We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Keene

175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431-3926
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (29)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (10)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express Keene
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.


#4 of 6 hotels in Keene
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken


Full view
47Car recommended
Grade: 47 out of 100
23Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
247Reviews2Q+A58Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 97
  • 95
  • 37
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Magicbus71 wrote a review Oct 2020
Dallas, Texas2 contributions
I stay at IHG locations when I travel because of their quality and service. The Keene location fell far short of my expectations. I booked a 7 day stay because of business in the area. Upon arrival, there were signs posted everywhere that stated masks were required. I was also required to sign a form acknowledging I was aware Keene city ordinance required employees and guests to wear a mask or risk a fine. Ironically, the desk clerk, the man mopping the lobby, and a woman sitting in the lobby were not wearing masks. However, this was not my main concern. I arrived late so I went to bed immediately as I had a business meeting the next morning. Upon getting up, I found the carpet was soaked from the AC unit to the bed. This explained the musty smell when I arrived in the room. I went to turn on the shower and....no water. The shower knob had been stripped and would not turn on the water. This has me questioning how thoroughly the room was cleaned prior to my arrival. Needless to say, I had to attend a business meeting UNSHOWERED as I didn't have time to wait for a repair. I did however have time to go to the desk to inform them of the room condition and that I was cancelling the remaining 6 days of my stay. The only response I got was, "OK. Sorry about that." The desk clerk's attitude was not rude but was basically, oh well. To her credit, she did waive the pet fee that was charged for our dog. Literally minutes after I had returned to the room, a man barged into the room without knocking or announcing himself, then slams the door shut yelling, "Sorry! Maintenance! Sorry!" My wife was getting dressed at the time and of course was justifiably freaked out by this. When I opened the door, the man was visibly angry but very apologetic, stating he was told we had checked out. Regardless, the protocol should always be to knock first and announce himself just on the off chance the room was still occupied. IHG ensures guests that they follow CDC guidelines for cleaning and that providing a safe and clean environment for guests is important to them. However, this location fell far short of that promise. To be fair, I sent an email to the General Manager and Corporate IHG and received this response fairly quickly. “There is no explanation I can offer for an experience that is that flat out poor. No words can express how sorry I am. I will certainly chat with staff because I find no record of this in the COMM Log or Maintenance Log - and it should be there. I do apologize for our complete meltdown - you deserved better. I will find your reservation information and refund your payment. I am hopeful that is seen as a proper gesture to make amends.” Sincerely and with best regards, Peter Smith General Manager Holiday Inn Express No refund has been received at the time of this post.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express Keene
Responded 31 Oct 2020
Hello Magicbus71, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to leave us a review. We aim to provide not just good value, but comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, I'm sorry to read that we failed to deliver to that expectations due to the problems encountered with some of the staff not wearing masks, condition of the room allocated, and with the water issue. I also hear your disappointment with one of the Maintenance staff entered the room unannounced and that you still have yet to received your refund. We appreciate you sharing your comments. I have made the hotel management aware of your concerns and I am confident that appropriate steps will be taken to ensure we avoid similar situations from happening again. I also sent you a private message to get more details. I hope you give us another chance to show that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Best, Jonathan A Case Manager IHGService
Read more
noropas wrote a review Oct 2020
NH12 contributions3 helpful votes
Wow. "Lisa" and "Shannon" were tops on quick phone help, welcoming, and opening a reservation back next day when found all hotels local full up due foliage crush on Columbus big weekend. Sure, some USBs would be great, but not worth concern these days. Older place but excellent clean and everything worked perfect. Beds really excellent. Great stay and greatest staff. All following Dr. Fauci guidlines.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Like stay 1st floor, but was tiny bit noise from that pool area
See more room tips
Doug S wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
I normally love staying at Holiday inn Express. This time was different. Although the staff was friendly and required me to sign an acknowledgement of the Keene Covid-19 ordinance, within minutes of being in the hotel I saw several (5 different individuals) people walking down the hallways and utilizing the elevators without masks or concern for social distancing. The front desk girl seemed oblivious or uncaring. Once inside the room, the AC unit had to be turned completely off due to it's loud rattle and buzzing. And-although it's a small thing, there are NO USB outlets in the room-so if you are without charging blocks you will be unable to charge any devices. These are such a common hotel offering these days that their lack is noticable here, and lends a dated/nostalgic feel to the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Response from IHG Service, Other at Holiday Inn Express Keene
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Hi dougsJ6160BZ, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a candid review. I was very concerned to read your comments about guests not observing COVID-19 protocols as well as the AC unit, and no USB outlets. I understand your dismay, and I am sorry. This is not the frictionless experience that we wanted for all our guests. I will make sure to share your comments with our team for the necessary improvements needed on our end. Thank you for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club, and I still hope you would give us another chance in the future. Mike F. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Chris Richey wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I stayed here for 4 nights, the experience was nothing less than great! The staff is exceptionally accommodating! Lisa, Saige and Peter literally are amazing, they did anything they could to ensure my stay was great, the food in the mornings was perfect a balance. Also the cleanliness was remarkable, I really felt at home here and could tell they actually cared about the guests and their needs. Just a great experience, I will always stay here everytime I'm in keene
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
spaceylee1 wrote a review Aug 2020
East Bridgewater, Massachusetts104 contributions42 helpful votes
last resort dont stay if possible..during covid one would think the place would be clean...vending machines empty ice machine broken doors to outside not secure and wide open..rug was wet and smelt like a dog..GROSS...pool says closed but people were in it swimming anyways..wouldnt stay here again...even our bathroom had cobwebs so you can tell it hadnt been clean in awhile...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Sleep Quality
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Keene
Responded 4 Sep 2020
Hi spaceylee1, Thanks for trusting us for your travels. I am sorry to learn that you had some hiccups during your stay. Cleanliness is what defines us and as our brand, but we failed to live up to the expectations. I have communicated your review with the local team, and I am confident that they will use your comments to improve our services. I hope you will give us a chance again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
US$106 - US$211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
holiday inn express keene hotel keene, holiday inn keene, keene holiday inn express
United StatesNew HampshireKeene
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Keene
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Nearby attractions include Cheshire Children's Museum (1.1 km), Branch and Blade Brewing (1.0 km), and Unbridled Chocolates (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Conveniently located restaurants include JimEddie's, Elm City Brewing Company, and LongHorn Steakhouse.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express Keene?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn Express Keene offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.