manager Nabin was so rude on the phone. My son had his wallet stolen so I was paying for his hotel stay through Priceline. Nabin said he can’t stay there as he needs a credit card for incidentals. I offered to give him mine over the phone (I don’t live in the city) and he refused. He was awful. I would stay clear of this crappy hotel. Ended up booking a much better hotel for less than this crappy 2 star hotel and they were happy to take my info over the phone. PLEASE don’t give them your business. Nabin needs to be fired ASAP
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Dear Rena, For the safety and security of our guests, the primary cardholder for the reservation must be present during check-in, as we are unable to take card information over the phone and verify who you say you are. Our apologies for not being able to be of further assistance with this matter. Thank you for your feedback, and we wish you well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carmen L wrote a review Sep 2021
Puerto Rico7 contributions3 helpful votes
After making my reservation, the airline changes the schedule and while I was traveling through the app the reservation is canceled, I proceed to communicate multiple times with the hotel and they NEVER wanted to reinstall the reservation and even so they left it canceled, they do not want to give me options. There are no options, there is no refund, there is nothing to do, the deal has been the worst when I contacted them.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Responded 22 Sep 2021
Dear Carmen, We're disappointed to hear about the miscommunication with your reservation. Rest assured, this issue will be discussed internally as we continue to strive for clear and efficient communication with our guests. Do not hesitate to reach out to us again directly if there is anything more we can help you with. All the best and safe travels ahead.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jay B wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Room had no towels, upon check-in receptionist told us (myself and another guest who checked-in moments apart) that towels would be sent up when they arrive none was ever sent......walls are thin I was actually hearing the guests next door doing their business in the middle of the night, after traveling 15 + hours from Atlanta by bus I arrived tired, asked if it was possible to check-in early (an hour and a half before regular check-in time) I was told it would be $58 + taxes which I thought was absolutely ridiculous she said I couldn't even stay in a lobby area to wait so I went across the street bought a bubble tea just to sit in the shop to pass the time.....never again would I use this place. and it had no breakfast as advertised and one week later my deposit is not back on my card
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services, Guest Services / Front Office at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Dear Jay, Thank you for your feedback. Please know that we do what we can to ensure a pleasant stay, so it is unfortunate that not everything was as expected. While we must be strict with our policies, we're sorry to hear that you had to wait longer than you anticipated before checking in. At this time, please know that our usual breakfast offerings have been altered to ensure a safe environment for our guests during the current pandemic. Regarding your deposit, please know that any funds are returned at check-out, though it may take 7 - 10 business days to become available to you, depending on your bank. We apologize for any inconvenience and have asked our team to look into your concerns so we can ensure a better experience for our future guests. It would be our pleasure to improve your perceptions should your travels point you back in our direction.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacqueline Carpenter wrote a review Dec 2019
London, United Kingdom152 contributions39 helpful votes
Staying here for a week. Lovely small, cosy, clean base. Perfect location 5 minutes walk to metro station and 2 stops to 5th avenue. Our room is spotless,cleaned every day with new complimentary toiletries. Generous breakfast and all day tea and coffee available. Charming, helpful, friendly, happy staff. It's been a pleasure and would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Melissa L wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Pro was location. You can see the subway one block away. I felt fairly safe in neighborhood walking around at night. Nice variety at breakfast but cafe only had 4 tables and were always full. Small breakfast area. Lobby was clean and updated but hallways and rooms are not. Toilet never flushed right. 2 out of 3 ice machines didnt work. No vending machines worked. The front doors dont ever lock so anyone can walk in and get to the elevator. Staff was friendly. Beds were comfortable and pillows. Quiet neighborhood. Alarm clock kept going off every morning at 5am even though I turned the alarm feature off everyday. I just unplugged it. Rooms and hallways need freshing up. They are dark and gloomy. Window air conditioner duct taped and leaking in the hallway. Several convenience stores and restaurants around the corner. Nice fresh juice shop too. Overall worth a lower price and would stay there again due to location and price. Only 20 minutes to many places.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Brian Ovin wrote a review Nov 2019
Arusha Region, Tanzania223 contributions129 helpful votes
The staff were helpful, friendly and the rooms clean but small. The location is not very close to times square, empire state building and the general downtown area of broadway New York. Their breakfast is good although the space is small. My bed wasn't stable, as if the base had broken when we checked in but we called them and they fixed it fast.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RedL239, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Responded 25 Nov 2019
Dear staajabuatravel, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, YJ Ahn General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrs Jones wrote a review Nov 2019
Houston, Texas2 contributions3 helpful votes
i would have gave this place 5 stars as i genuinely enjoyed my two nights at the hotel itself - great room, close to the subway, great fast food restaurants around, free breakfast which wasn't bad, only thing that made my stay at the hotel uncomfortable was one of the the female receptionists, she looked so miserable and dismissed a question i asked, so i asked her again and she just gave me a look and answered so rudely i felt so angry,. but i wasn't going to let a miserable person ruin my trip, funny thing is another guest said the same thing during breakfast like someone who makes the business look bad should either be re-trained or fired. anyway guys the hotel itself is great i highly recommend and oh the young female receptionists who sat next to the elevator was very helpful. just the one who sat next to her had VERY VERY POOR customer service skills.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from RedL239, General Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Responded 25 Nov 2019
Dear LindaJones312, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, YJ Ahn General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michele T wrote a review Oct 2019
Ladner, Canada22 contributions29 helpful votes
Just came home from staying at this hotel. If you don’t want to be in the city, it’s a bit quieter. A few restaurants around, but not much. Give the area 2 years and there will be more. The Hotel, tired would be a good description. Rips in the towels, things broken, wallpaper peeling, 3 ice machines only one working, and an awful elevator. The continental breakfast was not worth it. Egg substitute mix for eggs and not a lot of choice. For an 80 people plus hotel there were 16 seats in a 8’ x 30’ room. Staff was nice but not helpful with the area, in fact told us it wasn’t safe to walk around. We did not find that at all and walked from the diner at 9:30 pm. Great restaurants close - Court Square Diner (opened 1946)- cheap home cooked meals, big portions) Sapps Japanese Food (good food, nice atmosphere) Luzzo’s - about a block away, really good I was travelling with vegetarians, and all had options.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RLResponse, Guest Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Responded 26 Oct 2019
Dear Michele, Though our location gave you easy access to various restaurants, we'd like to apologize for not meeting your standards when it comes to our amenities and service. Your feedback will be considered as an opportunity for various updates in the future. Please consider choosing us again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn hotel long island city, long island city comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn
LOCATION
United StatesNew YorkQueensLong Island City
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City
Which popular attractions are close to Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Nearby attractions include SculptureCenter (0.3 km), The Secret Theatre (0.3 km), and Brooklyn Boulders (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Baroness, Il Falco, and Dutch Kills.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Long Island City.
Are there any historical sites close to Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The National 9/11 Memorial & Museum (7.4 km), World Trade Center Memorial Foundation (7.4 km), and Hamilton Park (6.8 km).
Is Red Lion Inn & Suites Long Island City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.