We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shawmont Hotel

{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Shawmont is a fully refurbished 30 room hotel facing the Ocean, in historic Ocean Grove NJ right on the NJ shore. All rooms have private baths, AC, and Cable TV. Built in 1865 all rooms have updated and many have outstanding ocean views.
Read more
Property amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Accessible rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gems
Location
Full view
88Good for walkers
Grade: 88 out of 100
132Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
32Attractionswithin 0.5 km
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
55
40
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
40
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews instant oatmeal bagels rocking chairs front porch watermelon asbury park two single beds cream cheese second floor terrace facing shower chair great location overlooking the ocean my elderly mother stairs are steep room was very clean and comfortable off season top floor
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

RUDE STAFF. Ruined reservations that were booked since August for an October wedding. Sent defamation e-mails in regards to the bride and groom. Never was told about a 2 night minimum by your SUB BAR staff and when we expressed concern, the wedding party gets...More

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Marissa S
Response from Anna W, Manager at Shawmont HotelResponded 27 September 2018

We want to start this by saying how unfortunate this situation is and we apologize we can no longer accommodate the guest apart of this room block. We have never had to permanently ban any prospective guest at our hotel therefore this is new territory...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018

My party of 16 (8 rooms) enjoyed a most wonderful long weekend at the Shawmont Hotel. It was PERFECT for what we needed: walking distance to food, drink (Asbury Park), shopping, sights, beach! Being just across the street from the beach was SO convenient. The...More

Date of stay: July 2018
1  Thank Terryyk
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Shawmont Hotel is in a great location--right across from the beach and offers a very nice continental breakfast and lovely staff. The room was very disappointing--the decor was dated, the bathroom needed an overhaul--there was chipped paint everywhere, rust, an old bandaid in the dilapidated...More

Date of stay: August 2017
4  Thank jetwirl
Response from Anna W, Manager at Shawmont HotelResponded 20 June 2018

We are sorry you were not satisfied with your accommodation at the Shawmont hotel. From your description it sounds like you stayed in our standard room. Our standard room is the most affordable option due to its size and limitations. We continuously make updates to...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We have stayed at the Shawmont more than once over the years. It is our favorite hotel in Ocean Grove. The hotel was bought by new owners in 2004, and they've really made the Shawmont a fantastic place. They've renovated the place, and the rooms...More

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank ESBehh
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Having stayed at other hotels in Ocean Grove over the years, I can honestly say that the Shawmont is one of the nicest, if not the nicest in town. Our recent visit did much to reinforce that belief! As always, the staff were friendly and...More

Date of stay: September 2017
1  Thank Steven C
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Carole S
13 August 2015|
Answer
Response from AuntRuth001 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is a ramp. You'd need to request a room on the first floor, and please tell them what you need. They are always willing to help when they can! Ruth
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Pick Somewhere Else To Stay"
330marissas
25 Sep 2018
Read review
"Some of the rooms have terraces - would try to get one of those if you prefer some privacy."
Terryyk
17 Jul 2018
Read review
"The rooms with an ocean view are clearly the best, but also most in demand."
876stevenc
10 Sep 2017
Read review
"Book early to reserve an ocean view room"
flyingdandelion
29 Aug 2017
Read review
Show More 
ALSO KNOWN AS
shawmont hotel ocean grove
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreOcean Grove
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing