We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sugar Beach Resort Hotel

374 reviews
Save
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (36)
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“great beach”(23 reviews)
“sister property”(5 reviews)
“waffles”(28 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
2.5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Sugar Beach Resort Hotel
Special Offer: Winter Escape
Hotel deals
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (374)Write a Review
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
168
118
47
27
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
168
118
47
27
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat beachsister propertywafflesgrand beachbeachfront roombeach viewplenty of chairscontinental breakfastindoor poolfirst floorbob evansbeach chairsboiled eggsfamily suitesmall balconynice resortrooms were clean
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Funny the 1st review was terrible and guest was told “we would like to make it up to you”. I too, was told it’d be made up to me. Here’s my disgusting experience. Booked a suite for my family. Our boys shared the living area....More

Thank LuvTheSun55
Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Great staff. Gorgeous, clean room with turtle towel and great price! Tons of restaurants nearby along with beautiful view of Traverse Bay. Microwave and refrigerator in room and bed and pillows very comfortable.

Thank dogcentral65
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 28 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to offer us your feedback. I am very glad to hear you had such a great experience at the Sugar Beach. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great weekend get away in Traverse city with my wife. This hotel has it all. Centrally located, great view of the bay, indoor pool for the kids and a nice breakfast bar. The staff was extremely nice. Great rates in the "off season".

Thank Lee W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Made special request for room when we made the reservation. When we arrived it wasn’t done, so we left and came back after 1 hour. It still wasn’t done. Management gave excuses, was argumentative instead of being empathetic and didn’t offer to complete the request.More

Thank Everett B
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize if there was an issue with your reservation or in accommodating a special request. According to our records you stayed at the Grand Beach Resort back in July of 2017....More

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

No hot water to water No heat and the furnace was making noise all night. Place could be cleaner. The hot tub was dirty and could definitely use some deep cleaning. We had one night away and were very much disappointed.More

Thank Barbara L
Response from Justintraversecity, General Manager at Sugar Beach Resort HotelResponded 21 November 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a relaxing visit with us. It looks like from our records you spoke with our Front Office Manager and she resolved the...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345675
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Beachfront
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hot Tub
Heated pool
Indoor pool
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$78 - US$179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Traverse City
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (141)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (36)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
robertmccoy1983
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Justintraversecity | Property representative |
Unfortunately due to city ordinances, fires are not permitted on our beach.
0
Votes
aen78
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Justintraversecity | Property representative |
Hello! Thank you for the great question. Our family suites only have one bathroom.
0
Votes
Christina C
3 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Justintraversecity | Property representative |
Unfortunately we do not have a lounge or restaurant right on the property, however there are restaurants within walking distance of the resort. There is also a wide selection of restaurants and bars 3 miles down the road in... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Lake side rooms have a great view."
Read review
"The beach view rooms cost a bit more, but they have a balcony. It's great to wake up and be able to look..."
Read review
"Choose an upper level corner suite facing the beach."
Read review
"They are all suites and we stayed right on the beach"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing