We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sheraton Eatontown Hotel

Save
Share
6 Industrial Way E, Eatontown, NJ 07724-3317
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
Snaptravel
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (23)
Room & Suite (43)
Dining (3)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 27/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Updated 27/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Eatontown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Whether traveling to New York, Philadelphia, or Atlantic City, Sheraton Eatontown Hotel is centrally located, near major highways and close to the Jersey Shore, Atlantic City, and Seaside Heights.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shops
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
76Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 38
  • 6
  • 7
  • 6
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Williampaul V wrote a review Aug 2021
Toms River, New Jersey1 contribution
This has to be the absolute worst experience I have ever had at a supposedly any star hotel. This was more like a roadside motel that is in the middle of nowhere and has not seen a visitor in a couple of years. The check-in time was 3pm, I had called an hour an half earlier to see if we could check-in sooner, we were informed that 3pm was the time ,not before. When we arrived at 2:40pm, the front desk said 3pm check-in because the room still needed to be cleaned. Around 3:20 pm we went back to the front desk and was informed, just a little longer, the room housekeeping was still not done. One would think that if the front desk was informed an hour and half proir to the 3pm check-in that they would at least have the room ready by the time they had said it would be ready. The room was sub-stanard and the air conditioning stopped working about an hour and half into the stay. When we called to have the air conditioning fixed, a staff member tried to reboot the system. An hour later,the staff member returned to replace the thermostat , but this did not fix the problem. Around 10:45pm another staff member brought up two disgusting fans that were dirty. The staff member then said be careful the fans are not clean, but had made no attempt prior to bringing the fans to the room and have them cleaned. Something that would probably be done in a professional setting where you pride in taking the money from patrons in return for the hospitality that is being charged for. Through all this then tried to go to bed and have the covers pulled off and have discovered the bed sheets stained with something that could not be determined. I went down to the front desk to let them know that the bed sheets were dirty, I was told that there was no housekeeping available, but I could be handed some sheets and I could put them on myself. I have to say, what an incredibly horrible experience and unprofessional management here at the Eatontown Sheraton hotel. If I was asked to rate this experience of my stay, I would be obligated to say, I would never stay at a Sheraton hotel again and would let people know of this unprofessional and unpleasant experience. It is unfortunate, because this was a family wedding that was planned to start off the the event on a positive note and has left nothing but a disheartening experience that will not be forgotten. I am so sorry we've chosen this location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Marketing at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Responded 17 Aug 2021
We sincerely apologize this was your experience. We understand you spoke with management, and we will work hard to improve moving forward.
Read more
ExceededBeef wrote a review Jul 2021
McLean, Virginia70 contributions50 helpful votes
I stayed here for a wedding and was surprised at how clean and modern the interior of the hotel felt. The outside isn’t very impressive but the hotel felt recently renovated. Our room was gorgeous and had no shortage of amenities - I was surprised how many electric outlets and phone charging ports we had. We were given a handicapped room so our bathroom was extremely spacious. I was concerned being so close to the lobby but I didn’t hear much noise overnight. The wedding venue area was also extremely nice. We didn’t use the pool but we checked it out and it was an indoor/outdoor pool that seemed quite impressive for a hotel like this. All in all we had a great time and would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Marketing at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Wow! Thank you so much. We are extremely happy to hear that you completely enjoyed everything about your stay from our award-winning amenities and accommodations to our friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your review, and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
TravelingTammy1 wrote a review Jul 2021
Sioux Falls, South Dakota49 contributions47 helpful votes
I've stayed here many time for work. Never did I have a visit that held up to my Marriott expectations. The hotel is very nice. The issues I had were more with the staff...front desk, cleaning, and maintenance. My stays were pre-Covid. Hopefully by now they've made enough changes that you'll get the type of Marriott customer service you'd expect.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jenny Halat, Marketing at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Thank you for your review and feedback. We apologize that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. We appreciate helpful feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve the customer satisfaction. Thank you again, and we hope you consider staying with us again.
Read more
Nicholas Zirpoli wrote a review Jul 2021
Seaside Heights, New Jersey3 contributions3 helpful votes
I travel a ton - especially over the last 18 months - and too many times I’ve been on the receiving end of poor service, terrible food, and lackluster rooms. This hotel felt brand new inside, my room was spotless, and the food drinks were great. The staff was warm and polite - the bartender even stayed open a little later for a wedding party which was nice to see. I had also interacted with Heidi - who is typically in catering - but she was also to help me out with my room and take care of a few things for me. I would stay here 10 out of 10 times and look forward to returning. It’s also a great alternative from the typical motels and run down hotels when visiting the Jersey shore.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: They do a ton of weddings so book in advance and be mindful of parking.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Coppock, Marketing at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2021
Thank you so much - this review made our day! We take great pride in our team, and we hope you'll be our guest again soon.
Read more
WhosShemp wrote a review Jun 2021
NYC150 contributions171 helpful votes
This was by far the worst serviced hotel I have ever encountered. I checked in at 10pm only to find a small line of people complaining about inadequate housekeeping, no towels in the room, etc. Many stated things like "this is my one thousandth night in a Marriott hotel and you guys don't seem to have mastered the basics of a Motel 6." I figured people were just out of touch, perhaps snobby. Nope. They were right on the money. Upon check-in, I was told "we don't do housekeeping here unless you call in the morning and request it before noon." Weird. We went up to the room of this rather gorgeous hotel. I jumped in the shower only to find someone else's hair smeared on the shower and a hot water adjustment that went from "very hot" to "scorching hot" and then five minutes later decided it was only going to go from "very cold" to "cold." But, we sucked it up, took our showers, and turned in for the night. Several weddings made the expectation of quiet a bit unrealistic. Hotel had obnoxious motion sensor on the thermostat that made the room hot throughout the night. At 10am, I called and requested housekeeping come to the room, bring double the amount of towels (we used up ours to sop up a leaky tub), and I specifically asked the staff member to make sure someone pays extra attention to the fact that someone else's hair was in our shower. The person on the phone was carefree, so I made sure I asked her name. I had to call back because our safe was in the locked position upon our arrival. Maintenance actually arrived quickly THIS TIME. We returned to the room at 8pm. Housekeeping had not entered. No new towels, still foreign hair on the shower wall. I called down and requested someone come up and clean. They revealed that nobody was available on staff in the evening hours to address cleaning issues. They tried to spin it on me and asked if I had requested housekeeping before noon, which I had. I explained to them what I'll explain to anyone reading this now. This is absurd. The way that you make sure you don't lose track of who called you for housekeeping is to service every room every day, like every other hotel on the planet. And the way to make sure you can address housekeeping issues is to employ someone to address these issues 24/7. They offered me ten percent off for my troubles, but guess what...I still had to shower with someone else's mess on my shower walls for a second night. The $60 discount (that I have not seen yet, by the way) would not be enough for me to hire someone to come in and clean my room. The front desk brought up some towels...but not enough. Certainly not what I requested. I woke up and used the bathroom in the middle of the night, but the toilet wouldn't flush. It wasn't clogged. It just wouldn't flush. My whole family woke up at 8:45am and they were all pretty upset that I told them they couldn't use the bathroom until I resolved the toilet issue. I called the front desk and they told me there wasn't any maintenance man on staff at that hour. They couldn't address this problem for me until he arrived. So I had to watch Youtube videos on how to fix this weird assisted flushing toilet. I fixed it myself. Maintenance man showed up just as we were checking out. Pool was ice cold, chemicals must have been really off as my kid's eyes were really red afterward. Gym was really hot (and the thermostat was locked). Not enough body wash for three people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask to be away from wedding blocks. Request housekeeping in advance. Or just avoid this place.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Julia Coppock, Marketing at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Responded 7 Jul 2021
We're so, so sorry that you had such a negative experience. We tried looking up your name in our reservations database but we couldn't find any matching guest names to help us investigate the specifics. We hope you'll contact our management with more information and so we can extend a personal apology.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$164 - US$328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sheraton eatontown, eatontown sheraton
LOCATION
United StatesNew JerseyJersey ShoreEatontown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
208
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sheraton Eatontown Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Stumpys Hatchet House (0.9 km), 80 Acres Park (0.10 km), and Office Furniture Interiors (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Firebirds Wood Fired Grill, Illiano's Café, and Olive Garden Italian Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Sheraton Eatontown Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sheraton Eatontown Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stephen Crane House (7.2 km).
Is Sheraton Eatontown Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.