We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel

Save
Share
Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville, Darlington DL1 3NL England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
HolidayInn.com
US$57
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Expedia
Agoda.com
eDreams
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (136)
Dining (29)
Room & Suite (19)

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Coatham Mundeville
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Board games / puzzles
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
802Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 367
  • 276
  • 106
  • 35
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Mrsb wrote a review Jul 2022
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom53 contributions14 helpful votes
Our second visit here, we bought another Groupon deal which was £110 for room, dinner, breakfast and wine! Fantastic offer. Again the room was absolutely spotless, we had a king size bed which was lovely and comfortable, fantastic shower and I loved the complimentary shower gels and shampoo. Plenty of towels, loo roll and a big tea tray. We took advantage of the 3 course meal offer in the dining room (3 course for £25), we were so bloated afterwards, the portions are very generous. Lovely food and wine. The staff again were so friendly and attentive. Breakfast was a big buffet style of hot and cold foods. We chose to enjoy a full English, toast and pastries for after. It would be difficult to find fault in a place that offers such a lot for a very reasonable price. We will be back again soon!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
TheSmell01 wrote a review Jul 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom35 contributions14 helpful votes
Room clean… Dinner was a joke!!!… Nearly £30 for a half fish with chips and one glass of wine!… I won’t be back!… Best off going to Macky Dees only a short walk as opposed to getting hit by hiked rates!… Don’t think I’ll be back… I also have to leave a review of at least 200 characters so I’ll have to say that the fish and chips smells and I wish I’d gone to Macky Dees as I’m still starving and will need to wait for breakfast when the chef cannot even make enough fried eggs for the guests!… I won’t be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 13 Jul 2022
Hello TheSmell101, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We do not offer a 'half fish and chips' so I am unsure as to what you refer to here. I have extensively checked our menu and there is no combination of fish and chips and glass of wine that takes you anyhere close to £30. We are not a fast food establishment such as 'Macky Dees' We are a licensed restaurant and our food is cooked with fresh ingredients. I will pass on your feedback to our Head Chef for review. Regards, Daniel Lawson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bigboyblyton wrote a review May 2022
Blyton, United Kingdom15 contributions17 helpful votes
Wasn’t expecting the best place in the world because of the price £117 for one night stay evening meal and breakfast, but a fantastic place it turned out to be receptionist lovely when we booked in and checked out same girl, Janet who served me drinks in the afternoon and also serve me my dinner at evening was outstanding true professional in her field nothing was too much trouble and did everything with a smile on her face outstanding service from this lady, food was really tasty, Well done holiday inn we will be back
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 16 May 2022
Hi bigboylincoln, Thank you for your recent review. Glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. I will certainly pass on your feedback to Janet and I suspect the girl on Reception may have been Chloe! We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
shell20092016 wrote a review Apr 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom36 contributions57 helpful votes
I booked this hotel at the last moment not arriving until after 7pm due to my mother in law at end of life the hotel staff couldn’t do enough I’ve stayed here before with my husbands family living close by and each time we have stayed the hotel has always been and went beyond help staff are very friendly and recognise frequent guests which I think is a nice personal touch. This hotel as everything you need well located and is kepted spotless from the dinning area to the rooms. I really can’t fault this hotel and after the last 24hours they have been wonderful more so with the situation we are in just now.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Everything you need on hand as garage right next is 24 open Pizza Hut kfc all of that
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 26 Apr 2022
Hi, Firstly, let me express my deepest condolences, on behalf of the entire hotel team. We are truly sorry and send you both best wishes. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. Our team truly care about our guests. I'm sorry that I wasn't in office when you asked to see me last week. Hopefully we can catch up soon. I look forward to when we can welcome you back again, under happier circumstances. Warm regards, Daniel Lawson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mrsb wrote a review Apr 2022
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom53 contributions14 helpful votes
Spotlessly clean and comfy, spacious room with all the required amenities; hair dryer, coffee/tea tray, iron and board, tv, towels, toiletries, fan etc. We stayed in room 124 for one night, we purchased a fantastic deal from Groupon which incl. the room, breakfast, main course and fizz all for £79, incredible value. The evening meal was very tasty, good portion size and we decided to add dessert, once again excellent quality and generous portion. The bed was really comfy, loads of room and clean, the shower was amazing! Breakfast was a buffet style cooked breakfast alongside pastries, cereal, fruit, toast, juice and hot drinks. The sausages were lovely! The hot food was constantly topped up which was a bonus. The staff were very attentive and friendly. We can’t wait to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 18 Apr 2022
Hi emilyrosebrown, Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found it value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eileen R wrote a review Mar 2022
Leeds, United Kingdom149 contributions88 helpful votes
Stayed for one night and room was fine. Normal Holiday Inn standard. Hotel is not like most Holiday Inns and apparently was originally built as a military hospital during WW2. The hotel was very busy as there was a function taking place as well as the normal hotel guests. No space in restaurant until 8:30 which was a bit late for us so decided to eat in bar.Unfortunately for some reason (unexplained) food was not being served in the bar that night but was available as room service. £5 to deliver to room but can be collected for free. Not the end of the world but my husband ate his sitting at the desk in the room whilst I sat on the edge of the bed to eat mine. Not the best way to eat dinner. On the plus side, free parking and good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Difficult to access A1 Northbound.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Hi Eileen R, Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback. This review seems to be for our Scotch Corner Holiday Inn. I am pleased you enjoyed your time there and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Daniel Lawson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
evansm19 wrote a review Mar 2022
Warrington, United Kingdom27 contributions29 helpful votes
Got a deal off Groupon, Sun/Mon night total £98 with Prosecco thrown in. On arrival, published rate was £149 which seems aimed at business travellers. Big room, big bed, good sized bathroom. Few minor issues in room with some electrical items not working but no great problem. Had 3 course dinner on Sunday for £22 each, not bad quality. Breakfast was buffet style and had everything you would expect, hot and cold food, hot and cold drinks. Staff were friendly. No charge for car parking. For what we paid, very impressed.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Try Groupon for best last minute/week offers.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Hi evansm19, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Daniel Lawson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bdon257 wrote a review Feb 2022
Morpeth, United Kingdom4962 contributions558 helpful votes
We enjoyed an overnight stay here in a pleasant, well equipped room in a quiet wing on the ground floor. Reception staff were welcoming and very helpful. We had a one course evening meal in the restaurant one fish and chips with mushy peas and one Beef Bourguignon with mash and vegetables. Both meals were served piping hot and were good portions, we had a bottle of Prosecco to accompany the food. Restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient. We had a comfortable bed and had a buffet breakfast the following morning. The hot food was constantly being topped up but they were struggling to keep up refilling one or two items in the other part of the buffet as it was fairly busy, a minor point but something which stood out as everything else was to a good standard. We are very happy to recommend this hotel to others staying in this area and would certainly return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2022
Hi bdon257, Thank you so much for your very thorough review of your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you do book to come visit again! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
frazer c wrote a review Jan 2022
Lake District, United Kingdom7 contributions3 helpful votes
Have stayed in this hotel at weekends for the last four months as our daughter is in hospital in Middlesbrough. Honesty you could not pick a better hotel, the rooms are always fauless, and I mean cleaned to perfection. The best part of the hotel is undoubtedly the staff, they really are first rate, always friendly and have a smile for everyone, they are the ones who go the extra mile for the guests and always make your stay an enjoyable one. So if your looking for a hotel that is spotless, this really is a great choice. Too many staff to mention individually, but we can't speak highly enough about you. Many thanks and if management are reading this your staff really are a credit to the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It has genuinely made my day reading these comments. I know our entire team are very fond of you and your family and they are excited to see a new booking from yourselves. Every single member of our team should be very proud of themselves for the service they provide. We look forward to seeing you all again very soon! Kindest regards, Daniel Lawson Director of Operations
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
whatd0ikn0w wrote a review Jan 2022
Ely, United Kingdom36 contributions26 helpful votes
The temperature was uncomfortably hot and air conditioning did not work. Could open Window but as on ground floor and no security latch it is not safe to leave open. What is unforgivable however is advertising on the IHG website that pet cost is £10 per night and then being charged £20 on arrival stating the policy had changed a couple of months ago. If you want to charge £20 then update your website but it’s fraud to advertise one fee and charge another. I will now be expecting a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Daniel Lawson, Owner at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Responded 5 Jan 2022
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I apologise that there was a fault with your air cooling unit. If you had informed Reception, we would have happily moved your room until our Maintenance Manager had inspected the unit. All of our windows have a security latch on them. I have personally been into every single room to ensure this. So I am not sure as to what this is referring to. Indeed, our pet policy did change a short while ago. The website has been updated to reflect this. You were refunded whilst you were at the hotel for stating the fact that the website had not been updated. Again, thank you for your time and comments. If you stay again in future, please contact me and I will take care of your reservation personally. Thank you,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDarlingtonCoatham Mundeville
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Nearby attractions include Valhalla North Axe Throwing (2.0 km), Walworth Birds of Prey (5.2 km), and Cluedini Live Escape Rooms (Darlington) (6.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bombay Gate, Viraj Restaurant, and Tomahawk Steakhouse Darlington.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Coatham Mundeville.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Town Hall (6.7 km) and Tees Cottage Pumping Station (7.4 km).
Is Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1M, Jct.59, an IHG hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.